yes, therapy helps!
The differences between hallucination, pseudo-hallucination and hallucinosis

The differences between hallucination, pseudo-hallucination and hallucinosis

May 5, 2024

Consciousness is a strange psychological phenomenon . On the one hand, it always appears from the hand of the perception of what surrounds us: when we are conscious, we always have proof that beyond our body there is something: shapes, colors, sounds, textures, or simply gravity.

However, these perceptions do not have to be true and, in fact, almost never are, to a greater or lesser extent. Fortunately, only in some cases does this degree of distortion of reality become so intense that it is a sign of mental pathology.

Next we will see what they are the differences between hallucination, hallucinosis and pseudoalucination , three types of ruptures with reality that can be confused by their superficial resemblance.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Hallucinations: definition, causes, and symptoms"

Differences between hallucination, hallucinosis and pseudoalucination

To understand how these three types of symptoms should be distinguished, we will first review what exactly each of them consists of.

What are hallucinations?

A hallucination is a perception that has not been triggered by a real element and that is attributed to the external environment to oneself. For example, someone who listens to hallucinated voices is unable to distinguish between these and the other noises that come from the environment, simply is unable to locate who emits them.

At the same time, hallucinations are also characterized by anosognosia, the fact of ignoring that what is experienced is a symptom of mental disorder or disease.


On the other hand, although most hallucinations are auditory, they can occur in any sensory modality: visual, tactile, etc.

  • Related article: "The 15 types of hallucinations (and their possible causes)"

Pseudoalucinations

In the case of pseudo hallucinations, these perceptions are also basically imaginary and do not come from a real element. However, in this case the person who experiences them is able to distinguish between the perceptions that come from the external environment and the pseudo-hallucinations, which he attributes to a source located in "his mind".

If the patient who experiences hallucinations claims to hear voices that are of the same nature as the doctor or doctor who interviews him, the sufferer presents pseudo-hallucinations, responding affirmatively and without hesitation to the question: "Do you hear voices coming from your head?" .


On the other hand, in the pseudo-hallucination, although the person recognizes that the voices, images or tactile experiences are not produced by external phenomena and consequently objectives (detectable by anyone who is nearby), considers that what happens does not indicate the presence of any mental disorder . That often does not seek help.

What is hallucinosis?

Hallucinosis is similar to hallucination and pseudo-hallucination in that in these three cases the experience is not directly produced by something that actually exists and that has the appearance that that "appearance" seems to indicate. However, the hallucination differs from the other two in several aspects.

First, hallucinosis is distinguished from hallucination in that the person knows that the experience does not come from outside It is not produced by an objective phenomenon: it is a product that only manifests itself in your consciousness and that can not be perceived by others.

Secondly, hallucinosis differs from pseudo-hallucination in that there is no anosognosia. There is a real awareness that what happens is not normal and that it is a symptom severe enough to ask for help.

What kind of diseases do they produce?

Both hallucinations and pseudo hallucinations are usually linked to psychiatric disorders, whereas hallucinosis occurs in neurological disorders.

This is so because in the first two the degree of involvement of the nervous system is so general that it affects globally all the consciousness and abstract thinking. The fact that a person does not see from the start a warning signal see, for example, a 10-meter dragon floating in the air, is itself a symptom of pathology. The same happens when you do not raise any suspicion about mental health if for days a voice is heard and you can never locate the person who issues it.

The hallucinosis, however, the degree of affectation of the disease is not so general as in hallucination and pseudo-hallucination, and focuses on specific areas of the brain, leaving the others relatively apart. This makes that hallucinosis is relatively more frequent especially in pathologies product of the use of psychoactive substances, for example.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 8 types of Psychotic Disorders"

Is it correct to use these concepts in mental health?

There are criticisms about the use of the term "pseudoalucination" , given that it has connotations that may lead to stigmatizing patients suffering from this condition.

The name suggests that the person invents the events that he describes and that he says he has experienced, something that as we have seen does not correspond to reality: although there is no stimulus as the person perceives it, this phenomenon is not a voluntary invention, something that is used only to access certain attention by the health system, for example.

That is why there are reasons to simply use the term hallucination "for these cases. Although it may seem a lie, in psychiatry and in clinical psychology appearances can come to matter a lot, especially when they affect the quality of life of patients.


What is PSEUDOHALLUCINATION? What does PSEUDOHALLUCINATION mean? PSEUDOHALLUDINATION meaning (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les différences entre hallucination, pseudo-hallucination et hallucinose

Les différences entre hallucination, pseudo-hallucination et hallucinose

Juin 16, 2022

La conscience est un phénomène psychologique étrange . D'une part, il apparaît toujours de la part de la perception de ce qui nous entoure: lorsque nous sommes conscients, nous avons toujours la preuve qu'au-delà de notre corps, il y a quelque chose: des formes, des couleurs, des sons, des textures ou tout simplement la gravité.

Cependant, ces perceptions ne doivent pas nécessairement être vraies et, en réalité, elles ne le sont presque jamais, dans une mesure plus ou moins grande. Heureusement, ce n'est que dans certains cas que ce degré de déformation de la réalité devient si intense qu'il s'agit d'un signe de pathologie mentale.

Ensuite, nous verrons ce qu'ils sont les différences entre hallucination, hallucinose et pseudoalucination , trois types de rupture avec la réalité qui peuvent être confondus par leur ressemblance superficielle.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Hallucinations: définition, causes et symptômes"

Différences entre hallucination, hallucinose et pseudoalucination

Pour comprendre comment distinguer ces trois types de symptômes, examinons d’abord en quoi consiste exactement chacun d’entre eux.

Que sont les hallucinations?

Une hallucination est une perception qui n'a pas été déclenchée par un élément réel et cela est attribué à l'environnement extérieur à soi-même. Par exemple, quelqu'un qui écoute des voix hallucinées est incapable de faire la distinction entre ces bruits et ceux provenant de l'environnement, il est tout simplement incapable de localiser qui les émet.

Dans le même temps, les hallucinations sont également caractérisées par l'anosognosie, le fait d'ignorer que l'expérience vécue est un symptôme de trouble mental ou de maladie mentale.


D'autre part, bien que la plupart des hallucinations soient auditives, elles peuvent survenir dans toutes les modalités sensorielles: visuelles, tactiles, etc.

  • Article connexe: "Les 15 types d'hallucinations (et leurs causes possibles)"

Pseudoalucinations

Dans le cas de pseudo hallucinations, ces perceptions sont aussi fondamentalement imaginaires et ne proviennent pas d'un élément réel. Cependant, dans ce cas, la personne qui en fait l'expérience est capable de faire la distinction entre les perceptions qui proviennent de l'environnement extérieur et les pseudo-hallucinations, qu'il attribue à une source située dans "son esprit".

Si le patient qui éprouve des hallucinations prétend entendre des voix de la même nature que le médecin ou le médecin qui l'interroge, le patient présente des pseudo-hallucinations, répondant affirmativement et sans hésiter à la question: "Entendez-vous des voix venant de votre tête?" .


En revanche, dans la pseudo-hallucination, bien que la personne reconnaisse que les voix, les images ou les expériences tactiles ne sont pas produites par des phénomènes externes et par conséquent des objectifs (détectables par quiconque se trouvant à proximité), considère que ce qui se passe n'indique pas la présence de troubles mentaux . Cela ne demande souvent pas d'aide.

Qu'est-ce que l'hallucinose?

L'hallucinose ressemble à l'hallucination et à la pseudo-hallucination en ce sens que l'expérience n'est pas directement produite par quelque chose qui existe réellement et qui a l'apparence que cette "apparence" semble indiquer. Cependant, l'hallucination diffère des deux autres à plusieurs égards.

Tout d'abord, l'hallucinose se distingue de l'hallucination en ce que la personne sait que l'expérience ne vient pas de l'extérieur Il n'est pas produit par un phénomène objectif: c'est un produit qui ne se manifeste que dans votre conscience et qui ne peut pas être perçu par les autres.

Deuxièmement, l'hallucinose diffère de la pseudo-hallucination en ce qu'il n'y a pas d'anosognosie. Il existe une réelle conscience que ce qui se passe n’est pas normal et qu’il s’agit d’un symptôme assez grave pour demander de l’aide.

Quel type de maladies produisent-ils?

Les hallucinations et les pseudo hallucinations sont généralement liées à des troubles psychiatriques, alors que l'hallucinose survient lors de troubles neurologiques.

En effet, dans les deux premiers cas, le degré d'implication du système nerveux est si général qu'il affecte globalement toute la conscience et la pensée abstraite. Le fait qu'une personne ne voit pas d'emblée un signal d'alerte, par exemple un dragon de 10 mètres flottant dans les airs, est en soi un symptôme de la pathologie. Il en va de même lorsque vous ne soulevez aucune suspicion à propos de la santé mentale si vous entendez une voix pendant des jours sans pouvoir localiser la personne qui la publie.

L'hallucinose, cependant, le degré d'affectation de la maladie n'est pas si général comme dans l'hallucination et pseudo-hallucination, et se concentre sur des zones spécifiques du cerveau, laissant les autres relativement séparés. Cela fait que l'hallucinose est relativement plus fréquente, en particulier dans les pathologies liées à l'utilisation de substances psychoactives, par exemple.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 8 types de troubles psychotiques"

Est-il correct d'utiliser ces concepts en santé mentale?

Il y a des critiques sur l'utilisation du terme "pseudoalucination" , étant donné qu’elle a des connotations qui peuvent conduire à la stigmatisation des patients atteints de cette maladie.

Le nom suggère que la personne invente les événements qu’elle décrit et qu'il dit avoir vécu quelque chose qui, comme nous l'avons vu, ne correspond pas à la réalité: bien qu'il n'y ait pas de stimulus tel que le perçoit la personne, ce phénomène n'est pas une invention volontaire, quelque chose qui sert uniquement à accéder à certaines attentions par le système de santé, par exemple.

C'est pourquoi il y a des raisons d'utiliser simplement le terme «hallucination» pour ces cas. Bien que cela puisse sembler être un mensonge, en psychiatrie et en psychologie clinique, les apparences peuvent avoir beaucoup d’importance, en particulier quand elles affectent la qualité de vie des patients.


What hallucination reveals about our minds | Oliver Sacks (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes