yes, therapy helps!
The 8 theories of altruism: why do we help others for nothing?

The 8 theories of altruism: why do we help others for nothing?

May 27, 2024

Giving to others, helping the other without expecting anything in return. Although today it is not so usual since we are immersed in an increasingly individualistic culture , it is still possible to observe from time to time the existence of a large number of acts of spontaneous generosity and disinterested help to the other. And not only the human being: altruistic acts have been observed in a large number of animals of species as different as chimpanzees, dogs, dolphins or bats.

The reason for this type of attitude has been the subject of debate and research from sciences such as psychology, ethology or biology, generating a large number of theories about altruism . It is about them that will be discussed throughout this article, highlighting some of the best known.


  • Related article: "Altruism: development of the prosocial self in children"

Altruism: basic definition

We understand altruism as that pattern of behavior or behavior characterized by the search for the welfare of others without expecting that it will generate any kind of benefit , despite the fact that such action may even harm us. The welfare of others is therefore the element that motivates and guides the behavior of the subject, we are talking about a punctual act or something stable in time.

The altruistic acts are generally well seen socially and allow generate well-being in others, something that affects the bond between individuals in a positive way. However, at a biological level altruism is an action that in principle it is not directly beneficial for survival and even that it can end up putting it at risk or causing death, something that has made the different researchers think about the emergence of this type of behavior.


  • You may be interested: "The theory of moral development of Lawrence Kohlberg"

Theories about altruism: two great points of view

Why a living being may be willing to sacrifice his life, cause him harm or simply use his own resources and efforts in one or several actions that they do not make any profit has been the object of great research from different disciplines, generating a great number of theories. Among all of them, we can highlight two large groups in which theories about altruism can be inserted

Pseudo-altruistic theories

This type of theories about altruism is one of the most important and has had greater consideration throughout history. They are called pseudo-altruists because what they propose is that fundamentally the altruistic acts do pursue some kind of own benefit, even at the unconscious level .


This search would not be a direct and tangible benefit for the performance, but the motivation behind the altruistic act would be to obtain internal rewards such as self-approval, the feeling of doing something considered good by another or the monitoring of one's moral code. As well the expectation of future favors would be included on the part of the beings to whom we provide help.

Purely altruistic theories

This second group of theories considers that altruistic behavior is not due to the intention (conscious or not) of obtaining benefits, but rather that part of the direct intention of generating well-being to the other . It would be elements such as empathy or the search for justice that would motivate the performance. This type of theories usually take into account the relatively utopian that is to find a total altruism, but they value the existence of personality features tending to them.

Some of the main explanatory proposals

The two previous ones are the two main existent approaches regarding the functioning of the altruism, but within both a great amount of theories are included. Among them, some of the most notable are the following.

1. Reciprocal altruism

Theory that from the pseudoaltruism approach advocates that what really moves the altruistic behavior is the expectation that the help provided will subsequently generate an equivalent behavior in the person helped, in such a way that in the long run the chances of survival are enhanced in situations where the resources themselves may not be enough.

Also, who receives the aid benefits from this at the same time tend to feel indebted to the other . It also enhances and favors the possibility of interaction between both individuals, something that favors the socialization between unrelated subjects. He has the feeling of being in debt.

2. Normative theory

This theory is very similar to the previous one, with the exception that it considers that what moves the person who helps is the moral / ethical code or values, its structuring and the feeling of obligation towards others derived from them. It is also considered a theory of the approach of pseudoaltruism, since what is sought with the help of the other is to obey the social norm and the expectations of a world together that have been acquired during socioculturally, avoiding the fault of not helping and obtaining the gratification to have done what we consider correct (thus increasing our self-consideration).

3. Theory of stress reduction

Also part of the pseudo-altruistic approach, this theory considers that the motive of helping the other is the reduction of the state of discomfort and agitation generated by the observation of another person's suffering. The absence of action would generate guilt and increase the discomfort of the subject, while help will reduce the discomfort felt by the altruistic subject itself by reducing the other.

4. The selection of the kinship of Hamilton

Another of the existing theories is that of Hamilton, who considers that altruism is generated by the search for the perpetuation of genes. This theory of eminently biological load values ​​that in nature many of the altruistic behaviors are directed towards members of our own family or with whom we have some kind of consanguineous relationship .

The act of altruism would allow our genes to survive and reproduce, even though our own survival could be impaired. It has been observed that a large part of altruistic behaviors is generated in different animal species.

5. Costs-benefits calculation model

This model considers the existence of a calculation between costs and benefits of both acting and not acting when performing an altruistic act, specifying the existence of fewer risks than possible benefits to be obtained. The observation of the suffering of others will generate tension in the observer, something that will lead to the activation of the calculation process. The final decision will also be influenced by other factors, such as the degree of linkage with the subject that needs help.

6. Autonomous altruism

A model more typical of the purely altruistic approach, this proposal assumes that emotions are what generate the altruistic act: the emotion towards the subject in distress or towards the situation generates that the basic principles of reinforcement and punishment cease to be taken into account. This model, worked among others by Karylowski, takes into account that for altruism to be really such it is necessary that the attention is focused on the other (If it were focused on oneself and the sensations it causes, we would be faced with the product of normative theory: an altruism by the fact of feeling good about oneself).

7. Hypothesis of empathy-altruism

This hypothesis, by Bateson, also considers altruism as something pure and not biased by the intention to obtain any kind of reward. The existence of several factors to be taken into account is assumed, being the first step to be able to perceive the need for help from others, the differentiation between their present situation and that which would imply their well-being, the salience of this need and the focus on the other . This will generate the appearance of empathy, putting ourselves in the place of the other and experiencing emotions towards him.

This will motivate us to seek their welfare, calculating the best way to help the other person (something that could include leaving the help to others). Although aid can generate some kind of social or interpersonal reward but that it is not the objective of the aid itself .

8. Empathy and identification with the other

Another hypothesis that considers altruism as something pure proposes the fact that what generates altruistic behavior is the identification with the other, in a context in which the other is perceived as needing help and through identification with him we forget the limits between the self and the person in need . This will end up generating that we seek their welfare, in the same way we would look for ours.

Bibliographic references:

  • Batson, CD. (1991). The altruism question: Toward a socio-psychological answer. Hillsdale, NJ, England: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, Inc .; England
  • Feigin, S .; Owens, G. and Goodyear-Smith, F. (2014). Theories of human altruism: a systematic review. Annals of Neuroscience and Psychology, 1 (1). Available at: //www.vipoa.org/journals/pdf/2306389068.pdf.
  • Herbert, M. (1992). Psychology in Social Work. Madrid: Pyramid.
  • Karylowski, J. (1982). Two types of altruistic behavior: Doing good to feel good or to make the other feel good. In: Derlega VJ, Grzelak J, editors. Cooperation and helping behavior: theories and research. New York: Academic Press, 397-413.
  • Kohlberg, L. (1984). Essays on moral development. The psychology of moral development. San Francisco: Harper and Row, 2
  • Trivers, R.L. (1971). The evolution of reciprocal altruism. Quarterly Review of Biology 46: 35-57.

Selfish Charity: Why Do We Help Others? (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 8 théories de l'altruisme: pourquoi aidons-nous les autres pour rien?

Les 8 théories de l'altruisme: pourquoi aidons-nous les autres pour rien?

Février 24, 2021

Donner aux autres, aider les autres sans rien attendre en retour. Bien qu’aujourd’hui ce n’est pas si habituel puisque nous sommes plongés dans une culture de plus en plus individualiste , il est encore possible d’observer de temps en temps l’existence d’un grand nombre d’actes de générosité spontanée et d’aide désintéressée à l’autre. Et pas seulement l'homme: des actes altruistes ont été observés chez un grand nombre d'animaux appartenant à des espèces aussi différentes que les chimpanzés, les chiens, les dauphins et les chauves-souris.

La raison de ce type d’attitude a fait l’objet de débats et de recherches dans des domaines tels que la psychologie, l’éthologie ou la biologie, générant un grand nombre de théories sur l'altruisme . Nous en discuterons tout au long de cet article, en mettant en lumière certains des plus connus.


  • Article connexe: "Altruisme: développement du soi prosocial chez les enfants"

Altruisme: définition de base

Nous comprenons l’altruisme comme ce type de comportement ou comportement caractérisé par la recherche du bien-être d'autrui sans s'attendre à ce que cela génère un quelconque avantage , malgré le fait qu'une telle action peut même nous nuire. Le bien-être des autres est donc l'élément qui motive et guide le comportement du sujet, on parle d'un acte ponctuel ou de quelque chose de stable dans le temps.

Les actes altruistes sont généralement bien perçus socialement et permettent de générer du bien-être chez les autres, ce qui affecte le lien entre les individus de manière positive. Cependant, au niveau biologique, l'altruisme est une action qui, en principe, ce n'est pas directement bénéfique pour la survie et même le fait qu'il puisse finir par le mettre en danger ou entraîner la mort, ce qui a amené les différents chercheurs à réfléchir à l'émergence de ce type de comportement.


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "La théorie du développement moral de Lawrence Kohlberg"

Théories sur l'altruisme: deux grands points de vue

Pourquoi un être vivant peut-il être prêt à sacrifier sa vie, à lui causer du tort ou simplement à utiliser ses propres ressources et efforts dans une ou plusieurs actions qui: ils ne font aucun profit a fait l’objet de grandes recherches dans différentes disciplines, générant un grand nombre de théories. Parmi tous, nous pouvons mettre en évidence deux grands groupes dans lesquels des théories sur l'altruisme peuvent être insérées

Théories pseudo-altruistes

Ce type de théories sur l’altruisme est l’une des plus importantes et a été de plus en plus pris en compte au cours de l’histoire. On les appelle des pseudo-altruistes parce qu'ils proposent essentiellement que les actes altruistes procurent un avantage quelconque, même au niveau inconscient .


Cette recherche ne constituerait pas un avantage direct et tangible pour la performance, mais la motivation derrière l'acte altruiste serait d'obtenir des récompenses internes telles que l'auto-approbation, le sentiment de faire quelque chose considéré comme bon par autrui ou la surveillance de son code moral. Aussi l'attente de futures faveurs serait incluse de la part des êtres à qui nous fournissons de l'aide.

Théories purement altruistes

Ce second groupe de théories considère que le comportement altruiste n'est pas dû à l'intention (consciente ou non) d'obtenir des avantages, mais plutôt que partie de l'intention directe de générer du bien-être à l'autre . Ce seraient des éléments tels que l'empathie ou la recherche de la justice qui motiveraient la performance. Ce type de théories prend généralement en compte l'utopie relative qui consiste à trouver un altruisme total, mais ils valorisent l'existence de traits de personnalité qui y tendent.

Quelques propositions explicatives principales

Les deux précédentes sont les deux principales approches existantes concernant le fonctionnement de l'altruisme, mais une grande quantité de théories y sont incluses. Parmi eux, les plus remarquables sont les suivants.

1. Altruisme réciproque

Selon la théorie du pseudoaltruisme, ce qui fait bouger le comportement altruiste, c’est l’espoir que l’aide fournie génère par la suite un comportement équivalent chez la personne aidée, de sorte que à long terme, les chances de survie augmentent dans des situations où les ressources elles-mêmes risquent de ne pas suffire.

De plus, qui reçoit l'aide en profite en même temps ont tendance à se sentir redevables à l'autre . Cela améliore et favorise également la possibilité d’interaction entre les deux individus, ce qui favorise la socialisation entre des sujets indépendants. Il a le sentiment d'être endetté.

2. Théorie normative

Cette théorie est très similaire à la précédente, à l'exception du fait qu'elle considère que ce qui anime la personne qui l'aide est le code ou les valeurs moraux / éthiques, sa structuration et le sentiment d'obligation envers les autres qui en découle. Elle est également considérée comme une théorie de l’approche du pseudo-altruisme, puisque ce que l’on cherche avec l’aide de l’autre, est d’obéir à la norme sociale et aux attentes d’un monde réuni qui ont été acquises au cours de la vie socioculturelle, en évitant la faute de ne pas aider et d’obtenir le gratification d'avoir fait ce que nous considérons comme correct (augmentant ainsi notre auto-considération).

3. Théorie de la réduction du stress

Faisant également partie de l'approche pseudo-altruiste, cette théorie considère que le motif d'aider l'autre est de réduire l'état d'inconfort et d'agitation généré par l'observation de la souffrance d'une autre personne. L’absence d’action engendrerait la culpabilité et augmenterait l’inconfort du sujet, tandis que l'aide réduira l'inconfort ressenti par le sujet altruiste lui-même en réduisant l'autre.

4. La sélection de la parenté de Hamilton

Une autre des théories existantes est celle de Hamilton, qui considère que l'altruisme est généré par la recherche de la perpétuation des gènes. Cette théorie de la charge éminemment biologique atteste que de nombreux comportements altruistes sont par nature dirigés vers les membres de notre propre famille ou avec qui nous avons une sorte de relation consanguine .

L'acte d'altruisme permettrait à nos gènes de survivre et de se reproduire, même si notre propre survie pouvait être altérée. Il a été observé qu'une grande partie des comportements altruistes est générée chez différentes espèces animales.

5. Modèle de calcul coûts-avantages

Ce modèle considère l’existence d’un calcul entre les coûts et les avantages d’agir ou de ne pas agir lorsqu’un acte altruiste est accompli, en spécifiant l’existence de moins de risques que d’avantages à obtenir. L'observation de la souffrance d'autrui générera des tensions chez l'observateur, ce qui conduira à l'activation du processus de calcul. La décision finale sera également influencée par d'autres facteurs, tels que le degré de lien avec le sujet ayant besoin d'aide.

6. Altruisme autonome

Modèle plus typique de l'approche purement altruiste, cette proposition suppose que les émotions génèrent l'acte altruiste: l'émotion envers le sujet en détresse ou envers la situation génère que les principes de base du renforcement et de la punition cessent d'être pris en compte. Ce modèle, élaboré entre autres par Karylowski, tient compte du fait que pour que l’altruisme soit vraiment tel, il est nécessaire que l'attention est concentrée sur l'autre (Si elle était centrée sur soi et les sensations qu’elle provoque, nous serions confrontés au produit de la théorie normative: un altruisme par le fait de se sentir bien avec soi-même).

7. Hypothèse d'empathie-altruisme

Cette hypothèse, de Bateson, considère également l'altruisme comme quelque chose de pur et non biaisé par l'intention d'obtenir une récompense quelconque. On suppose l'existence de plusieurs facteurs à prendre en compte, constituant le premier pas pour pouvoir percevoir le besoin d'aide des autres, la différenciation entre leur situation actuelle et celle qui impliquerait leur bien-être, l'importance de ce besoin et l'attention portée à l'autre . Cela générera l'apparence d'empathie, nous mettant à la place de l'autre et éprouvant des émotions envers lui.

Cela nous incitera à rechercher leur bien-être, en calculant le meilleur moyen d'aider l'autre personne (quelque chose qui pourrait inclure de laisser l'aide à d'autres personnes). Bien que l’aide puisse générer une sorte de récompense sociale ou interpersonnelle mais que ce n'est pas l'objectif de l'aide elle-même .

8. Empathie et identification avec l'autre

Une autre hypothèse qui considère l'altruisme comme quelque chose de pur propose le fait que ce qui génère un comportement altruiste, c'est l'identification avec l'autre, dans un contexte dans lequel l'autre est perçu comme ayant besoin d'aide et par l'identification avec lui. nous oublions les limites entre le moi et la personne dans le besoin . Cela finira par générer que nous cherchons leur bien-être, de la même manière que nous chercherions le nôtre.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Batson, CD. (1991). La question de l'altruisme: vers une réponse socio-psychologique. Hillsdale, NJ, Angleterre: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, Inc; L'Angleterre
  • Feigin, S.; Owens, G. et Goodyear-Smith, F. (2014). Théories de l'altruisme humain: une revue systématique. Annals of Neuroscience and Psychology, 1 (1). Disponible à l’adresse suivante: http://www.vipoa.org/journals/pdf/2306389068.pdf.
  • Herbert, M. (1992). Psychologie en travail social. Madrid: pyramide.
  • Karylowski, J. (1982). Deux types de comportement altruiste: faire du bien pour se sentir bien ou pour que l’autre se sente bien. Dans: Derlega VJ, Grzelak J, éditeurs. Coopération et comportement d'aide: théories et recherches. New York: Academic Press, 397-413.
  • Kohlberg, L. (1984). Essais sur le développement moral. La psychologie du développement moral. San Francisco: Harper et Row, 2
  • Trivers, R.L. (1971). L'évolution de l'altruisme réciproque. Revue trimestrielle de biologie 46: 35-57.

La Loi de l'Attraction (audiobook) (Février 2021).


Articles Connexes