yes, therapy helps!
The difficulties of children in learning mathematics

The difficulties of children in learning mathematics

January 29, 2023

The concept of number is the basis of the maths , being therefore its acquisition the foundation on which the mathematical knowledge is constructed. The concept of number has been conceived as a complex cognitive activity, in which different processes act in a coordinated way.

From very small, children develop what is known as a intuitive informal math . This development is due to the fact that children show a biological propensity to acquire basic arithmetic skills and stimulation from the environment, since children from an early age find quantities in the physical world, quantities to count in the social world and ideas mathematics in the world of history and literature.


Learning the concept of number

The development of the number depends on schooling. Instruction in infant education in classification, seriation and conservation of the number it produces gains in reasoning capacity and academic performance that are maintained over time.

The difficulties of enumeration in young children interfere with the acquisition of mathematical skills in later childhood.

After two years, the first quantitative knowledge begins to be developed. This development is completed through the acquisition of so-called proto-quantitative schemes and the first numerical skill: count.

The schemes that enable the 'mathematical mind' of the child

The first quantitative knowledge is acquired through three proto-quantitative schemes:


  1. The protoquantitative scheme of the comparison : Thanks to this, children can have a series of terms that express quantity judgments without numerical precision, such as larger, smaller, more or less, etc. Through this scheme linguistic labels are assigned to the comparison of sizes.
  2. The proto-quantitative increase-decrease scheme : with this scheme the children of three years are able to reason about changes in the quantities when an element is added or removed.
  3. ANDThe proto-quantitative scheme part-everything : allows preschoolers to accept that any piece can be divided into smaller parts and that if they are put together again they give rise to the original piece. They can reason that when they unite two amounts, they get a larger amount. Implicitly they begin to know the auditory property of the quantities.

These schemes are not enough to address quantitative tasks, so they need to use more precise quantification tools, such as counting.


The count It is an activity that in the eyes of an adult may seem simple but needs to integrate a series of techniques.

Some consider that the count is a rote learning and meaningless, especially of the standard number sequence, to gradually endow these routines of conceptual content.

Principles and skills that are needed to improve the task of counting

Others consider that the recount requires the acquisition of a series of principles that govern the ability and allow a progressive sophistication of the count:

  1. The principle of one-to-one correspondence : involves labeling each element of a set only once. It involves the coordination of two processes: participation and labeling, by means of partitioning, they control the elements counted and those that are still to be counted, at the same time that they have a series of labels, so that each corresponds to an object of the counted set , even if they do not follow the correct sequence.
  2. The principle of established order : stipulates that in order to count it is essential to establish a coherent sequence, although this principle can be applied without using the conventional numerical sequence.
  3. The principle of cardinality : establishes that the last label of the numerical sequence represents the cardinal of the set, the number of elements that the set contains.
  4. The principle of abstraction : determines that the above principles can be applied to any type of set, both with homogeneous elements and with heterogeneous elements.
  5. The principle of irrelevance : indicates that the order by which the elements are enumerated is irrelevant to their cardinal designation. They can be counted from right to left or vice versa, without affecting the result.

These principles establish the procedural rules on how to count a set of objects. From the own experiences the child is acquiring the conventional numerical sequence and will allow him to establish how many elements a set has, that is to say, to dominate the count.

On many occasions, children develop the belief that certain non-essential features of the count are essential, such as standard direction and adjacency. They are also the abstraction and the irrelevance of order, which serve to guarantee and make more flexible the range of application of the previous principles.

The acquisition and development of strategic competition

Four dimensions have been described through which the development of students' strategic competence is observed:

  1. Repertoire of strategies : different strategies that a student uses when performing tasks.
  2. Frequency of strategies : frequency with which each of the strategies is used by the child.
  3. Efficiency of strategies : accuracy and speed with which each strategy is executed.
  4. Selection of strategies : ability that the child has to select the most adaptive strategy in each situation and that allows him to be more efficient in carrying out tasks.

Prevalence, explanations and manifestations

The different estimates of the prevalence of difficulties in learning mathematics differ due to the different diagnostic criteria used.

The DSM-IV-TR indicates that the prevalence of stone disorder has only been estimated in approximately one in five cases of learning disorder . It is assumed that about 1% of children of school age suffer a calculation disorder.

Recent studies claim that the prevalence is higher. About 3% have comorbid difficulties in reading and mathematics.

The difficulties in mathematics also tend to be persistent over time.

How are children with Difficulties in Learning Mathematics?

Many studies have pointed out that basic numerical competences such as identifying numbers or comparing magnitudes of numbers are intact in most children with Difficulties in the Learning of Mathematics (onwards, DAM), at least in terms of simple numbers.

Many children with AMD they have difficulties in understanding some aspects of the counting : most understand the stable order and the cardinality, at least fail in the understanding of one-to-one correspondence, especially when the first element is counting twice; and systematically fail in tasks that involve understanding the irrelevance of order and adjacency.

The greatest difficulty for children with AMD lies in learning and remembering numerical facts and calculating arithmetic operations. They have two major problems: procedural and recovery of facts of the MLP. The knowledge of facts and the understanding of procedures and strategies are two dissociable problems.

It is likely that procedural problems will improve with experience, their difficulties with recovery will not. This is so because the procedural problems arise from the lack of conceptual knowledge. Automatic recovery, on the other hand, is the result of a dysfunction of semantic memory.

Young boys with DAM use the same strategies as their peers, but rely more on immature counting strategies and less on fact recovery of memory than their peers.

They are less effective in the execution of different counting and recovery strategies. As the age and experience increase, those who do not have difficulties execute the recovery with greater accuracy. Those with AMD do not show changes in the accuracy or frequency of use of the strategies. Even after a lot of practice.

When they use memory retrieval, it is usually not very accurate: they make mistakes and take longer than those without DA.

Children with MAD present difficulties in the recovery of numerical facts from memory, presenting difficulties in the automation of this recovery.

Children with AMD do not perform an adaptive selection of their strategies. Children with AMD have a lower performance in frequency, efficiency and adaptive selection of strategies. (referred to the count)

The deficiencies observed in children with AMD seem to respond more to a model of developmental delay than to a deficit.

Geary has devised a classification in which three sub-types of DAM are established: procedural subtype, subtype based on deficit in semantic memory, and subtype based on deficit in visual-spatial skills.

Subtypes of children who have difficulties in mathematics

The investigation has allowed to identify three subtypes of DAM :

  • A subtype with difficulties in the execution of arithmetic procedures.
  • A subtype with difficulties in the representation and recovery of arithmetic facts of semantic memory.
  • A subtype with difficulties in the visual-spatial representation of the numerical information.

The work memory it is an important component of performance in mathematics. Work memory problems can cause procedural failures as in the recovery of facts.

Students with Difficulties in Language Learning + DAM they seem to have difficulties in retaining and recovering mathematical facts and solving problems , of word, complex or real life, more severe than students with isolated MAD.

Those who have isolated DAM have difficulties in the task of visuospatial agenda, which required memorizing information with movement.

Students with MAD also have difficulties in interpreting and solving mathematical word problems. They would have difficulties to detect the relevant and irrelevant information of the problems, to construct a mental representation of the problem, to remember and execute the steps involved in the resolution of a problem, especially in the problems of multiple steps, to use cognitive and metacognitive strategies.

Some proposals to improve the learning of mathematics

Problem solving requires understanding the text and analyzing the information presented, developing logical plans for the solution and evaluating the solutions.

Requires: cognitive requirements, such as declarative and procedural knowledge of arithmetic and ability to apply said knowledge to word problems , ability to carry out a correct representation of the problem and planning capacity to solve the problem; metacognitive requirements, such as awareness of the solution process itself, as well as strategies to control and supervise its performance; and affective conditions such as the favorable attitude towards mathematics, perception of the importance of problem solving or confidence in one's ability.

A large number of factors can affect the resolution of mathematical problems. There is increasing evidence that most students with AMD have more difficulty in the processes and strategies associated with the construction of a representation of the problem than in the execution of the operations necessary to solve it.

They have problems with knowledge, use and control of problem representation strategies, to capture the superstores of different types of problems. They propose a classification by differentiating 4 major categories of problems according to the semantic structure: change, combination, comparison and equalization.

These superstores would be the knowledge structures that are put into play to understand a problem, to create a correct representation of the problem. From this representation, the execution of the operations is proposed to arrive at the solution of the problem by recall strategies or from the immediate recovery of the long-term memory (MLP). The operations are no longer solved in isolation, but in the context of the resolution of a problem.

Bibliographic references:

  • Cascallana, M. (1998) Mathematical initiation: materials and didactic resources. Madrid: Santillana.
  • Díaz Godino, J, Gómez Alfonso, B, Gutiérrez Rodríguez, A, Rico Romero, L, Sierra Vázquez, M. (1991) Area of ​​didactic knowledge of Mathematics. Madrid: Editorial Síntesis.
  • Ministry of Education, Culture and Sports (2000) Difficulties learning mathematics. Madrid: Summer classrooms. Higher Institute and teacher training.
  • Orton, A. (1990) Didactics of mathematics. Madrid: Morata Editions.

Meet the Math Facts - Addition & Subtraction Level 1 (FREE) | Preschool Prep Company (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les difficultés des enfants à apprendre les mathématiques

Les difficultés des enfants à apprendre les mathématiques

Août 17, 2019

Le concept de le numéro est la base de la matematiques , étant donc son acquisition, le fondement sur lequel la connaissance mathématique est construite. Le concept de nombre a été conçu comme une activité cognitive complexe, dans laquelle différents processus agissent de manière coordonnée.

De très petit, les enfants développent ce qu'on appelle un calcul informel intuitif . Ce développement est dû au fait que les enfants montrent une propension biologique à acquérir des compétences de base en calcul et en stimulation de l'environnement, car dès leur plus jeune âge, ils trouvent des quantités dans le monde physique, des quantités à compter dans le monde social et des idées. les mathématiques dans le monde de l'histoire et de la littérature.


Apprendre le concept de nombre

Le développement du nombre dépend de la scolarité. Instruction en éducation infantile pour la classification, la sériation et la conservation du nombre il produit des gains de capacité de raisonnement et de performance académique qui sont maintenus au fil du temps.

Les difficultés de dénombrement chez les jeunes enfants entravent l'acquisition de compétences en mathématiques à un âge plus avancé.

Après deux ans, les premières connaissances quantitatives commencent à être développées. Ce développement s’achève par l’acquisition de schémas dits proto-quantitatifs et de la première compétence numérique: compter.

Les schémas qui permettent à "l'esprit mathématique" de l'enfant

Les premières connaissances quantitatives sont acquises à travers trois schémas proto-quantitatifs:


  1. Le schéma de protoquantitative de la comparaison : Grâce à cela, les enfants peuvent utiliser une série de termes qui expriment des jugements de quantité sans précision numérique, tels que plus gros, plus petit, plus ou moins, etc. A travers ce schéma, des étiquettes linguistiques sont attribuées à la comparaison des tailles.
  2. Le schéma d’augmentation-diminution proto-quantitatif : avec ce schéma, les enfants de trois ans sont capables de raisonner sur les changements dans les quantités quand un élément est ajouté ou enlevé.
  3. ELe schéma proto-quantitatif part-tout : permet aux enfants d’âge préscolaire d’accepter que toute pièce puisse être divisée en parties plus petites et que, si elles sont assemblées à nouveau, elles donnent naissance à la pièce originale. Ils peuvent penser que lorsqu'ils unissent deux montants, ils en obtiennent un plus gros. Implicitement, ils commencent à connaître la propriété auditive des quantités.

Ces systèmes ne suffisent pas pour traiter des tâches quantitatives, ils doivent donc utiliser des outils de quantification plus précis, tels que le comptage.


Le en comptant C’est une activité qui, aux yeux d’un adulte, peut sembler simple mais qui doit intégrer une série de techniques.

Certains considèrent que le décompte est un apprentissage par cœur et dépourvu de sens, en particulier de la séquence numérique standard, pour doter progressivement ces routines de contenu conceptuel.

Principes et compétences nécessaires pour améliorer la comptabilisation

D'autres considèrent que le recomptage nécessite l'acquisition d'une série de principes qui régissent la capacité et permettent une sophistication progressive du compte:

  1. Le principe de la correspondance tête à tête : implique l’étiquetage d’une seule fois de chaque élément d’un ensemble. Il implique la coordination de deux processus: la participation et l’étiquetage, au moyen de la partition, ils contrôlent les éléments comptés et ceux qui doivent encore être comptés, en même temps qu’ils ont une série d’étiquettes, de sorte que chacun correspond à un objet de l’ensemble compté. , même s’ils ne suivent pas la séquence correcte.
  2. Le principe de l'ordre établi : stipule que pour compter, il est essentiel d'établir une séquence cohérente, bien que ce principe puisse être appliqué sans utiliser la séquence numérique conventionnelle.
  3. Le principe de cardinalité : établit que la dernière étiquette de la séquence numérique représente le cardinal de l'ensemble, le nombre d'éléments contenus dans l'ensemble.
  4. Le principe de l'abstraction : détermine que les principes ci-dessus peuvent être appliqués à tout type d'ensemble, à la fois avec des éléments homogènes et avec des éléments hétérogènes.
  5. Le principe de non-pertinence : indique que l'ordre selon lequel les éléments sont énumérés n'a pas d'importance pour leur désignation cardinale. Ils peuvent être comptés de droite à gauche ou inversement, sans affecter le résultat.

Ces principes établissent les règles de procédure permettant de comptabiliser un ensemble d'objets. À partir de ses propres expériences, l’enfant acquiert la séquence numérique conventionnelle et lui permettra d’établir le nombre d’éléments qu’un ensemble a, c’est-à-dire de dominer le compte.

À maintes reprises, les enfants développent la conviction que certaines caractéristiques non essentielles du dénombrement sont essentielles, telles que la direction standard et la contiguïté. Ce sont aussi l’abstraction et le manque de pertinence de l’ordre, qui servent à garantir et à assouplir le champ d’application des principes précédents.

L'acquisition et le développement de la concurrence stratégique

On a décrit quatre dimensions à travers lesquelles on observe le développement de la compétence stratégique des étudiants:

  1. Répertoire de stratégies : différentes stratégies qu'un élève utilise lorsqu'il effectue des tâches.
  2. Fréquence des stratégies : fréquence à laquelle chacune des stratégies est utilisée par l'enfant.
  3. Efficacité des stratégies : précision et rapidité d'exécution de chaque stratégie.
  4. Sélection de stratégies : capacité que l’enfant doit choisir la stratégie la plus adaptative dans chaque situation et qui lui permet d’être plus efficace dans l’exécution des tâches.

Prévalence, explications et manifestations

Les différentes estimations de la prévalence des difficultés d’apprentissage des mathématiques diffèrent en raison des différents critères de diagnostic utilisés.

Le DSM-IV-TR indique que la prévalence du trouble des calculs n'a été estimée que dans environ un cas de trouble d'apprentissage sur cinq . On suppose qu'environ 1% des enfants d'âge scolaire souffrent d'un trouble du calcul.

Des études récentes affirment que la prévalence est plus élevée. Environ 3% ont des difficultés concomitantes en lecture et en mathématiques.

Les difficultés en mathématiques ont également tendance à persister dans le temps.

Comment les enfants ayant des difficultés d’apprentissage des mathématiques sont-ils?

De nombreuses études ont montré que les compétences numériques de base telles qu'identifier des nombres ou comparer des ordres de grandeur sont intactes chez la plupart des enfants Difficultés d'apprentissage des mathématiques (ci-après, DAM), au moins en termes de nombres simples.

Beaucoup d'enfants atteints de DMLA ils ont du mal à comprendre certains aspects du comptage : la plupart comprennent l'ordre stable et la cardinalité, échouent au moins dans la compréhension de la correspondance un à un, en particulier lorsque le premier élément compte deux fois; et échouent systématiquement dans les tâches qui impliquent de comprendre le caractère non pertinent de l'ordre et de la proximité

La plus grande difficulté pour les enfants atteints de DMLA réside dans l'apprentissage et la mémorisation de faits numériques et dans le calcul d'opérations arithmétiques. Ils ont deux problèmes majeurs: la procédure et la récupération des faits de la MLP. La connaissance des faits et la compréhension des procédures et des stratégies sont deux problèmes dissociables.

Il est probable que les problèmes de procédure s'amélioreront avec l'expérience, mais pas leurs difficultés de recouvrement. En effet, les problèmes de procédure découlent du manque de connaissances conceptuelles. La récupération automatique, en revanche, est le résultat d'un dysfonctionnement de la mémoire sémantique.

Les jeunes garçons avec DAM utilisent les mêmes stratégies que leurs pairs, mais compter davantage sur des stratégies de dénombrement immatures et moins sur la récupération des faits de mémoire que leurs pairs.

Ils sont moins efficaces dans l'exécution de différentes stratégies de comptage et de récupération. Au fur et à mesure que l'âge et l'expérience augmentent, ceux qui n'ont pas de difficultés exécutent la récupération avec plus de précision. Les personnes atteintes de DMLA ne montrent pas de changements dans l'exactitude ou la fréquence d'utilisation des stratégies. Même après beaucoup de pratique.

Lorsqu'ils utilisent la récupération de mémoire, ce n'est généralement pas très précis: ils font des erreurs et prennent plus de temps que ceux sans DA.

Les enfants atteints de MAD présentent des difficultés pour récupérer des faits numériques de mémoire, ainsi que des difficultés pour automatiser cette récupération.

Les enfants atteints de DMLA n'effectuent pas de sélection adaptative de leurs stratégies, car leurs performances en termes de fréquence, d'efficacité et de sélection adaptative des stratégies sont plus faibles. (référé au compte)

Les carences observées chez les enfants atteints de DMLA semblent répondre davantage à un modèle de retard de développement qu'à un déficit.

Geary a mis au point une classification dans laquelle sont établis trois sous-types de DAM: un sous-type procédural, un sous-type basé sur un déficit en mémoire sémantique et un sous-type basé sur un déficit en compétences visuelles-spatiales.

Sous-types d'enfants ayant des difficultés en mathématiques

L'enquête a permis d'identifier trois sous-types de DAM :

  • Un sous-type avec des difficultés dans l'exécution de procédures arithmétiques.
  • Un sous-type avec des difficultés dans la représentation et la récupération des faits arithmétiques de la mémoire sémantique.
  • Un sous-type avec des difficultés dans la représentation visuelle-spatiale de l'information numérique.

Le mémoire de travail c'est un élément important de la performance en mathématiques. Des problèmes de mémoire de travail peuvent provoquer des défaillances de procédure comme lors de la récupération de faits.

Etudiants ayant des difficultés d'apprentissage linguistique + DAM ils semblent avoir des difficultés à retenir et à récupérer des faits mathématiques et à résoudre des problèmes , de la parole, la vie complexe ou réelle, plus sévère que les étudiants avec MAD isolé.

Ceux qui ont isolé DAM ont des difficultés dans la tâche de leur agenda visuospatial, ce qui nécessitait de mémoriser des informations avec le mouvement.

Les élèves en difficulté ont également des difficultés à interpréter et à résoudre des problèmes de mots mathématiques. Ils auraient du mal à détecter les informations pertinentes et non pertinentes sur les problèmes, à construire une représentation mentale du problème, à mémoriser et à exécuter les étapes nécessaires à la résolution d'un problème, en particulier les problèmes à étapes multiples, à utiliser des stratégies cognitives et métacognitives.

Quelques propositions pour améliorer l'apprentissage des mathématiques

La résolution de problèmes nécessite la compréhension du texte, l'analyse des informations présentées, l'élaboration de plans logiques pour la solution et l'évaluation des solutions.

Nécessite: les exigences cognitives, telles que la connaissance déclarative et procédurale de l'arithmétique et la capacité d'appliquer cette connaissance à des problèmes de mots , capacité à représenter correctement le problème et capacité de planification pour le résoudre; les exigences métacognitives, telles que la connaissance du processus de la solution elle-même, ainsi que les stratégies de contrôle et de supervision de ses performances; et des conditions affectives telles que l'attitude favorable envers les mathématiques, la perception de l'importance de la résolution de problèmes ou la confiance en ses capacités.

Un grand nombre de facteurs peuvent affecter la résolution de problèmes mathématiques. Il est de plus en plus évident que la plupart des étudiants atteints de DMLA ont plus de difficultés dans les processus et les stratégies associés à la construction d’une représentation du problème qu’à l’exécution des opérations nécessaires à sa résolution.

Ils ont des problèmes de connaissance, d'utilisation et de contrôle des stratégies de représentation des problèmes, afin de capturer les grands magasins de différents types de problèmes. Ils proposent une classification en différenciant 4 grandes catégories de problèmes en fonction de la structure sémantique: changement, combinaison, comparaison et égalisation.

Ces hypermarchés seraient les structures de connaissances mises en œuvre pour comprendre un problème, pour en créer une représentation correcte. À partir de cette représentation, il est proposé d'exécuter les opérations pour arriver à la solution du problème par des stratégies de rappel ou à partir de la récupération immédiate de la mémoire à long terme (MLP). Les opérations ne sont plus résolues isolément, mais dans le cadre de la résolution d'un problème.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Cascallana, M. (1998) Initiation mathématique: matériels et ressources didactiques. Madrid: Santillana.
  • Díaz Godino, J, Gómez Alfonso, B, Gutiérrez Rodríguez, A, Rico Romero, L, Sierra Vázquez, M. (1991) Domaine de connaissances didactiques en mathématiques. Madrid: Résumé de la rédaction.
  • Ministère de l'éducation, de la culture et des sports (2000). Difficultés d'apprentissage des mathématiques. Madrid: salles de cours d'été. Institut supérieur et formation des enseignants.
  • Orton, A. (1990) Didactique des mathématiques. Madrid: Editions Morata.

Méthode de mathématiques de Singapour : présentation (Août 2019).


Articles Connexes