yes, therapy helps!
The 8 phases of meiosis and how the process develops

The 8 phases of meiosis and how the process develops

April 29, 2024

Something wonderful about life is how a single cell can give rise to an entire organism . I am talking about the birth of a new living being through sexual reproduction. This is possible by the union of two specialized cells, called gametes (eg ovule), in fertilization. The surprising thing is that it allows to transmit information of both parents, so the new cell has a different genetic material. To achieve this, a different system of proliferation at mitosis is necessary, to remember that the result was identical cells. For this case, the method used is meiosis.

In this article we will see what are the phases of meiosis and what does this process consist of?


  • Related article: "Differences between mitosis and meiosis"

Forming haploid cells

In the case of humans, the cells are diploid, which means that they each have two copies per different chromosome. It is easy; humans have 23 different chromosomes, but being diploid, we actually have 46 (one more copy for each). During the phases of meiosis what is achieved are haploid cells , that is, they only have one chromosome per type (23 in total).

As happens in mitosis, the interface is present to prepare the cell for its imminent cell division , increasing its size, replicating the genetic content and making the necessary tools. This is the only similarity of the two processes, since everything changes from here.


  • Related article: "The 4 phases of mitosis: this way the cell is duplicated"

Two consecutive divisions: phases of meiosis

Meiosis presents the same four phases as mitosis: prophase, metaphase, anaphase and telophase; but they do not happen in the same way. In addition, meiosis performs two cell divisions in a row, which explains why its result is four haploid cells . For this reason we speak of meiosis I and meiosis II, according to what partition is spoken of; and in fact they are 8 phases of meiosis, 4 for each division.

Before continuing, you have to understand two key concepts. The first is that of homologous chromosomes , and refers to the pair of chromosomes per hole. The second is sister chromatids, which consists of the duplication that has been made of a chromosome during the interphase.

Meiosis I

During prophase I, the homologous chromosomes are very close, which allows "parts" to be exchanged between them, as if they were changing chromosomes. This mechanism it serves to generate more genetic diversity in offspring . Meanwhile, the nucleus is degraded and the transport path of the chromosomes is generated: the mitotic spindle.


Metaphase I occurs when the chromosomes are attached to the mitotic spindle. Next, it enters anaphase I, which is when they are transported to opposite poles. But this time, what separates are the homologous chromosomes and not the sister chromatids, which happens in mitosis. Once separated, begins a rapid telophase I , where only cytokinesis occurs, that is, separation into two cells. Without time to time, these new cells enter a second cell division.

Meiosis II

At this time of the phases of meiosis we have two diploid cells, but the pairs of chromosomes are the replicas (except for the parts exchanged during prophase I) and not the original pair, since what has been separated are the homologous chromosomes .

As it is a new cell division, the cycle is the same with some difference, and this phase is more like what happens in a mitosis. During the prophase II the mitotic spindle is reformed so that in metaphase II it joins the chromosomes through its center and, now, during anaphase II, the sister chromatids are separated towards opposite poles. During telophase II, the nucleus is formed to contain the genetic content and separation of the two cells occurs.

The final result is four haploid cells, since each one has only one copy per chromosome. In the case of humans, by this mechanism the sperm or the egg are generated , depending on the genus, and these cells contain 23 chromosomes, unlike the 46 chromosomes of the rest of the cells (23x2).

Sexual reproduction

The objective that has been reached throughout the phases of meiosis is that of generate haploid cells, called gametes, that can cause a new organism . This is the foundation of sexual reproduction, the ability of two individuals of the same species to have offspring matching their genetic content.

This is why it is logical that these cells are haploid, so that at the time of fertilization, which is the union of the two types of gametes (in the human case of the sperm and the ovum), a new diploid cell is generated whose genetic material is formed by the pairing of the chromosomes from each gamete.


Mitosis: Splitting Up is Complicated - Crash Course Biology #12 (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 8 phases de la méiose et l'évolution du processus

Les 8 phases de la méiose et l'évolution du processus

Décembre 9, 2021

Quelque chose de merveilleux dans la vie est comment une seule cellule peut donner naissance à un organisme entier . Je parle de la naissance d'un nouvel être vivant par la reproduction sexuée. Ceci est possible par la réunion de deux cellules spécialisées, appelées gamètes (ovule par exemple), en fécondation. La chose surprenante est que cela permet de transmettre des informations aux deux parents, de sorte que la nouvelle cellule possède un matériel génétique différent. Pour ce faire, un système de prolifération différent à la mitose est nécessaire, pour rappeler que le résultat était des cellules identiques. Dans ce cas, la méthode utilisée est la méiose.

Dans cet article nous verrons quelles sont les phases de la méiose et en quoi consiste ce processus?


  • Article connexe: "Différences entre mitose et méiose"

Formation de cellules haploïdes

Dans le cas des humains, les cellules sont diploïdes, ce qui signifie qu'elles ont chacune deux copies par chromosome différent. C'est facile; les humains ont 23 chromosomes différents, mais étant diploïde, nous en avons 46 (une copie de plus pour chacun). Au cours des phases de la méiose, les cellules haploïdes sont atteintes c'est-à-dire qu'ils n'ont qu'un seul chromosome par type (23 au total).

Comme cela se passe dans la mitose, l'interface est présente pour préparer la cellule à sa division cellulaire imminente , en augmentant sa taille, en reproduisant le contenu génétique et en fabriquant les outils nécessaires. C'est la seule similitude des deux processus, puisque tout change à partir d'ici.


  • Article connexe: "Les 4 phases de la mitose: ainsi la cellule est dupliquée"

Deux divisions consécutives: les phases de la méiose

La méiose présente les mêmes quatre phases que la mitose: prophase, métaphase, anaphase et télophase; mais ils ne se passent pas de la même manière. En plus, la méiose effectue deux divisions cellulaires consécutives, ce qui explique pourquoi il en résulte quatre cellules haploïdes . Pour cette raison, nous parlons de la méiose I et de la méiose II, selon la partition dont on parle; et en fait, ce sont 8 phases de la méiose, 4 pour chaque division.

Avant de continuer, vous devez comprendre deux concepts clés. Le premier est celui des chromosomes homologues et fait référence à la paire de chromosomes par trou. La seconde est la chromatide soeur, qui consiste en la duplication d’un chromosome pendant l’interphase.

Méiose I

Au cours de la prophase I, les chromosomes homologues sont très proches, ce qui permet d’échanger des "parties" entre eux, comme s’ils changeaient de chromosomes. Ce mécanisme il sert à générer plus de diversité génétique chez la progéniture . Pendant ce temps, le noyau est dégradé et le chemin de transport des chromosomes est généré: le fuseau mitotique.


La métaphase I se produit lorsque les chromosomes sont attachés au fuseau mitotique. Ensuite, il entre dans l'anaphase I, c'est-à-dire quand ils sont transportés vers des pôles opposés. Mais cette fois, ce sont les chromosomes homologues qui se séparent et non les chromatides soeurs, ce qui se produit lors de la mitose. Une fois séparés, commence une télophase rapide I , où il n’ya que la cytokinèse, c’est-à-dire la séparation en deux cellules. Sans temps, ces nouvelles cellules entrent dans une deuxième division cellulaire.

Méiose II

À ce stade des phases de la méiose, nous avons deux cellules diploïdes, mais les paires de chromosomes sont les répliques (à l'exception des parties échangées pendant la prophase I) et non la paire d'origine, car ce sont les chromosomes homologues qui ont été séparés. .

Comme il s'agit d'une nouvelle division cellulaire, le cycle est le même, à quelques différences près, et cette phase ressemble davantage à ce qui se passe dans une mitose. Pendant la prophase II le fuseau mitotique est reformé de sorte qu'en métaphase II, il relie les chromosomes par son centre et, maintenant, pendant l'anaphase II, les chromatides soeurs sont séparées vers les pôles opposés. Au cours de la télophase II, le noyau est formé pour contenir le contenu génétique et la séparation des deux cellules a lieu.

Le résultat final est quatre cellules haploïdes, car chacune ne possède qu'une copie par chromosome. Dans le cas des humains, par ce mécanisme, le sperme ou l'ovule sont générés , selon le genre, et ces cellules contiennent 23 chromosomes, contrairement aux 46 chromosomes du reste des cellules (23x2).

Reproduction sexuelle

L’objectif atteint au cours des phases de la méiose est celui de la générer des cellules haploïdes, appelées gamètes, pouvant causer un nouvel organisme . C'est le fondement de la reproduction sexuée, la capacité de deux individus de la même espèce d'avoir une progéniture correspondant à leur contenu génétique.

C’est pourquoi il est logique que ces cellules soient haploïdes, de sorte qu’au moment de la fécondation, qui est l’union des deux types de gamètes (dans le cas humain du sperme et de l’ovule), une nouvelle cellule diploïde est générée, dont le matériel génétique est formé par l’appariement des chromosomes de chaque gamète.


Les 8 étapes de la méiose - SVT Terminale - Les Bons Profs (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes