yes, therapy helps!
The 8 types of mourning and their characteristics

The 8 types of mourning and their characteristics

March 24, 2024

Grief is one of the hardest experiences which can pass a human being throughout his life. Although many people associate it with death, this phenomenon can also occur when we break our hearts or when we lose a job after many years in the same position; It occurs, in general, in situations where something that we interpret as a loss occurs.

Undoubtedly, overcoming the duel is complicated, so the person must go through a series of stages to get back on track. It is a very painful experience and each individual has a personal way of living it. Likewise, there are several types of mourning , which is why it is difficult to talk about a sequence of actions to be taken to assimilate this experience in the best possible way. In this article we delve into the different types of mourning and their characteristics.


The 5 phases of mourning

Over the years, some theories about the phases through which a person who is in a period of mourning have been appearing. One of the best known is that of psychiatrist Elisabeth Kübler-Ross , published in the year 1969 in the book On death and dying.

His idea is based on the fact that there are 5 stages of mourning. Now, these five phases are not always happening with the same placement and sequentially, that is, not all people in the duel phase have to go through the 5 stages. Also, when they go through they do not have to always appear in the same order .

According to the theory of Elisabeth Kübler-Ross, the stages of mourning are:


1. Denial

The first of the phases is denial, which is characterized by the person does not accept the reality (consciously or unconsciously). This occurs as a defense mechanism and is perfectly normal. In this way, the individual reduces the anxiety of the moment.

The real problem is when people get stuck at this stage because they can not face the traumatic change, so they ignore it as a defensive response. The death of a loved one, of course, is not particularly easy to avoid and can not be avoided indefinitely.

2. Anger or anger

The sadness can lead a person to suffer anger and rage and to look for guilty . This anger can manifest itself in different ways, blaming oneself or blaming others, and can be projected against animals and objects.

3 - Negotiation

In this stage, the pain leads to seek a fictitious negotiation. In fact, many people who face death they try to negotiate even with a divine force .


Other people, those who suffer a minor trauma, can carry out other negotiations or commitments. For example "Can we still be friends?" or "I'm going to achieve this for you." Negotiation rarely provides a sustainable solution, but it can reduce the pain of the moment.

4 - Depression

The impact of the loss of someone close can lead a person to a very painful situation, which is accompanied by an enormous sadness and an existential crisis, when he realizes that this person disappears from his life. Even though the symptoms resemble depressive disorder Once the acceptance of the situation occurs, the symptomatology remits.

  • Related article: "Existential crisis: when we do not find meaning in our life"

5 - Acceptance

This stage happens when this painful situation has been accepted and It depends on the resources of each one to accept it before or after . It is not a stage that represents joy, but rather emotional detachment and understanding of what may have happened. If the person spends a lot of time in grieving and does not accept the situation, it is necessary to seek psychological help to overcome it.

Types of losses

Since the mourning stage does not necessarily have to happen because of the loss of a loved one, before moving on to the mourning types we will move on to the different kinds of losses that can occur :

  • Relational losses : They have to do with the loss of people. That is, separations, divorce, death of loved ones, etc.
  • Losses of capabilities : Occurs when an individual loses physical and / or mental abilities. For example, by an amputation of a member.
  • Material losses : It occurs before the loss of objects, possessions and, ultimately, material losses.
  • Evolutionary losses : Are the changes in the stages of life: old age, retirement, etc. Not everyone fits this situation equally.

Not all losses generate duel However, depending on the resources or other psychological variables (such as self-esteem or lack of social skills) of each one, the losses can cause discomfort and suffering for more or less time.

Types of mourning

What are the types of bereavement? Below you can find the different types of duel.

1. Anticipatory grief

The anticipated grief is that which is given before the death has occurred . It is usual when a disease is diagnosed that has no cure. The process of mourning is the usual, which the person experiences various feelings and emotions that anticipate that will prepare him emotionally and intellectually for the inevitable loss.

The anticipated grief is a process of prolonged grief, not as acute as the rest, since when death comes it is usually experienced, in part, as something that gives calm.

2. Unresolved grief

Unresolved grief, as the name suggests, means that the mourning phase is still present . However, it is often referred to as the type of grief that happens when a certain time has passed (between 18 and 24 months) and has not yet been overcome.

3. Chronic grief

Chronic grief is also a kind of unresolved grief, which does not subside with the passage of time and lasts for years . It is also called pathological duel or complicated duel.

The pathological grief can occur when the person is unable to stop reliving in a detailed and vivid the events related to death, and everything that happens reminds him of that experience.

4. Absent grief

This type of duel refers to when the person denies that the events have occurred . Therefore, it is the stage of denial of which we have spoken before, in which the individual continues to avoid reality despite having spent a lot of time. That is, the person has been stuck in this phase because he does not want to face the situation.

5. Delayed mourning

It is similar to normal duel, with the difference that its beginning occurs after a time. Usually it is part of the absent duel, and also receives the name of frozen duel . It usually appears in people who control their emotions in excess and appear apparently strong. For example, a person who has children and must be shown whole.

Delayed mourning usually occurs when the person who suffers it, at first, You must take care of many things that require your immediate attention , such as caring for a family.

6. Inhibited duel

Inhibited grief occurs when there is a difficulty in expressing feelings , so that the person avoids the pain of loss. Usually associated with complaining somatic. The limitations of the personality of the individual prevents him from mourning or expressing grief. Unlike absent grief, it is not a defense mechanism.

7. Unauthorized mourning

This type of duel happens when the environment surrounding the person does not accept the mourning of this . For example, after a long time the family reproaches the person who continues to grieve. This represses the feelings facing the family, but internally has not overcome.

Many times, this type of mourning occurs when the person who died or left forever was associated with a stigma and was excluded, at least for the immediate environment of the person who suffers (for example, his family). Expressing mourning can be a symbolic act that subverts certain political and social ideas. For example, if the absent person was the homosexual couple of someone and the family does not approve this type of relationship.

8. Distorted grief

The distorted duel manifests itself as a strong reaction disproportionate to the situation . It usually happens when the person has already experienced a previous grief and is faced with a new situation of grief.

For example, he may have experienced the death of a father, and when an uncle dies, he also relives the death of his father, which leads to a much more intense, painful and disabling situation.

Bibliographic references:

  • Vértice Team (2010). The duel and the funeral attention. Verticebook Editorial.
  • Payás Puigarnau, Alba. The tasks of mourning. Bereavement psychotherapy from an integrative-relational model. Madrid: Paidós, 2010. ISBN 9788449324239.
  • Worden, William J. The treatment of grief: psychological counseling and therapy. Barcelona: Paidós, 2004.ISBN 9788449316562.

The Grieving Process: Coping with Death (March 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 8 types de deuil et leurs caractéristiques

Les 8 types de deuil et leurs caractéristiques

Septembre 30, 2022

Le deuil est l'une des expériences les plus difficiles qui peut passer un être humain tout au long de sa vie. Bien que beaucoup de gens l'associent à la mort, ce phénomène peut également se produire lorsque nous nous brisons le cœur ou lorsque nous perdons un emploi après de nombreuses années dans la même situation. Cela se produit, en général, dans des situations où quelque chose que nous interprétons comme une perte se produit.

Sans aucun doute, surmonter le duel est compliqué, il faut donc passer par plusieurs étapes pour se remettre sur la bonne voie. C'est une expérience très pénible et chaque individu a sa propre façon de la vivre. De même il y a plusieurs types de deuil , c’est pourquoi il est difficile de parler d’une série d’actions à entreprendre pour assimiler au mieux cette expérience. Dans cet article, nous abordons les différents types de deuil et leurs caractéristiques.


Les 5 phases de deuil

Au fil des ans, certaines théories sur les phases traversées par une personne en deuil sont apparues. L’une des plus connues est celle de la psychiatre Elisabeth Kübler-Ross , publié en 1969 dans le livre En mourant et mourant.

Son idée est basée sur le fait qu'il y a 5 étapes de deuil. Maintenant, ces cinq phases ne se déroulent pas toujours avec le même placement et de manière séquentielle, ce qui signifie que toutes les personnes en phase de duel ne doivent pas nécessairement passer par les 5 étapes. Aussi, quand ils passent par ils ne doivent pas toujours apparaître dans le même ordre .

Selon la théorie d'Elisabeth Kübler-Ross, les étapes du deuil sont les suivantes:


1. Déni

La première des phases est le déni, qui se caractérise par la personne n'accepte pas la réalité (consciemment ou inconsciemment). Cela se produit comme un mécanisme de défense et est parfaitement normal. De cette façon, l'individu réduit l'anxiété du moment.

Le vrai problème, c’est quand les gens se retrouvent coincés à cette étape parce qu’ils ne peuvent pas faire face au changement traumatique, ils l’ignorent donc comme une réponse défensive. Bien entendu, le décès d'un être cher n'est pas particulièrement facile à éviter et ne peut être évité indéfiniment.

2. Colère ou colère

La tristesse peut conduire une personne à souffrir de colère et de rage et à rechercher le coupable . Cette colère peut se manifester de différentes manières, en se blâmant ou en blâmant les autres, et peut être projetée contre des animaux et des objets.

3 - Négociation

À ce stade, la douleur conduit à rechercher une négociation fictive. En fait, beaucoup de gens qui risquent la mort ils essaient de négocier même avec une force divine .


D'autres personnes, celles qui souffrent d'un traumatisme mineur, peuvent mener d'autres négociations ou engagements. Par exemple "Pouvons-nous toujours être amis?" ou "Je vais y arriver pour vous." La négociation fournit rarement une solution durable, mais elle peut réduire la douleur du moment.

4 - la dépression

L'impact de la perte d'un proche peut conduire une personne à une situation très pénible, qui s'accompagne d'une énorme tristesse et d'une crise existentielle, lorsqu'il réalise que cette personne a disparu de sa vie. Bien que les symptômes ressemblent à un trouble dépressif Une fois que la situation est acceptée, la symptomatologie s’adonne.

  • Article connexe: "Crise existentielle: quand on ne trouve pas de sens dans notre vie"

5 - Acceptation

Cette étape se produit lorsque cette situation douloureuse a été acceptée et Cela dépend des ressources de chacun de l’accepter avant ou après . Ce n'est pas une étape qui représente la joie, mais plutôt un détachement émotionnel et une compréhension de ce qui peut être arrivé. Si la personne passe beaucoup de temps à faire son deuil et n'accepte pas la situation, il est nécessaire de rechercher une aide psychologique pour la surmonter.

Types de pertes

Etant donné que la phase de deuil ne doit pas nécessairement se produire en raison de la perte d’un être cher, avant de passer aux types de deuil, nous passerons au différents types de pertes qui peuvent survenir :

  • Pertes relationnelles : Ils ont à voir avec la perte de personnes. C’est-à-dire les séparations, le divorce, le décès d’êtres chers, etc.
  • Pertes de capacités : Se produit lorsqu'un individu perd ses capacités physiques et / ou mentales. Par exemple, par l'amputation d'un membre.
  • Pertes matérielles : Elle survient avant la perte d'objets, de biens et, finalement, de pertes matérielles.
  • Pertes évolutives : Les changements dans les étapes de la vie sont-ils: la vieillesse, la retraite, etc. Tout le monde ne correspond pas à cette situation également.

Pas toutes les pertes génèrent un duel Cependant, en fonction des ressources ou d'autres variables psychologiques (telles que l'estime de soi ou le manque de compétences sociales) de chacun, les pertes peuvent causer une gêne et des souffrances plus ou moins longues.

Types de deuil

Quels sont les types de deuil? Vous trouverez ci-dessous les différents types de duel.

1. Douleur anticipée

Le chagrin anticipé est celui qui est donné avant le décès . Il est habituel de diagnostiquer une maladie incurable. Le processus de deuil est l’habituel par lequel la personne éprouve divers sentiments et émotions qui anticipent et qui la prépareront émotionnellement et intellectuellement à la perte inévitable.

Le chagrin anticipé est un processus de deuil prolongé, pas aussi aigu que le reste, car lorsque la mort survient, il est généralement ressenti, en partie, comme quelque chose qui donne le calme.

2. Douleur non résolue

Chagrin non résolu, comme son nom l'indique, signifie que la phase de deuil est toujours présente . Cependant, on parle souvent du type de deuil qui survient lorsqu'un certain temps s'est écoulé (entre 18 et 24 mois) et n'a pas encore été surmonté.

3. chagrin chronique

Le deuil chronique est aussi une sorte de deuil non résolu, qui ne s'atténue pas avec le temps et dure pendant des années . On l'appelle aussi duel pathologique ou duel compliqué.

Le chagrin pathologique peut survenir lorsque la personne est incapable de cesser de revivre de manière détaillée et vivante les événements liés à la mort, et que tout ce qui se passe lui rappelle cette expérience.

4. Chagrin absent

Ce type de duel fait référence à quand la personne nie que les événements se sont produits . C’est donc le stade de déni dont nous avons parlé précédemment, dans lequel l’individu continue d’éviter la réalité malgré le temps qu’il a passé. C'est-à-dire que la personne est bloquée dans cette phase parce qu'elle ne veut pas faire face à la situation.

5. Le deuil retardé

Il ressemble à un duel normal, à la différence que son début survient après un certain temps. Habituellement, il fait partie du duel absent et reçoit également le nom de duel figé. . Il apparaît généralement chez les personnes qui contrôlent leurs émotions de manière excessive et qui semblent apparemment fortes. Par exemple, une personne qui a des enfants et doit être montrée entière.

Le deuil tardif se produit généralement lorsque la personne qui le subit, au début, Vous devez prendre en charge de nombreuses choses qui nécessitent votre attention immédiate , comme s'occuper d'une famille.

6. Duel inhibé

Le chagrin inhibé se produit lorsque il y a une difficulté à exprimer des sentiments , afin que la personne évite la douleur de la perte. Habituellement associé à la plainte somatique. Les limitations de la personnalité de l'individu l'empêchent de pleurer ou d'exprimer son chagrin. Contrairement à l'absence de chagrin, ce n'est pas un mécanisme de défense.

7. Deuil non autorisé

Ce type de duel arrive lorsque l'environnement entourant la personne n'accepte pas le deuil de cette . Par exemple, après un long moment, la famille reproche à la personne qui continue à faire son deuil. Cela réprime les sentiments auxquels la famille est confrontée, mais n'a pas été surmonté en interne.

Plusieurs fois, ce type de deuil se produit lorsque la personne décédée ou partie pour toujours est associée à une stigmatisation et est exclue, du moins pour l'environnement immédiat de la personne qui en souffre (par exemple, sa famille). Exprimer le deuil peut être un acte symbolique qui subvertit certaines idées politiques et sociales. Par exemple, si la personne absente était le couple homosexuel de quelqu'un et que la famille n'approuve pas ce type de relation.

8. chagrin déformé

Le duel déformé se manifeste comme une réaction forte disproportionnée à la situation . Cela se produit généralement lorsque la personne a déjà vécu un deuil antérieur et est confrontée à une nouvelle situation de deuil.

Par exemple, il a peut-être vécu la mort d'un père et lorsqu'un oncle meurt, il revit également la mort de son père, ce qui conduit à une situation beaucoup plus intense, douloureuse et invalidante.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Équipe Vértice (2010). Le duel et l'attention funèbre. Éditorial Verticebook.
  • Payás Puigarnau, Alba. Les tâches de deuil. Psychothérapie de deuil à partir d'un modèle intégratif-relationnel. Madrid: Paidós, 2010. ISBN 9788449324239.
  • Worden, William J. Le traitement du deuil: conseil psychologique et thérapie. Barcelone: ​​Paidós, 2004.ISBN 9788449316562.

CE QUE LA COULEUR DE VOS YEUX DIT DE VOUS | Lama Faché (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes