yes, therapy helps!
The development of personality during childhood

The development of personality during childhood

May 28, 2022

The concept of personality development it can be described as the vital process through which every individual passes, establishing certain bases and guidelines of determined character and behavior, from which the traits, values ​​and functioning forms organized and stable in the time of said person are formed.

These mechanisms become a reference for the person in their interactions with the context (environmental or physical and interpersonal or social) in which it usually operates.

Personality factors

Thus, development is understood as the result of bidirectional confluence between more biological or internal factors (genetic inheritance) and other contextual or external factors (environment). The first includes the temperament , which is defined by an intrinsic and innate emotional and motivational disposition that mobilizes the subject for primary interests.


On the other hand, environmental factors can be classified into common influences (norms, values, externally originated social and cultural beliefs) and personal influences (experiences and particular life circumstances of each subject, such as, for example, a disease).

It can be said, therefore, that as the subject matures biologically and incorporates new experiences and external experiences, the process of developing one's own personality takes place. How is this development of personality during childhood developing?

Affective development in early childhood

The most important phenomenon that characterizes the affective development of the boy or girl in the first years of life is the attachment formation or emotional / affective bond established between the child and one or several reference figures (usually subjects belonging to the family system, although not in all cases). The attachment is made up of three elements: attachment behaviors, mental representations and feelings generated from the previous two .


The main function of the elaboration of the emotional bond is facilitate an adaptive development in the emotional area which allows the subject to establish future functional and appropriate affective interpersonal relationships, such as ensure a balanced general personality development . Without this support, the children are not able to establish the necessary emotional ties to develop all their competences.

At the same time, attachment generates a context in which children can learn and explore their surroundings feeling safe, which is essential to discover their own abilities. This kind of discoveries will shape their attitudes and a part of their personality, depending on whether they feel more or less competent in the areas in which they usually live.

The process of attachment formation

In the process of attachment formation, you can distinguish several phases depending on the distinction that the baby is learning about the people in his social environment . Thus, in the first two months their inability to discriminate between attachment figures and other people motivates them to feel good predisposition for social interaction in general, regardless of the person in question.


After 6 months, this differentiation is becoming more pronounced, so that the boy or girl shows his preference for the closest figures of affective proximity. At 8 months the "anguish of the eighth month" phase takes place in which the baby shows his rejection to strangers or to people who are not part of his closest attachment circle.

With the consolidation of the symbolic function, at 2 years of age, is able to internalize the permanence of the object , even though this is not physically visible, which allows the consolidation of the affective bond. Subsequently, the child begins a stage characterized by a constant search for approval and affection of the adult , experiencing some emotional dependence and showing again good predisposition for general social interaction.

Finally, between 4 and 6 years, the interest of the child focuses on their relationship with peers, which strengthens the beginning of the stage of socialization in other environments than family, such as school.

The conquest of autonomy

The acquisition of the autonomy capacity takes place in the first years of the boy's or girl's childhood, once it has begun to consolidate the self-concept process (as a differentiation from the other subjects) and begins to overcome the affective dependence of the adult to orientate oneself to the experimentation of the world independently.

Upon discovering that they can interact following the first notions of norms, values ​​and internalized beliefs (not always coinciding with that of adults understood as a learning model) from early life experiences, their motivation is oriented to govern their behavior according to their own decisions . Thus, a phase of constant ambivalence is generated between the need to depend on the adult and the search for autonomy from him, which may result in the manifestation of tantrums or other behavioral alterations as a sign of the intention to preserve their independence.

This is a delicate process, since added to the fact that the child can be very difficult to handle, it requires the adult to set strict and clear educational guidelines on the path of suitable development to take. This is one of the fundamental ideas to be highlighted in relation to the development of the child's autonomy.

It is important to remember that there must be that balance between the increasingly broad freedom of action that the child adopts and the permanent role of guidance and orientation that the attachment and educational figures with which the first one has to play must play.

Another fundamental point lies in the relevance of the environmental context in which the individual develops, which shapes and significantly influences the process of acquiring the indicated autonomy. Therefore, each individual has its own characteristics and can not establish a universal pattern that explains this process in a general way . Like most aspects related to the development of the person, it is characterized by its individuality and by the qualitative differentiation with respect to other subjects.

Self-consciousness, self-esteem and child self-worth

The beginning of the acquisition of self-consciousness or self-concept is intrinsically related to the achievement of the cognitive development phase of object permanence. The child interiorizes that remains as the same being in different moments or situations thanks to the proliferation and linguistic development that occurs from the second year of life. From that moment the subject begins to see himself as being different from other individuals and recognize ideas, values, beliefs, feelings, interests, and motivations. That is to say, it begins to relate the medium in which it is situated with its self.

This is a process that starts at this chronological moment; therefore, this differentiation and establishment of individual identity is not complete at all times and although they are assimilating the aspects that are inherent to their person (personality) it is possible that some cognitive and / or emotional processes are produced in a unconscious.

Thus, it is a process by which what others express and what one interprets from their actions forms an image of oneself. In turn, this image is associated with a moral assessment of this, which makes it more or less positive depending on the expectations and preferences of the boy or girl .

The role of self-esteem in boys and girls

With the appearance of self-concept, its evaluative component, self-esteem, arises simultaneously. Self-esteem is a phenomenon that is very closely linked to the achievement of a balanced and adaptive psychological development. Therefore, if the evaluation that the individual makes about their own value as a human being in interaction with the most cognitive aspects and qualities related to self-concept is positive, this fact will act as a protective factor in the future in the prevention of intense emotional disturbances , difficulties at the psychological level and, to a greater extent, problems in the social interaction with other people.

It is very important that there is not a very high discrepancy between the real self (what the individual represents) and the ideal self (what the individual would like to represent) to consolidate an adaptive and adequate psychic and emotional or balanced development).

Another fundamental aspect is the role played by external evaluations on the level of self-esteem presented by each subject. A) Yes, the image that others have of themselves and the assessment they make of their skills or behavior they greatly influence the perception of the child about himself.

As of the third or fourth year, the search for approval by the adult would be related to this question, since this motivation is done with the ultimate goal of establishing an acceptable level of self-esteem . As mentioned above, at this stage conflicts may arise, at the level of opposition behavior of the child to educational figures and other adults, arising from the opposition between adult protection and the child's search for autonomy. Therefore, a fundamental aspect to take into account becomes the educational style that parents exercise on the child.

An educational style characterized by a balanced combination of control / discipline / authority and affection / understanding seems to foster a high level of self-esteem and, in addition, a lower likelihood of tantrums and negative behavior. In this way, It is essential that educators understand the importance of the progressive increase of autonomy on the part of the child and that as their maturation as a human being takes place, the exhaustive control of all decisions concerning the child must be gradually diminished.

Are personality, character and temperament equivalent?

Although undifferentiated these three terms have been used in an undifferentiated way, the truth is that they are not conceptual equivalents. The definition of personality as a disposition or set of stable and permanent traits that guide both behavior, reasoning and emotional expression in a generic way, would encompass both the concept of temperament and character.

That is both the temperament and the character are elements that form the personality interacting together . They can not be isolated individually, but help to understand our behavior patterns globally and in all areas of life.

Temperament refers to the innate emotional and motivational predisposition whose manifestations are due to a more primitive biological or hereditary origin. It is a phenomenon considerably stable over time and subject to a lesser proportion to ethnic or cultural interference . On the contrary, character, of a more cognitive and intentional nature, derives from environmental and cultural influence and is the product of external life experiences.

Bibliographic references:

  • Irwin G. Sarason, Abnormal Psychology, Problem of Unsuitable Behavior, Seventh Edition.
  • Neil R Carbon, Physiological Psychology, editorial Mexico third edition.
  • Galileo Ortega, J.L. and Fernandez de Haro, E (2003); Encyclopedia of Early Childhood Education (vol2). Malaga. Ed: Aljibe.
  • Delval, Juan (1996). The human development Siglo Veintiuno de España Editores, S.A.

What is the most important influence on child development | Tom Weisner | TEDxUCLA (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le développement de la personnalité pendant l'enfance

Le développement de la personnalité pendant l'enfance

Juillet 9, 2020

Le concept de développement de la personnalité il peut être décrit comme le processus vital par lequel passe chaque individu, en établissant certaines bases et lignes directrices de caractère et de comportement déterminés, à partir desquels les traits, les valeurs et les formes de fonctionnement sont organisés et stables au cours du temps de la personne.

Ces mécanismes deviennent une référence pour la personne dans ses interactions avec le contexte (environnemental ou physique et interpersonnel ou social) dans lequel il opère habituellement.

Facteurs de personnalité

Ainsi, le développement est compris comme le résultat de la confluence bidirectionnelle entre davantage de facteurs biologiques ou internes (héritage génétique) et d’autres facteurs contextuels ou externes (environnement). Le premier comprend le tempérament , qui est défini par une disposition intrinsèque et innée émotionnelle et motivationnelle qui mobilise le sujet pour des intérêts primaires.


D'autre part, les facteurs environnementaux peuvent être classés en influences communes (normes, valeurs, croyances sociales et culturelles d'origine externe) et personnelles (expériences et circonstances de la vie particulières de chaque sujet, comme par exemple une maladie).

On peut donc dire que, lorsque le sujet mûrit biologiquement et intègre de nouvelles expériences et des expériences externes, le processus de développement de sa propre personnalité se déroule. Comment se développe ce développement de la personnalité pendant l'enfance?

Développement affectif dans la petite enfance

Le phénomène le plus important qui caractérise le développement affectif du garçon ou de la fille dans les premières années de la vie est la formation d'attachements ou le lien affectif / affectif établi entre l'enfant et un ou plusieurs personnages de référence (habituellement des pas dans tous les cas). La pièce jointe est composée de trois éléments: les comportements d'attachement, les représentations mentales et les sentiments générés par les deux précédents .


La fonction principale de l’élaboration du lien émotionnel est faciliter un développement adaptatif dans le domaine émotionnel permettant au sujet d’établir de futures relations interpersonnelles fonctionnelles et appropriées, telles que: assurer un développement équilibré de la personnalité générale . Sans ce soutien, les enfants ne sont pas en mesure d'établir les liens affectifs nécessaires pour développer toutes leurs compétences.

En même temps, l'attachement crée un contexte dans lequel les enfants peuvent apprendre et explorer leur environnement en se sentant en sécurité, ce qui est essentiel pour découvrir leurs propres capacités. Ce type de découvertes façonnera leurs attitudes et une partie de leur personnalité, selon qu’ils se sentent plus ou moins compétents dans les domaines où ils vivent habituellement.

Le processus de formation de l'attachement

Dans le processus de formation de l'attachement, vous pouvez distinguer plusieurs phases en fonction de la distinction que le bébé apprend au sujet des personnes dans son environnement social . Ainsi, au cours des deux premiers mois, leur incapacité à faire la distinction entre les personnes attachées et les autres personnes les incite à se sentir bien prédisposés aux interactions sociales en général, quelle que soit la personne en question.


Après 6 mois, cette différenciation devient plus prononcée, de sorte que le garçon ou la fille manifeste sa préférence pour les figures de proximité affective les plus proches. A 8 mois la phase "angoisse du huitième mois" a lieu dans lequel le bébé montre son rejet à des étrangers ou à des personnes qui ne font pas partie de son cercle d'attachement le plus proche.

Avec la consolidation de la fonction symbolique, à 2 ans, est capable d'internaliser la permanence de l'objet , même si cela n’est pas physiquement visible, ce qui permet la consolidation du lien affectif. Par la suite, l'enfant commence une étape caractérisée par une recherche constante d'approbation et d'affection de l'adulte , éprouvant une certaine dépendance émotionnelle et montrant à nouveau une bonne prédisposition à l’interaction sociale générale.

Enfin, entre 4 et 6 ans, l’intérêt de l’enfant se concentre sur ses relations avec ses pairs, ce qui renforce le début du stade de socialisation dans des environnements autres que celui de la famille, tels que l’école.

La conquête de l'autonomie

L’acquisition de la capacité d’autonomie a lieu dans les premières années de l’enfance du garçon ou de la fille, une fois que celle-ci a commencé à consolider le processus de conception de soi (en tant que différenciation par rapport aux autres sujets) et commence à surmonter la dépendance affective de l'adulte s'orienter indépendamment vers l'expérimentation du monde.

En découvrant qu'ils peuvent interagir en suivant les premières notions de normes, de valeurs et de croyances intériorisées (ne coïncidant pas toujours avec celles d'adultes compris comme un modèle d'apprentissage) à partir d'expériences vécues tôt dans la vie, leur motivation est orientée pour régir leur comportement en fonction de leurs propres décisions . Ainsi se crée une phase d’ambivalence constante entre la nécessité de dépendre de l’adulte et la recherche de son autonomie, ce qui peut entraîner la manifestation de crises de colère ou d'autres modifications comportementales en signe de l'intention de préserver leur indépendance.

Il s'agit d'un processus délicat, car outre le fait que l'enfant peut être très difficile à gérer, il impose à l'adulte de définir des directives éducatives strictes et claires sur la voie d'un développement approprié. C'est l'une des idées fondamentales à mettre en évidence en relation avec le développement de l'autonomie de l'enfant.

Il est important de se rappeler qu'il doit y avoir cet équilibre entre la liberté d'action de plus en plus large que l'enfant adopte et le rôle permanent de l'orientation et l'orientation que doivent jouer les figures attachées et éducatives avec lesquelles le premier doit jouer.

Un autre point fondamental réside dans la pertinence du contexte environnemental dans lequel évolue l'individu, qui façonne et influence considérablement le processus d'acquisition de l'autonomie indiquée. Par conséquent, chaque individu a ses propres caractéristiques et ne peut pas établir un modèle universel qui explique ce processus de manière générale . Comme la plupart des aspects liés au développement de la personne, il se caractérise par son individualité et par la différenciation qualitative par rapport aux autres sujets.

Conscience de soi, estime de soi et estime de soi des enfants

Le début de l'acquisition de la conscience de soi ou du concept de soi est intrinsèquement lié à la réalisation de la phase de développement cognitif de la permanence de l'objet. L'enfant intériorise ce qui reste comme le même être dans des moments ou des situations différents, grâce à la prolifération et au développement linguistique qui se produisent à partir de la deuxième année de la vie. A partir de ce moment, le sujet commence à se voir comme différent des autres individus et reconnaître les idées, les valeurs, les croyances, les sentiments, les intérêts et les motivations. C'est-à-dire qu'il commence à raconter le milieu dans lequel il se situe.

C'est un processus qui commence à ce moment chronologique; par conséquent, la différenciation et l'établissement de l'identité individuelle ne sont pas toujours complets et, bien qu'ils assimilent les aspects inhérents à leur personne (personnalité), il est possible que certains processus cognitifs et / ou émotionnels se produisent inconscient

Il s’agit donc d’un processus par lequel ce que les autres expriment et que l’on interprète à partir de leurs actions forme une image de soi. A son tour, cette image est associée à une évaluation morale de celle-ci, ce qui la rend plus ou moins positive en fonction des attentes et des préférences du garçon ou de la fille .

Le rôle de l'estime de soi chez les garçons et les filles

Avec l’apparition du concept de soi, sa composante évaluative, l’estime de soi, apparaît simultanément. L’estime de soi est un phénomène très étroitement lié à la réalisation d’un développement psychologique équilibré et adaptatif. Par conséquent, si l'évaluation faite par l'individu à propos de sa propre valeur en tant qu'être humain en interaction avec les aspects et les qualités les plus cognitifs liés à la notion de soi est positive, ce fait agira comme un facteur de protection à l'avenir dans la prévention des perturbations émotionnelles intenses , des difficultés sur le plan psychologique et, dans une plus large mesure, des problèmes d’interaction sociale avec d’autres personnes.

Il est très important qu’il n’y ait pas un écart très important entre le soi réel (ce que l’individu représente) et le soi idéal (ce que l’individu voudrait représenter) pour consolider un développement psychique et émotionnel ou équilibré adaptatif et adéquat.

Un autre aspect fondamental est le rôle joué par les évaluations externes sur le niveau d'estime de soi présenté par chaque sujet. Ainsi, l'image que les autres ont d'eux-mêmes et l'évaluation qu'ils font de leurs compétences ou de leur comportement ils influencent grandement la perception de l'enfant sur lui-même.

À partir de la troisième ou quatrième année, la recherche de l’approbation de l’adulte serait liée à cette question, puisque cette motivation est fait dans le but ultime d'établir un niveau acceptable d'estime de soi . Comme mentionné ci-dessus, des conflits peuvent survenir à ce stade, au niveau du comportement opposé de l'enfant aux figures de l'éducation et à d'autres adultes, résultant de l'opposition entre la protection de l'adulte et la recherche de l'autonomie de l'enfant. Par conséquent, un aspect fondamental à prendre en compte devient le style éducatif que les parents exercent sur l’enfant.

Un style éducatif caractérisé par une combinaison équilibrée de contrôle / discipline / autorité et d'affection / compréhension semble favoriser un niveau élevé d'estime de soi et, en outre, une probabilité plus faible de crises et de comportements négatifs. De cette manière, Il est essentiel que les éducateurs comprennent l’importance de l’augmentation progressive de l’autonomie de l’enfant. et que, au fur et à mesure de leur maturation en tant qu'être humain, le contrôle exhaustif de toutes les décisions concernant l'enfant doit être progressivement diminué.

La personnalité, le caractère et le tempérament sont-ils équivalents?

Bien que indifférenciés, ces trois termes aient été utilisés de manière indifférenciée, la vérité est qu’ils ne sont pas des équivalents conceptuels. La définition de la personnalité comme une disposition ou un ensemble de traits stables et permanents guidant à la fois le comportement, le raisonnement et l'expression émotionnelle de manière générique engloberait à la fois les concepts de tempérament et de caractère.

C'est que le tempérament et le caractère sont des éléments qui forment la personnalité en interaction . Ils ne peuvent pas être isolés individuellement, mais aident à comprendre nos comportements globaux et dans tous les domaines de la vie.

Le tempérament fait référence à la prédisposition innée affective et motivationnelle dont les manifestations sont dues à une origine biologique ou héréditaire plus primitive. C'est un phénomène considérablement stable dans le temps et soumis à une moindre proportion d'ingérences ethniques ou culturelles . Au contraire, le caractère, de nature plus cognitive et intentionnelle, découle d'influences environnementales et culturelles et est le produit d'expériences de vie extérieures.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Irwin G. Sarason, Psychologie anormale, Problème du comportement inapproprié, septième édition.
  • Neil R Carbon, Physiological Psychology, éditorial, Mexique, troisième édition.
  • Galileo Ortega, J.L. et Fernandez de Haro, E (2003); Encyclopédie de la petite enfance (vol2). Malaga Ed: Aljibe.
  • Delval, Juan (1996). Le développement humain Siglo Veintiuno de España Editores, S.A.

Les phases de l'enfance selon Freud (Juillet 2020).


Articles Connexes