yes, therapy helps!
The biological behaviorism of William D. Timberlake

The biological behaviorism of William D. Timberlake

July 19, 2024

Behaviorism is one of the main theoretical currents that have explored and tried to explain human behavior. From a perspective that pretends to work only from empirical data that can be compared and objective, this approach was at the time a great revolution and has meant a remarkable advance in the face of developing new perspectives and improving existing ones.

Over time, different subtypes of behaviorism have emerged, focusing on different elements or making various relevant theoretical contributions. One of the existing subtypes of behaviorism is the biological behaviorism of William David Timberlake .

  • Related article: "The 10 types of behaviorism: history, theories and differences"

Bases of biological behaviorism

Behaviorism, as a science that studies human behavior based on empirically evident objective elements, has analyzed human behavior based on the capacity of association between stimuli and responses and between the emission of behaviors and the consequences of these will cause the behavior to be reinforced or inhibited .


However, despite the fact that it has diverse applications of great utility, behavioral techniques and practices have traditionally been carried out in non-natural contexts, located in a controlled environment that does not take into account other multiple facets that may affect .

In addition, the subject is usually considered to be a merely reactive entity, which receives the properties of the stimuli and reacts accordingly producing an apprenticeship . It is not usually taken into account that the subject presents characteristics that influence behavior, with traits and abilities rather the result of learning. Several neo-behavioral authors have varied this approach, taking into account the capacities of the subject and the inheritance of partially innate behavior patterns and abilities.


The perspective defended by Timberlake's biological behaviorism proposes that learning is a biological-based phenomenon that is produced from patterns of behavior and constitutional dispositions that are given in an innate way and that are linked to the niche or environment in which the subject it develops.

It is a version of behaviorism in which both functional and structural factors of behavior are combined. Natural selection has generated the evolution of the perceptive dispositions , the skills and behavioral patterns that allow conditioning to be generated and learn more or less easily determined ways of understanding or acting. In other words, Timberlake defends the existence of variables and brain structures that help explain behavior.

  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

The role of context

The niche or functional context is the place where the subject develops and which allows the organism to evolve. This niche has a structure and properties that allow, through learning, to generate changes in the elements already preexisting in the subject.


A) Yes, the experience and activity of the individual generate a modification of the responses to the and a change in the preference and perception of the stimulation. In other words, we learn from experience to generate alterations in the organism. The characteristics of the stimulus will be perceived differently depending on the subject is acting.

In this aspect, biological behaviorism is novel, since it assumes that the behavior is not generated by the stimuli themselves it only causes a change in pre-existing conditions. It is the subject who, actively, generates structural changes that allow reacting to reality in certain ways, but takes into account that there are elements that are relevant to the environment and learning.

Behavioral systems

Timberlake's biological behaviorism proposes the existence of behavioral systems , groups of independent functional patterns organized hierarchically and that describes the organization of the basic functions for the survival of the individual before even carrying out an apprenticeship, which will vary this structuring.

This system is configured by various behavioral subsystems, which specifies a part of the function that generally explains the type of action that is carried out.

These subsystems in turn are shaped by the ways or ways in which each action is performed or perceived reality is part of the different behavioral subsystems. In these ways modules or categories that group different actions are derived . And in each module there are concrete answers that can be caused by environmental stimulation.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Behaviorism: history, concepts and main authors"

The learning

Although the biological behaviorism of William D.Timberlake part of an ecological conception that takes into account the existence of internal aspects that allow to direct the learning , the truth is that Timberlake defends that learning is still the effect of the behavior itself. And is that different systems need learning at the behavioral level to be developed and modified effectively

Each organism comes with a set or set of skills that allow you to learn certain behaviors before certain stimuli. For example, if we did not have pain perception we would not take our hands away from the fire. But having such a perception of pain will not make us close our hands to the fire either. We will not learn to do it if we do not realize through experience or learning the set of associations between stimulus and response.

Biological behaviorism is a subtype of behaviorism that part of the radical behaviorism of B. F. Skinner and that studies behavior through operant conditioning, but takes into account the existence of an exploratory contact of the elements of a system before the association begins. In order for the study subject to achieve real conditioning, it is necessary to tune the environment and the subject so that what is learned adjusts to the possibilities of the subject and he can learn.

  • Related article: "B. F. Skinner: life and work of a radical behaviorist"

Bibliographic references:

  • Cabrera, F .; Covarrubias, P. and Jiménez, A. (2009). Behavioral systems from an ecological approach. Studies on behavior and applications. Vol. 1. Guadalajara.
  • Timberlake, W. (2001). Motivational modes in behavior systems. In R.R. Mowrer and S.B. Klein (Eds.), Handbook of contemporary learning theories (pp. 155-209). New Jersey: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates.
  • Timberlake, W. (2004). Is the operant contingency enough for a science of purposive behavior? Behavior and Philosophy, 32, 197-229.

Dirty Teacher 2013 || Lifetime Movies 2017 || Good Based on a True Story Full Movie (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le behaviorisme biologique de William D. Timberlake

Le behaviorisme biologique de William D. Timberlake

Novembre 28, 2022

Le comportementalisme est l’un des principaux courants théoriques qui ont exploré et tenté d’expliquer le comportement humain. Dans une perspective qui prétend fonctionner uniquement à partir de données empiriques pouvant être comparées et objectives, cette approche a été à l’époque une grande révolution et a représenté un progrès remarquable face au développement de nouvelles perspectives et à l’amélioration des perspectives existantes.

Au fil du temps, différents sous-types de comportement ont émergé, se concentrant sur différents éléments ou apportant diverses contributions théoriques pertinentes. L’un des sous-types de behaviorisme existant est le behaviorisme biologique de William David Timberlake .

  • Article connexe: "Les 10 types de behaviorisme: histoire, théories et différences"

Bases du comportement biologique

Le Behaviorism, en tant que science qui étudie le comportement humain sur la base d'éléments objectifs empiriquement évidents, a analysé le comportement humain en fonction de la capacité d'association entre stimuli et réponses et entre l'émission de comportements et les conséquences de ceux-ci. fera en sorte que le comportement soit renforcé ou inhibé .


Cependant, malgré le fait qu’elle a diverses applications d’une grande utilité, les techniques et pratiques comportementales sont traditionnellement appliquées dans des contextes non naturels, situées dans un environnement contrôlé qui ne prend pas en compte d’autres facettes .

En outre, le sujet est généralement considéré comme une entité simplement réactive, ce qui reçoit les propriétés des stimuli et réagit en conséquence en produisant un apprentissage . Il n'est généralement pas tenu compte du fait que le sujet présente des caractéristiques qui influencent le comportement, avec des traits et des capacités plutôt que le résultat d'un apprentissage. Plusieurs auteurs néo-comportementaux ont varié cette approche, en prenant en compte les capacités du sujet et l'héritage de comportements et d'habiletés partiellement innés.


La perspective défendue par le behaviorisme biologique de Timberlake propose que l'apprentissage soit un phénomène basé sur la biologie, produit à partir de schémas de comportement et de dispositions constitutionnelles donnés de manière innée et liés au créneau ou à l'environnement dans lequel le sujet ça se développe.

C'est une version du behaviorisme dans laquelle les facteurs de comportement fonctionnels et structurels sont combinés. La sélection naturelle a généré l'évolution des dispositions perceptives , les compétences et les schémas comportementaux qui permettent de générer un conditionnement et d’apprendre des moyens plus ou moins faciles de déterminer ou d’agir. En d'autres termes, Timberlake défend l'existence de variables et de structures cérébrales permettant d'expliquer le comportement.

  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Le rôle du contexte

La niche ou contexte fonctionnel est le lieu où le sujet se développe et qui permet à l'organisme d'évoluer. Cette niche a une structure et des propriétés qui permettent, par l’apprentissage, de générer des changements dans les éléments déjà préexistants dans le sujet.


Ainsi, l'expérience et l'activité de l'individu génèrent une modification des réponses à la et un changement dans la préférence et la perception de la stimulation. En d'autres termes, l'expérience nous apprend à générer des altérations dans l'organisme. Les caractéristiques du stimulus seront perçues différemment selon le sujet qui agit.

Dans cet aspect, le behaviorisme biologique est nouveau, car il suppose que le comportement n'est pas généré par les stimuli eux-mêmes cela ne fait que modifier les conditions préexistantes. C’est le sujet qui, activement, génère des changements structurels qui permettent de réagir à la réalité de certaines manières, tout en tenant compte du fait qu’il existe des éléments pertinents pour l’environnement et l’apprentissage.

Systèmes comportementaux

Le behaviorisme biologique de Timberlake propose l'existence de systèmes comportementaux , groupes de modèles fonctionnels indépendants organisés hiérarchiquement et décrivant l’organisation des fonctions de base pour la survie de l’individu avant même de réaliser un apprentissage, ce qui modifiera cette structuration.

Ce système est configuré par différents sous-systèmes comportementaux, qui spécifient une partie de la fonction qui explique généralement le type d'action effectuée.

Ces sous-systèmes sont à leur tour façonnés par la manière dont chaque action est effectuée ou par laquelle la réalité perçue fait partie des différents sous-systèmes comportementaux. De ces manières des modules ou des catégories regroupant différentes actions sont dérivés . Et chaque module contient des réponses concrètes pouvant être provoquées par la stimulation de l'environnement.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Behaviorism: histoire, concepts et auteurs principaux"

L'apprentissage

Bien que le behaviorisme biologique de William D.Timberlake fait partie de une conception écologique qui prend en compte l'existence d'aspects internes permettant de diriger l'apprentissage , la vérité est que Timberlake défend que l’apprentissage est toujours l’effet du comportement lui-même. Et est-ce que différents systèmes ont besoin d'un apprentissage au niveau comportemental pour être développés et modifiés efficacement

Chaque organisme vient avec un ensemble ou un ensemble de compétences qui vous permettent d’apprendre certains comportements avant certains stimuli. Par exemple, si nous n'avions pas la perception de la douleur, nous ne retirerions pas nos mains du feu. Mais avoir une telle perception de la douleur ne nous obligera pas non plus à fermer les mains au feu. Nous n'apprendrons pas à le faire si nous ne réalisons pas, par expérience ou par apprentissage, l'ensemble des associations entre stimulus et réponse.

Le behaviorisme biologique est un sous-type de behaviorisme qui une partie du comportementisme radical de B. F. Skinner et cela étudie le comportement à travers le conditionnement opérant, mais prend en compte l'existence d'un contact exploratoire des éléments d'un système avant le début de l'association. Pour que le sujet d'étude réalise un réel conditionnement, il est nécessaire d'ajuster l'environnement et le sujet de sorte que ce qui est appris s'adapte aux possibilités du sujet et qu'il puisse apprendre.

  • Article connexe: "B. F. Skinner: la vie et le travail d'un comportementaliste radical"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Cabrera, F .; Covarrubias, P. et Jiménez, A. (2009). Systèmes comportementaux à partir d'une approche écologique. Etudes sur le comportement et les applications. Vol 1. Guadalajara.
  • Timberlake, W. (2001). Modes de motivation dans les systèmes de comportement. Dans R.R. Mowrer et S.B. Klein (Eds.), Manuel de théories de l'apprentissage contemporain (pp. 155-209). New Jersey: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates.
  • Timberlake, W. (2004). La contingence opérante est-elle suffisante pour une science du comportement téléologique? Comportement et philosophie, 32, 197-229.

Cours de Psychologie - Le Béhaviorisme (1/3) (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes