yes, therapy helps!
The 9 types of machismo and how to detect them

The 9 types of machismo and how to detect them

November 27, 2021

Machismo does not always manifest itself in the same way, and that is what makes it sometimes difficult to identify. It is a pattern of behavior and thought that has been the custom and the general and hegemonic norm for centuries.

However, the feminist and struggle movements for equality in general have made the questioning of certain unwritten norms that govern personal relationships more and more important. That is why behaviors that were normal decades ago, today are no longer so, since they denigrate and harm women. The different types of machismo are now easier to recognize .

Next we will give a review for these samples of discriminatory treatment.


  • Related article: "Types of sexism: the different forms of discrimination"

The main types of machismo

There is no single way to classify the different types of machismo, but this categorization will depend on the criteria in which we look. From now on we will focus on 3 different criteria.

Types of machismo according to the immediate cause

It is clear that, in the end, machismo it is due to a cultural, economic and political element that causes women to start from a disadvantaged situation. However, if we analyze the macho behavior of individual people, we can distinguish different causes:


1. For religious reasons

Many great religions contain in their sacred or reference texts an important machismo, if they are interpreted literally . This means that some people, for example, demand that women remain in a position of subordination to men, in a role of "support, whose sole power of decision concerns domestic matters.

2. By tradition

Beyond religious influences, there is a machismo that is expressed through even atheist or agnostic people and that it has to do with the positive value of "what has always been done" . This, in fact, is not a justification of sexist attitudes, but a description that tries to be used as an argument.

For example, rejection of the idea that a woman does not want to be a mother can be shown because, traditionally, women have tried to marry and have children.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Sexist prejudice: explanatory theories"

3. By misogyny

It is one of the most obvious types of machismo, since it is expressed through an aggressive discourse against all women in general. Misogynists they are characterized by their hatred towards women , so that their treatment towards them tends to be discriminatory, without needing a specific reason for it: everything depends on emotions and passions.

Normally this view of things is based on resentment and bad personal experiences.

4. Due to ignorance

Some people fall into sexist acts largely because they have been little exposed to the point of view of many women , or they have grown up in an environment in which there has been very little ideological variety beyond traditionalism. The result is that they find it difficult to empathize with women and recognize them as human beings with the same rights as any other person.

According to who expresses it

The types of machismo can be classified according to the nature of the entity that expresses it.

1. Institutional machismo

It is the machismo that is formally collected in laws, codes of conduct and statutes .

2. Personal machismo

It is the one that is expressed by individuals and by groups without formal structure .

According to the degree of violence

Machismo, as a harmful element, is always something that produces some kind of pain, be it physical or psychological. That's why you can distinguish between types of machismo according to its proximity to violence physical or verbal.

  • Related article: "The 11 types of violence (and the different kinds of aggression)"

1. Machismo of physical confrontation

It is a pattern of behavior that leads to the aggression of women because they are so. Femicide is its most palpable consequence, but not the only one.

2. Machismo of legitimization of violence

It is composed of attitudes of condescension and permissiveness towards people who attack to women because they are. Of course, this attitude reinforces the impunity of sexist crimes, either by normalizing this type of aggression or offering protection to those who commit them.

3. Paternalistic machismo

This machismo is of an overprotective type . It could be interpreted as a well-meaning attitude, but it hides a sexist background, based on the idea that the woman is something that must be protected by man and, therefore, is not positioned against the idea that the woman is a human being. human being with full rights and with the capacity to make decisions autonomously.

For example, a husband who constantly watches his wife not only shows that he does not trust the latter's ability to fend for himself, but also feeds a vision of the world in which the woman is a precious asset with which, therefore, can be treated as if the relationship were that of user - object or that of product - buyer.


Micro Machismo - MGTOW (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 9 types de machisme et comment les détecter

Les 9 types de machisme et comment les détecter

Septembre 5, 2022

Le machisme ne se manifeste pas toujours de la même manière et c’est ce qui le rend parfois difficile à identifier. C’est un schéma de comportement et de pensée qui a été la coutume et la norme générale et hégémonique pendant des siècles.

Cependant, les mouvements féministes et les mouvements de lutte pour l'égalité en général ont rendu de plus en plus importante la remise en question de certaines normes non écrites qui régissent les relations personnelles. C'est pourquoi les comportements qui étaient normaux il y a plusieurs décennies et ne le sont plus aujourd'hui, puisqu'ils dénigrent et nuisent aux femmes. Les différents types de machisme sont maintenant plus faciles à reconnaître .

Ensuite, nous examinerons ces échantillons de traitement discriminatoire.


  • Article connexe: "Types de sexisme: les différentes formes de discrimination"

Les principaux types de machisme

Il n'y a pas un moyen unique de classer les différents types de machisme, mais cette catégorisation dépendra des critères sur lesquels nous nous basons. Nous nous concentrerons désormais sur 3 critères différents.

Types de machisme selon la cause immédiate

Il est clair que, finalement, le machisme c'est dû à un élément culturel, économique et politique qui amène les femmes à partir d'une situation défavorisée. Cependant, si nous analysons le comportement machiste d'individus, nous pouvons distinguer différentes causes:


1. Pour des raisons religieuses

Beaucoup de grandes religions contiennent dans leurs textes sacrés ou de référence un machisme important, s'ils sont interprétés littéralement . Cela signifie que certaines personnes, par exemple, exigent que les femmes restent dans une position de subordination vis-à-vis des hommes, dans un rôle de "soutien", dont l'unique pouvoir de décision concerne les affaires domestiques.

2. Par tradition

Au-delà des influences religieuses, il existe un machisme qui s’exprime à travers même des personnes athées ou agnostiques et que cela a à voir avec la valeur positive de "ce qui a toujours été fait" . En fait, cela ne justifie pas les attitudes sexistes, mais une description qui tente d’être utilisée comme argument.

Par exemple, le rejet de l’idée qu’une femme ne veut pas être mère peut être démontré parce que, traditionnellement, les femmes ont essayé de se marier et d’avoir des enfants.


  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Préjugés sexistes: théories explicatives"

3. Par misogynie

C'est l'un des types de machisme les plus évidents, puisqu'il s'exprime à travers un discours agressif contre toutes les femmes en général. Misogynes ils se caractérisent par leur haine envers les femmes , de sorte que leur traitement à leur égard tend à être discriminatoire, sans qu'il soit besoin d'une raison spécifique: tout dépend d'émotions et de passions.

Normalement, cette vision des choses est basée sur le ressentiment et de mauvaises expériences personnelles.

4. En raison de l'ignorance

Certaines personnes tombent dans des actes sexistes en grande partie parce qu'elles ont été peu exposé au point de vue de nombreuses femmes , ou ils ont grandi dans un environnement où il y avait très peu de variété idéologique au-delà du traditionalisme. En conséquence, ils ont du mal à comprendre les femmes et à les reconnaître comme des êtres humains jouissant des mêmes droits que toute autre personne.

Selon qui l'exprime

Les types de machisme peuvent être classés en fonction de la nature de l'entité qui l'exprime.

1. Le machisme institutionnel

C'est le machisme qui est formellement collecté dans les lois, codes de conduite et statuts .

2. Le machisme personnel

C'est celui qui s'exprime par des individus et par des groupes sans structure formelle .

Selon le degré de violence

Le machisme, en tant qu'élément nuisible, est toujours quelque chose qui produit une sorte de douleur, qu'elle soit physique ou psychologique. C'est pourquoi vous pouvez distinguer les types de machisme en fonction de sa proximité avec la violence physique ou verbal.

  • Article connexe: "Les 11 types de violence (et les différents types d'agression)"

1. Machismo de la confrontation physique

C’est un comportement qui conduit à l’agression des femmes parce qu’elles le sont. Le fémicide est la conséquence la plus évidente, mais pas la seule.

2. Machismo de légitimation de la violence

Il est composé d'attitudes de condescendance et permissivité envers les personnes qui attaquent aux femmes parce qu'elles le sont. Bien entendu, cette attitude renforce l'impunité des crimes sexistes, soit en normalisant ce type d'agression, soit en offrant une protection à ceux qui les commettent.

3. machisme paternaliste

Ce machisme est d'un type surprotecteur . Cela pourrait être interprété comme une attitude bien intentionnée, mais cela cache un arrière-plan sexiste, basé sur l'idée que la femme est quelque chose qui doit être protégé par l'homme et, par conséquent, ne s'oppose pas à l'idée que la femme est un être humain. être humain avec tous les droits et la capacité de prendre des décisions de manière autonome.

Par exemple, un mari qui surveille constamment sa femme montre non seulement qu'il ne fait pas confiance à sa capacité de se défendre, mais nourrit également une vision du monde dans lequel la femme constitue un atout précieux. qui peuvent donc être traités comme si la relation était celle d'un utilisateur-objet ou celle d'un produit-acheteur.


Quels sont les signes qui montrent que c'est un manipulateur ? (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes