yes, therapy helps!
The 8 most common types of racism

The 8 most common types of racism

December 3, 2022

The types of racism that occur on the planet they are a sample of the extent to which there are attitudes based on discrimination that have taken root in a large part of cultures.

In fact, racism can take so many forms that in some cases it goes unnoticed and can be perceived as the natural order of things. That is why it is important to know the different types of racism and know how to identify them on a day-to-day basis. But, first, let's start with the basics.

  • Related article: "Stereotypes, prejudice and discrimination: why should we avoid prejudging?"

What is racism?

Racism is a very abstract concept that makes reference to the act of discriminating against people according to their race , or the tendency to get involved frequently in this kind of discrimination.


Thus, a racist person takes into account his prejudices about the characteristics that people have (hypothetically) because of the lineage from which they come, and defends the idea that individuals should have rights or others based on their race .

At the same time, the concept of race is very controversial, because even though as a scientific entity does not exist within the field of biology applied to our species , in social sciences and humanities it is used. This means that although there are technically no human races, a large number of the population does, and can therefore discriminate based on the racial collective assumptions to which the people belong.


That is why, among other things, the boundaries between the different races are so confusing; There is no clear way to indicate where one of these population groups begins and where another begins.

Main types of racism

The most common types of racism are the following. However, it must be taken into account that in practice many of them overlap each other.

1. Institutional racism

The adjective "racist" is also used to refer to laws or institutions that discriminate against people by their roots . This is the case of institutional racism, embodied in forms of organization and distribution of power that have been set in rules, statutes, etc.

The references to institutional racism fit well with philosophical currents related to postcolonial studies or the works of Michel Foucault, which speak of forms of oppression and domination that go beyond the purely psychological and are materially embodied in structures of social organization and laws.


2. Cultural racism

Cultural racism emphasizes a supposed cultural superiority of one ethnic group over another . It must be clarified that this type of racism does not consist in pointing out that there is a better culture than the others, but in establishing a deterministic relationship of the race towards culture. For example, to believe that civilizations formed mainly by the black population are incapable of creating good literature is an example of this.

However, we must bear in mind that this concept is controversial, since it is often criticized for blurring the true meaning of racism, which would necessarily refer to biological characteristics or at least to physical characteristics that are visible and easy to verify based on objective criteria. , such as skin color.

3. Biological racism

This is one of the types of racism that most emphasizes the influence of genetics on the capacities and the psychological propensities of people. From him it is believed that the inheritance passed through the genes determines a good part of what we are, and that this supposes the irremediable superiority of certain races over others.

4. Reverse racism

It is a concept that is used to refer to racist attitudes directed against parts of the population that are not usually the target of racist attacks , normally people perceived as white.

There is some controversy about whether this phenomenon can really be considered a type of racism, since it has nothing to do with a form of systemic oppression that goes beyond the individual attitudes of certain people. That is, while racism towards the non-white population is based on historical and material inequalities (domination of their native lands, greater military power, etc.) racism against whites has nothing to do with a situation of structural discrimination.

However, if what interests us is to focus on a clear and concise meaning for the word racism, we will tend to accept that white people can also suffer discrimination based on race.

5. Racism based on skin color

This type of racism is based on appearance, and it is very superficial. Basically, it consists of a contempt or an irrational hatred of people because of , simply, of the aspect that gives them their skin color different from that which one considers to be "normal". In practice, it overlaps with many other types of racism.

  • Related article: "Aspectism: discrimination by physical appearance"

6. Colorism

It is a form of racism that occurs within population groups that in turn are often discriminated against. It consists of disparaging or excluding certain people who have very marked traits attributed to their race, that is, that approach hands to the appearance of whites . It is populations with African origins, for example, the victims are the individuals with the darkest skin, as opposed to other blacks with lighter shades. Its existence is proof that there are also unequal power dynamics within discriminated collectives.

7. Xenophobia

Xenophobia is a mix of racism and nationalism , so there is discrimination for cultural reasons. That is, it is partly discriminated by biological origins and partly by the cultural heritage that someone who is perceived as a foreigner has internalized since childhood.

8. Stereotyped racism

It consists of putting a lot of emphasis on the biological characteristics that are usually attributed to certain ethnic groups, creating many moments in which attention is drawn to them. For example, to point out that people who come from China have a yellowish skin is a clear example of forcing reality to fit in schemes of differentiation between people.

Compared to the other types of racism, this seems relatively harmless, since it is not based on hatred, but also has adverse effects, because it pigeonholes people and it makes it difficult to look beyond these classification categories.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of sexism: the different forms of discrimination"

Racial/Ethnic Prejudice & Discrimination: Crash Course Sociology #35 (December 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 8 types de racisme les plus courants

Les 8 types de racisme les plus courants

Janvier 26, 2020

Les types de racisme qui se produisent sur la planète ils illustrent à quel point des attitudes fondées sur la discrimination ont pris racine dans une grande partie des cultures.

En fait, le racisme peut prendre tellement de formes que, dans certains cas, il passe inaperçu et peut être perçu comme un ordre naturel. C’est pourquoi il est important de connaître les différents types de racisme et de savoir les identifier au quotidien. Mais, commençons par les bases.

  • Article connexe: "Stéréotypes, préjugés et discrimination: pourquoi devrions-nous éviter de préjuger?"

Qu'est ce que le racisme?

Le racisme est un concept très abstrait qui fait référence à l'acte de discriminer les personnes en fonction de leur race , ou la tendance à s’impliquer fréquemment dans ce type de discrimination.


Ainsi, une personne raciste prend en compte ses préjugés sur les caractéristiques que les gens ont (hypothétiquement) en raison de la lignée dont ils sont issus et défend l'idée que les individus devraient avoir des droits ou d'autres personnes en fonction de leur race. .

Dans le même temps, le concept de race est très controversé, car même si, en tant qu’entité scientifique, n'existe pas dans le domaine de la biologie appliquée à notre espèce , il est utilisé en sciences sociales et humaines. Cela signifie que bien qu’il n’existe techniquement aucune race humaine, un grand nombre de la population le fait et peut donc discriminer sur la base des hypothèses raciales collectives auxquelles les gens appartiennent.


C'est pourquoi, entre autres choses, les frontières entre les différentes races sont si confuses; Il n'y a pas de moyen clair d'indiquer où commence l'un de ces groupes de population et où commence un autre.

Principaux types de racisme

Les types de racisme les plus courants sont les suivants. Cependant, il faut tenir compte du fait que beaucoup d’entre eux se chevauchent.

1. Racisme institutionnel

L’adjectif "raciste" est également utilisé pour désigner lois ou institutions discriminant les personnes par leurs racines . C'est le cas du racisme institutionnel, incarné dans des formes d'organisation et de répartition du pouvoir définies dans des règles, des statuts, etc.

Les références au racisme institutionnel correspondent bien aux courants philosophiques liés aux études postcoloniales ou aux travaux de Michel Foucault, qui parlent de formes d’oppression et de domination qui dépassent le cadre purement psychologique et sont matériellement matérialisées dans des structures d’organisation sociale et des lois.


2. Racisme culturel

Le racisme culturel souligne une supériorité culturelle supposée d'un groupe ethnique sur un autre . Il faut préciser que ce type de racisme ne consiste pas à souligner qu'il existe une meilleure culture que les autres, mais à établir un rapport déterministe de la course à la culture. Par exemple, croire que des civilisations formées principalement par la population noire sont incapables de créer une bonne littérature en est un exemple.

Cependant, nous devons garder à l'esprit que ce concept est controversé, car il est souvent reproché de brouiller la vraie signification du racisme, ce qui ferait nécessairement référence aux caractéristiques biologiques ou du moins aux caractéristiques physiques visibles et faciles à vérifier sur la base de critères objectifs. , comme la couleur de la peau.

3. Racisme biologique

C’est l’un des types de racisme que la plupart des souligne l'influence de la génétique sur les capacités et les tendances psychologiques des personnes. On pense de lui que l'héritage transmis par les gènes détermine une bonne partie de ce que nous sommes et que cela suppose la supériorité irrémédiable de certaines races sur d'autres.

4. Inverser le racisme

C'est un concept qui est utilisé pour faire référence à des attitudes racistes dirigées contre des couches de la population qui ne sont généralement pas la cible d'attaques racistes , normalement les gens perçus comme blancs.

Il existe une certaine controverse sur le point de savoir si ce phénomène peut réellement être considéré comme un type de racisme, dans la mesure où il n’a rien à voir avec une forme d’oppression systémique qui dépasse les attitudes individuelles de certaines personnes. Autrement dit, alors que le racisme à l’égard de la population non blanche est fondé sur des inégalités historiques et matérielles (domination de leurs terres natales, pouvoir militaire accru, etc.), le racisme à l’encontre des Blancs n’a rien à voir avec une situation de discrimination structurelle.

Toutefois, si ce qui nous intéresse, c’est de donner un sens clair et concis au mot racisme, nous aurons tendance à accepter que les Blancs puissent également subir une discrimination fondée sur la race.

5. Racisme basé sur la couleur de la peau

Ce type de racisme est basé sur l'apparence et il est très superficiel. Fondamentalement, il consiste en un mépris ou une haine irrationnelle des gens à cause de , simplement, de l’aspect qui leur donne une couleur de peau différente de celle que l’on considère comme "normale". En pratique, il recoupe de nombreux autres types de racisme.

  • Article connexe: "Aspectisme: discrimination par apparence physique"

6. colorisme

C'est une forme de racisme qui se produit au sein de groupes de population qui, à leur tour, sont souvent discriminés. Elle consiste à dénigrer ou à exclure certaines personnes présentant des traits très marqués attribués à leur race, à savoir: cette approche des mains à l'apparition des blancs . Ce sont les populations d'origine africaine, par exemple, les victimes sont celles qui ont la peau la plus sombre, par opposition aux autres Noirs aux nuances plus claires. Son existence est la preuve qu'il existe également des dynamiques de pouvoir inégales au sein de collectifs discriminés.

7. xénophobie

La xénophobie est un mélange de racisme et de nationalisme , donc il y a discrimination pour des raisons culturelles. C'est-à-dire qu'il est en partie discriminé par ses origines biologiques et par son patrimoine culturel que quelqu'un perçu comme un étranger a intériorisé depuis son enfance.

8. Racisme stéréotypé

Il consiste à mettre beaucoup l'accent sur les caractéristiques biologiques généralement attribuées à certains groupes ethniques, créant de nombreux moments où l'attention est attirée sur eux. Par exemple, signaler que les personnes qui viennent de Chine ont la peau jaunâtre est un exemple clair d’obliger la réalité à s’intégrer dans des systèmes de différenciation entre les personnes.

Comparé aux autres types de racisme, cela semble relativement inoffensif, car il n'est pas basé sur la haine, mais aussi a des effets indésirables, car il casse les gens et il est difficile de regarder au-delà de ces catégories de classification.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types de sexisme: les différentes formes de discrimination"

LEURS PLUS GROS COMPLEXES ET ATOUTS PHYSIQUES... (Janvier 2020).


Articles Connexes