yes, therapy helps!
The disorders induced by drugs and toxic substances

The disorders induced by drugs and toxic substances

May 6, 2021

As we already know, drugs affect our body in different ways and carry various alterations in our physical and mental health.

When there is an abuse of some substance, we can suffer intoxication and the "famous" withdrawal syndrome, but there are also some disorders that are directly related to habitual drug use . This article focuses on the latter: substance-induced disorders.

Related article: "The 5 best films about the world of drugs and addictions"

The complexity of the effects of drugs

The abuse of any drug affects our activity and daily performance. It modifies our behavior, our perception, our sociability, causes deterioration and physiological, social, affective, labor changes, and affects most of the important aspects of life of the person.


However, neither the immediate harmful effects of the drugs nor the sequelae that may remain after their use are not always expressed in the same way. That's right: The trace that the drug leaves in our organism has to do with both intoxication and abstinence .

Intoxication and abstinence

When we talk about substance-induced disorders, we refer to the effects produced by both intoxication and abstinence.

  • Intoxication is the direct effect of recent ingestion of the substance . It produces psychological changes or maladaptive behaviors due to the effect of the substance in the central nervous system.
  • By abstinence we understand the concrete syndrome of the substance due to its reduction or cessation in prolonged consumption or in large quantities.

Both intoxication and abstinence cause clinically significant discomfort in the individual, as well as a deterioration in the activity of important areas of his life (social, work, etc.).


The types of substance-induced disorders

Below you can see some disorders induced by drugs and toxic substances, and their characteristics.

1. Delirium

Delirium can appear both due to intoxication and withdrawal from the substance.

Causes an alteration of consciousness and perception , as well as changes in cognitive functions (memory, orientation, language, etc.). These affectations usually occur in a short period of time (hours or days).

Classically, delirium is produced by the consumption of alcohol, hallucinogens, amphetamines, cannabis, cocaine, inhalants, opiates, sedatives, hypnotics or anxiolytics.

2. Dementia

When we talk about dementia induced by substances, it manifests itself through a clear cognitive deterioration , that is, the person's memory, language, motor activity, the performance of various tasks, etc. are affected. It will show difficulties in learning new information or in remembering the learned one, it will have failures in the recognition of objects or when planning or organizing ...


All these deficits represent a significant reduction in the level of activity of the person prior to the disorder, which will affect their daily lives, in different areas. (social, labor ...).

The substances that produce it are alcohol, inhalants, sedatives, hypothones and anxiolytics.

3. Psychotic disorders

In relation to psychotic disorders, these can be initiated during intoxication or during abstinence. When this disorder is expressed, the person will suffer hallucinations or delusions, a pattern of catatonic behavior and a disorganized use of disorganized language will appear. These conditions can lead to social and occupational deterioration. Symptoms appear during or in the month following intoxication or withdrawal.

The substances that induce the appearance of this disorder are alcohol, hallucinogens, amphetamines, cannabis, cocaine, inhalants, opiates, sedatives, hypnotics and anxiolytics.

4. Mood disorders

If we refer to mood disorders too they are evidenced during intoxication or during abstinence .

Depressive and / or manic symptoms (elevated, euphoric or irritable mood) may appear during its expression. The symptoms cause significant clinical discomfort and considerable deterioration in important areas of the person's activity.

The substances associated with mood disorders are alcohol, hallucinogens, amphetamines, cocaine, inhalants, opiates, sedatives, hypnotics and anxiolytics.

5. Anxiety disorders

Finally, anxiety disorders can occur equally in the two phases: intoxication or withdrawal.

This group of disorders will be differentiated according to the predominance of anxiety, anguish, obsessions and compulsions, or phobias. The symptoms will be those characteristic of the specific disorder (palpitations, tremors, fear, excessive worry, recurrent thoughts, irritability, etc.).

They are produced by the consumption of alcohol, hallucinogens, amphetamines, cannabis, cocaine, inhalants, opiates, sedatives, hypnotics or anxiolytics.

Matizando

Notably it is to some extent impossible the degree to which a disorder is more or less produced by the previous consumption of substances that affect our nervous system. Both the habits linked to the use of drugs (or the quantity of a single consumption) and the genetic predispositions and the autobiographical history of each one, which leaves traces in our brain, come into play.

However, something is certain: The best way to avoid the appearance of these disorders is simply to stay away from drugs .


Cannabis Use Disorder - causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, pathology (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les désordres induits par les drogues et les substances toxiques

Les désordres induits par les drogues et les substances toxiques

Novembre 11, 2022

Comme nous le savons déjà, les drogues affectent notre corps de différentes manières et entraînent diverses altérations de notre santé physique et mentale.

En cas de consommation abusive d’une substance, on peut souffrir d’intoxication et du "fameux" syndrome de sevrage, mais il existe également des troubles directement liés à l'usage de drogues habituel . Cet article se concentre sur le dernier: les troubles induits par une substance.

Article connexe: "Les 5 meilleurs films sur le monde des drogues et des toxicomanies"

La complexité des effets de la drogue

L'abus de tout médicament affecte notre activité et nos performances quotidiennes. Il modifie notre comportement, notre perception, notre sociabilité, provoque une détérioration et des changements physiologiques, sociaux, affectifs, du travail et affecte la plupart des aspects importants de la vie de la personne.


Cependant, ni les effets nocifs immédiats des médicaments ni les séquelles pouvant subsister après leur utilisation ne sont pas toujours exprimés de la même manière. Ça oui: La trace laissée par le médicament dans notre organisme est liée à l’intoxication et à l’abstinence. .

Intoxication et abstinence

Lorsque nous parlons de troubles induits par une substance, nous faisons référence aux effets produits à la fois par l’intoxication et par l’abstinence.

  • L'intoxication est l'effet direct de l'ingestion récente de la substance . Il produit des changements psychologiques ou des comportements mésadaptés dus à l'effet de la substance sur le système nerveux central.
  • Par abstinence, nous comprenons le syndrome concret de la substance en raison de sa réduction ou de son arrêt en consommation prolongée ou en grande quantité.

L’intoxication et l’abstinence entraînent un inconfort cliniquement significatif chez l’individu, ainsi qu’une détérioration de l’activité dans des domaines importants de sa vie (vie sociale, travail, etc.).


Les types de troubles induits par une substance

Ci-dessous, vous pouvez voir quelques troubles induits par des drogues et des substances toxiques, ainsi que leurs caractéristiques.

1. délire

Le délire peut apparaître à la fois en raison d'une intoxication et du retrait de la substance.

Provoque une altération de la conscience et de la perception , ainsi que des modifications des fonctions cognitives (mémoire, orientation, langage, etc.). Ces affectations se produisent généralement dans un court laps de temps (heures ou jours).

Classiquement, le délire est produit par la consommation d'alcool, d'hallucinogènes, d'amphétamines, de cannabis, de cocaïne, de substances inhalées, d'opiacés, de sédatifs, d'hypnotiques ou d'anxiolytiques.

2. démence

Quand on parle de démence induite par des substances, il se manifeste par une nette détérioration cognitive c'est-à-dire que la mémoire, la langue, l'activité motrice, l'exécution de diverses tâches, etc., sont affectées. Cela montrera des difficultés pour apprendre de nouvelles informations ou pour garder en mémoire les connaissances acquises, il y aura des échecs dans la reconnaissance d'objets ou lors de la planification ou de l'organisation ...


Tous ces déficits représentent une réduction significative du niveau d'activité de la personne avant le trouble, ce qui affectera sa vie quotidienne dans différents domaines. (social, travail ...).

Les substances qui le produisent sont l’alcool, les inhalants, les sédatifs, les hypothones et les anxiolytiques.

3. Troubles psychotiques

En ce qui concerne les troubles psychotiques, ceux-ci peuvent être initiés pendant l’intoxication ou pendant l’abstinence. Lorsque ce trouble est exprimé, la personne souffre d'hallucinations ou de délires, un comportement catatonique et une utilisation désorganisée du langage désorganisé apparaissent. Ces conditions peuvent conduire à une détérioration sociale et professionnelle. Les symptômes apparaissent pendant ou dans le mois suivant l’intoxication ou le sevrage.

Les substances qui provoquent l'apparition de ce trouble sont l'alcool, les hallucinogènes, les amphétamines, le cannabis, la cocaïne, les inhalants, les opiacés, les sédatifs, les hypnotiques et les anxiolytiques.

4. Troubles de l'humeur

Si nous nous référons aussi aux troubles de l'humeur ils se manifestent lors d'une intoxication ou d'une abstinence .

Des symptômes dépressifs et / ou maniaques (humeur élevée, euphorique ou irritable) peuvent apparaître lors de son expression. Les symptômes provoquent une gêne clinique importante et une détérioration considérable dans des domaines d'activité importants de la personne.

Les substances associées aux troubles de l'humeur sont l'alcool, les hallucinogènes, les amphétamines, la cocaïne, les inhalants, les opiacés, les sédatifs, les hypnotiques et les anxiolytiques.

5. Troubles anxieux

Enfin, les troubles anxieux peuvent survenir de manière égale dans les deux phases: intoxication ou sevrage.

Ce groupe de troubles sera différencié en fonction de la prédominance d'anxiété, d'angoisse, d'obsessions et de compulsions ou de phobies. Les symptômes seront ceux caractéristiques du trouble spécifique (palpitations, tremblements, peur, inquiétude excessive, pensées récurrentes, irritabilité, etc.).

Ils sont produits par la consommation d'alcool, d'hallucinogènes, d'amphétamines, de cannabis, de cocaïne, de substances inhalées, d'opiacés, de sédatifs, d'hypnotiques ou d'anxiolytiques.

Matizando

Il convient de noter que il est dans une certaine mesure impossible de déterminer dans quelle mesure un trouble est plus ou moins produit par la consommation antérieure de substances qui affectent notre système nerveux. Les habitudes liées à l'usage de drogues (ou la quantité d'une consommation unique) ainsi que les prédispositions génétiques et l'histoire autobiographique de chacune d'entre elles, qui laisse des traces dans notre cerveau, entrent en jeu.

Cependant, quelque chose est certain: Le meilleur moyen d'éviter l'apparition de ces troubles est tout simplement d'éviter les médicaments .


Syndrome de sevrage alcoolique symptômes (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes