yes, therapy helps!
The 8 personality types according to Carl Gustav Jung

The 8 personality types according to Carl Gustav Jung

May 6, 2021

Have you heard about the eight types of personalities that he proposed Carl Gustav Jung ?

It is no secret that one of the main concerns of psychologists, historically, has been to describe personality traits. In some cases this has been due to the need to create more or less objective parameters with which create personality profiles useful for the selection of personnel, the description of customer typologies or research in mental disorders and risk factors.

In other cases, it could be explained by motivations less related to the pragmatic. Ultimately, the simple fact of putting some order in the chaos of behaviors that can be exhibited by the human being can be, in itself, something that satisfies. That is why several decades have been developed psychometric test (as for example the 16 PF of Raymond Cattell) that have offered the possibility of measuring aspects of the personality and intelligence in a systematic way.


Carl Jung, however, was not interested in this type of classifications, considering them very rigid. This follower of the psychodynamic paradigm initiated by Sigmund Freud preferred to wage war on his own.

The eight personality profiles, according to Jung

At the beginning of the 20th century, when psychology was beginning to enter its adolescence, one of the most important representatives of the psychodynamic current proposed the task of describing the personality types that define us from a mystical perspective, fundamentally esoteric, and probably without taking into account the possible practical applications of their proposals.


His name was Carl Gustav Jung, and although you have not heard of him, it is very possible that you have ever used two of the terms that were popularized by him: introversion and extraversion.

Carl Jung and his approach to personality types

The relationship between Carl Jung, philosophy and psychology (understood as the exploration of the spiritual and the non-material) goes back to his first years of life and lasted until his death in 1961. During this time he tried to describe the logics that make the human psyche work and the way in which it relates to the spiritual world, using concepts such as the collective unconscious or the archetypes. Not in vain is Carl Jung remembered as the founder of deep psychology (or analytical psychology), a new "school" distanced from Freudian psychoanalysis in which Jung came to participate during his youth.


Carl Jung did not want to describe physical mechanisms that allow us to predict to a greater or lesser extent how we behave. I wanted to develop tools that would allow us to interpret the way in which, according to their beliefs, the spiritual is expressed through our actions.

That is why, when the time came for his career in which he set out to investigate personality types, Carl Jung did so without renouncing his particular vision of the immaterial nature of the mind. This led him to use the concepts of introversion and extraversion, which, despite being very abstract, have generated a lot of interest.

The introverted and the extraverted personality

Normally introversion has been related to shyness and extraversion with the openness to meet people. Thus, introverted people would be reluctant to strike up a conversation with an unknown person, would prefer not to draw too much attention and would be easy prey to nerves in situations where they should improvise in front of many people, while extroverted people would tend to prefer situations socially. stimulants

But nevertheless, Carl Jung did not define the introverted and extraverted personality focusing on the social . For him, what defined the dimension of personality introversion-extraversion were the attitudes toward the subjective phenomena (fruits of the imagination and of the own thought) and the external objects to oneself (what happens around us).

Introverted people, according to Carl Jung, are those who prefer to "retreat into themselves" and focus their attention and efforts to explore their own mental life, whether fantasizing, creating fictions, reflecting on abstract themes, etc. The extraverted personality, on the other hand, is characterized by showing greater interest in what is happening at every moment on the outside, the real world not imagined.

Thus, introverted people would have a tendency to prefer being alone than in the company of unknown people, but exactly because of their shyness (understood as a certain insecurity and a high concern for what others think of oneself), but as a consequence of the what makes them be introverted people: the need to be interested in these people , keep a certain degree of alert for what they can do, find topics for conversation, etc. Extroverted people, on the other hand, would feel more stimulated by what happens around them, regardless of whether it has to do with complex social situations or not.

The four basic psychological functions

In Carl Jung's personality types, the introversion-extraversion dimension is mixed with what he considered the four psychological functions that define us: think, feel, perceive and intuit . The first two, thinking and feeling, were for Jung rational functions, while to perceive and intuit were irrational.

From the combination of each of these four functions with the two elements of the introversion-extraversion dimension emerge the eight personality types of Carl Jung.

The psychological types

The personality types of Carl Jung, published in his work of 1921 Psychological Types, are the following.

1. Introverted thinking

The people belonging to the category reflective-introvert they are much more focused on their own thoughts than on what happens beyond them . They show themselves interested, concretely, by the thoughts of abstract type, the reflections and the theoretical battles between different philosophies and ways of seeing life.

Thus, for Jung this type of personality is the one that in popular culture we could relate to the tendency to philosophize, the concern for the relationships between ideas.

2. Sentimental-introverted

The people belonging to the personality type feeling-introvert They are not very talkative, but sympathetic, empathetic and without special difficulties to create emotional bonds with a small circle of people. They tend not to demonstrate their attachment, among other things because of the lack of spontaneity when expressing how they feel.

3. Sense-introvert

As it happens in the rest of personalities defined by the introversion, the personality sensitive-introverted It is characterized for being focused on subjective phenomena . In this case, however, these phenomena are more related to the stimuli received through the senses than with feelings or abstract ideas. According to the definition of Carl Jung, this type of personality usually describes people who are dedicated to art or crafts.

4. Intuitive-introverted

In this type of personality intuitive-introverted, what the person's interest focuses on are fantasies about the future and what is to come ... at the cost of stopping paying attention to the present. These people would be rather dreamer, showing detachment from the immediate reality and prefer to give space to the imagination.

5. Thinking-extravert

This type of personality reflexive-extraverted is defined by the tendency to create explanations about all things from what the individual sees around him . This makes these rules understood as immovable principles on how objective reality is structured, so that this type of people would have a very characteristic way of seeing things and that changes very little over time. In addition, according to Carl Jung, they try to impose this vision of the world to other people.

6. Sentimental-extroverted

This category sentimental-extraverted It would be composed of highly empathic people, with ease to connect with others and who enjoy the company very much. According to Jung, this type of personality is defined by the fact of being related to very good social skills and a low propensity for reflection and abstract thinking.

7. Feeling-extravert

In this type of personality sensitive-extraverted the search for new sensations with experimentation with the environment and with others . The people described by this type of personality are very given to the pursuit of pleasure in the interaction with real people and environments. These individuals are described as very open to experiences that they have never lived before, so they show an opposite disposition to those who oppose what is unfamiliar to them.

8. Intuition-extraversion

The last personality type of Carl Jung, the type intuitive-extravert, it is characterized by the tendency to undertake all kinds of projects and adventures of medium or long duration , so that when one phase ends you want to start another immediately. Travel, business creation, transformation plans ... the future perspectives related to the interaction with the environment are the center of the concerns of these people, and they try to make the rest of the members of their community help them in their endeavors ( regardless of whether others get as much benefit as yourself or not).

Are Jung's personality types useful?

The way in which Carl Jung created these types of personality is far from what is attempted today, based on statistical analysis and research involving hundreds of people.Even in the first half of the twentieth century, there were no methods and tools to create personality models with any robustness, nor did Jung's thinking ever fit in with the way of investigating what is going on in the scientific psychology , very concerned to create objective criteria to delimit personality traits and to test the theories from contrasting expectations with reality.

Of the eight personality types of Carl Jung the Myers-Briggs Indicator has emerged and the concepts of introversion and extraversion have greatly influenced important psychologists of individual differences, but in themselves these descriptions are too abstract to predict the typical behavior of people. Sticking to these kinds of definitions about personality can easily make us fall into the Forer effect.

But nevertheless, that Carl Jung's proposal has almost no scientific value does not mean that it can not be used as a philosophical reference , a way of seeing ourselves and others that is suggestive or poetic. Of course, its objective value is not greater than that of any other classification of personality types that a person not trained in psychology or psychometrics can perform.


Bibliographic references:

  • Clay, C. (2018). Labyrinths: Emma, ​​her marriage to Carl Jung and the early years of psychoanalysis. Madrid: Three Points Editions.
  • Frey-Rohn, L. (1991, 2006). From Freud to Jung. Mexico: Economic Culture Fund.

Carl Gustav Jung: 2. Personality Structure and Types (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 8 types de personnalité selon Carl Gustav Jung

Les 8 types de personnalité selon Carl Gustav Jung

Février 24, 2021

Avez-vous entendu parler des huit types de personnalités qu'il a proposées Carl Gustav Jung ?

Ce n’est un secret pour personne que l’un des soucis principaux des psychologues a toujours été de décrire les traits de personnalité. Dans certains cas, cela était dû à la nécessité de créer des paramètres plus ou moins objectifs avec lesquels créer des profils de personnalité utile pour la sélection du personnel, la description des typologies de clients ou la recherche sur les troubles mentaux et les facteurs de risque.

Dans d'autres cas, cela pourrait s'expliquer par des motivations moins liées au pragmatique. En fin de compte, le simple fait de mettre de l'ordre dans le chaos de comportements pouvant être manifestés par l'être humain peut être, en soi, quelque chose de satisfaisant. C’est pourquoi plusieurs décennies ont été développées tests psychométriques (comme par exemple les 16 PF de Raymond Cattell) qui ont offert la possibilité de mesurer les aspects de la personnalité et de l’intelligence de manière systématique.


Carl Jung, cependant, n'était pas intéressé par ce type de classifications, les jugeant très rigides. Ce disciple du paradigme psychodynamique initié par Sigmund Freud a préféré faire la guerre par lui-même.

Les huit profils de personnalité, selon Jung

Au début du XXe siècle, alors que la psychologie commençait à entrer dans son adolescence, l'un des représentants les plus importants du courant psychodynamique proposa la tâche de décrire les types de personnalité qui nous définissent d'un point de vue mystique, fondamentalement ésotérique et probablement sans tenir compte des applications pratiques possibles de leurs propositions.


Il s'appelait Carl Gustav Jung et, bien que vous n'ayez pas entendu parler de lui, il est fort possible que vous ayez déjà utilisé deux des termes qu'il a popularisés: introversion et extraversion.

Carl Jung et son approche des types de personnalité

La relation entre Carl Jung, philosophie et psychologie (entendue comme exploration du spirituel et du non matériel) remonte à ses premières années de vie et a duré jusqu'à sa mort en 1961. Pendant ce temps, il a essayé de décrire les logiques qui font fonctionner la psyché humaine et la manière dont il se rapporte au monde spirituel, en utilisant des concepts tels que l'inconscient collectif ou les archétypes. On ne se souvient pas en vain de Carl Jung en tant que fondateur de la psychologie profonde (ou psychologie analytique), une nouvelle "école" éloignée de la psychanalyse freudienne à laquelle Jung est venu participer dans sa jeunesse.


Carl Jung n'a pas voulu décrire les mécanismes physiques qui nous permettent de prédire plus ou moins notre comportement. Je voulais développer des outils qui nous permettraient d'interpréter la manière dont, selon leurs croyances, le spirituel s'exprime à travers nos actions.

C'est pourquoi, au moment de commencer sa carrière dans laquelle il entreprit d'explorer les types de personnalité, Carl Jung le fit sans renoncer à sa vision particulière de la nature immatérielle de l'esprit. Cela l'a amené à utiliser les concepts d'introversion et d'extraversion, qui, malgré leur grande abstraction, ont suscité beaucoup d'intérêt.

La personnalité introvertie et extravertie

Normalement, l'introversion a été liée à la timidité et à l'extraversion avec l'ouverture à la rencontre. Ainsi, les personnes introverties seraient réticentes à engager une conversation avec une personne inconnue, préféreraient ne pas trop attirer l’attention et deviendraient des proies faciles pour les nerfs dans des situations où elles devraient improviser devant de nombreuses personnes, tandis que les extravertis auraient tendance à préférer les situations sociales. stimulants

Cependant, Carl Jung n'a pas défini la personnalité introvertie et extravertie en se concentrant sur le social . Pour lui, ce qui a défini la dimension de l'introversion-extraversion de la personnalité, ce sont les attitudes envers les phénomènes subjectifs (fruits de l'imagination et de la pensée propre) et les objets extérieurs à soi-même (ce qui se passe autour de nous).

Selon Carl Jung, les personnes introverties sont celles qui préfèrent "se replier sur elles-mêmes" et concentrer leur attention et leurs efforts sur leur propre vie mentale, que ce soit en fantasmant, en créant des fictions, en réfléchissant à des thèmes abstraits, etc. La personnalité extravertie, en revanche, se caractérise par un intérêt accru pour ce qui se passe à chaque instant à l'extérieur, dans le monde réel non imaginé.

Ainsi, les personnes introverties auraient tendance à préférer être seules en compagnie d'inconnus, mais justement à cause de leur timidité (entendue comme une certaine insécurité et une grande préoccupation pour ce que les autres pensent de soi), mais comme une conséquence de la ce qui fait d'eux des gens introvertis: la nécessité de s'intéresser à ces personnes , gardez un certain degré d’alerte pour ce qu’ils peuvent faire, trouvez des sujets de conversation, etc. Les personnes extraverties, en revanche, se sentiraient plus stimulées par ce qui se passe autour d’elles, qu’il s’agisse ou non de situations sociales complexes.

Les quatre fonctions psychologiques de base

Dans les types de personnalité de Carl Jung, la dimension introversion-extraversion est mélangée à ce qu'il considérait comme les quatre fonctions psychologiques qui nous définissent: penser, ressentir, percevoir et intuiter . Les deux premiers, penser et ressentir, concernaient les fonctions rationnelles de Jung, alors que percevoir et intuiter étaient irrationnels.

De la combinaison de chacune de ces quatre fonctions avec les deux éléments de la dimension introversion-extraversion émergent les huit types de personnalité de Carl Jung.

Les types psychologiques

Les types de personnalité de Carl Jung, publiés dans son ouvrage de 1921 Types psychologiques, sont les suivants.

1. Pensée introvertie

Les personnes appartenant à la catégorie réfléchissant-introverti ils sont beaucoup plus concentrés sur leurs propres pensées que sur ce qui se passe au-delà d'eux . Ils se montrent intéressés, concrètement, par les pensées de type abstrait, les réflexions et les batailles théoriques entre différentes philosophies et façons de voir la vie.

Ainsi, pour Jung, ce type de personnalité est celui que, dans la culture populaire, nous pourrions relier à la tendance à philosopher, au souci des relations entre les idées.

2. Sentimental-introverti

Les personnes appartenant au type de personnalité se sentir introverti Ils ne sont pas très bavards mais sympathiques, empathiques et sans difficultés particulières pour créer des liens affectifs. avec un petit cercle de personnes. Ils ont tendance à ne pas manifester leur attachement, notamment à cause du manque de spontanéité dans l'expression de leurs sentiments.

3. Sense-introverti

Comme il arrive dans le reste des personnalités définies par l'introversion, la personnalité sensible introverti Il est caractérisé pour être axé sur des phénomènes subjectifs . Dans ce cas, cependant, ces phénomènes sont davantage liés aux stimuli reçus par les sens qu'aux sentiments ou aux idées abstraites. Selon la définition de Carl Jung, ce type de personnalité désigne généralement des personnes qui se consacrent à l'art ou à l'artisanat.

4. Intuitif-introverti

Dans ce type de personnalité intuitif-introverti, ce sont les fantasmes qui intéressent la personne à propos de l'avenir et de l'avenir ... au prix d'arrêter de prêter attention au présent. Ces gens seraient plutôt rêveurs, montrant leur détachement de la réalité immédiate et préférer laisser la place à l'imagination.

5. Pensée extravertie

Ce type de personnalité réflexif-extraverti est défini par la tendance à créer des explications sur tout ce que l'individu voit autour de lui . Cela fait donc comprendre ces règles comme des principes inébranlables sur la manière dont la réalité objective est structurée, de sorte que ce type de personnes aurait une manière très caractéristique de voir les choses et que très peu de changement dans le temps. En outre, selon Carl Jung, ils tentent d’imposer cette vision du monde à d’autres personnes.

6. Sentimental-extraverti

Cette catégorie sentimental-extraverti Il serait composé de personnes très empathiques, capables de se connecter facilement avec les autres et qui apprécient beaucoup la compagnie. Selon Jung, ce type de personnalité se définit par le fait d’être associé à de très bonnes aptitudes sociales et à une faible propension à la réflexion et à la pensée abstraite.

7. sentiment extraverti

Dans ce type de personnalité sensible extraverti la recherche de nouvelles sensations avec l'expérimentation avec l'environnement et avec d'autres . Les personnes décrites par ce type de personnalité sont très attachées à la recherche du plaisir dans l’interaction avec des personnes et des environnements réels. Ces individus sont décrits comme étant très ouverts à des expériences qu’ils n’ont jamais vécues auparavant, ils montrent donc une disposition opposée à ceux qui s’opposent à ce qui leur est inconnu.

8. Intuition-extraversion

Le dernier type de personnalité de Carl Jung, le type intuitif extraverti, caractérisé par la tendance à entreprendre toutes sortes de projets et aventures de moyenne ou longue durée , de sorte qu'à la fin d'une phase, vous souhaitiez en démarrer une autre immédiatement. Voyages, création d’entreprises, plans de transformation ... les perspectives d’avenir liées à l’interaction avec l’environnement sont au centre des préoccupations de ces personnes et elles essaient de faire en sorte que le reste des membres de leur communauté les aide dans leurs projets ( indépendamment du fait que d'autres obtiennent autant d'avantages que vous-même ou non).

Les types de personnalité de Jung sont-ils utiles?

La manière dont Carl Jung a créé ces types de personnalité est bien différente de ce qu’elle est tentée aujourd’hui, à partir d’analyses statistiques et de recherches impliquant des centaines de personnes.Même dans la première moitié du XXe siècle, il n'existait aucune méthode ni aucun outil pour créer des modèles de personnalité robustes, et la pensée de Jung ne s'accordait jamais avec la manière d'enquêter sur ce qui se passe dans le monde. psychologie scientifique , très soucieux de créer des critères objectifs pour délimiter les traits de personnalité et de tester les théories des attentes contrastées avec la réalité.

Parmi les huit types de personnalité de Carl Jung, l'indicateur Myers-Briggs est apparu et les concepts d'introversion et d'extraversion ont fortement influencé d'importants psychologues de différences individuelles, mais ces descriptions sont trop abstraites pour prédire le comportement typique de les personnes. S'en tenir à ce genre de définitions sur la personnalité peut facilement nous faire tomber dans l'effet Forer.

Cependant, le fait que la proposition de Carl Jung n’a presque aucune valeur scientifique ne signifie pas qu’elle ne peut pas être utilisée comme référence philosophique , une façon de se voir et de voir les autres, suggestive ou poétique. Bien entendu, sa valeur objective n’est pas supérieure à celle de toute autre classification des types de personnalité qu’une personne non formée en psychologie ou en psychométrie peut réaliser.


Références bibliographiques:

  • Clay, C. (2018). Labyrinthes: Emma, ​​son mariage avec Carl Jung et les débuts de la psychanalyse. Madrid: Editions Trois Points.
  • Frey-Rohn, L. (1991, 2006). De Freud à Jung. Mexique: Fonds de la culture économique.

Les types psychologiques de Jung (Février 2021).


Articles Connexes