yes, therapy helps!
The different forms of child abuse

The different forms of child abuse

May 6, 2021

In the last decades the study of the subject of child abuse has experienced a considerable boom .

It has gone from being a question traditionally assumed by society as a normal practice to being an important area of ​​research from the publication of the first investigations of the late twentieth century.

What is child abuse?

The concept of child abuse can be defined as any action from the responsible for the child, either by commission or omission, which puts (or may end up putting) at risk the physical, emotional or cognitive integrity of the child.

One of the determining aspects that are analyzed to assess the existence or not of this phenomenon comes from the study of the environment in which the child develops. There is usually talk of maladaptive environment or harmful when there are various factors such as a destructuring at the family level, which frequently involves aggressive interactions, low affection, a marginal socio-economic level, a dysfunctional school environment at the psychopedagogical level, a social environment lacking interests, cultural-urban resources insufficient, or presence of a conflictive environment in the neighborhood.


A definition of child maltreatment similar to the one exposed is the one that collectsto the General Assembly of the United Nations Organization 1989: "Child abuse is any form of violence, physical or mental harm or abuse, neglect or negligent treatment, abuse or exploitation, which occurs while the child is in the custody of their parents, a guardian or any other another person who has you in charge ".

1. Types of child maltreatment

The concept of child abuse has evolved from the Old Age to the present time, from being a practice that in no case was considered reportable, until it was defined as a crime from the last decades of the last century. The initial denial of considering child maltreatment as an untenable phenomenon has traditionally been justified by obeying three main principles: the idea that the child is the property of the parents, the belief that violence and aggression are accepted as appropriate disciplinary methods and the lack of consideration of the rights of the minor as legitimate.


1.1. Physical abuse

Physical abuse has been defined by Arruabarrena and De Paúl as a type of voluntary behavior that causes either physical harm to the child or the development of a physical illness (or risk of suffering). It has, therefore, a component of intentionality with respect to inflicting harm on the child in an active manner.

Different types of physical abuse can be distinguished in terms of the purpose that the parents wish to achieve: as a way of imparting discipline, as an expression of rejection of the child, as an expression of sadistic characteristics on the part of the aggressor or as a result of lack of control in a specific conflictive family situation.

1.2. The emotional abuse

On the other hand, emotional abuse does not present the same objectivity and clarity regarding the possibility of delimiting it. The same authors conceptualize it as the set of behaviors related to an interaction more or less maintained in time and that is based on an attitude of verbal hostility (insults, scorn, threats) as well as in blocking any initiative of interaction on the part of the child towards their parents or caregivers. Being able to limit it as a form of child abuse is complicated.


On the other hand, Emotional abandonment is understood as the absence of answers from parents who are permanently passive in response to the demands or signals that the minor issues about their needs for interaction and behaviors of affection with respect to said parental figures.

The main difference between both phenomena alludes, once again, to the intentionality of the action; in the first case the action is committed and in the second, omitted.

1.3. Child neglect

Child neglect or physical neglect consists of the action to stop attending to the minor to whom the obligation of caring is , either putting a physical distance objectively observable or not. Therefore, this practice is understood as an attitude of omission, although certain authors such as Polansky consider that this act is carried out voluntarily by the parents. The consequences of negligence can be physical, cognitive, emotional or social, according to Cantón and Cortés.

In addition, Martínez and De Paúl have differentiated between the concepts of negligence and physical abandonment.The first phenomenon can be both conscious and unconscious and may be due to aspects such as the ignorance and lack of culture of the parents, not considering these acts as possible causes of psychological harm to the child. On the other hand, the physical abandonment is more oriented to consequences of damage to the organism (bodily harm) and is understood as a case of extreme negligence.

2. Causes of child maltreatment

Traditionally, and until the nineties, the presence of psychopathological alterations in the parents had been unequivocally related to the existence of practices of child abuse in the family nucleus.

After the investigations of recent years, it seems that the explanatory causes point to factors closer to socio-economic aspects and unfavorable contextual circumstances that diminish the network of social support of the minor and of the family in general, generating in the last term tensions in the family system.

Thus, an explanatory model that has had an important empirical support is the one proposed by Parke and Colimer in the seventies and ratified by Wolfe in the eighties. These authors found that the following list of characteristics maintains a significant correlation with the existence of child abuse behaviors in the family system:

  • Scarce parental abilities in stress management and in the care of the child.
  • Ignorance about the nature of the evolutionary development process in the human being.
  • Distorted expectations about child behavior.
  • Ignorance and underestimation of the importance of affection and empathic understanding.
  • Tendency to present high levels of physiological activation on the part of the parents and ignorance of adequate ways of discipline alternative to aggression.

From the psychological to the familiar, social and cultural

On the other hand Belsky, exposed at the same time an ecosystemic approach to explain the causes that lead to the appearance of child abuse. The author defends in his theory that the factors can operate in different ecological levels: in the microsystem, in the macrosystem and in the exosystem.

In the first, the specific behaviors of the individuals and the psychological characteristics of the individuals are distinguished as study variables; in the second, socioeconomic, structural and cultural variables are included (resources and access to them, values ​​and normative attitudes of society, fundamentally); and in the third level, social relations and the professional field are evaluated.

Other authors such as Larrance and Twentyman point to the presence of cognitive distortions in mothers of abused children, while Wolfe is more inclined to base causality on findings that demonstrate negligent behaviors of avoidance and withdrawal of affect. Tymchuc, on the other hand, has found a correlation between limited intellectual capacity and negligent attitude in the treatment of the children themselves, although this does not mean that all mothers with diagnosed mental retardation necessarily apply this dysfunctional behavior.

Finally, from the cognitive perspective Crittenden and Milner proposed in the nineties that there is a significant relationship between the type of information processing received from outside (interactions with the child, for example) and the presence of child abuse. It seems to have been proved that abusive parents present problems of interpretation of the meaning of the behaviors and demands expressed by the child.

Thus, in the face of such perceptive alteration, parents often issue avoidance, alienation or ignorance responses to the minor's request since they elaborate a belief in learned helplessness assuming that they will not be able to incorporate a new, more adaptive and adequate methodology. In addition, according to the study, this type of parents also tend to underestimate the satisfaction of the needs of their children prioritizing other types of obligations and activities ahead of the child.

3. Indicators of child maltreatment

As we have seen, emotional abuse is more complex to demonstrate since the indicators are not so clearly observable as in the case of physical abuse. Anyway, there are certain signals coming from both the minor and the adult abuser that can make the alarms jump and they serve to endow with a more solid base the proof that they are giving this type of behaviors.

3.1. Indicators of child abuse in the victim

In a first set of variables to be evaluated are the manifestations that the lowest as a victim externalizes through his verbalizations and behaviors , for example: maintaining a withdrawn, accommodating attitude, or expressing refusal to share fears and certain experiences with other people close to you; suffer alterations in academic performance and in relationships with peers; present dysfunction in sphincter control, feeding or sleep; show alterations in certain personality traits and mood, or develop sexual disorders.

3.2. Indicators of child abuse in the aggressor

In a second group of factors are those that refer to Parental behaviors that are linked to child abuse practices relatively frequently . These attitudes vary according to age, but in most cases they tend to be directed towards the child rejection actions, isolation and avoidance of contact, ignorance and indifference to the minor's demands, use of threats and fears, exaggerated punishments , denial in the expression of affection, absence of communication, contempt, excessive demands demanding, or blocking the development of an autonomous operation, among others.

3.3. Psychological indicators of child maltreatment

At a third level are the alterations produced in the basic capacities of cognitive learning such as language, symbolic and abstract thinking, emotional self-control and the management of impulsivity in interpersonal relationships. Related to it, can be referred to the educational consequences suffered by the child exposed to emotional neglect , like for example the fact of spending most of the day alone without receiving any kind of attention, frequent absences of unjustified attendance to the school or little participation and family-school collaboration.

3.4. Indicators of child abuse in the family climate

Ultimately in the coexistence area of ​​the family nucleus the observable damages correspond to the presence of affective rejection, isolation, verbal hostility and threats , incommunicado and under parental emotional control as examples of emotional abuse; and persistent lack of responses to the minor's demands and lack of communication regarding signs of emotional abandonment.

4. Child maltreatment prevention factors

According to the proposal of the Theory of Systems of Beavers and other later authors, a series of dimensions are distinguished that contribute in a determining way to the establishment of an atmosphere of adaptive family relationship and satisfactory as the following:

  • A structure and organization where each of the subsystems is delimited (the relationship between the spouses, the fraternal relationship, etc.) while allowing some permeability between them.
  • The presence of affective behaviors between the members.
  • A functioning circumscribed to the democratic educational style where the behavioral control of the progeny is clearly defined.
  • Stable parental personality traits and clear establishment of the roles they play in the family nucleus.
  • A communicative dynamic based on correspondence , expressiveness, and clarity.
  • A defined relation with respect to systems external to the primary family nucleus (other family members, friends, educational community, neighborhood, etc.).
  • How the performance of the tasks assigned to each member occurs to favor the psychological development of the youngest in the main vital areas (interpersonal relationships, coping difficulties, behavior repertoire, emotional stability, etc.).

From the set of the exposed dimensions it is clear that the family must provide the child with a stable space equipped with the resources that allow him to have his needs as a covered human being, both physical and affective and educational.

More specifically, López points out that There are three main types of needs that the family must safeguard in relation to their offspring :

  • The physiobiological : as food, hygiene, clothing, health, protection against physical hazards, etc.
  • The cognitive : an adequate and coherent education in values ​​and norms, the facilitation and exposure to a level of stimulation that speeds up their learning.
  • The emotional and social : the feeling of knowing oneself valued, accepted and esteemed; the offer of support to encourage the development of relationships with peers; the consideration of their involvement in decisions and family actions, among others.

In conclusion

Definitely, there are many different manifestations of child abuse , far from considering exclusively physical abuse as the only valid and recognizable typology. All of them can lead to the appearance of psychological consequences of intense gravity in the minor, independently of the kind of practice in question.

On the other hand, the assumption that this problem has a multi-causal origin seems clear, although the contextual and socio-economic factors are central to the causal determination of the phenomenon of child abuse.

It should be noted, in the end, the relevance of analyzing in depth how the indications that explain what kind of prevention and protection practices are useful can be applied and effective in order to avoid falling into the appearance of this serious behavioral deviation.

Bibliographic references:

  • Arruabarrena, Mª I. and de Paul, J. Abuse of children in the family. Evaluation and treatment, Ediciones Pirámide, Madrid, 2005.
  • Beavers, W.R. and Hampson, R. B. (1995).Successful families (Evaluation, treatment and intervention), Barcelona, ​​Paidós.
  • Belsky, J. (1993). Etiology of child maltreatment: a developmental-ecological analysis. Psychological Bulletin, 114, 413-434.
  • Cantón, J. and Cortés, M.A. (1997). Ill treatment and child sexual abuse. Madrid: Siglo XXI.
  • Crittenden, P. (1988). Family and dyadic patterns of functioning in maltreating families. In K. Browne, C.
  • Larrance, D.T. and Twentyman, C.T. (1983). Maternal attributions and child abuse. Journal of Abnormal Psychology, 92, 449-457.
  • López, F. (1995): The needs of children. Theoretical foundation, classification and educational criteria of children's needs (volume I and II). Madrid, Ministry of Social Affairs.
  • Milner, J.S. (nineteen ninety five). The application of the theory of the processing of social information to the problem of physical abuse to children. Childhood and Learning, 71, 125-134.
  • Parke, R.D. & Collmer, C. W. (1975). Child abuse: An interdisciplinary analysis. In E.M. Hetherington (Ed.). Review of child development research (vol 5). Chicago: University of Chicago Press.
  • Polansky, N.A., De Saix, C. and Sharlin, S.A. (1972). Child neglect. Understanding and reaching the parent. Washington: Child Welfare League of America.
  • Tymchuc, A. J. and Andron, L. (1990). Mothers with mental retardation who do not abuse or neglect their children. Child Abuse and Neglect, 14, 313-324.
  • Wolfe, D. (1985). Child abusive parents: an empirical review and analysis. Psychological Bulletin, 97, 462-482.

Reaching Out: Child abuse, the different types and who's at risk. (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les différentes formes de maltraitance d'enfants

Les différentes formes de maltraitance d'enfants

Février 18, 2019

Dans les dernières décennies l'étude sur le sujet de la maltraitance des enfants a connu un essor considérable .

De la question généralement admise par la société comme pratique habituelle, elle est devenue un domaine de recherche important depuis la publication des premières enquêtes de la fin du XXe siècle.

Qu'est-ce que la maltraitance des enfants?

Le concept de abus d'enfant peut être défini comme toute action du responsable de l’enfant, par commission ou par omission, qui met (ou peut finir par compromettre) l’intégrité physique, émotionnelle ou cognitive de l’enfant.

L’un des aspects déterminants analysés pour évaluer l’existence ou non de ce phénomène provient de l’étude de l’environnement dans lequel se développe l’enfant. On parle généralement de environnement inadapté o nuisible quand il y a divers facteurs tels qu'une déstructuration au niveau de la famille, qui implique souvent des interactions agressives, une faible affection, un niveau socio-économique marginal, un environnement scolaire dysfonctionnel au niveau psychopédagogique, un environnement social sans intérêts, des ressources culturelles-urbaines insuffisante ou présence d’un environnement conflictuel dans le quartier.


Une définition de la maltraitance infantile similaire à celle exposée est celle qui recueilleà l'Assemblée générale de l'Organisation des Nations Unies 1989: "La maltraitance des enfants est toute forme de violence, de préjudice physique ou mental, de négligence ou de traitement négligent, de maltraitance ou d'exploitation, qui survient pendant que l'enfant est sous la garde de ses parents, d'un tuteur ou de toute autre personne. une autre personne qui vous a en charge ".

1. Types de maltraitance envers les enfants

La notion de maltraitance envers les enfants a évolué de la vieillesse à l’époque actuelle, passant d’une pratique qu’aucun cas n’a été considérée à signaler, jusqu’à ce qu’elle soit définie comme un crime des dernières décennies du siècle dernier. Le refus initial de considérer la maltraitance envers les enfants comme un phénomène insoutenable a toujours été justifié par le respect de trois principes fondamentaux: l’idée que l’enfant est la propriété des parents, la conviction que la violence et l’agression sont acceptées comme des méthodes disciplinaires appropriées. le manque de considération des droits du mineur comme légitimes.


1.1. Abus physique

La violence physique a été définie par Arruabarrena et De Paúl comme un type de comportement volontaire qui cause un préjudice physique à l'enfant ou le développement d'une maladie physique (ou risque de souffrance). Il s’agit donc d’une intention intentionnelle d’infliger un préjudice actif à l’enfant.

Différents types de violence physique peuvent être distingués en termes d'objectifs que les parents souhaitent atteindre: comme moyen de discipline, comme expression du rejet de l'enfant, comme caractéristique sadique de l'agresseur ou par manque de contrôle dans une situation familiale conflictuelle spécifique.

1.2. L'abus émotionnel

D'autre part, la violence psychologique ne présente pas la même objectivité et la même clarté quant à la possibilité de la délimiter. Les mêmes auteurs le conceptualisent comme l'ensemble des comportements liés à une interaction plus ou moins maintenue dans le temps et qui repose sur une attitude d'hostilité verbale (insultes, mépris, menaces) ainsi que pour bloquer toute initiative d’interaction de la part de l’enfant à l’égard de leurs parents ou de leurs gardiens. Être capable de limiter cela en tant que forme de maltraitance d'enfants est compliqué.


D'un autre côté, L’abandon émotionnel est compris comme l’absence de réponse des parents qui sont en permanence passifs en réponse aux demandes ou aux signaux indiquant que les problèmes mineurs concernent leurs besoins d’interaction et de comportements d’affection à l’égard desdites figures parentales.

La principale différence entre les deux phénomènes fait à nouveau allusion à l’intentionnalité de l’action; dans le premier cas, l'action est engagée et dans le second, omise.

1.3. Négligence de l'enfant

La négligence envers les enfants ou la négligence physique consiste en l'action de cesser d'assister le mineur à qui l'obligation de soigner est , soit en mettant une distance physique objectivement observable ou non. Par conséquent, cette pratique est comprise comme une attitude d’omission, bien que certains auteurs, tels que Polansky, considèrent que cet acte est commis volontairement par les parents. Les conséquences de la négligence peuvent être physiques, cognitives, émotionnelles ou sociales, selon Cantón et Cortés.

De plus, Martínez et De Paúl ont différencié les concepts de négligence et d'abandon physique.Le premier phénomène peut être à la fois conscient et inconscient et peut être dû à des aspects tels que l'ignorance et le manque de culture des parents, sans considérer ces actes comme des causes possibles de préjudice psychologique pour l'enfant. D'autre part, l'abandon physique est davantage orienté vers les conséquences des dommages causés à l'organisme (lésions corporelles) et est compris comme un cas de négligence extrême.

2. Causes de la maltraitance envers les enfants

Traditionnellement et jusque dans les années quatre-vingt-dix, la présence d'altérations psychopathologiques chez les parents était sans équivoque liée à l'existence de pratiques de maltraitance dans le noyau familial.

Après les enquêtes de ces dernières années, il semble que les causes explicatives indiquent des facteurs plus proches des aspects socio-économiques et des circonstances contextuelles défavorables cela diminue le réseau de soutien social du mineur et de la famille en général, générant au final des tensions dans le système familial.

Ainsi, un modèle explicatif bénéficiant d’un important support empirique est celui proposé par Parke et Colimer dans les années soixante-dix et ratifié par Wolfe dans les années quatre-vingt. Ces auteurs ont constaté que la liste suivante de caractéristiques maintient une corrélation significative avec l'existence de comportements de maltraitance d'enfants dans le système familial:

  • Peu de capacités parentales dans la gestion du stress et dans les soins de l'enfant.
  • Ignorance sur la nature du processus de développement évolutif dans l'être humain.
  • Attentes déformées sur le comportement des enfants.
  • Ignorance et sous-estimation de l'importance de l'affection et compréhension empathique.
  • Tendance à présenter des niveaux élevés d'activation physiologique de la part des parents et l’ignorance des moyens adéquats de discipline autres que l’agression.

Du psychologique au familier, social et culturel

Par ailleurs, Belsky a également exposé une approche écosystémique pour expliquer les causes qui ont conduit à l’apparition de la maltraitance des enfants. L'auteur défend dans sa théorie que les facteurs peuvent fonctionner à différents niveaux écologiques: dans le microsystème, dans le macrosystème et dans l'exosystème.

Dans le premier cas, les comportements spécifiques des individus et les caractéristiques psychologiques des individus sont distingués en tant que variables d’étude; dans le second cas, les variables socio-économiques, structurelles et culturelles sont incluses (ressources et accès à celles-ci, valeurs et attitudes normatives de la société, fondamentalement); et au troisième niveau, les relations sociales et le domaine professionnel sont évalués.

D'autres auteurs, tels que Larrance et Twentyman, soulignent la présence de distorsions cognitives chez les mères d'enfants maltraités, tandis que Wolfe est plus enclin à fonder la causalité sur des constatations qui démontrent des comportements négligents consistant à éviter et à retirer l'affect. Tymchuc, d'autre part, a trouvé une corrélation entre une capacité intellectuelle limitée et une attitude négligente dans le traitement des enfants eux-mêmes, bien que cela ne signifie pas que toutes les mères atteintes d'un retard mental diagnostiqué appliquent nécessairement ce comportement dysfonctionnel.

Enfin, du point de vue cognitif, Crittenden et Milner ont suggéré dans les années 90 qu’il existait une relation significative entre le type de traitement de l’information reçu de l’extérieur (interactions avec l’enfant, par exemple) et la présence de maltraitance. Il semble qu'il ait été prouvé que les parents violents présentent des problèmes d'interprétation de la signification des comportements et des exigences exprimés par l'enfant.

Ainsi, face à une telle altération perceptive, les parents émettent souvent des réponses d'évitement, d'aliénation ou d'ignorance à la demande du mineur puisqu'ils développent une croyance en l'impuissance acquise en supposant qu'ils ne seront pas en mesure d'intégrer une nouvelle méthodologie plus adaptative et adéquate. En outre, selon l’étude, ce type de parents a également tendance à sous-estimer la satisfaction des besoins de leurs enfants, en donnant la priorité à d’autres types d’obligations et d’activités en amont de l’enfant.

3. Indicateurs de maltraitance envers les enfants

Comme nous l'avons vu, la violence psychologique est plus complexe à démontrer car les indicateurs ne sont pas aussi clairement observables comme dans le cas de violence physique. Quoi qu’il en soit, certains signaux émanant à la fois des agresseurs mineur et adulte peuvent faire sauter les alarmes et servent à doter d’une base plus solide la preuve qu’ils adoptent ce type de comportement.

3.1. Indicateurs de maltraitance d'enfants chez la victime

Dans un premier ensemble de variables à évaluer figurent les manifestations que les plus basses en tant que victime extériorise à travers ses verbalisations et comportements , par exemple: maintenir une attitude de retrait, accommodante ou refuser de partager ses peurs et certaines expériences avec d’autres personnes proches de vous; souffrir d'altérations dans les résultats scolaires et dans les relations avec ses pairs; dysfonctionnement présent dans le contrôle du sphincter, l'alimentation ou le sommeil; montrer des altérations de certains traits de personnalité et de l'humeur, ou développer des troubles sexuels.

3.2. Indicateurs d'abus commis sur des enfants par l'agresseur

Dans un deuxième groupe de facteurs sont ceux qui se réfèrent à Comportements parentaux liés aux pratiques de maltraitance d'enfants relativement fréquemment . Ces attitudes varient selon l'âge, mais dans la plupart des cas, elles ont tendance à viser les actions de rejet de l'enfant, l'isolement et l'évitement des contacts, l'ignorance et l'indifférence à l'égard des demandes du mineur, le recours aux menaces et aux peurs, les punitions exagérées. , le déni dans l'expression de l'affection, l'absence de communication, le mépris, les exigences excessives qui exigent, ou le blocage du développement d'une opération autonome, entre autres.

3.3. Indicateurs psychologiques de la maltraitance envers les enfants

À un troisième niveau se trouvent les altérations des capacités de base de l’apprentissage cognitif telles que le langage, la pensée symbolique et abstraite, la maîtrise de soi émotionnelle et la gestion de l’impulsivité dans les relations interpersonnelles. Lié à elle, peut être renvoyé aux conséquences éducatives subies par l'enfant exposé à la négligence émotionnelle comme par exemple le fait de passer la majeure partie de la journée seul sans recevoir aucune attention, des absences fréquentes de la fréquentation injustifiée de l’école ou une faible participation et une collaboration famille-école.

3.4. Indicateurs de la maltraitance des enfants dans le climat familial

En fin de compte dans la zone de coexistence du noyau familial les dommages observables correspondent à la présence de rejet affectif, d'isolement, d'hostilité verbale et de menaces , au secret et sous contrôle émotionnel parental comme exemples de violence psychologique; et le manque persistant de réponses aux demandes du mineur et le manque de communication concernant les signes d'abandon émotionnel.

4. Facteurs de prévention de la maltraitance envers les enfants

Selon la proposition de la théorie des systèmes de Beavers et d’autres auteurs postérieurs, on distingue une série de dimensions qui contribuent de manière déterminante à l’instauration d’une atmosphère de relation familiale adaptative et satisfaisant comme suit:

  • Une structure et une organisation où chacun des sous-systèmes est délimité (la relation entre les époux, la relation fraternelle, etc.) tout en permettant une certaine perméabilité entre eux.
  • La présence de comportements affectifs entre les membres.
  • Un fonctionnement circonscrit au style éducatif démocratique où le contrôle comportemental de la progéniture est clairement défini.
  • Traits de personnalité parentaux stables et une définition claire des rôles qu’ils jouent dans le noyau familial.
  • Une dynamique de communication basée sur la correspondance , expressivité et clarté.
  • Une relation définie par rapport aux systèmes externes au noyau de la famille primaire (autres membres de la famille, amis, communauté éducative, quartier, etc.).
  • Comment se déroule l'exécution des tâches assignées à chaque membre favoriser le développement psychologique des plus jeunes dans les principaux domaines vitaux (relations interpersonnelles, difficultés d'adaptation, répertoire comportemental, stabilité émotionnelle, etc.).

Il ressort clairement de l’ensemble des dimensions exposées que la famille doit fournir à l’enfant un espace stable doté des ressources lui permettant de satisfaire ses besoins en tant qu’être humain couvert, tant physique qu’affectif et éducatif.

Plus précisément, López souligne que Il existe trois principaux types de besoins que la famille doit protéger en ce qui concerne sa progéniture. :

  • Le physiobiologique : comme nourriture, hygiène, habillement, santé, protection contre les risques physiques, etc.
  • Le cognitif : une éducation adéquate et cohérente sur les valeurs et les normes, la facilitation et l'exposition à un niveau de stimulation qui accélère leur apprentissage.
  • L'émotionnel et social : le sentiment de se connaître valorisé, accepté et estimé; l'offre de soutien pour favoriser le développement de relations avec les pairs; la prise en compte de leur implication dans les décisions et les actions familiales, entre autres.

En guise de conclusion

Finalement, il y a beaucoup de différentes manifestations de maltraitance d'enfants , loin de considérer exclusivement les abus physiques comme la seule typologie valable et reconnaissable. Tous peuvent entraîner des conséquences psychologiques d'intensité gravitationnelle chez le mineur, indépendamment du type de pratique en question.

En revanche, l'hypothèse selon laquelle ce problème a une origine multi-causale semble claire, bien que les facteurs contextuels et socio-économiques soient au cœur de la détermination causale du phénomène de la maltraitance des enfants.

Il convient de noter, à la fin, la pertinence d'analyser en profondeur comment les indications expliquant quels types de pratiques de prévention et de protection sont utiles peuvent être appliquées et efficace pour éviter de tomber dans l’apparence de cette déviation comportementale grave.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Arruabarrena, Mª I. et de Paul, J. Abus d'enfants dans la famille. Évaluation et traitement, Ediciones Pirámide, Madrid, 2005.
  • Beavers, W.R. et Hampson, R. B. (1995).Familles ayant réussi (Évaluation, traitement et intervention), Barcelone, Paidós.
  • Belsky, J. (1993). Étiologie de la maltraitance envers les enfants: une analyse développemento-écologique. Psychological Bulletin, 114, 413-434.
  • Cantón, J. et Cortés, M.A. (1997). Mauvais traitements et abus sexuels sur enfants. Madrid: Siglo XXI.
  • Crittenden, P. (1988). Les modèles familiaux et dyadiques de fonctionnement dans les familles maltraitées. Dans K. Browne, C.
  • Larrance, D.T. et Twentyman, C.T. (1983). Attributions maternelles et abus envers les enfants. Journal of Anormal Psychology, 92, 449-457.
  • López, F. (1995): Les besoins des enfants. Fondement théorique, classification et critères éducatifs des besoins des enfants (volumes I et II). Madrid, ministère des Affaires sociales.
  • Milner, J.S. (1995). L'application de la théorie du traitement de l'information sociale au problème de la maltraitance physique envers les enfants. Enfance et apprentissage, 71, 125-134.
  • Parke, R.D. & Collmer, C. W. (1975). Violence envers les enfants: une analyse interdisciplinaire. Dans E.M. Hetherington (Ed.). Examen de la recherche sur le développement de l'enfant (vol. 5). Chicago: Presses de l'Université de Chicago.
  • Polansky, N.A., De Saix, C. et Sharlin, S.A. (1972). Négligence de l'enfant. Comprendre et atteindre le parent. Washington: Ligue de protection de l'enfance d'Amérique.
  • Tymchuc, A. J. et Andron, L. (1990). Mères ayant un retard mental qui n'abusent ni ne négligent leurs enfants. Abus et négligence envers les enfants, 14, 313-324.
  • Wolfe, D. (1985). Enfants abusifs: analyse et bilan empiriques. Psychological Bulletin, 97, 462-482.

Quel est l'impact de la maltraitance sur le développement de l'enfant ? (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes