yes, therapy helps!
The best 12 books by Erich Fromm

The best 12 books by Erich Fromm

September 20, 2022

There is a wide variety of psychoanalytic theories. From Freudian psychoanalysis to divergent currents such as the individual psychology of Adler or the deep psychology of Carl Jung, numerous authors have studied the human psyche from the postulates that originate the psychodynamic approach.

One of the thinkers and writers that most differs in this respect is Erich Fromm, author of a current that mixed psychoanalytic theories with humanistic philosophy. He was responsible for offering a vision of the psychodynamic current more focused on the social and on the need to motivate reflection based on inspiring ideas. In this article we are going to review the main books of Erich Fromm .


  • Related article: "The 30 best Psychology books you can not miss"

Who was Erich Fromm?

Fromm is considered the father of humanistic psychoanalysis . He believed that, while the pain and suffering of the patient are elements of great importance, the focus of attention should be on the pursuit of happiness and well-being. In other words, he considered that to overcome the discomfort and pain it is necessary for the subject to accept himself and develop affection, giving meaning to his life and the pain he has suffered.

So, he proposes that to understand the mind it is necessary to explore the positive side of personality and their strengths, instead of focusing on pathological aspects.


  • You can read more about this author in the following article: "Erich Fromm: biography of the father of humanistic psychoanalysis".

12 of the best books by Erich Fromm

Below you can find a selection with the best books by Erich Fromm, considered among the most relevant of his work.

1. The fear of freedom

Considered one of the main and most important works of Fromm In this essay, the author works on the concept of freedom and its meaning for the modern human being.

Here, this thinker analyzes the concept in society and the fall of the human being in aspects that put it in crisis. The book also explains some of the aspects of freedom that are currently compromised, such as political expression constrained by fascism or social expression, tending society to make all individuals behave and be a way homogeneous


  • If you are interested in this book, you can learn more about it by clicking here.

2. The art of loving

One of the concepts that Fromm works often is love. In this work, another one of the best known and representative of the author, this concept is analyzed and reflection on what it means to love.

The author delves into the various forms of expression of love , both towards the couple and towards family, friends or even towards oneself. Love is considered as something that must be cultivated and that is transformed in order to understand the beloved, a work of art in which the person occupies his energies and which implies maturity and learning.

  • To know more about this work, access this page.

3. The heart of man

The third of Fromm's top works is The Heart of Man. Here, the author analyzes and reflects on aspects such as the capacity of the human being when it comes to seeking pleasure or causing pain , about violence and frustration, the love of life or death (referring to Freudian impulses), freedom or aspects such as the Oedipus complex and narcissism.

  • Related article: "Narcissistic personality disorder: how are narcissistic people?"
  • If you are interested in the book, click here.

4. Beyond the chains of illusion

This book was defined by Fromm himself as an intellectual autobiography with respect to his thought , relating some vital experiences (such as the suicide of a young woman and the experience of the First World War) that marked him and made him look for an explanation about irrationality, finding some answers in the work of Karl Marx.

In addition, in this book Fromm confronts the ideas of Freud and Marx, who were the origin of his thought, working concepts such as individual and social responsibility.

  • Maybe you're interested: "70 phrases by Erich Fromm to understand his thoughts"

5. The pathology of normality

In this book the author works on a fundamental aspect of his theory, the fact that the normal can become pathological and the pathological can be normal . For the author, the pathology usually develops due to the attempt to adapt to what is demanded by an increasingly demanding society, deteriorating the mental state of people because it makes us increasingly unable to link ourselves to reality.

  • Do you want to know more about the book? Click here.

6. And you will be like gods

The current society has left aside the concept of God, leaving a certain void that causes the existence of confusion between what we are and what we have. The consumerism of our time is generated by the absence of a vital sense and a sense of isolation and internal emptiness. The author proposes to try to look for changes in the social structure that can guide the human being to feel liberated and full .

  • To know more about the book use this link.

7. The art of listening

In the texts of this work, Erich Fromm speaks of his way of understanding therapy as a process through which to understand the person and his unconscious. Proposes that the therapist listen to your patient with affection and sympathy , moving away from cold therapeutic relationships based on the theoretical.

  • You can find more information here.

8. Spirit and society

In this posthumous book several articles of Fromm are included in which it is evident what the author considers as a starting point of his theory, the fact that the social requirement causes states of inconsistency in people . This would be one of the factors that would separate Fromm from the psychoanalytic school.

We also talk about aspects such as the understanding of the social unconscious, the therapeutic relationship, the bureaucracy or the paradoxes that society makes us face.

  • On this page you can read more about the book.

9. From having to being

Fromm proposes in this book that today's society is immersed in a situation in which being is confused with having, so that who has more is who is better. Therefore, people must analyze their own life and way of thinking, proposing that we live with love and reason as the main pillars. Pain and suffering are necessary to become wise , so we must forget about the escape method to focus on getting back to being.

  • To learn more, access this page.

10. About disobedience

Obedience to one's nature and political disobedience are the subject on which this work is based, which summarizes the author's thoughts on the subject. The author indicates that the human being must have met the needs of identity, relationship, transcendence and belonging, criticizing the obstacles posed by society so that we are able to fulfill them. Falling in blind obedience and totalitarianism can damage the integrity of the person and ignore the value of people and life.

  • You will find more information about the work through this link.

11. The forgotten language

This book deals with one of the aspects that have been strongly analyzed by psychoanalysis: dreams. In this book, Fromm intends to participate in the analysis of the symbolic elements of dreams , helping us to understand what they mean and how they can help us understand the unconscious according to the paradigm of psycodynamics.

  • If you want to get this book, you can start the process here.

12. Ethics and psychoanalysis

In this work Fromm raises the need to apply an ethics in the world of psychology , considering that psychoanalysis has made a big mistake in trying to separate the psychological from the moral in patients, ignoring that it is also part of the person and their experiences (care must be taken to help the patient form a positive ethic and character) . This ethic should not be authoritarian, like the superego and censorship, but must be humanistic and objectivist, based on self-love and self-acceptance and the deployment of potential.

  • To read more about the book, click here.


Book Discussion: The Fear of Freedom by Eric Fromm (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 12 meilleurs livres de Erich Fromm

Les 12 meilleurs livres de Erich Fromm

Septembre 15, 2022

Il existe une grande variété de théories psychanalytiques. De la psychanalyse freudienne aux courants divergents tels que la psychologie individuelle d’Adler ou la psychologie profonde de Carl Jung, de nombreux auteurs ont étudié la psyché humaine à partir des postulats à l’origine de l’approche psychodynamique.

Erich Fromm, auteur d'un courant mêlant théories psychanalytiques et philosophie humaniste, est l'un des penseurs et écrivains qui se distingue le plus à cet égard. Il était chargé de proposer une vision du courant psychodynamique plus axée sur le social et sur le besoin de motiver une réflexion basée sur des idées inspirantes. Dans cet article, nous allons passer en revue les livres principaux d'Erich Fromm .


  • Article connexe: "Les 30 meilleurs livres de psychologie à ne pas manquer"

Qui était Erich Fromm?

Fromm est considéré le père de la psychanalyse humaniste . Il a estimé que, si la douleur et la souffrance du patient sont des éléments d'une grande importance, l'attention devrait être centrée sur la recherche du bonheur et du bien-être. En d'autres termes, il considérait que pour surmonter l'inconfort et la douleur, il était nécessaire que le sujet s'accepte et développait de l'affection, donnant un sens à sa vie et à la douleur qu'il avait subie.

Donc, il propose que pour comprendre l'esprit il est nécessaire d'explorer le côté positif de la personnalité et leurs atouts, au lieu de se focaliser sur les aspects pathologiques.


  • Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur cet auteur dans l'article suivant: "Erich Fromm: biographie du père de la psychanalyse humaniste".

12 des meilleurs livres de Erich Fromm

Vous trouverez ci-dessous une sélection des meilleurs livres d'Erich Fromm, considérés parmi les plus pertinents de son travail.

1. La peur de la liberté

Considéré une des œuvres principales et les plus importantes de Fromm Dans cet essai, l'auteur travaille sur le concept de liberté et sa signification pour l'être humain moderne.

Ici, ce penseur analyse le concept de société et la chute de l'être humain sous des aspects qui le mettent en crise. Le livre explique également certains aspects de la liberté qui sont actuellement compromis, tels que l'expression politique contrainte par le fascisme ou l'expression sociale, tendant à ce que la société oblige tous les individus à se comporter homogène


  • Si ce livre vous intéresse, vous pouvez en apprendre plus à ce sujet en cliquant ici.

2. L'art d'aimer

L'un des concepts sur lesquels Fromm travaille souvent est l'amour. Dans ce travail, un autre des plus connus et représentatifs de l’auteur, ce concept est analysé et une réflexion sur ce que signifie aimer.

L'auteur explore les différentes formes d'expression de l'amour , tant vers le couple que vers la famille, les amis ou même envers soi-même. L'amour est considéré comme quelque chose qui doit être cultivé et transformé afin de comprendre l'aimé, œuvre d'art dans laquelle la personne occupe ses énergies et qui implique maturité et apprentissage.

  • Pour en savoir plus sur ce travail, accédez à cette page.

3. Le coeur de l'homme

La troisième des meilleures œuvres de Fromm est The Heart of Man. Ici, l'auteur analyse et réfléchit sur des aspects tels que la capacité de l'être humain quand il s'agit de rechercher le plaisir ou de causer de la douleur , sur la violence et la frustration, l’amour de la vie ou de la mort (en référence aux impulsions freudiennes), la liberté ou des aspects tels que le complexe d’Œdipe et le narcissisme.

  • Article connexe: "Trouble de la personnalité narcissique: comment sont les narcissiques?"
  • Si vous êtes intéressé par le livre, cliquez ici.

4. Au-delà des chaînes de l'illusion

Ce livre a été défini par Fromm lui-même comme une autobiographie intellectuelle à l'égard de sa pensée , relatant certaines expériences vitales (telles que le suicide d’une jeune femme et l’expérience de la Première Guerre mondiale) qui l’ont marqué et l’ont incité à chercher une explication sur l’irrationalité, en trouvant des réponses dans l’œuvre de Karl Marx.

En outre, dans ce livre, Fromm confronte les idées de Freud et de Marx, à l'origine de sa pensée, de concepts de travail tels que la responsabilité individuelle et sociale.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "70 phrases d'Erich Fromm pour comprendre ses pensées"

5. La pathologie de la normalité

Dans ce livre, l’auteur travaille sur un aspect fondamental de sa théorie, le fait que la normale peut devenir pathologique et la pathologique peut être normale . Pour l'auteur, la pathologie se développe généralement en raison de la tentative d'adaptation à la demande d'une société de plus en plus exigeante, en détériorant l'état mental des personnes car elle nous empêche de plus en plus de nous lier à la réalité.

  • Voulez-vous en savoir plus sur le livre? Cliquez ici.

6. Et vous serez comme des dieux

La société actuelle a laissé de côté le concept de Dieu, laissant un certain vide qui crée une confusion entre ce que nous sommes et ce que nous avons. Le consumérisme de notre époque est généré par l’absence de sens vital et de sentiment d’isolement et de vide intérieur. L’auteur propose d’essayer de chercher des changements dans la structure sociale pouvant guider l'être humain à se sentir libéré et plein .

  • Pour en savoir plus sur le livre, utilisez ce lien.

7. L'art d'écouter

Dans les textes de cet ouvrage, Erich Fromm parle de sa façon de comprendre la thérapie en tant que processus permettant de comprendre la personne et son inconscient. Propose que le thérapeute écoutez votre patient avec affection et sympathie , s’éloignant des relations thérapeutiques froides basées sur la théorie.

  • Vous pouvez trouver plus d'informations ici.

8. Esprit et société

Dans ce livre posthume, plusieurs articles de Fromm sont inclus dans lesquels il est évident que ce que l'auteur considère comme un point de départ de sa théorie, le fait que l'exigence sociale provoque des états d'incohérence chez les personnes . Ce serait l'un des facteurs qui sépareraient Fromm de l'école psychanalytique.

Nous abordons également des aspects tels que la compréhension de l'inconscient social, la relation thérapeutique, la bureaucratie ou les paradoxes auxquels la société nous impose de faire face.

  • Sur cette page, vous pouvez en savoir plus sur le livre.

9. De devoir être

Fromm propose dans ce livre que la société d'aujourd'hui est plongée dans une situation de confusion entre être et avoir, de sorte que celui qui a le plus est celui qui est le meilleur. Par conséquent, les gens doivent analyser leur propre vie et leur propre façon de penser, proposant que nous vivions avec l'amour et la raison comme piliers principaux. La douleur et la souffrance sont nécessaires pour devenir sage , nous devons donc oublier la méthode d’évasion pour revenir à l’être.

  • Pour en savoir plus, accédez à cette page.

10. À propos de la désobéissance

Obéissance à la nature et désobéissance politique sont le sujet sur lequel repose ce travail, qui résume les réflexions de l'auteur sur le sujet. L’auteur indique que l’être humain doit avoir répondu aux besoins d’identité, de relation, de transcendance et d’appartenance, en critiquant les obstacles que la société pose à la société pour pouvoir les satisfaire. Tomber dans l'obéissance aveugle et le totalitarisme peut nuire à l'intégrité de la personne et ignorer la valeur des personnes et de la vie.

  • Vous trouverez plus d'informations sur le travail via ce lien.

11. La langue oubliée

Ce livre traite d'un des aspects fortement analysés par la psychanalyse: le rêve. Dans ce livre, Fromm entend participer à l’analyse des les éléments symboliques du rêve , nous aidant à comprendre ce qu’ils veulent dire et comment ils peuvent nous aider à comprendre l’inconscient selon le paradigme de la psycodynamique.

  • Si vous voulez obtenir ce livre, vous pouvez commencer le processus ici.

12. Ethique et psychanalyse

Dans ce travail, Fromm soulève le besoin de appliquer une éthique dans le monde de la psychologie , considérant que la psychanalyse a commis une grave erreur en essayant de séparer le psychologique du moral chez les patients, en ignorant qu'elle fait également partie de la personne et de leurs expériences (il faut prendre soin d'aider le patient à acquérir une éthique et un caractère positifs) . Cette éthique ne doit pas être autoritaire, comme le surmoi et la censure, mais doit être humaniste et objectiviste, fondée sur l'amour de soi, l'acceptation de soi et le déploiement du potentiel.

  • Pour en savoir plus sur le livre, cliquez ici.

Articles Connexes