yes, therapy helps!
The 8 most frequent sexual problems and how to treat them

The 8 most frequent sexual problems and how to treat them

May 24, 2022

Both men and women can experience a wide variety of sexual dysfunctions . Some of these disorders involve pain, difficulty reaching orgasm or difficulty maintaining sexual arousal.

Suffering sexual problems is a complex experience, because often this situation not only affects the person who suffers, but also their partner. Although psychologists who are experts in sexual therapy deal with patients who come to their offices for this type of disorder every day, many individuals find it difficult to take the step and seek professional help, mainly because of the shame they feel.

Main sexual problems

What are the main sexual problems that both men and women suffer? What disorders affect the sexual well-being of a person or a couple?


In the following lines you can find a list of the most common sexual problems and how to treat them.

1. Disorder of sexual desire

Lack of interest in sex, or lack of sexual desire, is a frequent problem in both sexes ; however, it is more common among women. In fact, it is considered the most common sexual dysfunction in women, reaching an incidence of 33% between 18 and 59 years and up to 45% in menopause. This apathy not only includes disinterest in sex, but also in all sexual behavior, such as masturbation.

The causes can be both physical and psychological. Regarding the latter, the following stand out: couple problems, other sexual dysfunctions (vaginismus, erectile dysfunction, etc.), mood disorders, anxiety and stress, fatigue or monotony.


2. Erectile dysfunction

Erectile dysfunction is the inability that man has to achieve and / or maintain the erection of the penis and, therefore, to have a satisfactory coitus. It is one of the most feared sexual problems among men, and can have a severe impact on the life of the affected person, especially in their self-esteem and in their interpersonal relationships.

It happens for different reasons, although execution anxiety is one of the psychological origins that can cause this sexual limitation and that turns this problem into a vicious circle from which it is difficult to leave.

  • If you want to know more about this disorder, you can read the article written by the Mensalus Psychology Center: "Erectile dysfunction (impotence): what it is and what is its treatment".

3. Disorder in sexual arousal in women

Arousal disorder in women refers to the inability to experience physiological changes during sexual arousal , such as vaginal lubrication, acceleration of heartbeat and muscle tension; a situation that lasts throughout sexual activity. As with erectile dysfunction, the arousal disorder in women has a high incidence.


The psychological factors that are most important in the appearance of this sexual problem are the anticipated fear of having a new sexual failure and the anxiety that this fear provokes.

4. Vaginism

Vaginismus is a female sexual dysfunction that is characterized by the inability to achieve vaginal penetration due to the contraction of the muscles that surround the entrance of the vagina. It occurs due to a reflex spasm that causes the muscles of this area to contract, thus causing the closure of the vaginal opening.

The cause is usually found in the fact that some women relate penetration with the feeling of danger. The anxiety that results from this situation causes a tension response that makes the relaxation of the vaginal musculature impossible.

  • Related article: "Vaginismus: causes, symptoms and possible solutions"

5. Premature ejaculation

Premature ejaculation is a disorder of the male orgasm in which the male expels the semen prematurely , without it being desired, recurrently in response to sexual stimulation either before, during or after penetration. It can originate from different causes, with psychological factors being predominant.

Among the psychological causes include: low self-esteem, anxiety of execution, depression, anxiety and nervousness.

6. Anorgasmia

Anorgasmia is another type of orgasm disorder that affects both men and women ; however, it is more frequent in the case of the latter (female anargosmia). It is defined as an absence or delay of orgasm during normal sexual activity, and as in the previous case, psychological factors tend to predominate over organic.

  • If you want to delve into the causes and consequences of this disorder, you can read our article: "Female anorgasmia (inability to reach orgasm): causes and treatment"

7. Pain disorder

Dyspareunia is persistent and recurrent pain in the pelvic area during or shortly after penetration , erection or ejaculation, and can be suffered by both men and women, although it is more frequent in women (female dyspareunia). Scientific studies conclude that approximately 12% of women suffer from it. Female dyspareunia usually appears associated with problems of vaginismus.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Pain in sexual relationships: causes, symptoms and solutions"

8. Disorder due to sex aversion

People who suffer from this disorder, also called sexual rejection, actively and passively avoid genital contact . The cause is usually in extreme anxiety and panic before the sexual act. It usually occurs more frequently in women.

How to treat sexual problems

Talking about sexual problems can be difficult, in large part because people in this situation may feel ashamed, guilty, unsuccessful and defeated both in life and in front of their partners. This circumstance does nothing but feed the disorder, because the individual enters a vicious circle from which it is difficult to leave.

Therefore, the best option is to seek professional help, either in person or remotely . In most cases the sexual disorders have a psychological origin, and therefore sexual psychotherapy is an effective way to deal with these problems and in this way overcome suffering and improve well-being.

  • Related article: "Sexual therapy: what it is and what are its benefits"

Mensalus Institute: trustworthy sexual therapy (face-to-face and online)

If you are going through a situation similar to the one presented in the previous lines and you suffer from some sexual problem, do not be discouraged because it is possible to overcome it. Since suffering from sexual problems is a sensitive issue, it can be difficult to start a therapeutic program with these characteristics. That is why it is necessary to find a trustworthy clinic, in which you feel comfortable exposing your problem.

One of the centers of Psychology with more prestige in the treatment of sexual problems is the Mensalus Institute of Barcelona, ​​which has a face-to-face and online therapy service. Remote service is really useful in this type of problems, because it offers anonymity, comfort and attention from anywhere in the world.

This clinic has more than 35 offering psychotherapy and improving the emotional health and quality of life of people , and is formed by a multidisciplinary team highly specialized in sexual and couple therapy, since sexual limitations can have a multi-causal origin and this implies that professionals specialized in this type of therapy must deal with mixed causes (that is, with psychological and organic).

Your team of professionals apply techniques and strategies aimed at addressing sexual performance problems so that you can achieve full and satisfying sexuality.

  • If you want to get in touch with the Mensalus Institute, you just have to click here.

10 Easy Ways to Boost Testosterone Naturally (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 8 problèmes sexuels les plus fréquents et comment les traiter

Les 8 problèmes sexuels les plus fréquents et comment les traiter

Novembre 17, 2019

Les hommes et les femmes peuvent éprouver une grande variété de dysfonctionnements sexuels . Certains de ces troubles impliquent une douleur, une difficulté à atteindre l'orgasme ou une difficulté à maintenir l'excitation sexuelle.

Souffrir de problèmes sexuels est une expérience complexe, car souvent, cette situation ne concerne pas seulement la personne qui en souffre, mais également son partenaire. Bien que les psychologues experts en thérapie sexuelle traitent avec des patients qui se présentent quotidiennement dans leur bureau pour ce type de trouble, de nombreuses personnes ont du mal à franchir le pas et cherchent de l'aide professionnelle, principalement à cause de la honte qu'elles ressentent.

Principaux problèmes sexuels

Quels sont les principaux problèmes sexuels des hommes et des femmes? Quels troubles affectent le bien-être sexuel d'une personne ou d'un couple?


Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste des problèmes sexuels les plus courants et leur traitement.

1. Trouble du désir sexuel

Le manque d'intérêt pour le sexe ou le manque de désir sexuel est un problème fréquent chez les deux sexes. ; Cependant, il est plus fréquent chez les femmes. En fait, il est considéré comme le dysfonctionnement sexuel le plus répandu chez les femmes, avec une incidence de 33% entre 18 et 59 ans et jusqu'à 45% pendant la ménopause. Cette apathie comprend non seulement le désintérêt pour le sexe, mais également pour tous les comportements sexuels, tels que la masturbation.

Les causes peuvent être à la fois physiques et psychologiques. En ce qui concerne ces derniers, ressortent les problèmes de couple, autres dysfonctions sexuelles (vaginisme, dysfonctionnement érectile, etc.), troubles de l'humeur, anxiété et stress, fatigue ou monotonie.


2. Dysfonction érectile

Le dysfonctionnement érectile est l'incapacité que l'homme doit obtenir et / ou maintenir l'érection du pénis et, par conséquent, d'avoir un coït satisfaisant. C’est l’un des problèmes sexuels les plus redoutés chez les hommes et il peut avoir de graves répercussions sur la vie de la personne touchée, en particulier sur son estime de soi et ses relations interpersonnelles.

Cela se produit pour différentes raisons, bien que l'anxiété d'exécution soit l'une des origines psychologiques à l'origine de cette limitation sexuelle et qu'elle transforme ce problème en un cercle vicieux dans lequel il est difficile de sortir.

  • Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur ce trouble, vous pouvez lire l'article du Centre de psychologie Mensalus: "Dysfonction érectile (impuissance): qu'est-ce que c'est et quel est son traitement".

3. Trouble de l'excitation sexuelle chez les femmes

Le trouble d'éveil chez les femmes se réfère à l'incapacité de faire l'expérience de changements physiologiques au cours de l'excitation sexuelle , tels que la lubrification vaginale, l’accélération du rythme cardiaque et la tension musculaire; une situation qui dure tout au long de l'activité sexuelle. Comme pour le dysfonctionnement érectile, le trouble de l'excitation chez les femmes a une incidence élevée.


Les facteurs psychologiques les plus importants dans l'apparition de ce problème sexuel sont la peur anticipée d'un nouvel échec sexuel et l'anxiété que cette peur provoque.

4. le vaginisme

Le vaginisme est un dysfonctionnement sexuel féminin caractérisé par l’incapacité de réaliser une pénétration vaginale. en raison de la contraction des muscles qui entourent l'entrée du vagin. Elle est due à un spasme réflexe provoquant la contraction des muscles de cette région, provoquant ainsi la fermeture de l'ouverture vaginale.

La cause en est généralement le fait que certaines femmes associent la pénétration au sentiment de danger. L'anxiété résultant de cette situation provoque une réponse de tension rendant impossible le relâchement de la musculature vaginale.

  • Article connexe: "Vaginisme: causes, symptômes et solutions possibles"

5. éjaculation précoce

L'éjaculation précoce est un trouble de l'orgasme masculin dans lequel le mâle expulse le sperme prématurément , sans que cela soit désiré, de façon récurrente en réponse à une stimulation sexuelle, avant, pendant ou après la pénétration. Il peut provenir de différentes causes, les facteurs psychologiques étant prédominants.

Parmi les causes psychologiques, citons: faible estime de soi, anxiété d'exécution, dépression, anxiété et nervosité.

6. Anorgasmie

L'anorgasmie est un autre type de trouble de l'orgasme qui affecte les hommes et les femmes ; cependant, il est plus fréquent dans le dernier cas (anargosmie féminine). Elle se définit comme une absence ou un retard de l'orgasme au cours d'une activité sexuelle normale et, comme dans le cas précédent, les facteurs psychologiques ont tendance à l'emporter sur les facteurs organiques.

  • Si vous souhaitez approfondir les causes et les conséquences de ce trouble, vous pouvez lire notre article: "Anorgasmie féminine (incapacité d'atteindre l'orgasme): causes et traitement"

7. trouble de la douleur

La dyspareunie est une douleur persistante et récurrente dans la région pelvienne pendant ou peu après la pénétration. , érection ou éjaculation, et peut être souffert à la fois des hommes et des femmes, bien qu'il soit plus fréquent chez les femmes (dyspareunie féminine). Des études scientifiques concluent qu'environ 12% des femmes en souffrent. La dyspareunie féminine semble généralement associée à des problèmes de vaginisme.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Douleur dans les relations sexuelles: causes, symptômes et solutions"

8. Désordre dû à l'aversion sexuelle

Les personnes souffrant de ce trouble, également appelé rejet sexuel, évitent activement et passivement les contacts génitaux. . La cause en est généralement une anxiété extrême et une panique avant l'acte sexuel. Il se produit généralement plus fréquemment chez les femmes.

Comment traiter les problèmes sexuels

Parler de problèmes sexuels peut être difficile, en grande partie parce que les personnes dans cette situation peuvent se sentir honteuses, coupables, sans succès et vaincues tant dans la vie que devant leurs partenaires. Cette circonstance ne fait que nourrir le désordre, car la personne entre dans un cercle vicieux d'où il est difficile de sortir.

Par conséquent, la meilleure option est de faire appel à une aide professionnelle, en personne ou à distance. . Dans la plupart des cas, les troubles sexuels ont une origine psychologique et la psychothérapie sexuelle est donc un moyen efficace de traiter ces problèmes et de surmonter ainsi la souffrance et d’améliorer le bien-être.

  • Article connexe: "La thérapie sexuelle: qu'est-ce que c'est et quels sont ses avantages"

Mensalus Institute: une thérapie sexuelle digne de confiance (en face à face et en ligne)

Si vous traversez une situation similaire à celle présentée dans les lignes précédentes et que vous souffrez d'un problème sexuel, ne vous découragez pas, car il est possible de la surmonter. Étant donné que le fait de souffrir de problèmes sexuels est un problème délicat, il peut être difficile de démarrer un programme thérapeutique présentant ces caractéristiques. C'est pourquoi il est nécessaire de trouver une clinique fiable dans laquelle vous vous sentez à l'aise d'exposer votre problème.

L’un des centres de psychologie les plus prestigieux dans le traitement des problèmes sexuels est le Institut Mensalus de Barcelone, qui propose un service de thérapie en face à face et en ligne. Le service à distance est vraiment utile dans ce type de problèmes, car il offre anonymat, confort et attention depuis n'importe où dans le monde.

Cette clinique compte plus de 35 centres proposant de la psychothérapie et améliorant la santé émotionnelle et la qualité de vie des personnes. , et est formée par une équipe multidisciplinaire hautement spécialisée en thérapie sexuelle et de couple, car les limitations sexuelles peuvent avoir une origine multi-causale, ce qui implique que les professionnels spécialisés dans ce type de thérapie doivent traiter des causes mixtes (c'est-à-dire psychologique et organique).

Votre équipe de professionnels applique des techniques et des stratégies visant à résoudre les problèmes de performance sexuelle de manière à ce que votre sexualité soit complète et satisfaisante.

  • Si vous souhaitez entrer en contact avec l’Institut Mensalus, il vous suffit de cliquer ici.

Mon impuissance sexuelle m'a fait fou, mais ce jus m'a guéri et m'a aidé avec la toux, le rhume, l (Novembre 2019).


Articles Connexes