yes, therapy helps!
The differences between the assonant rhyme and the consonant

The differences between the assonant rhyme and the consonant

June 22, 2024

Poetry is one of the most prolific arts Throughout history and in which greater transmission of emotions and feelings are reflected through the word. In fact, it means putting into words what a person is feeling or feeling about a particular topic. Lorca, Unamuno, Rubén Darío, Machado, Neruda, Rosalía de Castro or Bécquer are just some of the relatively modern Spanish exponents of this art. Within the poetry a great multitude of literary resources can be used. One of which is the rhyme, which although it is not essential is often used in poetry and music.

But not all rhymes are the same, being able to be cataloged according to different classifications. Between the two most popular categories we find the assonating rhyme and the consonant rhyme, whose differences we will talk about throughout this article.


  • Maybe you're interested: "23 poems by Pablo Neruda that will fascinate you"

The concept of rhyme

Before distinguishing between assonant rhyme and consonant, it is advisable to make a brief revision to the concept of rhyme. Rhyming is understood as the use of a series of sounds or words with repeated or similar elements in two separate sentences, in such a way that a certain resonance is generated between them. This resonance is purely aesthetic , not having to have any relationship at the grammar or lexical level.

As we have mentioned, it is a technique widely used at the level of poetry and the use of language in verse, as well as in music. It is part of all elaboration created in verse, configuring the lyrical genre . Even the absence of rhyme is considered a type of rhyme, the white or free rhyme. Its main purpose is to produce a cadence or rhythm that contributes to making the message sent something more beautiful and melodic.


As we have said, there are many types of rhymes according to characteristics such as rhymed or repeating elements, their presence or absence or the way in which the different verses are linked. But of all of them, there are two main ones: the rhyme assonance and consonant.

  • Related article: "Art therapy: psychological therapy through art"

Assaulting rhyme

Assonating rhyme is understood as that which occurs between words of different verses in which they are repeated, from the tonic syllable (concretely of its last vowel), the vowels of the last word of both verses. The consonants present in them can vary enormously , not requiring any relationship between those present in both words and assuming the use of different phonemes and sounds. In this way the words of both verses do not have to end exactly the same, but their similarity and resonance is due to the repetition of the vowels.


This kind of rhythm allows greater flexibility when building a poem or poetry . They are considered imperfect rhymes, being mainly the sonority of the words that generate it.

An example of a rhyming assonance can be seen in the following fragment of a poem by Bécquer, in which even rhymes are assonant (sea and crystal, death and eternally, crepe and love):

The sun will be able to cloud forever. The sea will dry in an instant. The axis of the earth will break. Like a weak crystal, everything will happen! Death can cover me with its funeral crepe But never in me can the flame of your love be extinguished.

Rhyme

Formerly considered perfect rhymes , consonant rhymes with those that occur when the last word of two (or more) verses contain the same phonemes from the tonic syllable. The sounds are identical, both at the level of vowels and at the level of consonants. Thus, the last word of the rhyming verses has an identical ending.

It is important to bear in mind, however, that a rhyme can be consonant without the need for consonants in the word in question: it is only that the sound is identical in its entirety. It should also be noted that we have said that we are talking about sounds and not letters , may not exist the same letter exactly in both verses while it sounds the same way.

An example of consonant rhyme can be seen in the following fragment of a poem, in this case by Federico García Lorca (in which we can see how the -igo and -ores terminations are repeated):

* I want to mourn my grief and I tell you so that you love me and you cry me in a nightfall of nightingales with a dagger, with kisses and with you

I want to kill the only witness for the murder of my flowers and turn my crying and my sweats into eternal pile of hard wheat. *

Similarities and differences

The similarities and differences between the rhyme assonance and the consonant rhyme They are quite obvious. In both cases we are faced with a literary device used with great frequency in the lyrical genre and even in other genres and arts.In both cases the vowels are also used as an element to generate rhythmicity and melody within the work.

On the other hand, the main difference is that in the case of the assonating rhyme there is not a complete overlap of the sounds emitted between the verses that rhyme, while it does happen with the consonant rhyme. It may also be more difficult to generate a consonant-type rhyme due to the need for the same sounds to be adapted, although on the other hand the assonating rhyme implies having a clear idea of ​​which concrete sounds have to be repeated.


What's the Difference: Assonance vs. Consonance (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les différences entre la rime assonante et la consonne

Les différences entre la rime assonante et la consonne

Septembre 20, 2022

La poésie est l'un des arts les plus prolifiques Tout au long de l'histoire et dans laquelle une plus grande transmission des émotions et des sentiments se reflète à travers le mot. En fait, cela signifie mettre en mots ce que ressent ou ressent une personne sur un sujet particulier. Lorca, Unamuno, Rubén Darío, Machado, Neruda, Rosalía de Castro ou Bécquer ne sont que quelques-uns des exposants espagnols relativement modernes de cet art. Dans la poésie, une multitude de ressources littéraires peuvent être utilisées. L’une d’elles est la comptine, qui, bien que peu essentielle, est souvent utilisée dans la poésie et la musique.

Mais toutes les rimes ne sont pas identiques, pouvant être cataloguées selon différentes classifications. Entre les deux catégories les plus populaires on trouve la comptine assonante et la consonne dont nous parlerons des différences tout au long de cet article.


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "23 poèmes de Pablo Neruda qui vont vous fasciner"

Le concept de la rime

Avant de faire la distinction entre rime assonante et consonne, il est conseillé de procéder à une brève révision du concept de rime. La rime est comprise comme l'utilisation d'une série de sons ou de mots avec des éléments répétés ou similaires dans deux phrases distinctes, de manière à générer une certaine résonance entre elles. Cette résonance est purement esthétique , ne pas avoir de relation au niveau grammatical ou lexical.

Comme nous l’avons mentionné, c’est une technique largement utilisée au niveau de la poésie et de l’utilisation du langage dans les vers, ainsi que dans la musique. Cela fait partie de toute élaboration créée au verset, configurant le genre lyrique . Même l'absence de rime est considérée comme un type de rime, la rime blanche ou libre. Son objectif principal est de produire une cadence ou un rythme qui contribue à rendre le message envoyé quelque chose de plus beau et mélodique.


Comme nous l'avons dit, il existe de nombreux types de rimes en fonction de caractéristiques telles que des éléments rimés ou répétés, de leur présence ou de leur absence ou de la manière dont les différents versets sont liés. Mais de tous, il y en a deux principaux: la rime assonance et la consonne.

  • Article connexe: "Art-thérapie: thérapie psychologique à travers l'art"

Rime assaut

On entend par rime assonante ce qui se passe entre des mots de différents vers dans lesquels ils se répètent, à partir de la syllabe tonique (concrètement de sa dernière voyelle), des voyelles du dernier mot des deux vers. Les consonnes présentes peuvent varier énormément , ne nécessitant aucune relation entre ceux présents dans les deux mots et supposant l’utilisation de phonèmes et de sons différents. De cette manière, les mots des deux versets ne doivent pas nécessairement se terminer exactement de la même manière, mais leur similitude et leur résonance sont dues à la répétition des voyelles.


Ce genre de rythme permet une plus grande flexibilité lors de la construction d'un poème ou d'une poésie . Ils sont considérés comme des comptines imparfaites, étant principalement la sonorité des mots qui le génèrent.

On trouvera un exemple d’assonance de rimes dans le fragment suivant d’un poème de Bécquer, dans lequel même les rimes sont assonantes (mer et cristal, mort et éternellement, crêpe et amour):

Le soleil va pouvoir se couvrir à tout jamais, la mer va sécher en un instant, l'axe de la terre va se briser, comme tout un cristal, tout se passera! La mort peut me recouvrir de sa crêpe funéraire. Mais jamais en moi la flamme de ton amour ne pourra s'éteindre.

Rime Consonne

Des rimes autrefois considérées comme parfaites , rimes compatibles avec celles qui se produisent lorsque le dernier mot de deux versets (ou plus) contient les mêmes phonèmes de la syllabe tonique. Les sons sont identiques, aussi bien au niveau des voyelles que des consonnes. Ainsi, le dernier mot des vers rimes a une fin identique.

Il est important de garder à l’esprit, cependant, qu’une rime peut être consonne sans que le mot en question ait besoin de consonnes: il n’ya que le son qui est identique dans son intégralité. Il convient également de noter que nous avons dit que nous parlons de sons et non de lettres , peut ne pas exister la même lettre exactement dans les deux versets alors que cela sonne de la même manière.

Un exemple de rime de consonance peut être vu dans le fragment suivant d'un poème, ici de Federico García Lorca (dans lequel on peut voir comment les terminaisons -igo et -ores se répètent):

* Je veux pleurer mon chagrin et je te le dis pour que tu m'aimes et que tu me cries dans une nuit de rossignols avec un poignard, des bisous et avec toi

Je veux tuer le seul témoin du meurtre de mes fleurs et transformer mes pleurs et mes sueurs en une éternelle pile de blé dur. *

Similarités et différences

Les similitudes et les différences entre l’assonance de la rime et la rime de la consonne Ils sont assez évidents. Dans les deux cas, nous sommes confrontés à un dispositif littéraire utilisé avec une grande fréquence dans le genre lyrique et même dans d'autres genres et arts.Dans les deux cas, les voyelles sont également utilisées comme élément pour générer de la rythmicité et de la mélodie dans l’œuvre.

De l’autre côté, la principale différence est que, dans le cas de la rime assonante, il n’ya pas de chevauchement complet des sons émis entre les vers qui riment, alors que cela se produit avec la rime consonante. Il peut également être plus difficile de générer une rime de type consonne en raison de la nécessité d’adapter les mêmes sons, bien que, d’autre part, la rime assonante implique de savoir clairement quels sons concrets doivent être répétés.


3. Estructura de seguidillas y cuartetas. Fraseo melódico. (ENG Substitles) (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes