yes, therapy helps!
The brain of bisexuals has its own characteristics

The brain of bisexuals has its own characteristics

June 12, 2024

The human brain contains many characteristics that have to do with the behavior patterns of different types of people. In a way, the way in which the neurons of our brain activate and communicate with each other reflects the propensities and tendencies that are reflected in our way of acting. And yes, this it is also true in the case of different sexual orientations .

Thus, the brains of heterosexual and homosexual people show some differences in how they work in certain contexts, for example.

But nevertheless, the brains of bisexual people (who are attracted to men and women, although not necessarily with the same frequency or intensity) do not show a mixture of the activation patterns of the other two, as one might think. According to a recent investigation whose results have been published in the journal Nature, bisexuality is associated with own neurobiological characteristics that are qualitatively different from those of homosexuals and heterosexuals.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The top 10 types of sexual orientation"

The brain in bisexuality

The study in question, led by psychologists and psychiatrists at Northwestern University and the University of Magdeburg, has shown that the brains of bisexual people have some characteristics in their functioning that, under certain conditions, It allows to distinguish them from the rest. .

This difference, however, does not have to be evident in any situation, such as sleeping or solving a mathematical problem. In the context in which it has been proven its existence is in the perception of sexually charged images. This is important, since a difference in brain activation patterns shows that this is physically different to others. In neuroscience, there is no distinction between software and hardware: the way in which the different parts of the brain "light up" shows us how the networks of neurons from which they are made are woven together.


How was the investigation conducted?

For this research, almost 80 people participated: 28 bisexuals, 26 heterosexuals and 28 homosexuals. All of these individuals were between the ages of 25 and 50 and of different ethnicities and origins, so that the sample collected different cultural variables. In addition, in the case of bisexual people, it was required to participate having had at least one lover of each sex.

On the other hand, the sexual orientation of each person was recorded from a questionnaire based on the Kinsey scale, which established a scale that ranges from exclusively homosexual to exclusively heterosexual passing through some intermediate degrees.

From that point, each of the participants saw a series of videos with adult content in which both heterosexual and homosexual sexual scenes appeared. During this phase, the researchers tracked the brain activation patterns of the participants through the use of magnetic resonance imaging.


  • Maybe you're interested: "5 myths about homosexuality disassembled by science"

The most activated parts of the brain in bisexual people

The results of the investigation showed a curious pattern of neuronal activation that depended on the sexual orientation of each participant. In particular, the ignition patterns of a part of the brain linked to the basal ganglia called grooved nucleus, specifically its lower or ventral part . This zone of the striated nucleus is related to the mental processes of motivation and the pursuit of pleasure, so it also has an important role in the experimentation of sexuality.

As expected, this area responded by showing preference for images in which the opposite sex appeared, in heterosexuals, and in people of the same sex, in the case of homosexual people. In the case of bisexuals, however, this area of ​​the brain (and secondarily, some others) behaved as if the differentiation between the category "man" and "woman" was not important ; In some way, the border between these two concepts was blurred, in the same way that the color of the eyes of others can be given little importance.

Of course, the reactions of pure bisexuality, understood as one in which there is no clear preference for men or women, were rare. Judging by the images obtained through the brain scanners, usually activation of the brain regions of bisexuals they showed a tendency to find more attractive one of the two sexes .

  • You may be interested: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

What is your sexuality? Bisexual, pansexual personality test | Guess who you are quiz (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le cerveau des bisexuels a ses propres caractéristiques

Le cerveau des bisexuels a ses propres caractéristiques

Septembre 29, 2022

Le cerveau humain contient de nombreuses caractéristiques qui ont à voir avec les modèles de comportement de différents types de personnes. D'une certaine manière, la façon dont les neurones de notre cerveau s'activent et communiquent les uns avec les autres reflète les propensions et les tendances qui se reflètent dans notre façon d'agir. Et oui, ça c'est également vrai dans le cas d'orientations sexuelles différentes .

Ainsi, les cerveaux des personnes hétérosexuelles et homosexuelles montrent certaines différences dans la façon dont ils travaillent dans certains contextes, par exemple.

Cependant, le cerveau des personnes bisexuelles (qui sont attirés par les hommes et les femmes, même s’ils ne sont pas nécessairement de la même fréquence ou de la même intensité) ne montrent pas un mélange des schémas d’activation des deux autres, comme on pourrait le penser. Selon une enquête récente dont les résultats ont été publiés dans la revue La nature, la bisexualité est associée à des caractéristiques neurobiologiques propres, qualitativement différentes de celles des homosexuels et des hétérosexuels.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 10 principaux types d'orientation sexuelle"

Le cerveau en bisexualité

L’étude en question, dirigée par des psychologues et des psychiatres de la Northwestern University et de l’Université de Magdebourg, a montré que le cerveau des personnes bisexuelles présente certaines caractéristiques de fonctionnement qui, dans certaines conditions: Cela permet de les distinguer des autres. .

Cette différence, cependant, ne doit pas nécessairement être évidente dans une situation donnée, telle que dormir ou résoudre un problème mathématique. Dans le contexte dans lequel il a été prouvé que son existence existe, c'est dans la perception d'images chargées sexuellement. Ceci est important, car une différence dans les modèles d'activation du cerveau montre qu'il s'agit d'une différence physique à d'autres. En neuroscience, il n’ya pas de distinction entre logiciel et matériel: la manière dont les différentes parties du cerveau «s’éclairent» nous montre comment les réseaux de neurones à partir desquels ils sont fabriqués sont tissés.


Comment l'enquête a-t-elle été menée?

Près de 80 personnes ont participé à cette recherche: 28 bisexuels, 26 hétérosexuels et 28 homosexuels. Toutes ces personnes avaient entre 25 et 50 ans et appartenaient à différentes ethnies et origines, de sorte que l'échantillon recueillait différentes variables culturelles. De plus, dans le cas des personnes bisexuelles, il était obligatoire de participer après avoir eu au moins un amoureux de chaque sexe.

D'autre part, l'orientation sexuelle de chaque personne a été enregistrée à partir d'un questionnaire basé sur l'échelle de Kinsey, qui a établi une échelle allant de l'homosexualité exclusive à l'hétérosexuel exclusivement, en passant par certains degrés intermédiaires.

À partir de là chacun des participants a visionné une série de vidéos avec un contenu adulte dans lequel les scènes sexuelles hétérosexuelles et homosexuelles sont apparues. Au cours de cette phase, les chercheurs ont suivi les schémas d'activation cérébrale des participants grâce à l'utilisation de l'imagerie par résonance magnétique.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "5 mythes sur l'homosexualité démontés par la science"

Les parties du cerveau les plus activées chez les personnes bisexuelles

Les résultats de l'enquête ont montré un curieux schéma d'activation neuronale dépendant de l'orientation sexuelle de chaque participant. En particulier, les schémas d’allumage d’une partie du cerveau liés aux noyaux gris centraux appelé noyau rainuré, en particulier sa partie inférieure ou ventrale . Cette zone du noyau strié est liée aux processus mentaux de la motivation et de la recherche du plaisir. Elle joue donc également un rôle important dans l’expérimentation de la sexualité.

Comme prévu, cette région a réagi en montrant sa préférence pour les images dans lesquelles le sexe opposé apparaît, chez les hétérosexuels et chez les personnes du même sexe, dans le cas des homosexuels. Dans le cas des bisexuels, cependant, cette région du cerveau (et accessoirement d’autres) se comporte comme si la distinction entre la catégorie "homme" et "femme" n'était pas importante ; D'une certaine manière, la frontière entre ces deux concepts était floue, de la même manière que la couleur des yeux des autres ne pouvait avoir que peu d'importance.

Bien entendu, les réactions de pure bisexualité, entendue comme une réaction dans laquelle il n’ya pas de préférence nette pour les hommes ou les femmes, ont été rares. À en juger par les images obtenues par les scanners du cerveau, généralement l'activation des régions du cerveau des bisexuels ils ont montré une tendance à trouver plus attrayant l'un des deux sexes .

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

L'influence des stereotypes de genre sur notre quotidien. Sandrine Cina à TEDxLausanne (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes