yes, therapy helps!
The differences between neurological and psychiatric disease

The differences between neurological and psychiatric disease

January 22, 2022

Often the terms "neurological disease" and "psychiatric illness" are used interchangeably , and there are even many experts who believe that there are no real differences between both types of disorder.

In this article we will describe the differences and similarities between neurological and psychiatric diseases.

What are neurological diseases?

Neurology is the branch of medicine that deals with the study of the anatomy, functions and organic alterations of the nervous system . This discipline is based largely on the contributions of neuroscience, which is defined as the study of the nervous system as a whole and is nourished by methods such as cellular analysis and neuroimaging.


When referring to neurological diseases, general reference is made to any type of disorder that involves the nervous system, regardless of its causes or symptoms. Therefore, it is a very broad term that can be used for phenomena as different as insomnia and Korsakoff syndrome.

There are many different types of neurological diseases. These can be classified according to different criteria; if we are guided by the location of the alterations, one of the most common, we find neurological disorders that affect the brain, the spinal cord, the cranial nerves, peripheral nerves or the autonomic nervous system.


Some illustrative examples of the alterations that are often categorized as neurological diseases are dementias and other neurodegenerative disorders, neuropathies, epilepsy or behavioral disorders caused by brain injuries, such as aphasia (which affects language) and apraxia (associated with the planning of movements).

The causes of neurological diseases are as varied as their manifestations . Among the most common are genetic alterations, nerve injuries from external causes, infections, vascular disorders and factors related to lifestyle such as malnutrition or excessive consumption of certain compounds.

Psychiatric illnesses or mental disorders

The concept "psychiatric illness" can be considered equivalent to "mental disorder" , which predominates in the field of psychology, with which psychiatry overlaps in a very significant (and often problematic) way. It is used to talk about alterations related to external behavior or what we know as "mind".


Psychiatry is the specialty of medicine that is responsible for the diagnosis, prevention and treatment of disorders or mental illness. Unlike psychology, it specializes specifically in pathology; in this sense it is very close to clinical psychology, although psychiatrists can prescribe pharmacological treatments.

This discipline has been even more questioned than psychology for its conception and management of mental problems. Critical perspectives with psychiatry deny the social labeling that derives from medical diagnoses, the rigidity of this type of procedure and the medicalization of non-pathological interindividual differences.

Psychiatric diseases may be due to both organic and environmental causes ; For example, traits such as neuroticism, which predispose to the development of anxiety disorders, are largely determined by genetic factors, although stress and other psychosocial variables (for example substance abuse) are also fundamental.

Among the so-called mental disorders we can highlight alterations such as schizophrenia, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder or ADHD, anorexia and bulimia nervosa, post-traumatic stress disorder, dementias and bipolar disorder. As we see, some of them can also be categorized as neurological diseases.

Differences and similarities between these types of alteration

In general, we tend to understand psychiatry and neurology as complementary sciences. Thus, both would share the interest in many disorders, although each of them would deal specifically with some and would make a different emphasis in the analysis of the manifestations of the alterations and in that of their neurophysiological correlates.

However, some people consider that the syndromes referred to as "psychiatric diseases" are simply neurological disorders whose anatomical and physiological features have not been fully identified at the moment. From this perspective, psychiatry would not be necessary but an example of the atavistic body-mind dualism.

David and Nicholson (2015) deny this idea and propose that the basic difference between neurology and psychiatry is that the second focuses on behaviors and mental contents such as thoughts, perceptions and emotions, while neurology deals with preferential form of the organic basis of the disorders.

In the same line, Baker et al. (2002) warned that neurology should be cautious, although it affirmed that psychiatry would also benefit from the knowledge obtained by the neurosciences. According to the authors, mental health can not be reduced to its neuroanatomical correlates ; Each of these sciences would therefore have its own area of ​​specialization.

Bibliographic references:

  • Baker, M. G., Kale, R. & Menken, M. (2002). The wall between neurology and psychiatry: Advances in neuroscience indicate it's time to tear it down. BMJ, 324 (7352): 1468-9.
  • David, A. S. & Nicholson, T. (2015). Are neurological and psychiatric disorders different? British Journal of Psychiatry, 207 (5): 373-4.

Autoimmune neurological disease research: Mayo Clinic Radio (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les différences entre les maladies neurologiques et psychiatriques

Les différences entre les maladies neurologiques et psychiatriques

Septembre 18, 2019

Souvent, les termes "maladie neurologique" et "maladie psychiatrique" sont utilisés indifféremment. et même de nombreux experts estiment qu'il n'y a pas de réelle différence entre les deux types de désordre.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire les différences et les similitudes entre les maladies neurologiques et psychiatriques.

Que sont les maladies neurologiques?

La neurologie est la branche de la médecine qui étudie l’anatomie, les fonctions et les altérations organiques du système nerveux. . Cette discipline repose en grande partie sur les contributions de la neuroscience, définie comme l’étude du système nerveux dans son ensemble, et se nourrit de méthodes telles que l’analyse cellulaire et la neuroimagerie.


Lorsqu'on parle de maladies neurologiques, on fait généralement référence à tout type de trouble impliquant le système nerveux, quelles qu'en soient les causes ou les symptômes. C'est donc un terme très large qui peut être utilisé pour des phénomènes aussi différents que l'insomnie et le syndrome de Korsakoff.

Il existe de nombreux types de maladies neurologiques. Celles-ci peuvent être classées selon différents critères. si nous sommes guidés par la localisation des altérations, l'une des plus courantes, nous découvrons des troubles neurologiques qui affectent le cerveau, la moelle épinière, les nerfs crâniens, les nerfs périphériques ou le système nerveux autonome.


Des exemples illustrant les altérations souvent qualifiées de maladies neurologiques sont la démence et d’autres troubles neurodégénératifs, les neuropathies, l’épilepsie ou des troubles du comportement causés par des lésions cérébrales, telles que l’aphasie (qui affecte le langage) et l’apraxie (associée à la planification des mouvements).

Les causes des maladies neurologiques sont aussi variées que leurs manifestations . Les plus courantes sont les altérations génétiques, les lésions nerveuses de causes externes, les infections, les troubles vasculaires et les facteurs liés au mode de vie, tels que la malnutrition ou la consommation excessive de certains composés.

Maladies psychiatriques ou troubles mentaux

Le concept de "maladie psychiatrique" peut être considéré comme équivalent à "trouble mental" , qui prédomine dans le domaine de la psychologie, avec lequel la psychiatrie se chevauche de manière très significative (et souvent problématique). Il est utilisé pour parler d'altérations liées à un comportement externe ou de ce que nous appelons "l'esprit".


La psychiatrie est la spécialité de la médecine chargée du diagnostic, de la prévention et du traitement des troubles ou de la maladie mentale. Contrairement à la psychologie, il est spécialisé en pathologie; dans ce sens, il est très proche de la psychologie clinique, même si les psychiatres peuvent prescrire des traitements pharmacologiques.

Cette discipline a été encore plus remise en question que la psychologie pour sa conception et sa gestion des problèmes mentaux. Les perspectives critiques avec la psychiatrie nient l’étiquetage social qui découle des diagnostics médicaux, la rigidité de ce type de procédure et la médicalisation des différences interindividuelles non pathologiques.

Les maladies psychiatriques peuvent être dues à des causes organiques et environnementales ; Par exemple, des caractéristiques telles que le neuroticisme, qui prédisposent au développement des troubles anxieux, sont largement déterminées par des facteurs génétiques, bien que le stress et d’autres variables psychosociales (par exemple la toxicomanie) soient également fondamentaux.

Parmi les soi-disant troubles mentaux, nous pouvons mettre en évidence des altérations telles que la schizophrénie, le trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention ou TDAH, l'anorexie et la boulimie nerveuse, le trouble de stress post-traumatique, les démences et le trouble bipolaire. Comme nous le voyons, certaines d’entre elles peuvent également être classées dans la catégorie des maladies neurologiques.

Différences et similitudes entre ces types d'altération

En général, nous avons tendance à comprendre la psychiatrie et la neurologie comme des sciences complémentaires. Ainsi, les uns et les autres partageraient l’intérêt pour de nombreux troubles, bien que chacun d’entre eux traiterait spécifiquement de certains troubles et mettrait un accent différent sur l’analyse des manifestations des altérations et sur celle de leurs corrélats neurophysiologiques.

Cependant, certaines personnes considèrent que les syndromes appelés "maladies psychiatriques" sont simplement des troubles neurologiques dont les caractéristiques anatomiques et physiologiques n’ont pas encore été pleinement identifiées. De ce point de vue, la psychiatrie ne serait pas nécessaire mais un exemple du dualisme ataviste corps-esprit.

David et Nicholson (2015) nient cette idée et proposent que la différence fondamentale entre neurologie et psychiatrie réside dans le fait que la seconde se concentre sur les comportements et les contenus mentaux tels que les pensées, les perceptions et les émotions, tandis que la neurologie traite forme préférentielle de la base organique des troubles.

Dans le même esprit, Baker et al. (2002) ont averti que la neurologie devrait être prudente, tout en affirmant que la psychiatrie bénéficierait également des connaissances acquises par les neurosciences. Selon les auteurs, la santé mentale ne peut être réduite à ses corrélats neuroanatomiques ; Chacune de ces sciences aurait donc son propre domaine de spécialisation.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Baker, M.G., Kale, R. et Menken, M. (2002). Le mur entre la neurologie et la psychiatrie: les avancées en neurosciences indiquent qu'il est temps de la démolir. BMJ, 324 (7352): 1468-9.
  • David, A.S. et Nicholson, T. (2015). Les troubles neurologiques et psychiatriques sont-ils différents? British Journal of Psychiatry, 207 (5): 373-4.

Difference entre neurologie, psychiatrie et neuropsychiatrie (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes