yes, therapy helps!
The best universities bet on Mindfulness against stress

The best universities bet on Mindfulness against stress

January 22, 2022

Stress can be a problem of great dimensions and devastating effects for university students, who are subjected to much pressure for various reasons. Fortunately, in the last decades A powerful tool has emerged to combat it: Mindfulness .

In this article we will see the example of the best universities in the world when using Programs based on Mindfulness to reduce stress in students .

  • Related article: "5 Mindfulness exercises to improve your emotional well-being"

What are the "academic stressors" that college students face?

The "academic" stressors can be classified into two groups, which are the following.


Internal stressors

Self-imposed pressure , that is, the height at which each student places the "ribbon" of efficiency as well as their expectations of achievement.

External stressors

Situations in the environment that generate tension and demand as for example, exams, oral presentations, group practices , the difficulties in assimilating the contents of the syllabus, the time management, the lack of socialization with other classmates, making work compatible with the studies in order to pay for them ...

What are the warning signs of stress?

Some of the symptoms are reflected in the body, they have physical effects:


  • Drowsiness , for lack of hours of sleep.
  • Insomnia or difficulties falling asleep.
  • Fatigue, fatigue .
  • Headaches.
  • Stomach pains and / or irritable bowel
  • Bruxism (tension in the jaws).
  • Back pains.
  • Muscle contractions
  • Tachycardia or palpitations.
  • Increase or decrease of appetite .
  • Frequent colds, by a lowering of the defenses.

Other symptoms affect mood and cognitive and emotional aspects:


  • Constant restlessness
  • Sadness, discouragement
  • Low motivation
  • Lack of concentration or difficulties to concentrate.
  • Difficulty thinking (staying blank or blocked).
  • Hyperactivity
  • Memory problems, forgetfulness or frequent confusions.
  • Irritability .
  • Fear of not meeting the objectives or expectations.
  • Anxiety and / or frequent crying.

Also, there is a third type of symptoms that affect behavior:


  • Irascibility, tendency to argue with others.
  • Isolation, need to be alone .
  • Use of drugs to be awake or to sleep.
  • Increase in the consumption of coffee and / or tobacco .
  • Skip class.
  • Prioritize other activities on the study.
  • Stop doing regular leisure activities or sports, by lack of appetite, lack of energy or demotivation.

How does Mindfulness help to better manage student stress?

In recent years Mindfulness (translated from English as "mindfulness" or "mindfulness") has become a tool proven effective by numerous scientific studies to reduce stress levels and increase resilience, greatly helping to improve the welfare of the students.


Mindfulness is pay attention deliberately to what happens, as is happening , as an impartial observer, without adding value judgments that alter our perception of reality, without shying away from feelings, emotions or thoughts that may arise, even if they are unpleasant, all added to a kind attitude towards ourselves and towards others. This special way of facing life has innumerable advantages, which could be summarized in four areas:

  • Performance in studies : more capacity for attention, concentration and memory.
  • Psychological well-being : stress reduction and more resilience.
  • physical well-being : greater awareness of the body and less suffering due to pain.
  • Better interpersonal relationships , enhancing empathy and compassionate attitude.

Precisely, by increasing the levels of attention to mind and body - skill that is trained with the practice of Mindfulness - students can become aware of their general state, preventing or regulating their stress with measures of self-care, preventing their performance academic and their physical and psychological well-being are seriously affected.


The practice of Mindfulness is not difficult or complex : consists of a series of attention, concentration, relaxation and meditation exercises, being enough to dedicate a few minutes a day to create the habit, so that its effects are more powerful and stable over time.

It is very important that the Mindfulness training is done with a properly accredited instructor, with extensive experience and personally committed to the practice. Keep in mind that Mindfulness It requires a practical and experiential learning , based on the experience of each one with the accompaniment of a qualified Instructor.

  • You may be interested: "Nerves and stress: what is anxiety for?"

The best universities in the world bet on Mindfulness

In recent years, the most prestigious universities in the world have implemented Mindfulness programs to improve student performance, reduce their anxiety and increase their resilience.

The best universities in the world (Harvard, Yale, New York, Stanford, Berkeley, Columbia in the United States, Cambridge, Oxford, London School of Economics in the United Kingdom and Melbourne in Australia, among others) They have incorporated a variety of Mindfulness programs and workshops into their student wellness programs throughout the year. To give concrete examples, let's see what some of them propose:

Harvard University

Harvard University offers meditation sessions every day of the week in specially equipped rooms, a 4-week program of its own. Mindfulness-based stress reduction program (MBSR) in 8 weeks , in two annual editions, in addition to other audiovisual resources and a specialized blog. The Harvard Law School Mindfulness Society student organization provides resources and organizes meditation groups.

Stanford University

The University of Stanford, program a specific course for the students of first year of 6 weeks, in two editions during the course. Second and third year students also have Mindfulness workshops that give them credits in their curricular trajectory. Besides, there are also weekly meditation sessions.

University of Cambridge

The University of Cambridge also has a very varied and daily offer for the practice of Mindfulness, offering courses of stress reduction in 8 weeks (MBSR) and a series of quarterly workshops Focused, respectively, to enhance attention and concentration, to manage test anxiety, to relax and rest and to make conscious decisions to better manage time and meet deadlines.

Oxford University

The University of Oxford offered its first full-attention course in 2011-12 and since then, hundreds of students have participated in the MBSR programs, with very positive results .

Benefits shown in evidences

The evaluation of all Mindfulness programs facilitated in these university environments clearly indicates that it increases the capacity for recovery, self-awareness and attention and concentration of students, helping them to improve their learning experience and to manage their work more effectively.

A study by the University of Cambridge that involved more than 600 students concluded that the introduction of eight-week Mindfulness courses in UK universities could help prevent mental illness and increase student welfare at a time of growing concern for mental health in the higher education sector. Mental health university services have experienced a large increase in their demand. The number of students who accessed this service increased by 50% between 2010 and 2015.

According to the study published in The Lancet Public Health magazine in December 2017, the prevalence of mental illness among first-year students is lower than among the general population. These levels increase when young people are in the second year of university.

In view of all this, we should consider the introduction of welfare plans for students so that their academic training is accompanied by solid personal preparation through personal development resources such as Mindfulness.

Author: Ferran Garcia de Palau Garcia-Faria


Responsible for the Mindfulness and Personal Growth Area of ​​PSICOTOOLS. Accredited Instructor of the MBSR program of Stress Reduction based on Mindfulness of the University of Massaschussetts. Certified instructor (Certified Trainer) of mindfulness for children and adolescents of the Eline Snel method (Academy for Mindful Teaching - AMT). Member of the Mindfulness Professional Instructors Association - MBSR. Member of the Spanish Association of Mindfulness and Compassion (AEMIND). Member of the Wellness Committee of the Advocacy Mental Health Institute.

Bibliographic references:

  • Polo A, Hernández J M, Poza C. Evaluation of academic stress in university students. Anxiety and Stress Magazine. nineteen ninety six; 2 (2-3): 159-172.
  • Reig A, Cabrero J, Ferrer R I, Richard, M. Quality of life and health status of university students. Alicante Virtual Library Miguel de Cervantes; 2001. Available at: //www.cervantesvirtual.com
  • Galante J, Dufour G, Vainre M, Wagner A, Stochl, J, Benton, A, et al. A mindfulness-based intervention to increase resilience to stress in university students (the Mindful Student Study): a pragmatic randomized controlled trial. The Lancet Public Health, articles | VOLUME 3, ISSUE 2, PE72-E81, 01 February, 2018.

Meditation as Medicine: Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les meilleures universités parient sur Mindfulness contre le stress

Les meilleures universités parient sur Mindfulness contre le stress

Novembre 6, 2022

Le stress peut être un problème de grande dimension et avoir des effets dévastateurs pour les étudiants universitaires, qui subissent beaucoup de pression pour diverses raisons. Heureusement, au cours des dernières décennies Un outil puissant est apparu pour le combattre: la pleine conscience .

Dans cet article, nous verrons l'exemple des meilleures universités du monde en utilisant Programmes basés sur la pleine conscience pour réduire le stress chez les étudiants .

  • Article connexe: "5 exercices de pleine conscience pour améliorer votre bien-être émotionnel"

Quels sont les "facteurs de stress académiques" auxquels sont confrontés les étudiants?

Les facteurs de stress "académiques" peuvent être classés en deux groupes, qui sont les suivants.


Facteurs de stress internes

Pression auto-imposée , c’est-à-dire la hauteur à laquelle chaque élève place le «ruban» de l’efficacité ainsi que ses attentes en matière de réalisation.

Facteurs de stress externes

Des situations dans l’environnement qui génèrent des tensions et une demande par exemple, examens, présentations orales, pratiques de groupe , les difficultés à assimiler le contenu du programme, la gestion du temps, le manque de socialisation avec les autres camarades de classe, rendant le travail compatible avec les études pour pouvoir les payer ...

Quels sont les signes avant-coureurs du stress?

Certains des symptômes se reflètent dans le corps, ils ont des effets physiques:


  • Somnolence , par manque d'heures de sommeil.
  • Insomnie ou difficultés à s'endormir.
  • Fatigue, fatigue .
  • Maux de tête.
  • Douleurs abdominales et / ou intestin irritable
  • Bruxisme (tension dans les mâchoires).
  • Maux de dos
  • Contractions musculaires
  • Tachycardie ou palpitations.
  • Augmentation ou diminution de l'appétit .
  • Rhumes fréquents, par un abaissement des défenses.

D'autres symptômes affectent l'humeur et les aspects cognitifs et émotionnels:


  • Agitation constante
  • Tristesse, découragement
  • Faible motivation
  • Manque de concentration ou des difficultés à se concentrer.
  • Difficulté à penser (rester vide ou bloqué).
  • Hyperactivité
  • Problèmes de mémoire, oublis ou confusions fréquentes.
  • L'irritabilité .
  • Peur de ne pas répondre aux objectifs ou aux attentes.
  • Anxiété et / ou pleurs fréquents.

En outre, il existe un troisième type de symptômes qui affectent le comportement:


  • Irascibilité, tendance à se disputer avec les autres.
  • Isolement, besoin d'être seul .
  • Utilisation de drogues pour être réveillé ou dormir.
  • Augmentation de la consommation de café et / ou de tabac .
  • Classe manquante
  • Donner la priorité aux autres activités de l’étude.
  • Arrêtez de pratiquer des activités de loisir ou des activités sportives régulières, par manque d’appétit, par manque d’énergie ou par démotivation.

Comment Mindfulness aide-t-il à mieux gérer le stress des étudiants?

Au cours des dernières années, Mindfulness (traduit de l'anglais par "mindfulness" ou "mindfulness") est devenue un outil prouvé efficace par de nombreuses études scientifiques pour réduire les niveaux de stress et augmenter la résilience, contribuant ainsi grandement à l'amélioration. le bien-être des étudiants.


La pleine conscience est faites attention à ce qui se passe, comme cela se passe , en tant qu'observateur impartial, sans ajouter de jugements de valeur qui altèrent notre perception de la réalité, sans craindre les sentiments, les émotions ou les pensées susceptibles de naître, même s'ils sont désagréables, tout cela s'ajoute à une attitude bienveillante envers soi-même et les autres. Cette façon particulière de faire face à la vie présente d’innombrables avantages qui peuvent être résumés en quatre domaines:

  • Performance dans les études : plus de capacité d'attention, de concentration et de mémoire.
  • Bien-être psychologique : réduction du stress et plus de résilience.
  • Bien-être physique : une plus grande conscience du corps et moins de souffrance à cause de la douleur.
  • Meilleures relations interpersonnelles , augmentant l'empathie et l'attitude compatissante.

Justement, en augmentant l’attention portée à l’esprit et au corps - compétences acquises avec la pratique de la pleine conscience - les étudiants peuvent prendre conscience de leur état général, prévenir ou réguler leur stress avec des mesures d’auto-prise en charge, empêchant ainsi leur performance. académiques et leur bien-être physique et psychologique est sérieusement affecté.


La pratique de la pleine conscience n'est ni difficile ni complexe : consiste en une série d'exercices d'attention, de concentration, de relaxation et de méditation, suffisants pour consacrer quelques minutes par jour à créer l'habitude, de sorte que ses effets soient plus puissants et plus stables dans le temps.

Il est très important que la formation à la pleine conscience se déroule avec un instructeur dûment accrédité, possédant une vaste expérience et engagé personnellement dans la pratique. Gardez à l'esprit que la pleine conscience Cela nécessite un apprentissage pratique et expérientiel , basé sur l'expérience de chacun avec l'accompagnement d'un instructeur qualifié.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Nerfs et stress: à quoi sert l'anxiété?"

Les meilleures universités du monde misent sur la pleine conscience

Ces dernières années, les universités les plus prestigieuses du monde ont mis en place des programmes Mindfulness afin d’améliorer les performances des étudiants, de réduire leur anxiété et d’accroître leur résilience.

Les meilleures universités du monde (Harvard, Yale, New York, Stanford, Berkeley, Columbia aux États-Unis, Cambridge, Oxford, London School of Economics au Royaume-Uni et Melbourne en Australie, entre autres) Ils ont intégré divers programmes et ateliers de pleine conscience à leurs programmes de bien-être des étudiants. le long de l'année. Pour donner des exemples concrets, voyons ce que certains d'entre eux proposent:

Université de Harvard

L’Université de Harvard propose des séances de méditation tous les jours de la semaine dans des salles spécialement équipées, un programme distinct de 4 semaines. Programme de réduction du stress basé sur la pleine conscience (MBSR) en 8 semaines , en deux éditions annuelles, en plus d’autres ressources audiovisuelles et d’un blog spécialisé. L’organisation étudiante de la Harvard Law School Mindfulness Society fournit des ressources et organise des groupes de méditation.

Université de Stanford

L'Université de Stanford, programme un cours spécifique pour les étudiants de première année de 6 semaines, en deux éditions au cours du cours. Les étudiants de deuxième et troisième année ont également des ateliers de pleine conscience qui leur donnent des crédits dans leur trajectoire curriculaire. En outre, il y a aussi des séances de méditation hebdomadaires.

Université de Cambridge

L’Université de Cambridge a également une offre très variée et quotidienne pour la pratique de la pleine conscience, proposant des cours de réduction du stress en 8 semaines (MBSR) et une série d'ateliers trimestriels Concentrés, respectivement, sur l’amélioration de l’attention et de la concentration, sur la gestion de l’anxiété liée aux tests, sur la détente et le repos, ainsi que sur la prise de décision réfléchie afin de mieux gérer son temps et de respecter les délais.

Université d'Oxford

L’Université d’Oxford a offert son premier cours complet en 2011-12 et depuis lors, des centaines d'étudiants ont participé aux programmes MBSR, avec des résultats très positifs .

Avantages indiqués dans les preuves

L'évaluation de tous les programmes Mindfulness facilités dans ces environnements universitaires indique clairement qu'elle augmente la capacité de récupération, la conscience de soi, l'attention et la concentration des étudiants, en les aidant à améliorer leur expérience d'apprentissage et à gérer leur travail plus efficacement.

Une étude de l'Université de Cambridge impliquant plus de 600 étudiants a conclu que l'introduction de cours de pleine conscience de huit semaines dans des universités britanniques pourrait aider à prévenir la maladie mentale et à augmenter le bien-être des étudiants à une époque de préoccupation croissante pour la santé mentale dans le secteur de l'enseignement supérieur. Les services universitaires de santé mentale ont connu une forte augmentation de leur demande. Le nombre d'étudiants ayant eu accès à ce service a augmenté de 50% entre 2010 et 2015.

Selon l'étude publiée dans le magazine The Lancet Public Health en décembre 2017, la prévalence de la maladie mentale chez les étudiants de première année est inférieure à celle de la population en général. Ces niveaux augmentent lorsque les jeunes sont en deuxième année d'université.

Au vu de tout cela, nous devrions envisager la mise en place de régimes d’aide sociale pour les étudiants afin que leur formation académique s’accompagne d’une solide préparation personnelle au moyen de ressources de développement personnel telles que Mindfulness.

Auteur: Ferran Garcia de Palau Garcia-Faria


Responsable de la zone de pleine conscience et de croissance personnelle de PSICOTOOLS. Instructeur accrédité du programme MBSR de réduction du stress basé sur la pleine conscience de l'Université de Massaschussetts. Instructeur certifié (formateur certifié) de la pleine conscience pour les enfants et les adolescents de la méthode Eline Snel (Academy for Mindful Teaching - AMT). Membre de la Mindfulness Professional Instructors Association - MBSR. Membre de l'Association espagnole de pleine conscience et de compassion (AEMIND). Membre du comité du mieux-être de l'institut de plaidoyer en santé mentale.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Polo A, JM Hernández, Poza C. Évaluation du stress scolaire chez les étudiants universitaires. Magazine Anxiété et stress. 1996; 2 (2-3): 159-172.
  • Reig A, Cabrero J, Ferrer R I, Richard, M. Qualité de vie et état de santé des étudiants universitaires. Alicante Bibliothèque virtuelle Miguel de Cervantes; 2001. Disponible à l'adresse: http://www.cervantesvirtual.com.
  • Galante J, Dufour G, Vainre M, Wagner A, Stochl, J, Benton, A, et al. Une intervention basée sur la conscience pour augmenter la résilience au stress chez les étudiants universitaires (The Mindful Student Study): un essai contrôlé randomisé pragmatique. The Lancet Public Health, articles | VOLUME 3, NUMÉRO 2, PE72-E81, 01 février 2018.

Atelier 5 : Apprivoiser les douleurs physiques (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes