yes, therapy helps!
The crisis of replicability in Psychology

The crisis of replicability in Psychology

June 12, 2024

In recent years, since the beginning of the decade of 2010, the scientific community has called attention to the existence of a crisis of replicability in science, especially in psychology and medicine : the results of many investigations are impossible to replicate or, simply, no attempts are made to do so.

However, the problems related to the confirmation of hypotheses are not the only ones that are included in the crisis of replication, but that it has a broader character. In this sense, it is worth highlighting the importance of the falsification of results, particularly in the field of social psychology, and of other very significant methodological factors.


  • Related article: "The 15 types of research (and features)"

The crisis of replicability in science

One of the fundamentals of the scientific method is the replication of the results . Although many people have a marked tendency to take the conclusions of a single study as credible and definitive, the truth is that a hypothesis only acquires real strength when it is confirmed by several valid studies of different research teams.

In the same sense, the negative results are so important, that is, the refutation of hypotheses, as their verification. However, the proportion of studies that refute approaches seems to have been reduced in science in general; consequently there is a clear primacy of publications that corroborate experimental hypotheses .


Many of the publications that have been carried out around the crisis of replication highlight the magnitude that has taken in psychology. However, it is necessary to make explicit that this crisis affects science as a whole and that also has a particular intensity in the case of medicine. This is due to a series of interrelated factors.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 7 types of sampling and their use in the Sciences"

The main causes of this phenomenon

A meta-analysis conducted by Daniele Fanelli (2009) concludes that Fraud in publications is more common in medical and pharmaceutical research than in the other fields. The author suggests that this may be due to the great magnitude of economic incentives for publications or to a greater degree of awareness in these areas.

There are, however, several factors that influence the crisis of replicability beyond the explicit falsification of the data. One of the most significant is the selectivity of publications: in general, positive and striking results have a greater potential to appear in journals and to provide recognition and money to researchers.


This is why the "drawer effect" often occurs, whereby Studies that do not support the expected hypotheses are discarded while those that do are selected by the authors and published more commonly. In addition, the non-replication of positive studies decreases the risk that hypotheses are refuted.

Other common practices that have similar objectives are to select a large number of variables and then focus only on those that correlate, change the sample size (for example, include subjects until the results are positive) or carry out multiple statistical analyzes. inform exclusively those who support the hypothesis.

Why is it so serious in psychology?

It is considered that the crisis of replication in psychology goes back to the first years of the decade of 2010. During this period numerous cases of fraud involving relevant authors ; For example, the social psychologist Diederik Stapel falsified the results of several publications

A meta-analysis by Makel, Plucker and Hegarty (2012) found that only about 1% of the studies on psychology published since the early twentieth century are replications of previous studies. This is a very low figure since it strongly suggests that many of the conclusions obtained by isolated studies can not be taken as definitive.

The number of successful independent replications is also low , standing at around 65%; instead, more than 90% of those made by the original research team corroborate the hypotheses. On the other hand, works with negative results are also especially uncommon in psychology; The same can be said about psychiatry.

Solutions to the crisis of research

The crisis of replicability in psychology and in science in general not only compromises the results of a large number of studies, but can lead to the legitimation of hypotheses that have not been confirmed with the necessary rigor.This could lead to the widespread use of incorrect hypotheses, altering the development of sciences.

Currently there are many economic interests (and others also related to prestige) that favor the replication crisis is maintained. While the criteria followed in the publication of studies and the dissemination of their results in large media continue to have this monetarist character, the situation can hardly change.

Most of the proposals that have been made to help solve this crisis are associated with the rigorous methodology in all its phases , as well as with the participation of other members of the scientific community; in this way, it would be to enhance the process of "peer-review" and seek to encourage replication efforts.

Concluding

We must bear in mind that in the field of psychology we work with many variables, on the one hand, and it is difficult to establish a context in which the starting point is similar to that of another study, on the other. This makes it very easy for elements that are not taken into account in the investigation to "contaminate" the results.

On the other hand, the limitations of the ways in which it is decided whether there are real phenomena or only statistical phenomena sometimes cause false positives: the simple fact that the p-value is significant does not have to be sufficient to indicate that it reflects a real psychological phenomenon.

Bibliographic references:

  • Fanelli, D. (2009). How many scientists fabricate and falsify research? A systematic review and meta-analysis of survey data. PLoS ONE 4 (5).
  • Makel, M.C., Plucker, J.A. & Hegarty, B. (2012). Replications in psychology research: how often do they really occur? Perspectives on Psychological Science, 7 (6): 537-542.
  • Nosek, B.A., Spies, J. R. & Motyl, M. (2012). Scientific Utopia: II. Restructuring incentives and practices to promote truth over publishability. Perspectives on Psychological Science, 7 (6): 615-631.

Have We Failed at Replication? A Panel Discussion Debate on Psychology's Replicability "Crisis" (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La crise de la réplicabilité en psychologie

La crise de la réplicabilité en psychologie

Mai 11, 2021

Au cours des dernières années, depuis le début de la décennie 2010, la communauté scientifique a attiré l'attention sur l'existence d'un crise de la reproductibilité en science, notamment en psychologie et en médecine : les résultats de nombreuses enquêtes sont impossibles à reproduire ou, simplement, aucune tentative n’est tentée de le faire.

Cependant, les problèmes liés à la confirmation des hypothèses ne sont pas les seuls à être inclus dans la crise de réplication, mais son caractère plus large. En ce sens, il convient de souligner l’importance de la falsification des résultats, en particulier dans le domaine de la psychologie sociale, et d’autres facteurs méthodologiques très importants.


  • Article connexe: "Les 15 types de recherche (et fonctionnalités)"

La crise de la réplicabilité en science

L’un des principes fondamentaux de la méthode scientifique est la réplication des résultats. . Bien que beaucoup de gens aient tendance à considérer les conclusions d’une seule étude comme crédibles et définitives, la vérité est qu’une hypothèse n’a de force que si elle est confirmée par plusieurs études valables menées par différentes équipes de recherche.

Dans le même sens, les résultats négatifs sont si importants, c'est-à-dire la réfutation des hypothèses, comme vérification. Cependant, la proportion d’études réfutant ces approches semble avoir été réduite dans la science en général; par conséquent, il y a un primauté des publications qui corroborent des hypothèses expérimentales .


De nombreuses publications réalisées autour de la crise de la réplication soulignent l’ampleur de la psychologie. Cependant, il est nécessaire de préciser que cette crise affecte la science dans son ensemble et cela a aussi une intensité particulière dans le cas de la médecine. Cela est dû à une série de facteurs interdépendants.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Les 7 types d'échantillonnage et leur utilisation en sciences"

Les principales causes de ce phénomène

Une méta-analyse réalisée par Daniele Fanelli (2009) conclut que La fraude dans les publications est plus courante dans la recherche médicale et pharmaceutique que dans les autres domaines. L'auteur suggère que cela peut être dû à la grande ampleur des incitations économiques à la publication ou à une plus grande sensibilisation dans ces domaines.

Cependant, plusieurs facteurs influencent la crise de la réplicabilité au-delà de la falsification explicite des données. L'un des plus importants est la sélectivité des publications: en général, les résultats positifs et frappants ont plus de potentiel pour figurer dans les revues et fournir une reconnaissance et de l'argent aux chercheurs.


C’est pourquoi il se produit souvent un effet "tiroir" Les études qui ne supportent pas les hypothèses attendues sont rejetées tandis que ceux qui le font sont sélectionnés par les auteurs et publiés plus couramment. De plus, la non-répétition d'études positives réduit le risque de réfutation des hypothèses.

D'autres pratiques ayant des objectifs similaires sont de sélectionner un grand nombre de variables et de se concentrer uniquement sur celles qui sont en corrélation, de modifier la taille de l'échantillon (par exemple, inclure des sujets jusqu'à ce que les résultats soient positifs) ou d'effectuer de multiples analyses statistiques. informer exclusivement ceux qui soutiennent l'hypothèse.

Pourquoi est-ce si grave en psychologie?

On considère que la crise de réplication en psychologie remonte aux premières années du décennie de 2010. Au cours de cette période nombreux cas de fraude impliquant des auteurs pertinents ; Par exemple, le psychologue social Diederik Stapel a falsifié les résultats de plusieurs publications

Une méta-analyse de Makel, Plucker et Hegarty (2012) a révélé que seulement 1% environ des études de psychologie publiées depuis le début du XXe siècle sont des réplications d'études précédentes. Ce chiffre est très bas car il suggère fortement que nombre des conclusions tirées d'études isolées ne peuvent être considérées comme définitives.

Le nombre de réplications indépendantes réussies est également faible , se situant autour de 65%; Au lieu de cela, plus de 90% de ceux fabriqués par l'équipe de recherche originale corroborent les hypothèses. D'autre part, les travaux avec des résultats négatifs sont aussi particulièrement rares en psychologie; On peut en dire autant de la psychiatrie.

Solutions à la crise de la recherche

La crise de la réplicabilité en psychologie et dans la science en général compromet non seulement les résultats d'un grand nombre d'études, mais peut conduire à la légitimation d'hypothèses non confirmées avec la rigueur nécessaire.Cela pourrait conduire à l'utilisation généralisée d'hypothèses incorrectes, modifiant ainsi le développement des sciences.

Actuellement, de nombreux intérêts économiques (et d'autres liés au prestige) favorisent le maintien de la crise de réplication. Alors que les critères suivis pour la publication des études et la diffusion de leurs résultats dans les grands médias continuent à avoir ce caractère monétariste, la situation ne peut guère changer.

La plupart des propositions qui ont été faites pour aider à résoudre cette crise sont associées à la méthodologie rigoureuse dans toutes ses phases , ainsi qu’avec la participation d’autres membres de la communauté scientifique; de cette manière, il s'agirait d'améliorer le processus d '"examen par les pairs" et d'encourager les efforts de reproduction.

En conclusion

Nous devons garder à l'esprit que, dans le domaine de la psychologie, nous travaillons avec plusieurs variables, d'une part, et il est difficile d'établir un contexte dans lequel le point de départ est similaire à celui d'une autre étude, d'autre part. Cela rend très facile pour les éléments qui ne sont pas pris en compte dans l'enquête de "contaminer" les résultats.

D'autre part, les limitations de la manière dont il est décidé s'il existe des phénomènes réels ou uniquement des phénomènes statistiques sont parfois à l'origine de faux positifs: le simple fait que la valeur p soit significative ne doit pas nécessairement être suffisant pour indiquer qu'elle reflète un véritable phénomène psychologique.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Fanelli, D. (2009). Combien de scientifiques fabriquent et falsifient des recherches? Une revue systématique et une méta-analyse des données d'enquête. PLoS ONE 4 (5).
  • Makel, M.C., Plucker, J.A. et Hegarty, B. (2012). Les réplications dans la recherche en psychologie: à quelle fréquence ont-elles réellement lieu? Perspectives on Psychological Science, 7 (6): 537-542.
  • Nosek, B.A., Spies, J.R. et Motyl, M. (2012). Utopie scientifique: II. Restructuration des incitations et des pratiques visant à promouvoir la vérité plutôt que la publicité. Perspectives on Psychological Science, 7 (6): 615-631.

Is Science Reliable? (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes