yes, therapy helps!
The 9 skills to be a good coach

The 9 skills to be a good coach

September 22, 2022

There is a lot of talk about coaching nowadays, a discipline that applies both in the personal field and in the world of companies and sports. This methodology, which facilitates learning and promotes cognitive, emotional and behavioral changes, helps individuals and groups of individuals to strengthen their development and to transform themselves, generating perspective changes, generating commitment and responsibility and increasing motivation.

  • Related article: "The 10 benefits of Coaching (keys for your personal development)"

Skills needed to be a good coach

While there are many people who are dedicated to coaching, there are differences in terms of the quality of the service they offer. The difference between being a good coach and a bad coach is found in a series of skills that you can find summarized in the following lines. These competences may be knowledge, personality traits, motives, attitudes or skills .


What skills should a good coach possess?

1. Empathy

The coach is a professional who, in order to perform his work well, must understand the client's needs. For this reason, it is necessary to be empathetic with him and understand his situation to be able to direct the work sessions. The coachee (client of the coach) is the one who reflects on their situation to empower themselves in the face of change. The coach is a facilitator and a gentle uncomfortable that accompanies the client in a coach-coachee relationship of generating understanding and trust.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Empathy, much more than putting yourself in the place of the other"

2. Constant formation

It is essential that the coaching professionals have a thorough training, which starts with a self-knowledge, and that has no end, not only to know how to treat the coachee, also to know the methodologies available to do their job well. In Spain there are excellent degrees related to this discipline They provide both theoretical and practical knowledge.


One of the most outstanding training courses is the Executive Coaching Certification Program of the European Coaching School, which allows obtaining the Executive Coach degree from the same academic institution and accreditation as an Accredited Coach Training Program by the International Coach Federation.

Participants acquire fundamental skills and tools for the professional coach's work, and this program emphasizes everything related to individual accompaniment, leadership training and team management. It is indicated for all types of leaders and team leaders , as well as people in general who wish to acquire the skills and abilities necessary to practice as professional coaches.

For more information, you can contact the EEC through the information available in this link.


3. Active listening

There is a difference between hearing and listening, because listening refers to being attentive to what the speaker transmits to us. The coach must not only listen to the verbal language of the coachee, but must be able to interpret his non-verbal language to not only stay with the words but to know what emotions his client transmits. Listening is being open so that the words of the other can change you , to listen is to generate that space of transformation.

4. Communication ability

The trust between the coach and the coachee and the good results are achieved thanks to an efficient communication between both. The powerful questions, the paraphrase, summarize the words of the coachee , check and ensure that what is understood is what is meant is an essential work of the coach.

5. Motivation for the reflection of the client

When a coach makes the client reflect, when he inquires about his motivation, the client can broaden his view of himself, his actions, his beliefs and his possibilities of action. Distinguish between commitment and obligation it is crucial to know where the motivation is .

5. Ethical responsibility

A coach must understand the ethics and professional standards of coaching, as well as put into practice the deontological code of the profession. In this sense, it is not only valid to know these rules, but they must be applied in the day to day of their professional practice.

6. Coherence

To generate trust, the coach must to be consistent in everything he says and communicates to the client . In European Coaching School (EEC), they talk about living the distinctions of coaching, for example, of how the coach not only must know what they are (responsibility, love or learning) but in fact "be" said distinctions and live them.

7. Patience

One of the keys when conducting coaching sessions is patience, as there may be deep questioning by the coachee and he may get to contact his deepest emotions that require time. The coach's patience is in respect the silences and also the depth of work that the client wants to do and how far he wants to take what he is seeing. The coaching process is alive and co-created between coach-coachee but the absolute protagonist is the client.

8. Derive when necessary

Coaches are personal development professionals and not psychologists who offer psychological therapy (except for some who are also clinical psychologists). Therefore, their goal is not to treat their clients when they suffer some emotional or relational problems or disorder, and their responsibility is to refer them to other experts if necessary.

9. Establish trust and intimacy with the client

Building trust with the coachee is the first step necessary for the coaching process to be successful, and in reality It's almost an art, which starts with vulnerability and balance in the relationship . "The coach is not a mentor, he is not above any way, the coach is an equal that can not know what are the right decisions for each person. The coach only accompanies to discover new looks, new options and new actions to achieve the challenge declared by the client, "they say in EEC.


The 9 BEST NBA Scoring Moves with Coach Drew Hanlen (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 9 compétences pour être un bon entraîneur

Les 9 compétences pour être un bon entraîneur

Janvier 25, 2023

On parle beaucoup de coaching de nos jours, une discipline qui s’applique tant dans le domaine personnel que dans le monde des entreprises et du sport. Cette méthodologie, qui facilite l'apprentissage et favorise les changements cognitifs, émotionnels et comportementaux, aide les individus et les groupes d'individus à renforcer leur développement et à se transformer, générant des changements de perspective, générant un engagement et des responsabilités et augmentant la motivation.

  • Article connexe: "Les 10 avantages du coaching (des clés pour votre développement personnel)"

Compétences nécessaires pour être un bon entraîneur

Bien que de nombreuses personnes se consacrent au coaching, il existe des différences en termes de qualité du service offert. La différence entre être un bon entraîneur et un mauvais entraîneur se trouve dans une série de compétences que vous pouvez trouver résumées dans les lignes suivantes. Ces compétences peuvent être des connaissances, des traits de personnalité, des motivations, des attitudes ou des compétences .


Quelles compétences doit posséder un bon entraîneur?

1. empathie

Le coach est un professionnel qui, pour bien faire son travail, doit comprendre les besoins du client. Pour cette raison, il est nécessaire d'être empathique avec lui et de comprendre sa situation pour pouvoir diriger les séances de travail. Le coaché ​​(client du coach) est celui qui réfléchit sur sa situation pour se prendre en charge face au changement. Le coach est un facilitateur et une douce gêne qui accompagne le client dans une relation coach-coaché ​​visant à générer compréhension et confiance.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Empathie, bien plus que se mettre à la place de l'autre"

2. Formation constante

Il est essentiel que les professionnels du coaching aient une formation complète, qui commence par une connaissance de soi, sans fin, non seulement pour savoir comment traiter le coaché, mais aussi pour connaître les méthodologies disponibles pour bien faire son travail. En Espagne, il existe d'excellents diplômes liés à cette discipline Ils fournissent à la fois des connaissances théoriques et pratiques.


L'une des formations les plus remarquables est le programme de certification de coaching exécutif de l'European Coaching School, qui permet d'obtenir le diplôme de coach exécutif du même établissement d'enseignement et d'accréditation en tant que programme de formation d'entraîneur agréé par l'International Coach Federation.

Les participants acquièrent des compétences et des outils fondamentaux pour le travail du coach professionnel. Ce programme met l’accent sur tout ce qui concerne l’accompagnement individuel, la formation au leadership et la gestion d’équipe. Il est indiqué pour tous les types de leaders et de chefs d'équipe , ainsi que les personnes en général qui souhaitent acquérir les compétences et les aptitudes nécessaires pour exercer en tant qu’entraîneurs professionnels.

Pour plus d'informations, vous pouvez contacter la CEE via les informations disponibles dans ce lien.


3. écoute active

Il y a une différence entre entendre et écouter, car écouter signifie être attentif à ce que le locuteur nous transmet. L’entraîneur doit non seulement écouter le langage verbal du coaché, mais aussi être capable d’interpréter son langage non verbal pour ne pas rester avec les mots, mais pour savoir quelles émotions son client transmet. Écouter c'est s'ouvrir pour que les mots de l'autre puissent vous changer , écouter, c’est générer cet espace de transformation.

4. Capacité de communication

La confiance entre le coach et le coaché ​​et les bons résultats sont obtenus grâce à une communication efficace entre les deux. Les questions puissantes, la paraphrase, résument les mots du coaché , vérifiez et assurez-vous que ce que vous entendez est ce qu’il s’agit d’un travail essentiel de l’entraîneur

5. Motivation pour la réflexion du client

Lorsqu'un coach fait réfléchir le client, quand il s'enquiert de sa motivation, le client peut élargir sa vision de lui-même, de ses actions, de ses convictions et de ses possibilités d'action. Faire la distinction entre engagement et obligation il est crucial de savoir où se trouve la motivation .

5. Responsabilité éthique

Un coach doit comprendre l'éthique et les normes professionnelles du coaching, ainsi que mettre en pratique le code de déontologie de la profession. En ce sens, il est non seulement valable de connaître ces règles, mais elles doivent être appliquées au quotidien de leur pratique professionnelle.

6. la cohérence

Pour générer la confiance, le coach doit être cohérent dans tout ce qu'il dit et communique avec le client . Dans European Coaching School (EEC), ils parlent de vivre les distinctions de coaching, par exemple, de la manière dont le coach doit non seulement savoir ce qu’il est (responsabilité, amour ou apprentissage) mais en fait "être" lesdites distinctions et les vivre.

7. Patience

La patience est l’une des clés de la conduite des séances de coaching, car le coaché ​​peut poser de profondes questions à son interlocuteur et lui faire prendre conscience de ses émotions les plus profondes qui exigent du temps. La patience de l'entraîneur est en jeu respecter les silences et aussi la profondeur du travail que le client veut faire et jusqu'où il veut aller ce qu'il voit. Le processus de coaching est vivant et co-créé par un coach coaché, mais le protagoniste absolu est le client.

8. Dérivez si nécessaire

Les entraîneurs sont des professionnels du développement personnel et non des psychologues qui proposent une thérapie psychologique (à l'exception de certains psychologues cliniciens). Par conséquent, leur objectif n'est pas de traiter leurs clients lorsqu'ils souffrent de problèmes ou de troubles affectifs ou relationnels, et leur responsabilité est de les renvoyer à d'autres experts si nécessaire.

9. Établissez la confiance et l'intimité avec le client

Bâtir la confiance avec le coaché ​​est la première étape nécessaire au succès du processus de coaching et en réalité C'est presque un art, qui commence par la vulnérabilité et l'équilibre dans la relation . "L’entraîneur n’est pas un mentor, il n’est au-dessus de rien. L’entraîneur est un égal qui ne peut pas savoir quelles sont les bonnes décisions pour chaque personne. Le coach n’accompagne que pour découvrir de nouveaux looks, de nouvelles options et de nouvelles actions pour relever le défi déclaré par le client ", ont-ils déclaré à EEC.

Articles Connexes