yes, therapy helps!
The 8 types of families (and their characteristics)

The 8 types of families (and their characteristics)

December 5, 2021

In recent decades, many important changes in society have arisen, and the family is no exception. Since 1975, Divorce figures have doubled, causing an increase in households with only one parent . Something that, only a few years ago, was not socially accepted.

Nowadays, on the other hand, the phenomenon of divorce is quite common. According to the Business Insider website, which produced a graphic map showing the divorce rates of the different countries of the world, Spain occupies the fifth place with 61% of couple breakups.

The importance of the family in the development of children and young people

The family is extremely important in the development of children, as it is, possibly,The socializing agent that will most influence their growth . In fact, children need adults for a long period of time, which has caused all societies to be organized around groups of people that we generally know as "the family".


But with the changes that have been happening in recent years with respect to family structures, the smallest, at times, have had to live in familiar environments that are not always the ideal ones. Families educate their children, and their primary objective should be to provide them with a solid base so that they can face the future with the best possible guarantees. In other words, families should help them to learn to be respectful of others, to have a strong and resilient personality or to acquire affective and economic security, in short, to prepare them for a successful adult life. Unfortunately, this does not always happen like this.

Toxic or pathological families

The importance of the family in the emotional wellbeing of its members has been of scientific interest during the last decades. Not only because of the genetic origin of some pathologies such as schizophrenia, but because of the importance of the environment and the influence of family structures on mental disorders.


In the field of mental health, there is an increasing awareness of how family difficulties affect its members, so it is necessary for them to face their difficulties in the best possible way. In this sense, what differentiates a dysfunctional family from a functional family is not the presence or not of problems, but what is important is the use of recurrent interaction patterns that hinder the social and psychological development of its members , and affects its adaptation and conflict resolution.

  • To learn more: "Toxic families: 4 ways in which they cause mental disorders"

Stability and change in the family

As mentioned, the normal family, if that concept makes sense, it is not exempt from difficulties or problems, which requires to be based on a conceptual scheme of family functioning in order to understand its dysfunctionality. The normal family is in constant effective functioning, and despite the difficulties it is capable of transforming, adapting, and restructuring itself over time to continue functioning.


It is important to differentiate the dysfunctional family from the poor family. The latter is characterized by difficulties in satisfying economic resources. From the start, poor families do not have to be dysfunctional However, scientific research has provided data that affirm that families with limited economic resources may have difficulties when carrying out different family functions. For example, education or affective and relational development of their children.

Types of families that exist

Since the family starts from society, it is a structure that can change over time, and in fact it does. The family structure does not indicate if a family is functional or not, but simply has to do with the form of it and its members. Something that has a lot to do with the historical, economic and cultural context.

This variety of forms include the following.

1. Nuclear family (two-parent)

The nuclear family is what we know as a typical family, that is, the family formed by a father, a mother and their children. Societies generally encourage their members to form this type of family.

2. Single parent family

The single-parent family it consists in that only one of the parents takes charge of the family unit, and, therefore, in raising the children. It is usually the mother who stays with the children, although there are also cases in which the children stay with the father. When only one of the parents takes care of the family, it can become a very big burden, which is why they usually require the help of other close relatives, such as the grandparents of the children. The causes of the formation of this type of families can be a divorce, being a premature mother, widowhood, etc.

3. Adoptive family

This type of family, the adoptive family , refers to parents who adopt a child. Although they are not the biological parents, they can play a great role as educators, equivalent to that of the biological parents in all aspects.

4. Family without children

This type of families, the families without children , are characterized by not having descendants. Sometimes, the parents' inability to procreate leads them to adopt a child. In any case, we can perfectly imagine a family unit in which, for one reason or another, you have not wanted or could have children. Do not forget that what defines a family is not the presence or absence of children.

5. Family of separated parents

In this type of family, what can we call family of separated parents , the parents have separated after a crisis in their relationship. Although they refuse to live together, they must continue to fulfill their duties as parents. Unlike single-parent parents, in which one of the parents carries the full burden of raising the child on their backs, the separated parents share functions, although the mother is, in most cases, the one who lives with the child .

6. Composite family

This family, the compound family , is characterized by being composed of several nuclear families. The most common cause is that other families have formed after the breakup of a couple, and the child, in addition to living with his mother and his partner, also has the family of his father and his partner, and may have stepbrothers.

It is a type of family more common in rural settings than in urban ones, especially in contexts where there is poverty.

7. Homoparental family

This type of family, the homoparental family , is characterized by having two homosexual parents (or mothers) who adopt a child. There can also be homoparental families formed by two mothers, obviously. Although this possibility raises a wide social debate, studies have shown that the children of parents or homoparental mothers have a normal psychological and emotional development, as for example explains this report of the APA.

8. Extended family

This type of family, the extended family , it is characterized because the raising of the children is in charge of different family members or several members of the family (parents, cousins, grandparents, etc.) live in the same house. If you have ever seen the famous series "The Prince of Bel Air", you can see how Will lives in his uncle's house, who takes on the role of his father. It can also happen that one of the children has his own child and they all live under the same roof.

Bibliographic references:

  • Martín López, E. (2000). Family and society Madrid: Rialp Editions.
  • Vázquez de Prada, Mercedes (2008). History of the contemporary family. Madrid: Rialp Editions.
  • Grandson MC. (1997). Family Focus on Health. Femec Journal of Medicine.
  • Pusinato, N. (1992). The systemic approach in the study of family relationships. Cusinato M. Psychology of family relationships, 21 Ed. Barcelona: Editorial Herder.

8 Common Characteristics of a Dysfunctional Family (December 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 8 types de familles (et leurs caractéristiques)

Les 8 types de familles (et leurs caractéristiques)

Mai 22, 2019

Au cours des dernières décennies, de nombreux changements importants dans la société ont eu lieu et la famille ne fait pas exception. Depuis 1975, Les chiffres du divorce ont doublé, entraînant une augmentation du nombre de ménages avec un seul parent . Quelque chose qui, il y a seulement quelques années, n'était pas socialement accepté.

De nos jours, en revanche, le phénomène du divorce est assez courant. Selon le site Web Business Insider, qui produit une carte graphique illustrant les taux de divorce des différents pays du monde, l’Espagne occupe la cinquième place avec 61% des ruptures de couple.

L'importance de la famille dans le développement des enfants et des jeunes

La famille est extrêmement importante dans le développement des enfants, car elle est peut-êtreL'agent de socialisation qui influencera le plus leur croissance . En fait, les enfants ont besoin d’adultes pendant une longue période, ce qui a amené toutes les sociétés à s'organiser en groupes de personnes que nous appelons généralement "la famille".


Mais avec les changements survenus au cours des dernières années en ce qui concerne les structures familiales, les plus petits ont parfois dû vivre dans des environnements familiers qui ne sont pas toujours idéaux. Les familles éduquent leurs enfants et leur objectif premier devrait être de leur fournir une base solide leur permettant de faire face à l'avenir avec les meilleures garanties possibles. En d'autres termes, les familles devraient les aider à apprendre à être respectueuses des autres, à avoir une personnalité forte et résiliente ou à acquérir une sécurité affective et économique, en bref, pour les préparer à une vie adulte réussie. Malheureusement, cela ne se passe pas toujours comme ça.

Familles toxiques ou pathologiques

L'importance de la famille dans le bien-être émotionnel de ses membres a été un intérêt scientifique au cours des dernières décennies. Non seulement en raison de l'origine génétique de certaines pathologies telles que la schizophrénie, mais également en raison de l'importance de l'environnement et de l'influence des structures familiales sur les troubles mentaux.


Dans le domaine de la santé mentale, on prend de plus en plus conscience de la manière dont les difficultés familiales affectent ses membres. Il est donc nécessaire pour eux de faire face à leurs difficultés de la meilleure façon possible. En ce sens, ce qui différencie une famille dysfonctionnelle d'une famille fonctionnelle n'est pas la présence ou non de problèmes, mais ce qui est important l'utilisation de modèles d'interaction récurrents qui entravent le développement social et psychologique de ses membres et affecte son adaptation et la résolution des conflits.

  • Pour en savoir plus: "Les familles toxiques: 4 façons de provoquer des troubles mentaux"

Stabilité et changement dans la famille

Comme mentionné, le famille normale, si cette notion a un sens, elle n’est pas exempte de difficultés ou de problèmes, ce qui nécessite de s’appuyer sur un schéma conceptuel du fonctionnement de la famille pour en comprendre le dysfonctionnement. La famille normale fonctionne de manière efficace et constante, et malgré les difficultés, elle est capable de se transformer, de s’adapter et de se restructurer au fil du temps pour continuer à fonctionner.


Il est important de différencier la famille dysfonctionnelle de la famille pauvre. Ce dernier est caractérisé par des difficultés à satisfaire les ressources économiques. D'entrée, les familles pauvres ne doivent pas être dysfonctionnelles Cependant, des recherches scientifiques ont fourni des données qui affirment que les familles aux ressources économiques limitées peuvent avoir des difficultés à s’acquitter de différentes fonctions familiales. Par exemple, l'éducation ou le développement affectif et relationnel de leurs enfants.

Types de familles existantes

Puisque la famille part de la société, c'est une structure qui peut changer avec le temps, et c'est ce qui se passe. La structure familiale n'indique pas si une famille est fonctionnelle ou non, mais concerne simplement la forme de celle-ci et de ses membres. Quelque chose qui a beaucoup à voir avec le contexte historique, économique et culturel.

Cette variété de formes comprend les suivantes.

1. Famille nucléaire (biparentale)

Le famille nucléaire C’est ce que nous connaissons en tant que famille typique, c’est-à-dire une famille formée d’un père, d’une mère et de leurs enfants. Les sociétés encouragent généralement leurs membres à former ce type de famille.

2. Famille monoparentale

Le famille monoparentale elle consiste en ce qu’un seul des parents prend en charge la cellule familiale et, par conséquent, élève les enfants. C'est généralement la mère qui reste avec les enfants, bien qu'il existe également des cas dans lesquels les enfants restent avec le père. Quand un seul des parents prend soin de la famille, cela peut devenir un très gros fardeau, raison pour laquelle ils ont généralement besoin de l'aide d'autres parents proches, tels que les grands-parents des enfants. Les causes de la formation de ce type de famille peuvent être un divorce, une mère prématurée, un veuvage, etc.

3. Famille adoptive

Ce type de famille, le famille adoptive , fait référence aux parents qui adoptent un enfant. Bien qu'ils ne soient pas les parents biologiques, ils peuvent jouer un grand rôle en tant qu'éducateurs, équivalent à celui des parents biologiques dans tous les aspects.

4. Famille sans enfants

Ce type de famille, le familles sans enfants , sont caractérisés par le fait de ne pas avoir de descendants. Parfois, l'incapacité des parents à procréer les amène à adopter un enfant. Dans tous les cas, on peut parfaitement imaginer une cellule familiale dans laquelle, pour une raison ou une autre, vous n’ayez pas voulu ou pourriez avoir des enfants. N'oubliez pas que ce qui définit une famille n'est pas la présence ou l'absence d'enfants.

5. Famille de parents séparés

Dans ce type de famille, que pouvons-nous appeler famille de parents séparés , les parents se sont séparés après une crise dans leur relation. Bien qu'ils refusent de vivre ensemble, ils doivent continuer à remplir leurs devoirs de parents. Contrairement aux parents monoparentaux, dans lesquels l’un des parents porte tout le fardeau d’élever l’enfant sur le dos, les parents séparés partagent les mêmes fonctions bien que la mère soit, dans la plupart des cas, celle qui vit avec l’enfant. .

6. Famille composée

Cette famille, la famille composée , se caractérise par être composé de plusieurs familles nucléaires. La cause la plus commune est que d’autres familles se sont formées après la rupture d’un couple et que l’enfant, en plus de vivre avec sa mère et son partenaire, a également la famille de son père et de son partenaire et peut avoir des demi-frères.

C'est un type de famille plus répandu en milieu rural qu'en milieu urbain, en particulier dans les contextes de pauvreté.

7. Famille homoparentale

Ce type de famille, le famille homoparentale se caractérise par le fait que deux parents (ou mères) homosexuels adoptent un enfant. Il peut aussi y avoir des familles homoparentales formées par deux mères, évidemment. Bien que cette possibilité soulève un vaste débat social, des études ont montré que les enfants de parents ou de mères homoparentales ont un développement psychologique et émotionnel normal, comme l'explique par exemple ce rapport de l'APA.

8. Famille élargie

Ce type de famille, le famille élargie , il se caractérise par le fait que l’éducation des enfants est confiée à différents membres de la famille ou que plusieurs membres de la famille (parents, cousins, grands-parents, etc.) vivent dans la même maison. Si vous avez déjà vu la célèbre série "Le Prince de Bel Air", vous pouvez voir comment Will vit dans la maison de son oncle, qui assume le rôle de son père. Il se peut également que l'un des enfants ait son propre enfant et qu'ils vivent tous sous le même toit.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Martín López, E. (2000). Famille et société Madrid: Editions Rialp.
  • Vázquez de Prada, Mercedes (2008). Histoire de la famille contemporaine. Madrid: Editions Rialp.
  • Petit-fils MC. (1997). Focus famille sur la santé. Femec Journal of Medicine.
  • Pusinato, N. (1992). L’approche systémique dans l’étude des relations familiales. Cusinato M. Psychologie des relations familiales, 21 éd. Barcelone: ​​Editorial Herder.

[Comment ça marche ?] Quelles sont les différentes familles de matériaux qui nous entourent ? (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes