yes, therapy helps!
The Bioenergetic Therapy by Alexander Lowen

The Bioenergetic Therapy by Alexander Lowen

June 20, 2022

The bioenergetic therapy of Alexander Lowen It is one of the most influential corporal psychotherapies, perhaps surpassed only by the characteroanalytic vegetoterapia of Wilhelm Reich, who was Lowen's teacher.

In this article we will describe what this therapy consists of, as well as what types of character exist according to Lowen.

  • Related article: "The corporal psychotherapies of Reich, Lowen and Gendlin"

Biography of Alexander Lowen

Alexander Lowen (1910-2008) was born and raised in New York. His parents had emigrated to the United States from Russia. During her childhood and adolescence, which she described as lonely and stressful, He spent his leisure time practicing sports and other physical activities . Later he also discovered Jacobson's yoga and muscular relaxation.


Lowen obtained three doctorates throughout his life: one in Science and Business, another in Law (both at the City College of New York) and, later, one in Medicine at the University of Geneva, in Switzerland.

Between 1940 and 1952 he was a disciple of Wilhelm Reich, creator of characteroanalytic vegetoterapia , the first corporal psychotherapy. Lowen practiced Reich's methods until Reich began working on his orgone theory, which many experts in psychotherapy considered a real fraud.

It was then that he developed his own clinical contribution: bioenergetic analysis or bioenergetic therapy . In 1956 he founded the Bioenergetic Analysis Institute together with John Pierrakos and William Walling, also former students of Reich. He continued his activity as a psychotherapist until he suffered a heart attack in 2006, two years before his death.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Focusing: the body psychotherapy of Eugene Gendlin"

Bioenergetic therapy

Lowen opined that psychopathology stems from conflicts between the innate predispositions of the human being and his need to adapt to society. More specifically, he conceptualized neurosis as a consequence of the accumulation of sexual energy, in a similar way to the approaches defended by Reich, his mentor.

According to Lowen, people we tend to downplay our bodily and affective experience ; on the contrary, we overvalued the cognition and rationalized excessively. However, the psychological and physical dimensions of the human experience are closely interrelated, so that one can cause alterations in the other.

In this context, bioenergetics can be defined as the study of personality from the analysis of the energetic processes of the human organism. In particular, Lowen proposed that energy is naturally anchored in two poles - the head and the genitals - and flows freely between them; alterations in this flow cause disorders.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 10 most effective types of psychological therapy"

The therapeutic process

From the original hypothesis of Reich and his own Lowendesarrollo a therapeutic procedure that he called bioenergetic analysis , although it is known to a greater extent with the name of "bioenergetic therapy".

The objective of bioenergetic therapy is to help the client to obtain pleasure in a satisfactory way with all the basic functions of his organism: the motor, the breathing, the sexuality, the emotions, the feelings and the self-expression. For this it is necessary to release the accumulated tension, both physically and psychologically.

The process of bioenergetic therapy consists of three phases clearly differentiated:

  1. Become aware of body tension and psychological problems.
  2. Emotional discharge: expression of frustrated feelings and muscular distension; the defense mechanisms are no longer necessary.
  3. Liberation of the energy associated with conflicts; access to a full body and psychological experience.

Character types

Lowen described five types of character structure depending on the parts of the body where the flow of energy is hindered . The body regions that this author considered especially relevant are the eyes, mouth, neck, shoulders, chest, diaphragm and waist.

1. Schizoid

People with a schizoid character tend to dissociate their thoughts and emotions, as well as lose contact with reality and to be rejected by the others. Because they grew up in hostile environments, these people are constantly afraid.

According to Lowen, in these cases the flow of energy is blocked in the neck, shoulders and waist. The weight tends to load on the outside of the feet, and the constitution is usually thin.

  • Perhaps you are interested: "Schizotypal Personality Disorder: Symptoms, Causes and Treatment"

2. Oral

The oral personality is characterized by infantile attitudes derived from the lack of satisfaction of the needs of affection during early development. This people they are usually narcissistic and dependent on others or excessively independent.

Energy blockage occurs mainly in the shoulders and waist, so limbs tend to be weak and less developed than normal. In addition, breathing is superficial.

3. Psychopathic

In the case of psychopathic character blockages would occur in the diaphragm and waist , which causes that the energy does not flow properly towards the genital pole. These people block their feelings, including sexual ones, and tend to dominate, seduce and deceive others, while fearing that others will take advantage of them in similar ways.

4. Masochist

The masochists tend to show a negative attitude, submissive, insecure and little assertive , and to suppress their intense feelings of hostility and aggressiveness. This character structure is derived from an excessive pressure on the part of adults during the early age that blocks the individuality and pleasure of the person.

On a physical level, the masochistic character manifests itself in energetic blocks in the neck, specifically in the throat and waist. This increases the likelihood of feelings of anxiety appearing. The body is usually stout and short in stature, according to bioenergetic theorists.

  • Related article: "Differences between Love, Sadism, Masochism and Sadomasochism"

5. Rigid

This type of personality is characterized by features such as aggressiveness, stubbornness, ambition, pride and compulsive sexuality. Rigid people repress what they consider to be signs of weakness, such as crying, and they fear emotional closeness with other people . Of the five types this is the least pathological because of the good contact with reality.

In this case the tension accumulates to some extent in all parts of the body; If the degree of tensional concentration is relatively low, it can manifest itself in a vital and energetic attitude.


The benefits of Bioenergetic Psychotherapy (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La thérapie bioénergétique par Alexander Lowen

La thérapie bioénergétique par Alexander Lowen

Octobre 19, 2020

La thérapie bioénergétique d'Alexander Lowen C'est l'une des psychothérapies corporelles les plus influentes, surpassée peut-être uniquement par la vegetoterapia caractéristique de Wilhelm Reich, qui était l'instructeur de Lowen.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire en quoi consiste cette thérapie, ainsi que les types de caractères existants selon Lowen.

  • Article connexe: "Les psychothérapies corporelles de Reich, Lowen et Gendlin"

Biographie d'Alexander Lowen

Alexander Lowen (1910-2008) est né et a grandi à New York. Ses parents avaient émigré aux États-Unis depuis la Russie. Pendant son enfance et son adolescence, qu'elle a décrite comme solitaire et stressante, Il a passé son temps libre à pratiquer des sports et d'autres activités physiques. . Plus tard, il découvrit également le yoga et la relaxation musculaire de Jacobson.


Lowen a obtenu trois doctorats tout au long de sa vie: un en sciences et commerce, un en droit (tous deux au City College de New York) et, plus tard, en médecine à l'Université de Genève, en Suisse.

Entre 1940 et 1952 il était un disciple de Wilhelm Reich, créateur de vegetoterapia characteroanalytic , la première psychothérapie corporelle. Lowen a pratiqué les méthodes de Reich jusqu'à ce que Reich commence à travailler sur sa théorie de l'orgone, que de nombreux experts en psychothérapie considèrent comme une véritable fraude.

C'est alors qu'il a développé sa propre contribution clinique: analyse bioénergétique ou thérapie bioénergétique . En 1956, il fonda l'Institut d'analyse bioénergétique avec John Pierrakos et William Walling, également anciens étudiants du Reich. Il a poursuivi ses activités de psychothérapeute jusqu’à ce qu’il subisse une crise cardiaque en 2006, deux ans avant son décès.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Focusing: la psychothérapie corporelle d'Eugene Gendlin"

Thérapie bioénergétique

Lowen était d'avis que la psychopathologie découlait de conflits entre les prédispositions innées de l'être humain et son besoin de s'adapter à la société. Plus précisément, il a conceptualisé la névrose en tant que conséquence de l'accumulation d'énergie sexuelle, à la manière des approches défendues par son mentor, Reich.

Selon Lowen, les gens nous avons tendance à minimiser notre expérience corporelle et affective ; au contraire, nous avons surévalué la connaissance et rationalisé de manière excessive. Cependant, les dimensions psychologiques et physiques de l'expérience humaine sont étroitement liées, de sorte que l'une peut causer des modifications dans l'autre.

Dans ce contexte, la bioénergétique peut être définie comme l’étude de la personnalité à partir de l’analyse des processus énergétiques de l’organisme humain. En particulier, Lowen a proposé que l’énergie soit naturellement ancrée dans deux pôles - la tête et les organes génitaux - et qu’elle circule librement entre eux; les altérations de ce flux provoquent des troubles.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 10 types de thérapie psychologique les plus efficaces"

Le processus thérapeutique

De l'hypothèse originale de Reich et de son propre Lowendesarrollo une procédure thérapeutique qu'il a appelée analyse bioénergétique , bien qu’elle soit plus connue sous le nom de "thérapie bioénergétique".

L'objectif de la thérapie bioénergétique est d'aider le client à obtenir du plaisir de manière satisfaisante avec toutes les fonctions de base de son organisme: le moteur, la respiration, la sexualité, les émotions, les sentiments et l'expression de soi. Pour cela, il est nécessaire de relâcher physiquement et psychologiquement la tension accumulée.

Le processus de thérapie bioénergétique se compose de trois phases clairement différencié:

  1. Prendre conscience de la tension corporelle et des problèmes psychologiques.
  2. Décharge émotionnelle: expression de sentiments de frustration et de distension musculaire; les mécanismes de défense ne sont plus nécessaires.
  3. Libération de l'énergie associée aux conflits; accès à une expérience corporelle complète et psychologique.

Types de caractère

Lowen a décrit cinq types de structure de caractères en fonction des parties du corps où le flux d'énergie est entravé . Les régions du corps que cet auteur a considérées particulièrement pertinentes sont les yeux, la bouche, le cou, les épaules, la poitrine, le diaphragme et la taille.

1. Schizoïde

Les personnes à caractère schizoïde ont tendance à dissocier leurs pensées et leurs émotions, ainsi que perdre le contact avec la réalité et d'être rejeté par les autres. Parce qu'ils ont grandi dans des environnements hostiles, ces personnes ont constamment peur.

Selon Lowen, dans ces cas, le flux d'énergie est bloqué dans le cou, les épaules et la taille. Le poids a tendance à se charger à l'extérieur des pieds et la constitution est généralement mince.

  • Vous êtes peut-être intéressé par: "Trouble de la personnalité schizotypique: symptômes, causes et traitement"

2. orale

La personnalité orale se caractérise par des attitudes infantiles dérivées du manque de satisfaction des besoins d'affection au début du développement. Ces personnes ils sont souvent narcissiques et dépendants des autres ou excessivement indépendant.

Les blocages énergétiques se produisent principalement au niveau des épaules et de la taille; les membres ont donc tendance à être faibles et moins développés que la normale. De plus, la respiration est superficielle.

3. psychopathique

En cas de caractère psychopathique des blocages se produiraient dans le diaphragme et la taille , ce qui fait que l'énergie ne coule pas correctement vers le pôle génital. Ces personnes bloquent leurs sentiments, y compris sexuels, et ont tendance à dominer, séduire et tromper les autres, tout en craignant que d'autres en profitent de la même manière.

4. masochiste

Les masochistes ont tendance à montrer une attitude négative, soumise, peu sûre de soi et peu affirmée et de supprimer leurs sentiments intenses d’hostilité et d’agressivité. Cette structure de caractère découle d'une pression excessive exercée par les adultes au début de leur âge, qui bloque l'individualité et le plaisir de la personne.

Sur le plan physique, le caractère masochiste se manifeste par des blocages énergétiques dans le cou, en particulier dans la gorge et la taille. Cela augmente la probabilité d'apparition de sentiments d'anxiété. Le corps est généralement gros et de petite taille, selon les théoriciens de la bioénergie.

  • Article connexe: "Différences entre l'amour, le sadisme, le masochisme et le sadomasochisme"

5. rigide

Ce type de personnalité se caractérise par des caractéristiques telles que l'agressivité, l'entêtement, l'ambition, la fierté et la sexualité compulsive. Les personnes rigides répriment ce qu’ils considèrent être des signes de faiblesse, comme des pleurs, et ils craignent la proximité émotionnelle avec d'autres personnes . Parmi les cinq types, c'est le moins pathologique en raison du bon contact avec la réalité.

Dans ce cas, la tension s’accumule dans une certaine mesure dans toutes les parties du corps; Si le degré de concentration en tension est relativement faible, il peut se manifester par une attitude vitale et énergique.


Présentation de l'Analyse Bioénergétique (Octobre 2020).


Articles Connexes