yes, therapy helps!
The 8 types of vagina (depending on the shape of the vulva)

The 8 types of vagina (depending on the shape of the vulva)

January 19, 2023

The human anatomy is diverse and varied. Although sometimes we can think that all or almost all of us have the same parts of the body developed in a similar or similar way, the truth is that there is a huge diversity of shapes, colors and developments in any part of our body. We can see differences at the level that there are larger or smaller hands, different dispositions of body fat, a more sunken or more protruding navel, or different sizes and shapes of breasts, for example.

This also occurs when we talk about structures of the genital apparatus, such as the vagina in the case of women. The shape of this organ may be unique to each woman, but broadly some studies seem to indicate that in general We can find about eight types of vagina . It is this issue that we are going to talk about in this article.


  • Related article: "Why the menstrual cycle can affect sleep"

What do we call a vagina?

It is known as vagina to one of the main organs of the female reproductive system. It is a structure in the form of muscle-mucous duct that is the way of entry to the rest of organs and structures of the reproductive system. Specifically it is a conduit that goes from its entrance in the vulva to the uterus .

It is through the vagina through which the penis is introduced during sexual intercourse or the exit point to the outside world of the baby at the time of delivery. It is also where the hymen is located in virgin women, or where the menstrual blood comes during the period or menstruation.


The vagina is an internal structure, being the external part of the female genital system the aforementioned vulva (in which in addition to the entrance to the vagina we find the pubis, clitoris and urethra surrounded by the labia minora and major).

The main types of vagina

Although vagina and vulva are not the same, often when many people talk about the first they refer to the vulva and vagina. In fact, vagina typologies have been established which, in the end, refer to types of shape of the set of structures of the vulva.

Despite this, we will reflect the main eight types of vagina that have been observed based on the shape of the vulva (although they are not the only ones).

1. Closed eye

This type of vulva, with the appearance of a closed eye. They tend to be slightly narrow vaginas and appear as closed because the labia majora are bigger than the smaller ones and they cover them . It is the most prototypical and considered aesthetic, but curiously it is among the least common. This Barbie form is also called, since it resembles the typical one that is usually worn on a doll.


2. Horseshoe

This type of vagina is characterized because in the upper part the labia minora are larger than the older ones and the latter are a little more separated than the average , with which the innermost lip is exposed and visible. However, in the lower part, the labia majora are larger and they cover the smaller ones. This results in a vulva reminiscent of the shape of a horseshoe.

3. Swan

Also called barnacle shape, in this case the labia minora is larger than the largest (the first being visible) and the clitoris is large, protruding and easily visible .

  • Maybe you're interested: "How to take care during the first month of pregnancy: 9 tips"

4. Tulip

One of the most common forms, is characterized by the presence of labia minora that are slightly visible among the elderly, remembering the petals of a tulip . In this case the labia minora are mostly covered.

5. Olympic flame

This shape is slightly reminiscent of the torch on an Olympic flame. In this case it is observed as the clitoris has a cap much larger than the body that covers .

6. Butterfly

The most common type, is characterized by having smaller lips that protrude between the majors, opening above them. It is also usually considered to be curtain-shaped.

7. Bata de cola

As in the previous case, the labia minora are larger than the older ones and cover them, but in this case their size Makes them have creases and ripples and also it is not essential that they completely cover the labia majora.

8. Inflated

Very similar to the closed eye shape of Barbie, but the lips look like they are hanging or swollen, protruding a bit from the pubic bone.

Different aspects in vaginas can differ from each other

The above types of vulva are an example of differences in shape in the structures of the female genitalia. But if we focus on what is properly the vagina, We can find different aspects in which different women can differ .

One of them is its depth: not all vaginas have the same size, there are some that are deeper or longer (more or less separating the uterus from the entrance to the vagina) than others. Also the age and aging affect the vagina, being able to alter different properties such as lubrication. The color or trajectory (there are slightly lateralized vaginas) are more examples of this.


Interesting and Weird Vagina Facts | Vaginal Shapes & Sizes | Vaginal Sexism | Vagina Dispatches | (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 8 types de vagin (selon la forme de la vulve)

Les 8 types de vagin (selon la forme de la vulve)

Juillet 9, 2020

L'anatomie humaine est diverse et variée. Bien que nous puissions parfois penser que nous avons tous ou presque tous les mêmes parties du corps développées de manière similaire, la vérité est qu’il existe une grande diversité de formes, de couleurs et de développements dans toutes les parties de notre corps. Nous pouvons voir des différences au niveau où il y a des mains plus grandes ou plus petites, différentes dispositions de graisse corporelle, un nombril plus creux ou plus saillant, ou différentes tailles et formes de seins, par exemple.

Cela se produit également lorsque nous parlons de structures de l'appareil génital, telles que le vagin chez les femmes. La forme de cet organe peut être propre à chaque femme, mais dans l’ensemble, certaines études semblent indiquer qu’en général On peut trouver environ huit types de vagin . C'est ce problème que nous allons aborder dans cet article.


  • Article connexe: "Pourquoi le cycle menstruel peut affecter le sommeil"

Comment appelle-t-on un vagin?

On l'appelle vagin l'un des principaux organes du système reproducteur féminin. C'est une structure en forme de canal musculo-muqueux qui constitue le moyen d'entrer dans le reste des organes et des structures du système reproducteur. Spécifiquement c'est un conduit qui va de son entrée dans la vulve à l'utérus .

C’est par le vagin par lequel le pénis est introduit lors des rapports sexuels ou par le point de sortie du monde extérieur du bébé au moment de l’accouchement. C'est aussi l'endroit où l'hymen est situé chez des femmes vierges ou le sang menstruel vient pendant la période menstruelle.


Le vagin est une structure interne, étant la partie externe du système génital féminin de la vulve susmentionnée (dans lequel, en plus de l'entrée du vagin, on trouve le pubis, le clitoris et l'urètre entourés par les petites lèvres et le majeur).

Les principaux types de vagin

Bien que le vagin et la vulve ne soient pas identiques, souvent, lorsque beaucoup de gens parlent du premier, ils se réfèrent à la vulve et au vagin. En fait, des typologies du vagin ont été établies, lesquelles font finalement référence aux types de formes de l’ensemble des structures de la vulve.

Malgré cela, nous allons refléter les huit principaux types de vagin observés en fonction de la forme de la vulve (bien qu'ils ne soient pas les seuls).

1. oeil fermé

Ce type de vulve, avec l'apparition d'un œil fermé. Ils ont tendance à être des vagins légèrement étroits et apparaissent comme fermés parce que les grandes lèvres sont plus grandes que les plus petites et elles les recouvrent . C’est l’esthétique la plus prototypique et considérée, mais curieusement c’est l’une des moins communes. Cette forme de Barbie s’appelle aussi, car elle ressemble à celle qui est généralement portée sur une poupée.


2. fer à cheval

Ce type de vagin est caractérisé par le fait que, dans la partie supérieure, les petites lèvres sont plus grandes que les plus anciennes et ces derniers sont un peu plus séparés que la moyenne , avec lequel la lèvre la plus interne est exposée et visible. Cependant, dans la partie inférieure, les grandes lèvres sont plus grandes et couvrent les plus petites. Il en résulte une vulve rappelant la forme d’un fer à cheval.

3. cygne

Aussi appelée forme de bernache, dans ce cas les petites lèvres sont plus grandes que les plus grandes (les premières sont visibles) et le clitoris est grand, saillant et facilement visible .

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Comment faire attention pendant le premier mois de grossesse: 9 conseils"

4. tulipe

L’une des formes les plus courantes est caractérisée par la présence de petites lèvres légèrement visibles chez les personnes âgées. se souvenir des pétales d'une tulipe . Dans ce cas, les petites lèvres sont principalement couvertes.

5. flamme olympique

Cette forme rappelle légèrement le flambeau d'une flamme olympique. Dans ce cas, il est observé que le clitoris a une casquette beaucoup plus grande que le corps qui couvre .

6. papillon

Le type le plus courant est caractérisé par des lèvres plus petites qui dépassent entre les majors et s’ouvrent au-dessus d’eux. Il est également généralement considéré comme étant en forme de rideau.

7. Bata de cola

Comme dans le cas précédent, les petites lèvres sont plus grandes que les plus anciennes et les recouvrent, mais dans ce cas, leur taille Donne-leur des plis et des ondulations et aussi il n'est pas essentiel qu'ils couvrent complètement les grandes lèvres.

8. gonflé

Très semblable à la forme de l'oeil fermé de Barbie, mais les lèvres ont l'air d'être suspendues ou gonflées, dépassant un peu de l'os pubien.

Différents aspects du vagin peuvent différer les uns des autres

Les types de vulve ci-dessus sont un exemple de différences de forme dans les structures des organes génitaux féminins. Mais si nous nous concentrons sur ce qui est proprement le vagin, Nous pouvons trouver différents aspects dans lesquels différentes femmes peuvent différer .

L'un d'eux est sa profondeur: tous les vagins n'ont pas la même taille, il y en a qui sont plus profonds ou plus longs (séparant plus ou moins l'utérus de l'entrée du vagin) que d'autres. De plus, l'âge et le vieillissement affectent le vagin, pouvant modifier différentes propriétés telles que la lubrification. La couleur ou la trajectoire (il existe des vagins légèrement latéralisés) en sont d'autres exemples.


Il y a 5 types de vagins, regardez qui provoque plus de plaisir \ Astuces santé (Juillet 2020).


Articles Connexes