yes, therapy helps!
The cause of reckless and impulsive behavior due to alcohol consumption is found in the mutation of a gene

The cause of reckless and impulsive behavior due to alcohol consumption is found in the mutation of a gene

June 17, 2024

We all have a friend or acquaintance who c When you drink alcohol you get out of control and show impulsive and reckless behavior . A Finnish study suggests that these individuals can not avoid it, because they are genetically predisposed to react in this way when they consume alcohol.

A genetic mutation found in 2.2 percent of the population seems to be the cause of this problematic behavior. The genetic mutation affects the serotonergic receptor called 2B.

Still do not know what serotonin is? In the article "Serotonin: discover the effects of this hormone in your body and mind" we explain it to you in detail.

2.2 percent of the population has this genetic mutation

Everyone has a different level of tolerance to alcohol, but for some individuals, just by drinking a small amount of this substance can act very disproportionately, impulsively, recklessly and dangerously.


Recent research has found a biological reason for this behavior, as a group of researchers from the University of Helsinki in Finland claim that the cause is in a genetic mutation . In the country where this study was conducted, more than 100,000 people have this mutation.

The study confirms another investigation of the year 2010

The research was conducted by the psychiatrist Roope Tikkanen, and concludes that the mutation of a gene related to the serotonergic receptor B2 causes impulsive behavior, particularly when the carrier individual is drunk. Published by the Nature Publishing group in its magazine Translational Psychiatry, the results of the research confirm an earlier study by Bevilacqua and his team, which took place in 2010.


For the study of Tikkanen but, the scientists used the data of alcoholic patients and their relatives, compiled by Mattu Virkkunen, professor emeritus of Forensic Psychiatry at the same university. In addition, the subjects of the research completed personality questionnaires and were interviewed face to face by a psychiatrist.

The discovery has its origin in a cooperative relationship that lasts several years, between the Psychiatric Clinic of the University of Helsinki and the Laboratory of Neurogenetics of the National Institute of Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism of the United States, directed by Dr. David Goldman

Not much is known about the serotonergic receptor 2B

Tikkanen explains: "There are people who change radically when they consume alcohol and are not able to correct their behavior despite it repeating, which did not suggest that this phenomenon was due to biological factors."


Very little is known about serotonergic receptor 2B in humans, but it is thought to be related to impulsivity, which, in turn, is associated with different mental health problems. The identified mutation is present in 2.2 percent of the population, therefore, more than 100,000 Finns are carriers.

"The impact of a gene on a complex phenomenon like this is difficult to observe. But it is possible to identify the impact of genetic mutation on the Finnish population, because our historical isolation has led us to a relatively homogeneous gene pool, "says Tikkanen.

Conclusions

If these results are confirmed in larger samples of subjects who suffer serious difficulties in controlling their impulsiveness, different corrective measures can be taken. The most important and priority is the prevention of alcohol consumption by these individuals. Other measures could be cognitive-behavioral therapy for impulse control or, ultimately, pharmacological treatment.

Apart from the effect it may have on the health of the population, the discovery of this biological mechanism may cause further investigation into the role of serotonergic receptor 2B in the human body. New research in the neurobiological field will surely go in this direction. Further, the best knowledge about this receptor can stimulate innovation in the pharmacological world .

Finally, Tikkanen concludes: "The mutation can also be predictive of impulsive violent behavior, since we discovered that the prevalence of the mutation is four times higher among a population of individuals categorized as violent delinquents. This may have implications for the prevention of violence and serve the legal system in decision making. "

Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La cause d'un comportement téméraire et impulsif dû à la consommation d'alcool se trouve dans la mutation d'un gène

La cause d'un comportement téméraire et impulsif dû à la consommation d'alcool se trouve dans la mutation d'un gène

Septembre 18, 2019

Nous avons tous un ami ou une connaissance qui c Lorsque vous buvez de l'alcool, vous perdez le contrôle de votre comportement et vous montrez un comportement impulsif et téméraire . Une étude finlandaise suggère que ces individus ne peuvent pas l'éviter, car ils sont génétiquement prédisposés à réagir de cette manière lorsqu'ils consomment de l'alcool.

Une mutation génétique trouvée dans 2,2% de la population semble être la cause de ce comportement problématique. La mutation génétique affecte le récepteur sérotoninergique appelé 2B.

Je ne sais toujours pas ce que la sérotonine est? Dans l'article "Sérotonine: découvrez les effets de cette hormone sur votre corps et votre esprit", nous vous l'expliquons en détail.

2,2% de la population a cette mutation génétique

Tout le monde a un niveau de tolérance à l'alcool différent, mais pour certaines personnes, le simple fait de boire une petite quantité de cette substance peut agir de manière très disproportionnée, impulsive, imprudente et dangereuse.


Des recherches récentes ont révélé une raison biologique à ce comportement, alors qu'un groupe de chercheurs de l'Université d'Helsinki en Finlande affirme que la cause est dans une mutation génétique . Dans le pays où cette étude a été menée, plus de 100 000 personnes sont atteintes de cette mutation.

L'étude confirme une autre enquête de l'année 2010

La recherche a été menée par le psychiatre Roope Tikkanen et a conclu que la mutation d'un gène lié au récepteur sérotoninergique B2 provoque un comportement impulsif, en particulier lorsque le porteur est en état d'ébriété. Publié par le groupe Nature Publishing dans son magazine Psychiatrie translationnelle, les résultats de l’étude confirment une étude antérieure de Bevilacqua et de son équipe, réalisée en 2010.


Pour l’étude de Tikkanen mais, les scientifiques ont utilisé les données de patients alcooliques et de leurs proches, compilées par Mattu Virkkunen, professeur émérite de psychiatrie légale de la même université. En outre, les sujets de la recherche ont rempli des questionnaires sur la personnalité et ont été interrogés face à face par un psychiatre.

La découverte trouve son origine dans une relation de coopération qui dure depuis plusieurs années entre la clinique psychiatrique de l'université d'Helsinki et le laboratoire de neurogénétique de l'Institut national de l'abus d'alcool et de l'alcoolisme des États-Unis, dirigé par le Dr David Goldman

On sait peu de choses sur le récepteur sérotoninergique 2B

Tikkanen explique: "Certaines personnes changent radicalement quand elles consomment de l'alcool et ne sont pas en mesure de corriger leur comportement malgré les répétitions, ce qui ne laisse pas penser que ce phénomène était dû à des facteurs biologiques."


On sait très peu de choses sur le récepteur sérotoninergique 2B chez l'homme, mais on pense qu'il est lié à l'impulsivité, qui, à son tour, est associée à différents problèmes de santé mentale. La mutation identifiée est présente dans 2,2% de la population, donc plus de 100 000 Finlandais sont porteurs.

"L’impact d’un gène sur un phénomène aussi complexe est difficile à observer. Mais il est possible d'identifier l'impact de la mutation génétique sur la population finlandaise, car notre isolement historique nous a conduits à un pool de gènes relativement homogène ", a déclaré Tikkanen.

Conclusions

Si ces résultats sont confirmés dans des échantillons plus importants de sujets qui éprouvent de sérieuses difficultés à contrôler leur impulsivité, différentes mesures correctives peuvent être prises. Le plus important et prioritaire est la prévention de la consommation d’alcool par ces personnes. D'autres mesures pourraient être une thérapie cognitivo-comportementale pour le contrôle des impulsions ou, finalement, un traitement pharmacologique.

Outre les effets que cela peut avoir sur la santé de la population, la découverte de ce mécanisme biologique peut entraîner des recherches supplémentaires sur le rôle du récepteur sérotoninergique 2B dans le corps humain. Les nouvelles recherches dans le domaine de la neurobiologie iront certainement dans cette direction. En outre, la meilleure connaissance de ce récepteur peut stimuler l'innovation dans le monde pharmacologique .

Enfin, Tikkanen conclut: "La mutation peut également être prédictive d'un comportement violent impulsif, car nous avons découvert que la prévalence de la mutation est quatre fois plus élevée parmi une population de personnes qualifiées de délinquants violents. Cela peut avoir des implications pour la prévention de la violence et servir le système juridique dans la prise de décision. "


Earth At Risk November 2011 #2: Lierre Keith (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes