yes, therapy helps!
The 8 types of emotions (classification and description)

The 8 types of emotions (classification and description)

November 8, 2022

Psychology has always been interested in emotions , because they influence our thinking, our behavior and even our mental health.

That's why the concept of emotional intelligence has been gaining ground in recent decades and words like emotional validation, emotional regulation or emotional management are becoming increasingly familiar. It is proven that emotional intelligence improves our well-being and our performance. In this article we will talk about emotions and how these human manifestations are classified.

  • Related article: "The 10 benefits of emotional intelligence"

What are emotions?

There are many theorists who have tried to explain what emotions are . For the psychologist David G. Meyers, emotions are composed of "physiological arousal, expressive behavior and conscious experience".


At present, it is accepted that emotions originate in the limbic system and that these complex states have these three components:

  • Physiological : It is the first reaction to a stimulus and they are involuntary: breathing increases, changes at the hormonal level, etc.
  • Cognitive : The information is processed at a conscious and unconscious level. It influences our subjective experience.
  • Behavioral : Causes a change in behavior: the gestures of the face, the movement of the body ...
  • Over the years, there has been some debate between what is an emotion and what is a feeling. You can know the difference in our article: "The 16 types of feelings and their psychological function"

Theories of emotion

In fact, different theory about emotion has been formulated for decades. The most important are classified in three ways: physiological, neurological and cognitive.


  • Physiological theories : they affirm that intracorporal responses are responsible for emotions.
  • Neurological theories : they state that activity in the brain leads to emotional responses.
  • Cognitive theories : propose that thoughts and other mental activities are responsible for the formation of emotions.
  • You can delve into these theoretical models in our post: "Emotional psychology: main theories of emotion"

Classification of emotions (types)

But, How are emotions classified? There are different types of emotions, below you can find a list with a brief explanation of each of them. Keep in mind, however, that it is not a definitive classification, since none will capture 100% how emotions are grouped and related; simply, it is a useful classification.


1. Primary or basic emotions

Primary emotions are also known as basic emotions , and they are the emotions that we experience in response to a stimulus. For Paul Ekman, he affirmed that the basic emotions are 6: sadness, happiness, surprise, disgust, fear and anger. All of them constitute processes of adaptation and, in theory, exist in all human beings, independently of the culture in which they have developed.

However, recently, an investigation carried out by the University of Glasgow, which was published Current Biology, concludes that there are six basic emotions, but there are four.

  • You can learn more about this study in our article: "Study shows that the basic emotions are four, and not six as was believed"

2. Secondary emotions

Secondary emotions are a group of emotions that follow the previous ones . For example, when we experience the basic emotion of fear then we can feel the secondary emotions of threat or anger, depending, of course, on the situation we are living. Secondary emotions are caused by social norms and by moral standards.

3. Positive emotions

Depending on the degree to which the emotions affect the behavior of the subject, these can be either positive or negative. . Positive emotions are also known as healthy emotions, because they positively affect the well-being of the individual who feels them. They favor the way people think, reason and act. For example, joy, satisfaction, gratitude do not provoke a positive attitude towards life and make us feel experiences that help us feel good.

4. Negative emotions

Negative emotions are opposed to positive emotions, because negatively affect the well-being of people . They are also known as toxic emotions, and often provoke the desire to avoid or evade them. Fear or sadness are some examples.

However, we must bear in mind that this type of emotions, in small quantities and relatively low intensity, are not harmful.In fact, they are part of the learning process, because thanks to them our emotional memory helps us remember the consequences of certain behaviors (or expose ourselves to certain contexts).

5. Ambiguous emotions

Ambiguous emotions are also known as neutral emotions, since do not provoke neither negative nor positive emotions, neither healthy nor unhealthy . For example, surprise does not make us feel good or bad.

The existence of these emotions makes it clear that we are complex animals, and that our experiences have many nuances.

6. Static emotions

Some authors have also made reference to static emotions . They are those that are produced thanks to different artistic manifestations, such as: music or painting.

Thus, when listening to a song we can feel very happy or very sad, but that feeling would be qualitatively different from the happiness or sadness that is experienced before any other experience, since it is lived in an artistic context, mediated by symbols and attributions on the intentions of the author.

  • Related article: "The 10 songs that make us feel better (according to science)"

7. Social emotions

Social emotions do not refer to culturally learned emotions , but it is necessary that there is another person present or else they can not emerge. For example, revenge, gratitude, pride or admiration are emotions that we feel about other individuals.

8. Instrumental emotions

The instrumental emotions are those that have as purpose or objective the manipulation or the purpose of achieving something . They are difficult to recognize because they may appear to be natural. However, they are forced emotions and hide an intention. Sometimes, they are the result of self-suggestion: submitting to certain contexts voluntarily to make a part of that emotion color our way of behaving.

The importance of emotional education

Many times we do not realize the importance of emotional education . In schools, for example, they are more concerned with teaching us to be good professionals, and neglecting to become emotionally intelligent and emotionally healthy. Emotional intelligence has proven to be a basic tool for our mental health and is, without a doubt, a way to empower ourselves in front of life, to become people much more prepared for day to day life. Much happier!

Emotional intelligence is a term that became famous thanks to Daniel Goleman, and since then many studies have affirmed that it is positive not only for our daily life, but in work, sports and even education, it is highly effective and contributes many benefits for performance.

  • Related article: "Daniel Goleman: biography of the author of Emotional Intelligence"

According to Goleman, the components of emotional intelligence are:

  • Emotional self-knowledge
  • Emotional self-control
  • Self motivation
  • Recognition of the emotions of others
  • Relationships
  • Surely you want to know more about this theory. So you can visit our post: "What is Emotional Intelligence? Discovering the importance of emotions"

Bibliographic references:

  • Damasio, A. (2014). In search of Spinoza: neurobiology of emotion and feelings. Barcelona: Booket, 2014. ISBN 978-84-233-4615-8.
  • Ekman, P. (2004). What does that gesture say? Barcelona: RBA202f: Integral, 2004. ISBN 978-84-7871-202-1.
  • Salmurri, F. (2015). Reason and emotion: resources to learn and teach to think. Barcelona: RBA, ISBN 978-84-9056-407-3.

8 Intelligences - Theory of Multiple Intelligences Explained - Dr. Howard Gardner (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 8 types d’émotions (classification et description)

Les 8 types d’émotions (classification et description)

Juillet 23, 2022

La psychologie a toujours été intéressée par les émotions , car ils influencent notre pensée, notre comportement et même notre santé mentale.

C'est pourquoi le concept d'intelligence émotionnelle a gagné du terrain au cours des dernières décennies et que des mots comme validation émotionnelle, régulation émotionnelle ou gestion émotionnelle deviennent de plus en plus familiers. Il est prouvé que l'intelligence émotionnelle améliore notre bien-être et notre performance. Dans cet article, nous parlerons des émotions et de la classification de ces manifestations humaines.

  • Article connexe: "Les 10 avantages de l'intelligence émotionnelle"

Que sont les émotions?

Il y a beaucoup de théoriciens qui ont essayé d'expliquer ce que sont les émotions . Pour le psychologue David G. Meyers, les émotions sont composées d '"excitation physiologique, de comportement expressif et d'expérience consciente".


À l'heure actuelle, il est admis que les émotions prennent naissance dans le système limbique et que ces états complexes comportent les trois composantes suivantes:

  • Physiologique : C'est la première réaction à un stimulus et ils sont involontaires: la respiration augmente, les changements au niveau hormonal, etc.
  • Cognitif : L'information est traitée à un niveau conscient et inconscient. Cela influence notre expérience subjective.
  • Comportementale : Provoque un changement de comportement: les gestes du visage, les mouvements du corps ...
  • Au fil des ans, il y a eu un débat entre ce qui est une émotion et ce qui est un sentiment. Vous pouvez connaître la différence dans notre article: "Les 16 types de sentiments et leur fonction psychologique"

Théories de l'émotion

En fait, différentes théories sur les émotions ont été formulées depuis des décennies. Les plus importants sont classés de trois manières: physiologique, neurologique et cognitive.


  • Théories physiologiques : ils affirment que les réponses intracorporelles sont responsables des émotions.
  • Théories neurologiques : ils affirment que l'activité dans le cerveau entraîne des réactions émotionnelles.
  • Théories cognitives : propose que les pensées et autres activités mentales soient responsables de la formation des émotions.
  • Vous pouvez approfondir ces modèles théoriques dans notre article: "Psychologie émotionnelle: principales théories de l'émotion"

Classification des émotions (types)

Mais Comment sont classées les émotions? Il existe différents types d’émotions. Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste avec une brève explication de chacune d’elles. Cependant, gardez à l’esprit que ce n’est pas une classification définitive, car aucune ne reflétera à 100% la manière dont les émotions sont regroupées et liées; c'est simplement une classification utile.


1. Émotions primaires ou de base

Les émotions primaires sont également appelées émotions de base , et ce sont les émotions que nous éprouvons en réponse à un stimulus. Pour Paul Ekman, il a affirmé que les émotions fondamentales sont 6: la tristesse, le bonheur, la surprise, le dégoût, la peur et la colère. Tous constituent des processus d'adaptation et, en théorie, existent chez tous les êtres humains, indépendamment de la culture dans laquelle ils se sont développés.

Cependant, récemment, une enquête menée par l’Université de Glasgow a été publiée le Biologie actuelle, conclut qu'il y a six émotions de base, mais il y en a quatre.

  • Vous pouvez en apprendre plus sur cette étude dans notre article: "Une étude montre que les émotions de base sont quatre et non six comme on le croyait"

2. émotions secondaires

Les émotions secondaires sont un groupe d'émotions qui suivent les précédentes . Par exemple, lorsque nous ressentons l'émotion fondamentale de la peur, nous pouvons ressentir les émotions secondaires de menace ou de colère, en fonction, bien entendu, de la situation dans laquelle nous vivons. Les émotions secondaires sont causées par les normes sociales et par les normes morales.

3. émotions positives

Selon le degré d'influence des émotions sur le comportement du sujet, celles-ci peuvent être positives ou négatives. . Les émotions positives sont également appelées émotions saines, car elles affectent positivement le bien-être de la personne qui les ressent. Ils favorisent la façon dont les gens pensent, raisonnent et agissent. Par exemple, la joie, la satisfaction, la gratitude ne provoquent pas une attitude positive envers la vie et nous font ressentir des expériences qui nous aident à nous sentir bien.

4. Émotions négatives

Les émotions négatives sont opposées aux émotions positives, car affecter négativement le bien-être des personnes . Ils sont également connus comme des émotions toxiques et provoquent souvent le désir de les éviter ou de les éviter. La peur ou la tristesse en sont quelques exemples.

Cependant, nous devons garder à l'esprit que ce type d'émotions, en petites quantités et d'intensité relativement faible, ne sont pas nocives.En fait, ils font partie du processus d’apprentissage, car grâce à eux notre mémoire émotionnelle nous aide à nous souvenir les conséquences de certains comportements (ou s'exposer à certains contextes).

5. Émotions ambiguës

Les émotions ambiguës sont également appelées émotions neutres, car ne provoque ni émotions négatives ni positives, ni saines, ni malsaines . Par exemple, la surprise ne nous fait pas nous sentir bien ou mal.

L'existence de ces émotions montre clairement que nous sommes des animaux complexes et que nos expériences comportent de nombreuses nuances.

6. émotions statiques

Certains auteurs ont également fait référence à des émotions statiques . Ce sont ceux qui sont produits grâce à différentes manifestations artistiques, telles que: la musique ou la peinture.

Ainsi, lorsque nous écoutons une chanson, nous pouvons nous sentir très heureux ou très tristes, mais ce sentiment serait qualitativement différent du bonheur ou de la tristesse vécus avant toute autre expérience, car il est vécu dans un contexte artistique, médiatisé par des symboles et des attributions sur la intentions de l'auteur.

  • Article connexe: "Les 10 chansons qui nous font sentir mieux (selon la science)"

7. émotions sociales

Les émotions sociales ne font pas référence aux émotions acquises par la culture , mais il est nécessaire qu’une autre personne soit présente sinon elle ne peut pas émerger. Par exemple, la vengeance, la gratitude, la fierté ou l'admiration sont des émotions que nous ressentons vis-à-vis des autres individus.

8. Émotions instrumentales

Les émotions instrumentales sont celles qui ont pour but ou objectif la manipulation ou le but de réaliser quelque chose. . Ils sont difficiles à reconnaître car ils peuvent sembler naturels. Cependant, ils sont forcés d'émotions et cachent une intention. Parfois, ils sont le résultat d'une auto-suggestion: se soumettre volontairement à certains contextes pour faire en sorte qu'une partie de cette émotion colore notre comportement.

L'importance de l'éducation émotionnelle

Plusieurs fois, nous ne réalisons pas l'importance de l'éducation émotionnelle . Dans les écoles, par exemple, ils sont plus soucieux de nous apprendre à être de bons professionnels et de négliger de devenir émotionnellement intelligents et en bonne santé. L'intelligence émotionnelle s'est révélée être un outil fondamental pour notre santé mentale et, sans aucun doute, un moyen de nous responsabiliser face à la vie, de devenir des personnes beaucoup mieux préparées à la vie de tous les jours.

L’intelligence émotionnelle est un terme devenu célèbre grâce à Daniel Goleman. Depuis lors, de nombreuses études ont affirmé qu’elle était positive non seulement pour notre vie quotidienne, mais aussi dans le travail, les sports et même l’éducation, c’est très efficace et contribue beaucoup. avantages pour la performance.

  • Article connexe: "Daniel Goleman: biographie de l'auteur de l'intelligence émotionnelle"

Selon Goleman, les composants de l'intelligence émotionnelle ils sont:

  • Connaissance de soi émotionnelle
  • Maîtrise de soi émotionnelle
  • Auto-motivation
  • Reconnaissance des émotions des autres
  • Relations interpersonnelles
  • Vous voulez sûrement en savoir plus sur cette théorie. Vous pouvez donc visiter notre post: "Qu'est-ce que l'intelligence émotionnelle? Découvrir l'importance des émotions"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Damasio, A. (2014). À la recherche de Spinoza: neurobiologie de l'émotion et des sentiments. Barcelone: ​​Booket, 2014. ISBN 978-84-233-4615-8.
  • Ekman, P. (2004). Que dit ce geste? Barcelone: ​​RBA202f: Integral, 2004. ISBN 978-84-7871-202-1.
  • Salmurri, F. (2015). Raison et émotion: ressources pour apprendre et apprendre à penser. Barcelone: ​​RBA, ISBN 978-84-9056-407-3.

Classification des crises épileptiques (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes