yes, therapy helps!
The 8 most used types of hypnotic drugs

The 8 most used types of hypnotic drugs

July 18, 2024

From clinical psychology insomnia problems, whether they are of conciliation or sleep maintenance, are preferably treated by behavioral techniques such as stimulus control, sleep hygiene and Jacobson's progressive muscle relaxation.

However, in cases of severe insomnia or resistance to psychological therapy it may be necessary to combine it with the use of medications. In this article we will talk about the most commonly used and known types of hypnotic drugs .

  • Related article: "Types of psychotropic drugs: uses and side effects"

The most used hypnotic drugs

Next, we will describe the most common groups of hypnotic medications in the present and in the second half of the 20th century. Although today Benzodiazepine analogues are the pharmacological treatment of choice for insomnia In some places, classic hypnotics such as benzodiazepines and barbiturates are still used.


It is important to bear in mind that not all these drugs are used to treat insomnia, but some of them are very powerful and specific medications for the management of other disorders. We include these cases in the list because of the significance of the hypnotic effects associated with their use or their relevance in the history of sleeping pills.

1. Benzodiazepines

Benzodiazepines include some of the most commonly used drugs to treat insomnia symptoms, especially short-lived variants. However, the long-term use of these drugs entails risk of dependence and withdrawal syndrome, as it acts similarly to alcohol , and just like this one ends up altering the dream.


The use of benzodiazepines as hypnotics has been in decline since the 90s, when the benzodiazepine analogues were developed, which we will refer to in the following section. Currently, drugs in this class are used primarily to treat symptoms of anxiety and alcohol withdrawal for short periods of time.

  • Related article: "Benzodiazepines (psychodrugs): uses, effects and risks"

2. Benzodiazepine analogs (Z drugs)

Benzodiazepine analogs are drugs with properties very similar to those of benzodiazepines, although they can not be classified in this group because they have a different chemical structure. In recent years they have become the most used hypnotics in many places in the world given that they have been given high security.

Three drugs stand out in this category: zolpidem, zaleplon and eszopiclone. Another of the most known Z drugs, zopiclone, has been withdrawn in some countries because of its side effects, which on the other hand are not very different from those of benzodiazepines.


3. Orexin receptor antagonists

Various recent medications t They have antagonistic effects on neuropeptide receptors called orexin or hypocretin , which is associated with alertness and wakefulness, as well as appetite. The degree of effectiveness of these drugs has yet to be assessed, although the use of Suvorexant has been approved and the research around the Lemborexant is promising.

4. Barbiturates

Barbiturates were the drugs most commonly used to treat insomnia until the appearance of benzodiazepines, which cause fewer side effects. Currently, different types of barbiturates are used as surgical anesthetics and as anticonvulsants in cases of epilepsy, but its application as hypnotics has become very unusual .

The continued use of these drugs carries a high risk of physical and psychological dependence, which in turn explains the intense withdrawal syndrome associated with barbiturates. Another factor that contributed to the loss of popularity of these medications was the worrying number of suicides due to overdose.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Barbiturates: effects, mechanisms of action and toxicity"

5. Quinazolinones

Quinazolinones are chemical compounds with diverse medical properties: they can have anti-inflammatory, analgesic, antibacterial, antifungal and anticonvulsant effects. In addition, the anticancer properties of some quinazolinones, such as Idelalisib, have been investigated, although these studies have been abandoned because of side effects.

In the 1960s and 1970s it was very popular the Metacualona, ​​better known by its trade name "Quaalude" . This hypnotic drug was widely used as a recreational drug during this time, especially in nightclubs.

6. Anesthetics

Medications that are used as anesthetics are often considered to be members of the same category as hypnotics and sedatives. Within this group we find propofol, etomidate and ketamine; the first two are frequently administered to people, while ketamine is more commonly used in veterinary medicine.

7. Cannabinoids

Chemical compounds derived from cannabis, such as tetrahydrocannabinol and cannabidiol, are sometimes used as psychotropic drugs because of their sedative, hypnotic and analgesic properties. In recent years, drugs have been developed from marijuana which involve a relatively low risk of dependence.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Research reveals why marijuana can cause schizophrenia"

8. Melatonin

Melatonin is a hormone that intervenes in the regulation of biological rhythms, especially in the sleep-wake cycle. Currently there are medicines based on melatonin that They are used as an alternative treatment for insomnia ; however, and despite the ease of access to these products, they must be used with a prescription.


Sedative and Hypnotic Drugs: Overview – CNS Pharmacology | Lecturio (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 8 types de médicaments hypnotiques les plus utilisés

Les 8 types de médicaments hypnotiques les plus utilisés

Mai 11, 2021

En psychologie clinique, les problèmes d’insomnie, qu’ils soient de conciliation ou d’entretien du sommeil, sont traités de préférence par des techniques comportementales telles que le contrôle du stimulus, l’hygiène du sommeil et la relaxation musculaire progressive de Jacobson.

Cependant, en cas d’insomnie grave ou de résistance à une thérapie psychologique, il peut être nécessaire de l’associer à l’utilisation de médicaments. Dans cet article, nous allons parler de les types de médicaments hypnotiques les plus couramment utilisés et connus .

  • Article connexe: "Types de médicaments psychotropes: usages et effets secondaires"

Les médicaments hypnotiques les plus utilisés

Ensuite, nous décrirons les groupes de médicaments hypnotiques les plus courants au présent et dans la seconde moitié du 20e siècle. Bien qu'aujourd'hui Les analogues de benzodiazépines constituent le traitement pharmacologique de choix de l'insomnie. À certains endroits, des hypnotiques classiques tels que les benzodiazépines et les barbituriques sont encore utilisés.


Il est important de garder à l'esprit que tous ces médicaments ne sont pas utilisés pour traiter l'insomnie, mais certains d'entre eux sont des médicaments très puissants et spécifiques pour la gestion d'autres troubles. Nous incluons ces cas dans la liste en raison de l'importance des effets hypnotiques associés à leur utilisation ou de leur pertinence dans l'historique des somnifères.

1. Benzodiazépines

Les benzodiazépines sont parmi les médicaments les plus couramment utilisés pour traiter les symptômes d'insomnie, en particulier les variants à vie courte. Cependant, l'utilisation à long terme de ces médicaments entraîne risque de dépendance et syndrome de sevrage, car il agit de la même manière que l'alcool , et comme celui-ci finit par altérer le rêve.


L'utilisation des benzodiazépines en tant qu'hypnotiques est en baisse depuis les années 90, lorsque les analogues de benzodiazépines ont été mis au point, ce à quoi nous ferons référence dans la section suivante. Actuellement, les médicaments de cette classe sont utilisés principalement pour traiter les symptômes de l’anxiété et du sevrage alcoolique pendant de courtes périodes.

  • Article connexe: "Benzodiazépines (psychodrugs): usages, effets et risques"

2. Analogues de benzodiazépines (médicaments Z)

Les analogues de benzodiazépines sont des médicaments ayant des propriétés très similaires à celles des benzodiazépines, bien qu'ils ne puissent être classés dans ce groupe car ils ont une structure chimique différente. Ces dernières années, ils sont devenus les hypnotiques les plus utilisés dans de nombreux endroits du monde, car ils ont reçu une grande sécurité.

Trois médicaments se distinguent dans cette catégorie: le zolpidem, le zaleplon et l'eszopiclone. La zopiclone, un des médicaments Z les plus connus, a été retirée de certains pays en raison de ses effets secondaires, qui ne sont en revanche pas très différents de ceux des benzodiazépines.


3. Antagonistes des récepteurs de l'orexine

Divers médicaments récents t Ils ont des effets antagonistes sur les récepteurs neuropeptidiques appelés orexine ou hypocrétine. , qui est associé à la vigilance et à la vigilance, ainsi qu’à l’appétit. Le degré d'efficacité de ces médicaments n'a pas encore été évalué, bien que l'utilisation de Suvorexant ait été approuvée et que les recherches autour du Lemborexant soient prometteuses.

4. Barbituriques

Les barbituriques étaient les médicaments les plus couramment utilisés pour traiter l'insomnie jusqu'à l'apparition des benzodiazépines, qui provoquaient moins d'effets secondaires. Actuellement, différents types de barbituriques sont utilisés comme anesthésiques chirurgicaux et comme anticonvulsivants en cas d'épilepsie, mais son application en tant qu'hypnotiques est devenue très inhabituelle .

L'utilisation continue de ces médicaments comporte un risque élevé de dépendance physique et psychologique, ce qui explique le syndrome de sevrage intense associé aux barbituriques. Un autre facteur qui a contribué à la perte de popularité de ces médicaments est le nombre inquiétant de suicides dus à une surdose.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Barbituriques: effets, mécanismes d'action et toxicité"

5. quinazolinones

Les quinazolinones sont des composés chimiques aux propriétés médicales variées: ils peuvent avoir des effets anti-inflammatoires, analgésiques, antibactériens, antifongiques et anticonvulsivants. En outre, les propriétés anticancéreuses de certaines quinazolinones, telles que l'Idelalisib, ont été étudiées, bien que ces études aient été abandonnées en raison d'effets secondaires.

Dans les années 1960 et 1970, il était très populaire le Metacualona, ​​plus connu sous son nom commercial "Quaalude" . Cette drogue hypnotique a été largement utilisée comme drogue récréative pendant cette période, en particulier dans les boîtes de nuit.

6. anesthésiques

Les médicaments utilisés comme anesthésiques appartiennent souvent à la même catégorie que les hypnotiques et les sédatifs. Dans ce groupe, on trouve du propofol, de l’étomidate et la kétamine; les deux premiers sont fréquemment administrés à l'homme, tandis que la kétamine est plus couramment utilisée en médecine vétérinaire.

7. Cannabinoïdes

Des composés chimiques dérivés du cannabis, tels que le tétrahydrocannabinol et le cannabidiol, sont parfois utilisés comme médicaments psychotropes en raison de leurs propriétés sédatives, hypnotiques et analgésiques. Au cours des dernières années, des drogues ont été développées à partir de marijuana qui impliquent un risque de dépendance relativement faible.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "La recherche révèle pourquoi la marijuana peut causer la schizophrénie"

8. mélatonine

La mélatonine est une hormone qui intervient dans la régulation des rythmes biologiques, en particulier dans le cycle veille-sommeil. Actuellement, il existe des médicaments à base de mélatonine qui Ils sont utilisés comme traitement alternatif de l'insomnie ; Cependant, et malgré la facilité d'accès à ces produits, ils doivent être utilisés avec une ordonnance.


L'anesthésie générale (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes