yes, therapy helps!
The basic therapeutic skills in Gestalt Therapy

The basic therapeutic skills in Gestalt Therapy

May 6, 2021

Remembering the different interventions that I have been able to carry out in different workshops and therapeutic processes, specifically those that dealt with the establishment of roles, I want to reflect on the important role of therapeutic listening, specifically the Gestalt listening .

Observations and analysis that have given me many conclusions about the role that it holds in this double direction about the self that every therapist seeks: inward and outward.

Know more: "Gestalt therapy: what it is and on what principles it is based"

Clarifying some concepts

Internal listening

The internal listening , as the capacity for questioning from self-observation, is nothing more than the virtue of looking inward, allowing us to become aware of the self and attend to those processes that are awakened in established communication.


And it is that although "being available to the other does not mean forgetting us" (Peñarrubia, 2012), the harsh self-criticism, arising from that "keeping up appearances" in therapy -like the attention of the self in the experiential process-, forgets that the Gestaltists not only attend to what happens to the other, but they must also keep in mind (be aware) of what is happening to them at that moment (in the here and now).

Interior listening

Is listen inside , which at the beginning we thought was a burden for the patient's full attention, gives way to a more friendly version, exemplifying the excellence of his method as an accompaniment, without having to interfere in the attention of our interlocutor.


Paraphrasing J.B. Enright (1973) exemplified this new vision and awareness of the aforementioned: "To carry out a suitable clinical task, mental health professionals need to have access to the flow of their inner experience." The first and subtlest sign for to understand the anguish, the hostility ... of the other, is the consciousness of some similar or complementary state in oneself ".

External listening

Refering to external listening , he forgets that more important than listening to what is said, is to decipher how he says it. It is common to see how listening to verbal content is important (showing our ability to listen once more with the repetition of what we have attended with the utmost fidelity: words and textual themes transmitted), but even more important is listening to the non-verbal content.

And in my experience in group dynamics, although we develop attention and concentration on words and issues, we relegate the gestures, the tones of voice, the body posture, which, more than words, give us more honest information than their narration in sentences.


Undoubtedly, this shows that a good therapist should not only limit himself to a passive listening of what is exposed, but that must attend in an active way the sound of the voice, its tones, the rhythm of the musicality in its words , because in short, verbal communication is nothing more than a lie (Peñarrubia, 2006).

My experience in congruence with the above has allowed me to understand that in addition to listening to words, we must attend in a more conscious way what the voice tells us, what the movements narrate, the posture, its facial expression, its psychosomatic language; in short, and in the words of Fritz Perls himself (1974): "it is all there, if they allow the content of the sentences to be only a second violin".

Keys and benefits of therapeutic listening

The therapeutic listening should be treated as an attitude: availability, attention, interest in the other ... If we materialize it in two indissociable operative lines (listening to content and perception of the form) we will understand the purpose of the training that every good therapist should attend:

  • Listen to the content (what the other says), retain and reproduce it literally; it is a test of attention. Considering the purely theoretical nature of his explanation, we find that, almost permanently, what is forgotten, what is changed, corresponds to or indicates conflicting areas of the therapist, referring us to his own unfinished business and that allude to the internal world itself. We could conclude that memory is therefore selective and that both rescued and rejected alludes to the neurosis of the therapist.
  • Listening to the nonverbal requires the therapist to be a good observer , capacity and perception that transcends beyond the word. The attention of the how on what, bet on the non-verbal in case of dissonance.

Communication in Gestalt Therapy

We have talked about the attitude of Gestalt listening, which inevitably leads us to also talk about a certain attitude of communication (communication in Gestalt). It is already common in the workshops, the correction in several colleagues, among whom I find myself, of forms of expression that distort the rules of communication in Gestalt.

We went on to enunciate and exemplify the most common ones (Peñarrubia, 2006):

  • Speaking in the third person and in the past / future tense may be the most frequent correction during the therapeutic processes. The theoretical basis that sustains that correction of the tutor that forces us to "speak in the first person and in the present tense", affirms that impersonal language dilutes the responsibility of what is being said. Speaking in the present tense (even if one talks about the past) facilitates the experience, making accessible and available the emotional content that the narrated experience contains.
  • Do not take responsibility for the expression , emphasizing the recommendation to incorporate it as the speech progresses, with the introduction of phrases (which facilitate taking charge of what is narrating) Examples of these experiences in real sessions are: expressions about "I feel my neck tense up" , being able to hold the patient responsible for this experience in a more committed way since "I am feeling tense".
  • Use of the conjunction "but" instead of "and" and the question "why" instead of "how" . It is common in the clinic to ask questions about the "why" trying to get some rationalization or explanation, should exercise the return that relational dynamics. This will never lead us to a global understanding and that if we change the "how" we will look at what happens, we will observe the structure of the process and it will give us perspective and orientation. Also with the use of "and" instead of "but" we will avoid the dichotomy of language, integrating instead of dissociating.

Gestalt Therapy and the therapeutic relationship

To conclude and take up the origins of Gestalt Therapy, we are debtors (either by position or by opposition) of Freud and his psychoanalysis (Rocamora, 2014): "what a relationship damages in its origin or childhood, another can heal it- psychotherapy" , allowing to speak of therapeutic relationship, to detect certain models of patient-therapist relationship. Relationship that when talking about Gestalt listening, highlights the peculiarity that in relation to its fundamental principle of "realization", points to an interaction where the therapist (the self) is used as a reference map or experience with his patient (balance Gestalt).

What attitude should we then maintain: "hear? Or listen?" If listening is something that is done intentionally and hearing is something independent of the will, Gestalt Therapy is the first priority. This, in congruence with the objective of it (focused more on the processes than on the contents), puts the emphasis on what is happening, is thinking and feeling at the moment , above what could be or have been. Listening globally, as they show us in the workshop (verbal and non-verbal), is therefore the key to the success of a therapeutic process.


Role Play: Gestalt Therapy (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les compétences thérapeutiques de base en Gestalt Therapy

Les compétences thérapeutiques de base en Gestalt Therapy

Mai 22, 2019

En me souvenant des différentes interventions que j’ai pu mener dans différents ateliers et processus thérapeutiques, en particulier celles ayant trait à l’établissement des rôles, je souhaite réfléchir au rôle important de l’écoute thérapeutique, en particulier de l’écoute thérapeutique. Gestalt écoute .

Des observations et des analyses qui m’ont permis de tirer de nombreuses conclusions sur le rôle qu’elle joue dans cette double direction du soi que chaque thérapeute recherche: vers l’intérieur et vers l’extérieur.

En savoir plus: "La Gestalt-thérapie: de quoi s'agit-il et sur quels principes s'appuie-t-elle"

Clarifier certains concepts

Écoute interne

Le écoute interne , en tant que capacité de questionnement à partir de l'observation de soi, n'est rien d'autre que la vertu de regarder en soi, nous permettant de prendre conscience de soi et d'assister à ces processus qui sont réveillés dans une communication établie.


Et c’est que bien que "être disponible pour l’autre ne veut pas dire nous oublier" (Peñarrubia, 2012), la autocritique sévère découlant de cette "conservation des apparences" en thérapie - comme l’attention de soi dans le processus expérientiel -, oublie que les gestaltistes non seulement veillent sur ce qui arrive à l'autre, mais qu'ils doivent également garder à l'esprit (savoir) ce qui leur arrive à ce moment-là (dans l'ici et maintenant).

Écoute intérieure

Celui-ci écoute à l'intérieur , qui au début, nous pensions que cela pesait sur toute l'attention du patient, cède la place à une version plus conviviale, illustrant l'excellence de sa méthode d'accompagnement, sans avoir à gêner l'attention de notre interlocuteur.


Paraphrasant J.B. Enright (1973) illustre cette nouvelle vision et la prise de conscience de ce qui précède: "Pour mener à bien une tâche clinique appropriée, les professionnels de la santé mentale doivent avoir accès au flux de leur expérience intérieure." Le premier et le plus subtil signe de comprendre l'angoisse, l'hostilité ... de l'autre, c'est la conscience d'un état similaire ou complémentaire en soi ".

Écoute externe

Comme pour le écoute externe , il oublie que plus important que d'écouter ce qui est dit, c'est de déchiffrer comment il le dit. Il est courant de voir à quel point l’écoute du contenu verbal est importante (montrer notre capacité à réécouter avec la même répétition que ce à quoi nous avons assisté avec la plus grande fidélité: mots et thèmes textuels transmis), mais le plus important est l’écoute du contenu non verbal.

Et dans mon expérience de la dynamique de groupe, bien que nous développions une attention et une concentration sur les mots et les problèmes, nous reléguons les gestes, les tonalités de voix, la posture du corps, qui, plus que les mots, nous donnent des informations plus honnêtes que leurs narration en phrases.


Cela montre sans aucun doute qu'un bon thérapeute doit non seulement se limiter à une écoute passive de ce qui est exposé, mais aussi doit assister de manière active au son de la voix, à ses tons, au rythme de la musicalité dans ses paroles En effet, la communication verbale n’est qu’un mensonge (Peñarrubia, 2006).

Mon expérience en harmonie avec ce qui précède m’a permis de comprendre qu’outre l’écoute des mots, nous devons assister de manière plus consciente à ce que la voix nous dit, à ce que les mouvements racontent, à la posture, à son expression faciale, à son langage psychosomatique; en bref, et selon les mots de Fritz Perls lui-même (1974): "tout est là, s'ils permettent que le contenu des phrases ne soit qu'un deuxième violon".

Clés et avantages de l'écoute thérapeutique

L’écoute thérapeutique doit être traitée comme une attitude: disponibilité, attention, intérêt pour l’autre ... Si nous la matérialisons en deux lignes opérantes indissociables (écoute du contenu et perception de la forme), nous comprendrons le but de la formation que tout bon thérapeute devrait avoir. assister:

  • Écoutez le contenu (ce que dit l'autre), conservez-le et reproduisez-le littéralement; c'est un test d'attention. Compte tenu de la nature purement théorique de son explication, nous trouvons que, de manière quasi permanente, ce qui est oublié, ce qui change, correspond ou indique des zones conflictuelles du thérapeute, nous renvoyant à ses propres affaires inachevées et faisant allusion au monde interne lui-même. Nous pourrions donc en conclure que la mémoire est donc sélective et que sauvés et rejetés font allusion à la névrose du thérapeute.
  • Écouter le non-verbal nécessite que le thérapeute soit un bon observateur , la capacité et la perception qui transcende au-delà de la parole. L'attention du comment sur quoi, pariez sur le non-verbal en cas de dissonance.

Communication en thérapie de Gestalt

Nous avons parlé de l’attitude de Gestalt à l’écoute, ce qui nous amène inévitablement à parler également d’une certaine attitude de communication (communication en Gestalt). Il est déjà courant dans les ateliers, la correction chez plusieurs collègues, parmi lesquels je me trouve moi-même, de formes d'expression qui faussent les règles de la communication en Gestalt.

Nous avons ensuite énoncé et illustré les plus courants (Peñarrubia, 2006):

  • Parler à la troisième personne et au passé / futur peut être la correction la plus fréquente au cours des processus thérapeutiques. La base théorique qui soutient cette correction du tuteur qui nous oblige à "parler à la première personne et au présent", affirme que le langage impersonnel dilue la responsabilité de ce qui est dit. Parler au présent (même si on parle du passé) facilite l'expérience en rendant accessible et disponible le contenu émotionnel que l'expérience racontée contient.
  • Ne prenez pas la responsabilité de l'expression , soulignant la recommandation de l’incorporer à mesure que le discours avance, avec l’introduction de phrases (qui facilitent la prise en charge de la narration). Voici des exemples de ces expériences vécues lors de sessions réelles: expressions sur "Je sens mon cou se tendre" , être capable de tenir le patient responsable de cette expérience de manière plus engagée depuis "je me sens tendu".
  • Utilisation de la conjonction "mais" au lieu de "et" et de la question "pourquoi" au lieu de "comment" . Dans la clinique, il est courant de poser des questions sur le "pourquoi" qui cherche à obtenir une rationalisation ou une explication devrait exercer le retour de cette dynamique relationnelle. Cela ne nous mènera jamais à une compréhension globale et que si nous changeons le "comment" nous regarderons ce qui se passe, nous observerons la structure du processus et cela nous donnera une perspective et une orientation. De plus, en utilisant "et" au lieu de "mais", nous éviterons la dichotomie du langage, en intégrant au lieu de se dissocier.

Gestalt Therapy et la relation thérapeutique

Pour conclure et reprendre les origines de la Gestalt-thérapie, nous sommes débiteurs (soit par position, soit par opposition) de Freud et de sa psychanalyse (Rocamora, 2014): "ce qu'une relation endommage dans son origine ou son enfance, une autre peut la guérir - la psychothérapie" , permettant de parler de relation thérapeutique, de détecter certains modèles de relation patient-thérapeute. Relation qui, lorsqu’on parle d’écoute gestalt, souligne la particularité qui, par rapport à son principe fondamental de "réalisation", indique une interaction dans laquelle le thérapeute (le soi) est utilisé comme carte de référence ou expérience avec son patient (balance). Gestalt).

Quelle attitude devrions-nous alors conserver: "entendre? Ou écouter?" Si l’écoute est intentionnelle et que l’audition est indépendante de la volonté, la Gestalt Therapy est la première des priorités. Ceci, en conformité avec l’objectif de celle-ci (davantage centré sur les processus que sur le contenu), met l'accent sur ce qui se passe, pense et ressent en ce moment , au-dessus de ce qui pourrait être ou avoir été. L'écoute globale, comme ils nous le montrent lors de l'atelier (verbal et non verbal), est donc la clé du succès d'un processus thérapeutique.


Qu'est-ce que l'approche centrée sur la personne (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes