yes, therapy helps!
The 8 planets of the Solar System (ordered and with their characteristics)

The 8 planets of the Solar System (ordered and with their characteristics)

May 24, 2022

The Solar System, recognized by astrologers as "Our System", is composed of planets and asteroids that revolve around the only star that gives its name to the system, the Sun .

All the elements that compose it rotate directly or indirectly around the Sun because of the tensions created by the mass of each celestial body. There are many similar systems in the Universe, but this is the one that interests us since we depend on it to survive.

In this article we will see what are the planets of the Solar System .

  • Related article: "The 6 types of ecosystems: the different habitats we find on Earth"

How is the Solar System formed?

It should be noted that the Solar System It was formed about 4,600 million years ago, the result of a gravitational collapse of a giant molecular cloud . This phenomenon led to the formation of other billions of stars that, according to experts, quantity is unknown.


Among the main elements that give shape and life to the Solar System, we also find minor planets, dust, interstellar gas, satellites and asteroids. All this belongs to the famous Milky Way, formed in turn by hundreds of billions of stars. Our Solar System, then, is located in one of those arms of the Vía, called Orion.

Main characteristics

The bodies that give form and life to the Solar System are the Sun, which accounts for 99% of the total mass of the system and with a diameter of 1,500,000 kilometers , and the planets, divided into two types called interior and exterior. It should be noted that the outer planets are surrounded by a ring. The dwarf planets, which are in another category of those already mentioned above, include celestial bodies such as Pluto or Eris.


Satellites are another important element , since they are larger bodies that orbit large planets such as Jupiter or Planet Earth, whose only satellite is the Moon.

On the other hand we find his younger brothers, the smaller bodies, which are concentrated in the asteroid belt between Mars and Jupiter. Asteroids, frozen objects, liquids, gaseous, comets, cosmic and meteoroid powders represent the rest of elements for the Solar System to take shape.

  • Maybe you're interested: "17 science-fiction books absolutely recommended"

The three categories

To better understand this system, astronomical scientific experts have decided to establish a classification of three categories of the Solar System that explain the formation of it.

First category

In this category are the 8 planets that make up the Solar System. The terrestrial planets are Earth, Mars, Venus and Mercury. The exteriors or giants (already mentioned in the previous point) are Neptune, Uranus, Jupiter and Saturn. Here all the planets have satellites that orbit around them.


Second category

Here are the so-called dwarf planets. This is a celestial body orbiting the Sun, of spherical shape but without sufficient mass to clear the vicinity of its orbit . Here is the reason for its nomenclature. The planets that make up this second category are: Ceres, Eris, Haumea, Pluto and Eris.

Category third

In this category reside the so-called "minor bodies of the Solar System", which are all the remaining objects that orbit around the Sun : they are the asteroids (compounds of amorphous forms), objects of the Kuiper belt, the meteoroids and the frozen comets.

The planets of the solar system

As we have described in the previous points, the planets of the Solar System are those that compose the most important part of all its complex composition. Next, we will go deeper into each of them in a more detailed way.

1. Mercury

We started on this planet to be the closest to the Sun, apart from being the smallest of its counterparts. It has a resemblance to Earth, because its composition is 70% metallic elements and the remaining 30% corresponds to silicates . In addition, as with the Moon, Mercury has a large number of meteorite impacts.

2. Venus

Venus corresponds the number two in terms of distance from the Sun . Within the Planets of the Solar System, Venus is often referred to as the planet "brother of the Earth" because of its resemblance, both in size and mass and its composition of terrestrial and rocky type.

3. Earth

Planet Earth, our planet, is the largest of the so-called rocky planets. It was formed about 4600 million years ago and its name comes from the Latin "Terra", Greek deity that corresponds to femininity and fertility.71% of its composition corresponds to the hydrosphere (water), a differential fact that has allowed the existence and persistence of human life. No other planet in the Solar System contains such a liquid level.

4. Mars

Mars is the second of the planets of the smaller solar system, after Mercury. It has long been commonly known as "red planet" , fruit of the reddish color that it acquires by iron oxide in the majority of its surface. Its size is almost half that of Earth and its gravity is 40% smaller, which makes it practically uninhabitable according to the latest NASA research.

5. Jupiter

The Planet of the Solar System that receives its name by the God Zeus of the Greek mythology (Jupiter in Roman mythology) is, preceded by the Sun, the planet with greater celestial body. It is 1300 times larger than Earth. As a massive gaseous body, its composition is basically composed of hydrogen and ice. As a curiosity, It is considered the oldest planet in the Solar System , preceding the Sun inclusive.

6. Saturn

This planet of the Solar System is famous for its imposing brightness from its rings that surround the planet. Returning to Galileo, he saw it for the first time in the year 1610. Virtually the entire planet (96%) consists of hydrogen and the remaining 3% of ice.

7. Uranus

This planet is considered the first to be discovered by a telescope. Its composition is very similar to that of its brothers Saturn and Jupiter, since it is formed by helium and hydrogen, as well as water, ammonia and methane but in larger quantities. A peculiarity of this planet of the Solar System is its atmosphere , with the lowest temperatures of the entire system, reaching the minimum of -224 degrees Celsius.

8. Neptune

Neptune was discovered about two centuries ago by Urbain Le Verrier, John Couch and Johann Galle, back in 1847. However, some historians and astronomers they maintain that the famous Galileo Galilei already observed this planet by the year 1612 , data still unconfirmed. The planet Neptune is composed of molten rock, water, methane, hydrogen, ice and liquid ammonia.

Bibliographic references:

  • Giancoli, C. D. (2007). «Circular movement and gravitation». In Pearson Education. Physics: Principles with applications (sixth edition). Mexico DF. pp. 125-126.
  • Sukyoung Yi; Pierre Demarque; Yong-Cheol Kim; Young-Wook Lee; Chang H. Ree; Thibault Lejeune; Sydney Barnes (2001). Toward Better Age Estimates for Stellar Populations: The Y2 Isochrones for Solar Mixture. Astrophysical Journal Supplement 136: pp. 417-437.

Planets in our solar system | Sun and solar system | Solar System for children | 8 planets elearnin (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 8 planètes du système solaire (ordonnées et avec leurs caractéristiques)

Les 8 planètes du système solaire (ordonnées et avec leurs caractéristiques)

Janvier 22, 2021

Le système solaire, reconnu par les astrologues comme "notre système", est composé de planètes et astéroïdes qui gravitent autour de la seule étoile qui donne son nom au système, le Soleil .

Tous les éléments qui le composent tournent directement ou indirectement autour du Soleil en raison des tensions créées par la masse de chaque corps céleste. Il existe de nombreux systèmes similaires dans l'Univers, mais c'est celui qui nous intéresse car nous en dépendons pour survivre.

Dans cet article nous verrons quelles sont les planètes du système solaire .

  • Article connexe: "Les 6 types d'écosystèmes: les différents habitats que nous trouvons sur Terre"

Comment se forme le système solaire?

Il convient de noter que le système solaire Il s'est formé il y a environ 4 600 millions d'années, à la suite de l'effondrement gravitationnel d'un nuage moléculaire géant. . Ce phénomène a conduit à la formation d'autres milliards d'étoiles dont la quantité, selon les experts, est inconnue.


Parmi les principaux éléments qui donnent forme et vie au système solaire, on trouve également les planètes mineures, la poussière, les gaz interstellaires, les satellites et les astéroïdes. Tout cela appartient à la célèbre Voie lactée, formée à son tour par des centaines de milliards d'étoiles. Notre système solaire se trouve donc dans l’un de ces bras de la Via appelé Orion.

Caractéristiques principales

Les corps qui donnent forme et vie au système solaire sont le Soleil, qui représente 99% de la masse totale du système et un diamètre de 1 500 000 kilomètres et les planètes, divisées en deux types appelés intérieur et extérieur. Il convient de noter que les planètes extérieures sont entourées par un anneau. Les planètes naines, qui appartiennent à une autre catégorie de celles déjà mentionnées ci-dessus, incluent des corps célestes tels que Pluton ou Eris.


Les satellites sont un autre élément important , car ce sont des corps plus grands qui gravitent autour de grandes planètes telles que Jupiter ou Planet Earth, dont le seul satellite est la Lune.

D'autre part, nous trouvons ses frères plus jeunes, les corps plus petits, qui sont concentrés dans la ceinture d'astéroïdes entre Mars et Jupiter. Astéroïdes, objets gelés, liquides, gazeux, comètes, poudres cosmiques et météoroïdes représentent le reste des éléments à prendre en compte par le système solaire.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "17 livres de science-fiction absolument recommandés"

Les trois catégories

Pour mieux comprendre ce système, des experts scientifiques astronomiques ont décidé d’établir une classification de trois catégories du système solaire cela en explique la formation.

Première catégorie

Dans cette catégorie sont les 8 planètes qui composent le système solaire. Les planètes terrestres sont la Terre, Mars, Vénus et Mercure. Les extérieurs ou géants (déjà mentionnés dans le point précédent) sont Neptune, Uranus, Jupiter et Saturne. Ici, toutes les planètes ont des satellites en orbite autour d’elles.


Deuxième catégorie

Voici les soi-disant planètes naines. Ceci est un corps céleste en orbite autour du soleil, de forme sphérique mais sans masse suffisante pour dégager le voisinage de son orbite . Voici la raison de sa nomenclature. Les planètes qui composent cette deuxième catégorie sont: Ceres, Eris, Haumea, Pluto et Eris.

Troisième catégorie

Dans cette catégorie résident les soi-disant "corps mineurs du système solaire", qui sont tous les objets restants qui gravitent autour du soleil : ce sont les astéroïdes (composés de formes amorphes), les objets de la ceinture de Kuiper, les météoroïdes et les comètes gelées.

Les planètes du système solaire

Comme nous l'avons décrit dans les points précédents, les planètes du système solaire sont celles qui composent la partie la plus importante de toute sa composition complexe. Ensuite, nous approfondirons chacune d’elles de manière plus détaillée.

1. Mercure

Nous avons commencé sur cette planète pour être le plus proche du Soleil, en plus d'être le plus petit de ses homologues. Il ressemble à la Terre, car sa composition est de 70% d'éléments métalliques et les 30% restants correspondent à des silicates . De plus, à l'instar de la Lune, Mercure a un grand nombre d'impacts sur les météorites.

2. Vénus

Vénus correspond le numéro deux en termes de distance du soleil . Dans les planètes du système solaire, Vénus est souvent appelée la planète «frère de la Terre» en raison de sa ressemblance, à la fois en taille et en masse, et de sa composition de type terrestre et rocheux.

3. Terre

La planète Terre, notre planète, est la plus grande des planètes dites rocheuses. Il a été formé il y a environ 4600 millions d'années et son nom vient du latin "Terra", divinité grecque qui correspond à la féminité et à la fertilité.71% de sa composition correspond à l'hydrosphère (eau), un fait différentiel qui a permis l'existence et la persistance de la vie humaine. Aucune autre planète du système solaire ne contient un tel niveau de liquide.

4. Mars

Mars est la deuxième des planètes du plus petit système solaire, après Mercure. Il a longtemps été communément appelé "planète rouge" , fruit de la couleur rougeâtre qu'il acquiert par l'oxyde de fer dans la majeure partie de sa surface. Sa taille est presque la moitié de celle de la Terre et sa gravité est 40% plus petite, ce qui la rend pratiquement inhabitable selon les dernières recherches de la NASA.

5. Jupiter

La planète du système solaire qui reçoit son nom du dieu Zeus de la mythologie grecque (Jupiter dans la mythologie romaine) est, précédée du Soleil, la planète au plus grand corps céleste. Il est 1300 fois plus grand que la Terre. En tant que corps gazeux massif, sa composition est essentiellement composée d’hydrogène et de glace. Comme un fait curieux, Elle est considérée comme la plus ancienne planète du système solaire. , précédant le soleil inclus.

6. Saturne

Cette planète du système solaire est réputée pour la luminosité imposante de ses anneaux qui l'entourent. De retour à Galilée, il le vit pour la première fois en 1610. Presque toute la planète (96%) est constituée d'hydrogène et les 3% restants de glace.

7. Uranus

Cette planète est considérée comme la première à être découverte par un télescope. Sa composition est très similaire à celle de ses frères Saturne et Jupiter, car elle est formée d’hélium et d’hydrogène, ainsi que d’eau, d’ammoniac et de méthane, mais en plus grande quantité. Une particularité de cette planète du système solaire est son atmosphère , avec les températures les plus basses de tout le système, atteignant le minimum de -224 degrés Celsius.

8. Neptune

Neptune a été découvert il y a environ deux siècles par Urbain Le Verrier, John Couch et Johann Galle, en 1847. Cependant, certains historiens et astronomes ils soutiennent que le célèbre Galileo Galilei avait déjà observé cette planète d'ici à 1612 , les données non confirmées. La planète Neptune est composée de roches en fusion, d'eau, de méthane, d'hydrogène, de glace et d'ammoniac liquide.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Giancoli, C. D. (2007). «Mouvement circulaire et gravitation». Dans Pearson Education. Physique: principes avec applications (sixième édition). Mexico D.F. pp. 125-126.
  • Sukyoung Yi; Pierre Demarque; Yong-Cheol Kim; Young-Wook Lee; Chang H. Ree; Thibault Lejeune; Sydney Barnes (2001). Vers de meilleures estimations de l'âge pour les populations stellaires: l'isochrome Y2 pour le mélange solaire Astrophysical Journal Supplement 136: pp. 417-437.

Tout sur les téléscopes (Janvier 2021).


Articles Connexes