yes, therapy helps!
The 9 subtypes of Psychopathy according to Theodore Millon

The 9 subtypes of Psychopathy according to Theodore Millon

December 5, 2021

Theodore Millon, a prestigious psychologist from the Florida school who researched the human personality. Among the many contributions of Millon, today we will focus on his study of psychopathy.

The 9 subtypes of psychopath

Millon published in 1998 a specific chapter in which described the subtypes of psychopathy ("Subtypes of psychopathy", in "Psychopathy", edited by Millon, Th. And others, Guilford Press) composed of 9 subtypes: the unprincipled, the sneaky, the risk taker, the greedy, the weak, the explosive, the rough, the malicious and the tyrannical. Millon stresses that none of these categories is mutually exclusive, since one can have a profile composed of several subtypes.


Next we will describe in detail the different subtypes, as well as the most important features that allow us to distinguish them.

1. Psychopath lacking in principles

It is usually associated with subjects with narcissistic-based personality traits. They tend to stay successfully outside the limits of the legal, showing egotistical and disloyal feelings, indifferent to the welfare of others and with fraudulent social styles, accustomed to exploiting others.

They are not usually able to link to a treatment and They are very good at creating fantasies and expansive lies to achieve their goals . They totally lack feelings of guilt and social conscience, feel superior to the rest and also enjoy the process of deceiving others. The relationship with this type of psychopath will last the time in which he considers that he has something to obtain from the person, after that period he will simply finish it. They tend to show a cold image, with reckless, vengeful and cruel attitudes.


2. Sneaky psychopath

It would be characterized mainly by falsehood. His behavior is apparently friendly and sociable, but inside conceals a great impulsivity, resentment and lack of confidence to the rest . It can have a broad social life, where it presents a persistent search for attention abnormally through seduction, but its relationships are mostly superficial and fluctuating.

Normally they will exhibit short-term enthusiasms, so they will be irresponsible and impulsive, constantly looking for new sensations. They tend to be insincere and calculating, they will not admit weaknesses to others, they will always exhibit a facet of false success; always seems that everything is going well, they are shown as winners. Although sometimes this subtype of psychopaths tries to convince that their intentions are good, they only try to obtain from others what is convenient for them through manipulations, they do not seek the good of others.


3. Malevolent psychopath

Most serial killers and / or common killers fit into this profile. They are very hostile and vengeful and their impulses are discharged with malignant and destructive purpose . They enjoy a cold cruelty and constant desire for revenge for betrayals and punishments allegedly suffered or suffered.

The psychopathic characteristics are very similar to that of the sadists because they reflect a deep depravity, desire for compensatory retribution and hostility, as already commented in the article about the "sadistic serial killers". They could be described as spiteful, vicious, evil and scathing. Judicial sanctions would further increase their desire for retribution and revenge. Although they rationally understand what guilt, remorse, ethical concepts, morality ... they do not experience inside. He does not lose self-awareness of his actions and does not end until his goals of destructiveness and retribution have come to an end.

4. Tyrannical Psychopath

Together with the Malevolent, this subtype is one of the most cruel and dangerous . Both are intimidating, overwhelming and destructive. Unlike the previous one, it seems to be stimulated by resistance or weakness, which increases the attack instead of softening or stopping it. He gets a special pleasure in forcing the victim to cower.

5. Risk taker

Is involved in situations of risk to feel alive, they are impulsive and unthinking people . They are individuals who are reckless and insensitive in situations that any normal person would feel afraid of. They are capable of imposing self-discipline and routine habits of life, they will always want changes. This subtype would be a mix of antisocial and histrionic-based personality. He does not worry about the consequences of his actions on third parties, only his need for stimulation prevails.

6. Greedy

His great motivation in life is to magnify himself, to have rewards.They feel that "life has not given them what they deserve", so through criminal acts they would compensate the emptiness of their lives and compensate the "injustice" that they have lived . They rationalize their actions through the idea that they restore an altered balance. It satisfies them to be above others and harm them in life (in whatever field), feeling that they are their pawns.

They also have few or no feelings of guilt for what they do to others, they never consider it enough. In addition, they are tremendously envious, greedy, aggressive, jealous ... they feel good with the pain of others and enrabia the successes of others. Successful entrepreneurs could fit into this profile, considering objects to others to satisfy their desires. The worst thing is that they never achieve a state of complete satisfaction, they always crave more.

7. Weak psychopath

This subtype would have an avoidant and dependent behavior base . It shows others an image of false security and self-confidence that actually hides the opposite. Their aggressions are usually to demonstrate their lack of fear and to adopt the role of aggressor and never victim. They tend to be caricatures of small tyrants, they maintain an intimidating attitude, showing the world that "it is dangerous to mess with them".

8. Explosive psychopath

In this case, there would be many components of intermittent explosive disorder (impulse control, code F63.8 according to DSM-IV-TR). Its main characteristic is the Sudden and sudden outcry of extreme hostility . Their behavior "explodes", so it does not lead to contention time. These fury attacks are characterized by uncontrollable anger towards others, which usually leads to submission and passivity in the victim.

9. Rough psychopath

This subtype shows his rejection of others passively and indirectly . They often have discord incessantly with others, magnifying even the smallest action to be entangled in bitter and constant disputes with the people around him.

They have few remorse or feelings of guilt about the discomfort they cause in others. They tend to be bitter and ironic, sharing personality traits with negativist and paranoid personality disorders. They always believe they are right in everything and others are always wrong and it is especially pleasing to contradict others. They are less satisfied with the logic and legitimacy of their arguments than with the use they are given to frustrate and humiliate the other person.

As a closing ...

Theodore Millon found diverse subtypes of psychopathy, which we can find in different scenarios: murders, big companies, robberies, politics ... or even in more everyday situations of life.

In the study he did, he found that the most common profiles are the "psychopath lacking in principles", the "risk taking psychopath" and the "malevolent psychopath", although they are not exclusive of others, you can have a profile characterized by various subtypes. He also found that there is comorbidity with disorders of sexual inclination (paraphilias) and impulse control disorders.


Personality disorders | Behavior | MCAT | Khan Academy (December 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 9 sous-types de psychopathie selon Theodore Millon

Les 9 sous-types de psychopathie selon Theodore Millon

Février 18, 2019

Theodore Millon, un psychologue prestigieux de l'école de Floride qui a étudié la personnalité humaine. Parmi les nombreuses contributions de Millon, nous nous concentrerons aujourd'hui sur son étude de la psychopathie.

Les 9 sous-types de psychopathe

Millon a publié en 1998 un chapitre spécifique dans lequel décrit les sous-types de psychopathie ("Sous-types de psychopathie", dans "Psychopathie", édité par Millon, Th. And others, Guilford Press) composé de 9 sous-types: le sans principes, le sournois, le preneur de risque, le gourmand, le faible, le explosif, le rude, le malveillant et le tyrannique. Millon souligne qu'aucune de ces catégories ne s’exclut mutuellement, puisqu’on peut avoir un profil composé de plusieurs sous-types.


Ensuite, nous décrirons en détail les différents sous-types, ainsi que les caractéristiques les plus importantes qui nous permettent de les distinguer.

1. Psychopathe sans principes

Il est généralement associé à des sujets présentant des traits de personnalité narcissiques. Ils ont tendance à rester avec succès en dehors des limites du légal, à manifester des sentiments égoïstes et déloyaux, indifférents au bien-être des autres et aux styles sociaux frauduleux, habitués à en exploiter d'autres.

Ils ne sont généralement pas en mesure de faire le lien avec un traitement et Ils sont très bons pour créer des fantasmes et des mensonges expansifs pour atteindre leurs objectifs. . Ils manquent totalement de sentiments de culpabilité et de conscience sociale, se sentent supérieurs aux autres et aiment également tromper les autres. La relation avec ce type de psychopathe durera le temps pendant lequel il estimera avoir quelque chose à obtenir de la personne. Après cette période, il la terminera simplement. Ils ont tendance à montrer une image froide, avec des attitudes téméraires, vengeantes et cruelles.


2. Psychopathe sournois

Ce serait principalement caractérisé par le mensonge. Son comportement est apparemment amical et sociable, mais l'intérieur cache une grande impulsivité, du ressentiment et un manque de confiance envers les autres . Il peut avoir une vie sociale large, où il présente une recherche persistante d'attention anormale par séduction, mais ses relations sont pour la plupart superficielles et fluctuantes.

Normalement, ils manifesteront un enthousiasme à court terme, ils seront donc irresponsables et impulsifs, à la recherche constante de nouvelles sensations. Ils ont tendance à être peu sincères et calculateurs, ils n'admettront pas de faiblesses aux autres, ils présenteront toujours une facette de faux succès; semble toujours que tout va bien, ils sont présentés comme des gagnants. Bien que parfois ce sous-type de psychopathes essaie de convaincre que leurs intentions sont bonnes, ils essaient seulement d'obtenir des autres ce qui leur convient par le biais de manipulations, ils ne cherchent pas le bien des autres.


3. Psychopathe malveillant

La plupart des tueurs en série et / ou des tueurs communs s’inscrivent dans ce profil. Je suis très hostile et vengeur et leurs pulsions sont déchargées avec un but malin et destructeur . Ils bénéficient d'une froide cruauté et d'un désir constant de vengeance pour les trahisons et les punitions prétendument subies ou subies.

Les caractéristiques psychopathiques sont très similaires à celles des sadiques car elles reflètent une profonde dépravation, un désir de rétribution compensatoire et de l'hostilité, comme cela a déjà été commenté dans l'article sur les "tueurs en série sadiques". Ils pourraient être décrits comme méchants, vicieux, méchants et cinglants. Des sanctions judiciaires augmenteraient encore leur désir de vengeance et de vengeance. Bien qu'ils comprennent rationnellement ce que sont la culpabilité, le remords, les concepts éthiques, la moralité… ils n'en font pas l'expérience à l'intérieur. Il ne perd pas conscience de ses actes et ne finit pas tant que ses objectifs de destruction et de rétribution ne sont pas terminés.

4. Psychopathe tyrannique

Ensemble avec le malveillant, ce sous-type est l'un des plus cruels et dangereux . Les deux sont intimidants, accablants et destructeurs. Contrairement au précédent, il semble être stimulé par une résistance ou une faiblesse, ce qui augmente l'attaque au lieu de l'atténuer ou de l'arrêter. Il éprouve un plaisir particulier à forcer la victime à craindre.

5. Preneur de risque

Est impliqué dans des situations de risque pour se sentir vivant, ce sont des gens impulsifs et irréfléchis . Ce sont des personnes insouciantes et insensibles dans des situations qui effraient toute personne normale. Ils sont capables d’imposer leur discipline personnelle et leurs habitudes de vie, ils voudront toujours des changements. Ce sous-type serait un mélange de personnalité antisociale et à caractère histrionique. Il ne s'inquiète pas des conséquences de ses actes sur des tiers, seul son besoin de stimulation prévaut.

6. gourmand

Sa grande motivation dans la vie est de se magnifier, d'avoir des récompenses.Ils estiment que "la vie ne leur a pas donné ce qu'ils méritaient", alors par des actes criminels, ils compenseraient le vide de leur vie et compenseraient "l'injustice" qu'ils ont vécue . Ils rationalisent leurs actions en pensant rétablir un équilibre modifié. Cela les satisfait d'être au-dessus des autres et de leur faire du mal dans la vie (peu importe le domaine), en ayant le sentiment d'être leurs pions.

Ils ont également peu ou pas de sentiment de culpabilité pour ce qu'ils font aux autres, ils ne le considèrent jamais assez. En outre, ils sont extrêmement envieux, gourmands, agressifs, jaloux… ils se sentent bien avec la douleur des autres et enrabia les succès des autres. Les entrepreneurs qui réussissent pourraient s’intégrer à ce profil, en considérant des objets pour que les autres puissent satisfaire leurs désirs. Le pire, c’est qu’ils ne parviennent jamais à un état de satisfaction totale, ils en veulent toujours plus.

7. Psychopathe faible

Ce sous-type aurait un comportement d'évitement et de comportement dépendant . Cela donne aux autres une image de fausse sécurité et de confiance en soi qui cache en réalité le contraire. Leurs agressions consistent généralement à démontrer leur manque de peur et à adopter le rôle d'agresseur et non de victime. Ils ont tendance à être des caricatures de petits tyrans, ils maintiennent une attitude intimidante, montrant au monde qu'il est "dangereux de jouer avec eux".

8. Psychopathe explosif

Dans ce cas, le désordre explosif intermittent comporterait de nombreuses composantes (contrôle des impulsions, code F63.8 conformément au DSM-IV-TR). Sa caractéristique principale est la Invocation soudaine et soudaine d'extrême hostilité . Leur comportement "explose", donc cela ne conduit pas au temps de contention. Ces attaques de fureur se caractérisent par une colère incontrôlable envers les autres, qui conduit généralement à la soumission et à la passivité de la victime.

9. Psychopathe rugueux

Ce sous-type montre son rejet des autres passivement et indirectement . Ils ont souvent des discordes incessantes avec les autres, magnifiant même la plus infime action dans des disputes amères et constantes avec les personnes qui l’entourent.

Ils ont peu de remords ou de sentiments de culpabilité à propos du malaise qu'ils causent chez les autres. Ils ont tendance à être amers et ironiques, partageant des traits de personnalité avec des troubles de la personnalité négativistes et paranoïaques. Ils croient toujours qu'ils ont raison en tout et les autres ont toujours tort et il est particulièrement agréable de contredire les autres. Ils sont moins satisfaits de la logique et de la légitimité de leurs arguments que de l'usage qui leur est donné de frustrer et d'humilier l'autre personne.

En guise de fermeture ...

Theodore Millon a trouvé divers sous-types de psychopathie, que l'on peut trouver dans différents scénarios: meurtres, grandes entreprises, vols, politique ... ou même dans des situations plus ordinaires de la vie.

Dans son étude, il a constaté que les profils les plus courants sont le "psychopathe sans principes", le "psychopathe prenant des risques" et le "psychopathe malveillant", bien qu'ils ne soient pas exclusifs des autres, vous pouvez avoir un profil caractérisé par divers sous-types. Il a également constaté qu'il existait une comorbidité avec des troubles de l'inclinaison sexuelle (paraphilias) et des troubles du contrôle des impulsions.


David Icke Dot Connector EP3 with subtitles (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes