yes, therapy helps!
The 9 types of psychological symptoms (and characteristics)

The 9 types of psychological symptoms (and characteristics)

July 14, 2024

When we speak of a mental or psychological disorder, we are referring to a set of characteristics and inferrable elements of the analysis of the behavior and responses of an individual that cause significant discomfort and imply a handicap, disability or difficulty of adaptation for the person or his / her person. environment.

There are a lot of elements that can be observed in different dimensions of the person, these can be grouped into different types of psychological symptoms .

What is a symptom?

In order to talk about the different types of symptoms that we can find, it is useful to first define what a symptom is.


It is understood as a symptom the element or characteristic that could be pointing out the presence of a medical or psychological problem . It is not an objective and totally visible indicator, as it could be the lack of a part of the body, but we would be talking about an indication that something is happening.

Although it could be very useful to have the possibility of directly detecting any condition, unfortunately very rarely this is possible. Taking into account that mental processes are not directly observable physical entities (and even if they were, their meaning could be diverse), obtaining unambiguous signs of the presence of a disorder is not possible, which makes it necessary to resort to the observation of behaviors , behaviors and expressions that allow us to visualize the thoughts, emotions and beliefs that make us be who, what and how we are.


Different types of psychological symptoms

The human psyche is a complex structure in which multiple systems interact that exert diverse functions, with which there is a great variety of aspects that could end up resulting in a maladaptive relationship with oneself or with the world.

This also implies that there is a wide variety of possible psychological symptoms , that we could group in the following ones.

1. Perceptive

The perception or absence of it from the stimuli that come from the real world and the differentiation between these and contents produced by the mind are some of the most characteristic symptoms of certain disorders. Within this category would be perceptual deceptions, in which something that does not exist in the external world is perceived, as well as perceptual distortions in which an existing stimulus in the medium is captured in an anomalous way.


It can also be included within this type of symptoms the difficulties to recognize through the senses the stimuli that are presented to us even though our senses act correctly at the biological level, the agnosias.

2. Of the way of thinking

Although when we talk about cognitive symptoms, we usually think about "what" we think, It is equally relevant to consider the "how" or "in what way" we do it . This type of symptoms refers to the form of thought, that is, to the way we reason, which is visible through language.

Lack of logic and internal coherence, use of words for characteristics that have nothing to do with their meaning, loss of associations, accelerations and / or inability to follow a line of thought to its conclusion or use excessively elements that do not have a great relationship with what is intended are some of the psychological symptoms of this type.

3. About the content of thought

As a living entity that has to make an active effort in order to survive and remain in the world, the human being captures and perceives the information of the environment in order to be able to act in relation to the events and circumstances that may affect it. For this it is necessary to work with the information received, being able to make judgments about it and use these to respond to the environment. The interaction with the environment and with ourselves makes that each one's beliefs come into play, which for the most part we will use as a basis to establish a plan of action before what may happen.

But nevertheless, Some people have fixed beliefs, intense, far from reality and inflexible that cause great anguish or difficulty in the life of the individual, behavior may be an indicator of the presence of a problem at this level. Within this type of psychological symptoms are mainly delusions, obsessive ideas and overvalued ideas.

4. Consciousness

Although when we talk about psychological symptoms, the first thing we think about is constructs linked to perception, thought or emotion, to be able to experience all these things it is necessary to have a certain level of conscious activity .

It is important to bear in mind that we can also find symptomatic elements in this aspect, being able to decrease their level (as in stupor or in extreme case coma), a narrowing of what we are aware of, making the cognitive and behavioral dissociated ( being an example of this multiple personality), the introduction of strange elements such as confusion or delirium or even the excess of consciousness that can accompany the consumption of substances.

5. Of attention

Even when we have a sufficient level of consciousness to grasp the stimuli, we must be able to focus on them and / or distance our cognitive resources.

So that, Another type of psychological symptoms to consider are those related to the ability to focus, direct, sustain and withdraw attention . Within this type of symptoms we can find to find so much inability, difficulty or excess to concentrate, direct the attention, select the stimuli to direct it or react to possible stimuli.

6. Memory and recognition

Memory and recognition are vital elements for the human being, being basic to be able to learn and modify our behavior or acquire skills to respond to the situations of our daily life.

The psychological symptoms that indicate an alteration in this area include the difficulty to remember past events (anterograde amnesia), coding and storing new information (retrograde amnesia), making mental elaborations that are taken as memories (as in confabulation), or a Extreme ability to remember events or stimuli (hypermnesia).

7. Language

As the main communication tool, language, both verbally and non-verbally, allows us to establish links with the environment and with other living beings, and even organize our thinking. Aspects considered as Symptoms in the area of ​​language include difficulties in intonation, rhythm, expression or comprehension .

8. Psychomotor

The human being is an animal that needs to be able to move or move parts of its body to perform most of actions. The inability or difficulty in movement, the emission of stereotyped patterns of involuntary movements or an excess of movements or motor agitation are typical psychological symptoms of this area.

9. Affective

One of the types of symptoms that have the greatest effect on the subjective well-being of the person and that has more presence in most disorders are the symptoms linked to emotion and affect. They refer to their own characteristics that show that there is an alteration in the subjective assessment of the individual.

Excessive joy or sadness, anxiety, impulsiveness, indifference, decontextualization, inability to express, absence of emotion, excessive rigidity or variability are typical psychological symptoms.

Bibliographic references:

  • Baños, R. and Perpiña, C. (2002). Psychopathological exploration. Madrid: Synthesis.
  • Santos, J.L. (2012). Psychopathology. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 01. CEDE. Madrid.

How to Spot the 9 Traits of Borderline Personality Disorder (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 9 types de symptômes psychologiques (et caractéristiques)

Les 9 types de symptômes psychologiques (et caractéristiques)

Juin 28, 2022

Lorsque nous parlons de trouble mental ou psychologique, nous nous référons à un ensemble de caractéristiques et d’éléments inférables de l’analyse du comportement et des réactions d’un individu qui causent un inconfort important et impliquent un handicap, une incapacité ou une difficulté d’adaptation pour la personne. environnement

Il y a beaucoup d'éléments qui peuvent être observés dans différentes dimensions de la personne, ceux-ci peuvent être regroupés en différents types de symptômes psychologiques .

Qu'est-ce qu'un symptôme?

Afin de parler des différents types de symptômes que nous pouvons trouver, il est utile de définir d’abord ce qu’est un symptôme.


On entend par symptôme l'élément ou la caractéristique pouvant indiquer la présence d'un problème médical ou psychologique . Ce n'est pas un indicateur objectif et totalement visible, car il pourrait s'agir d'un manque de partie du corps, mais nous parlerions d'une indication qu'il se passe quelque chose.

Bien qu’il puisse être très utile d’avoir la possibilité de détecter directement toute condition, cela est malheureusement très rarement possible. Étant donné que les processus mentaux ne sont pas des entités physiques directement observables (et même s'ils l'étaient, leur signification pourrait être diverse), il est impossible d'obtenir des signes non ambigus de la présence d'un trouble, ce qui nécessite de recourir à l'observation de comportements , des comportements et des expressions qui nous permettent de visualiser les pensées, les émotions et les croyances qui nous font être qui, quoi et comment nous sommes.


Différents types de symptômes psychologiques

La psyché humaine est une structure complexe dans laquelle de multiples systèmes interagissent, exerçant diverses fonctions, avec lesquels il existe une grande variété d'aspects pouvant aboutir à une relation mésadaptée avec soi-même ou avec le monde.

Cela implique également qu’il existe une grande variété de symptômes psychologiques possibles. , que nous pourrions regrouper dans les suivants.

1. perceptif

La perception ou l’absence des stimuli provenant du monde réel et la différenciation entre ces stimuli et les contenus produits par l’esprit font partie des symptômes les plus caractéristiques de certains troubles. Dans cette catégorie, il y aurait des déceptions perceptives, dans lesquelles on percevrait quelque chose qui n'existe pas dans le monde extérieur, ainsi que des distorsions perceptuelles dans lesquelles un stimulus existant dans le médium est capturé de manière anormale.


On peut également inclure dans ce type de symptômes les difficultés à reconnaître par les sens les stimuli qui nous sont présentés même si nos sens agissent correctement au niveau biologique, les agnosias.

2. De la façon de penser

Bien que lorsque nous parlons de symptômes cognitifs, nous pensons généralement à "ce que" nous pensons, Il est également pertinent de considérer le "comment" ou "de quelle manière" nous le faisons . Ce type de symptômes fait référence à la forme de pensée, c'est-à-dire à notre façon de raisonner, qui est visible à travers le langage.

Absence de logique et de cohérence interne, utilisation de mots pour des caractéristiques qui n’ont rien à voir avec leur signification, perte d’associations, accélérations et / ou incapacité à suivre un axe de réflexion jusqu’à sa conclusion ou à utiliser excessivement des éléments relation avec ce qui est prévu sont certains des symptômes psychologiques de ce type.

3. Sur le contenu de la pensée

En tant qu’entité vivante qui doit faire un effort actif pour survivre et rester dans le monde, l’être humain capte et perçoit les informations de l’environnement afin de pouvoir agir en fonction des événements et des circonstances pouvant l’affecter. Pour cela, il est nécessaire de travailler avec les informations reçues, de pouvoir en juger et de les utiliser pour répondre à l'environnement. L'interaction avec l'environnement et avec nous-mêmes fait en sorte que les croyances de chacun entrent en jeu, ce que nous utiliserons principalement comme base pour établir un plan d'action avant ce qui peut arriver.

Cependant, Certaines personnes ont des croyances fixes, intenses, loin de la réalité et inflexibles qui causent une grande angoisse En cas de difficulté dans la vie de l'individu, le comportement peut être un indicateur de la présence d'un problème à ce niveau. Parmi ce type de symptômes psychologiques figurent principalement des idées délirantes, des idées obsessionnelles et des idées surévaluées.

4. la conscience

Bien que lorsque nous parlons de symptômes psychologiques, la première chose à laquelle nous pensons est des constructions liées à la perception, à la pensée ou à l’émotion, pour pouvoir faire l'expérience de toutes ces choses, il est nécessaire d'avoir un certain niveau d'activité consciente .

Il est important de garder à l’esprit que nous pouvons également trouver des éléments symptomatiques dans cet aspect, en étant capables de diminuer leur niveau (comme dans le coma stupeur ou extrême), un rétrécissement de ce dont nous sommes conscients, en dissociant le cognitivo exemple de cette personnalité multiple), l’introduction d’éléments étranges tels que la confusion ou le délire ou même l’excès de conscience qui peut accompagner la consommation de substances.

5. D'attention

Même lorsque nous avons un niveau de conscience suffisant pour saisir les stimuli, nous devons pouvoir nous concentrer sur eux et / ou distancer nos ressources cognitives.

Donc, Un autre type de symptômes psychologiques à prendre en compte sont ceux liés à la capacité de se concentrer, de diriger, de maintenir et de retenir l’attention. . Dans ce type de symptômes, on peut trouver tellement d'incapacité, de difficulté ou d'excès à se concentrer, à diriger l'attention, à sélectionner les stimuli pour le diriger ou à réagir à des stimuli possibles.

6. Mémoire et reconnaissance

La mémoire et la reconnaissance sont des éléments vitaux pour l'être humain, car elles sont fondamentales pour pouvoir apprendre et modifier notre comportement ou pour acquérir les compétences nécessaires pour faire face aux situations de notre vie quotidienne.

Les symptômes psychologiques qui indiquent une altération dans ce domaine comprennent la difficulté de se souvenir d'événements passés (amnésie antérograde), la codification et le stockage de nouvelles informations (amnésie rétrograde), la prise de décisions mentales (souvenirs) Capacité extrême de se rappeler des événements ou des stimuli (hypermnésie).

7. Langue

En tant que principal outil de communication, la langue, verbalement et non verbalement, nous permet d’établir des liens avec l’environnement et avec d’autres êtres vivants, et même d’organiser notre pensée. Aspects considérés comme Les symptômes dans le domaine du langage incluent des difficultés d'intonation, de rythme, d'expression ou de compréhension. .

8. psychomoteur

L'être humain est un animal qui doit pouvoir déplacer ou déplacer certaines parties de son corps pour effectuer la plupart des actions. L’incapacité ou la difficulté de mouvement, l’émission de modèles stéréotypés de mouvements involontaires ou un excès de mouvements ou une agitation motrice sont des symptômes psychologiques typiques de cette région.

9. affectif

Les symptômes liés à l'émotion et à l'affect sont l'un des types de symptômes qui ont le plus d'effet sur le bien-être subjectif de la personne et qui sont plus présents dans la plupart des troubles. Ils se réfèrent à leurs propres caractéristiques qui montrent qu'il y a une altération dans l'évaluation subjective de l'individu.

Joie ou tristesse excessive, anxiété, impulsivité, indifférence, décontextualisation, incapacité à exprimer, absence d'émotion, rigidité excessive ou variabilité sont des symptômes psychologiques typiques.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Baños, R. et Perpiña, C. (2002). Exploration psychopathologique. Madrid: synthèse.
  • Santos, J.L. (2012). Psychopathologie Manuel de préparation CEDE PIR, 01. CEDE. Madrid

9 Signes Caractéristiques D'une Personne Émotionnellement Instable (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes