yes, therapy helps!
The Behavior Inhibition Disorder of Russell A. Barkley, alternative to ADHD

The Behavior Inhibition Disorder of Russell A. Barkley, alternative to ADHD

January 22, 2021

Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder is a condition involved in discussions and controversies, in which the scientific community itself differs in both symptoms and treatment, and even in some sectors it comes to question the existence of this.

The psychologist Russell A. Barkley, created an alternative explanation model called behavioral inhibition disorder , which puts in check the role of attention in ADHD and which will be discussed throughout this article.

  • You may be interested: "Attention deficit or selective attention in ADHD"

What is disorder of behavioral inhibition?

The behavioral inhibition disorder is an explanatory model created by the American psychologist Russell A. Barkley, his intention was that this was constituted as an alternative to the label of attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD).


This alternative explanatory model of ADHD revolves around the executive function known as response inhibition . According to Barkley, the main advantage of the behavioral inhibition disorder is that it fits better with the symptoms associated with the subcategories of ADHD: hyperactive and combined.

To better understand this model, the term executive function is described below.

  • Related article: "Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD), also in adults"

Executive functions

The executive functions correspond to terms used in neuropsychology. This expression refers to all the cognitive abilities that a person resorts to when their efforts are directed towards the achievement of an achievement or an objective.


These executive functions are essential to manage cognitive, emotional and behavioral processes that enable the person to respond to any situation. In the same way, these are vital for the realization of most tasks and functions that a person must perform throughout the day; especially those actions that involve the generation of plans, decision making, problem solving, self-control and emotional regulation.

The processes referred to by the term "executive function" can be subdivided into two groups: basic functions and functions derived from them. These functions are:

  • Basic functions: inhibition of response, cognitive flexibility and working memory.
  • Derivative functions: Planification and organization.

The role of behavior inhibition

Of all the executive functions that the human being serves, Barkley focuses on the inhibition of behavior , giving it a crucial role when it comes to creating its own explanatory model of ADHD.


By inhibition of behavior means the suspension of a response or a series of behaviors that the person has internalized or learned before and that are usually automatic. The purpose of this inhibition or containment is to solve any type of problem or task.

The operation of the inhibition of the response consists, in the appearance of according to what stimulus, to suspend certain behavior or action and replace it with another succession of acts or responses . Another option is to delay this sequence of actions over time until the person perceives that it is the right time to carry them out.

The explanatory model of Barkley

In his work "ADHD and the nature of self-control", published in 1997, Barkley is dedicated to structuring all the information about ADHD collected during more than 25 years of study and constitutes the explanatory bases of the behavior inhibition disorder .

Barkley starts from the basis that the symptoms associated with ADHD can be divided into three groups or genders. These categories are: hyperactivity, impulsivity and attention deficit. However, Barkley only considers hyperactivity and impulsivity. Barkley argues that considering attention as a primary symptom of this disorder can lead to error when it comes to treating it.

Also, within the executive functions named above, Barkley highlights the work of inhibiting response . In addition it investigates how this can exert a series of harmful effects on the other functions, which are subordinated to it to be able to function correctly,

The following shows the relationship that the inhibition of behavior has with the rest of executive functions and the symptoms that it provokes as a result of this interference:

1. Alterations in the non-verbal work memory

Inhibiting behavior causes problems in the representation and transformation of information, as well as deficiencies in the ability to anticipate future actions and difficulties in time management.

2. Problems in verbal work memory

In this case, both the verbal work memory and the internalization of speech are seriously affected. The main associated symptoms include obstruction of reflection capacity, problems to comply with norms and to integrate regularized behavior patterns, decreased ability to solve problems , deficiencies in reading comprehension and deficits in moral reasoning.

3. Deficits in emotional and motivational self-regulation

Problems in the ability to express feelings and emotions, which become exaggeratedly disproportionate; the deficiencies to perceive the point of view of the other and the alterations in the regulation of motivation are typical symptoms that cause behavioral inhibition in people with ADHD.

4. Lack of reconstitution

Finally, the person can also find obstacles when carrying out procedures of analysis and synthesis of the behavior; as well as deficits in the ability to imitate, copy or reproduce behaviors and a smaller variety of strategies of action at the time of solving problems or reaching an objective.

The function of attention

As mentioned above, Barkley eliminates the effect of attention as a factor or principal agent of the Behavior Inhibition Disorder model.

Even so recognizes the existence of two types of care . That attention is controlled externally by immediate reinforcements and the attention that originates and controls the person from within, which needs the inhibition of behaviors that are underway and is more effective for the achievement of long-term objectives.

In this way, Barkley accepts that attention is also included in his model but that it is subordinated to other factors and that all people diagnosed with ADHD present difficulties in the attention originated from the inside.


30 Essential Ideas you should know about ADHD, 3A The Five Executive Functions (January 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le trouble de l'inhibition du comportement de Russell A. Barkley, une alternative au TDAH

Le trouble de l'inhibition du comportement de Russell A. Barkley, une alternative au TDAH

Juin 13, 2021

Le trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention est une condition impliquée dans les discussions et les controverses, dans lesquelles la communauté scientifique elle-même diffère à la fois en termes de symptômes et de traitement, et même dans certains secteurs, elle remet en question son existence.

Le psychologue Russell A. Barkley, créé un modèle d'explication alternatif appelé trouble d'inhibition comportementale , qui met en échec le rôle de l’attention dans le TDAH et qui sera discuté tout au long de cet article.

  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "Déficit de l'attention ou attention sélective dans le TDAH"

Quel est le trouble de l'inhibition comportementale?

Le trouble de l'inhibition comportementale est un modèle explicatif créé par le psychologue américain Russell A. Barkley. Son intention était que ce soit une alternative à l'étiquette du trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention (TDAH).


Ce modèle explicatif alternatif du TDAH tourne autour de la fonction exécutive connue sous le nom d'inhibition de la réponse . Selon Barkley, le principal avantage du trouble de l'inhibition comportementale est qu'il correspond mieux aux symptômes associés aux sous-catégories de TDAH: hyperactif et combiné.

Pour mieux comprendre ce modèle, le terme fonction exécutive est décrit ci-dessous.

  • Article connexe: "Trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention (TDAH), également chez l'adulte"

Fonctions exécutives

Les fonctions exécutives correspondent aux termes utilisés en neuropsychologie. Cette expression désigne toutes les capacités cognitives auxquelles une personne a recours lorsque ses efforts sont orientés vers la réalisation d'un objectif ou d'un objectif.


Ces fonctions exécutives sont essentielles à la gestion des processus cognitifs, émotionnels et comportementaux qui permettent à la personne de réagir à toute situation. De la même manière, elles sont vitales pour la réalisation de la plupart des tâches et fonctions qu'une personne doit accomplir tout au long de la journée. en particulier les actions qui impliquent la génération de plans, la prise de décision, la résolution de problèmes, la maîtrise de soi et la régulation émotionnelle.

Les processus désignés par le terme "fonction exécutive" peuvent être subdivisés en deux groupes: les fonctions de base et les fonctions qui en découlent. Ces fonctions sont:

  • Fonctions de base: inhibition de la réponse, flexibilité cognitive et mémoire de travail.
  • Fonctions dérivées: planification et organisation.

Le rôle de l'inhibition du comportement

De toutes les fonctions exécutives que l'être humain remplit, Barkley se concentre sur l'inhibition du comportement , lui donnant un rôle crucial dans la création de son propre modèle explicatif du TDAH.


Par inhibition du comportement, on entend la suspension d'une réponse ou d'une série de comportements que la personne a intériorisés ou appris auparavant et qui sont généralement automatiques. Le but de cette inhibition ou de ce confinement est de résoudre tout type de problème ou de tâche.

Le fonctionnement de l'inhibition de la réponse consiste, dans l'apparition de selon quel stimulus, à suspendre certains comportements ou actions et les remplacer par une autre succession d'actes ou de réponses . Une autre option consiste à retarder cette séquence d'actions jusqu'à ce que la personne s'aperçoive que c'est le bon moment pour les exécuter.

Le modèle explicatif de Barkley

Dans son ouvrage intitulé "Le TDAH et la nature de la maîtrise de soi", publié en 1997, Barkley se consacre à la structuration de toutes les informations sur le TDAH recueillies au cours de plus de 25 ans d'études et de constitue les bases explicatives du trouble d'inhibition du comportement .

Barkley part du principe que les symptômes associés au TDAH peuvent être divisés en trois groupes ou genres. Ces catégories sont: l'hyperactivité, l'impulsivité et le déficit de l'attention. Cependant, Barkley ne considère que l'hyperactivité et l'impulsivité. Barkley soutient que le fait de considérer l’attention comme un symptôme principal de ce trouble peut conduire à une erreur lorsqu’il s’agit de le traiter.

En outre, dans les fonctions exécutives nommées ci-dessus, Barkley souligne le travail d'inhibition de la réponse . En outre, il examine comment cela peut exercer une série d’effets néfastes sur les autres fonctions, qui lui sont subordonnées pour pouvoir fonctionner correctement.

Ce qui suit montre la relation qui existe entre l'inhibition du comportement et le reste des fonctions exécutives et les symptômes que cette interférence provoque:

1. Altérations de la mémoire de travail non verbale

Le comportement inhibiteur pose des problèmes de représentation et de transformation de l'information, ainsi que lacunes dans la capacité à anticiper les actions futures et des difficultés dans la gestion du temps.

2. Problèmes de mémoire de travail verbale

Dans ce cas, la mémoire de travail verbale et l’internalisation de la parole sont sérieusement affectées. Les principaux symptômes associés incluent l’obstruction de la capacité de réflexion, les problèmes de conformité aux normes et d’intégration de schémas comportementaux régularisés, capacité réduite à résoudre des problèmes , déficiences de la compréhension en lecture et déficiences du raisonnement moral.

3. Déficits d'autorégulation émotionnelle et motivationnelle

Problèmes dans la capacité à exprimer des sentiments et des émotions, qui deviennent exagérément disproportionnés; les lacunes pour percevoir le point de vue de l'autre et les modifications dans la régulation de la motivation sont des symptômes typiques qui provoquent une inhibition comportementale chez les personnes atteintes de TDAH.

4. Manque de reconstitution

Enfin, la personne peut également rencontrer des obstacles lors de la réalisation de procédures d’analyse et de synthèse du comportement; ainsi que déficits dans la capacité d'imiter, de copier ou de reproduire des comportements et une plus petite variété de stratégies d’action au moment de résoudre des problèmes ou d’atteindre un objectif.

La fonction de l'attention

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, Barkley élimine l'effet de l'attention en tant que facteur ou agent principal du modèle de trouble d'inhibition du comportement.

Même comme ça reconnaît l'existence de deux types de soins . Cette attention est contrôlée de manière externe par des renforcements immédiats et par l'attention qui émane et contrôle la personne de l'intérieur, ce qui nécessite l'inhibition des comportements en cours et est plus efficace pour la réalisation d'objectifs à long terme.

De cette manière, Barkley accepte le fait que l'attention soit également incluse dans son modèle, mais qu'il est subordonné à d'autres facteurs et que toutes les personnes chez lesquelles un TDAH a été diagnostiqué présentent des difficultés d'attention provenant de l'intérieur.


Anger and ADHD: How to Build up Your Brakes (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes