yes, therapy helps!
The dramaturgical model of Erving Goffman

The dramaturgical model of Erving Goffman

January 25, 2022

In a theatrical performance the characters interact in a specific scenario with certain roles in order to represent a script. But the representation of roles it is not something that is confined to the theatrical or the cinematographic .

In our daily life we ​​also often interpret different roles depending on the circumstances we live, who we interact with and the expectations we have of our performance. In this way, some theoretical perspectives consider that the human being acts in his contact with others as if he were performing a play. Specifically, it is what he proposes the dramaturgical model of Erving Goffman , focused on face-to-face social contact.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Jacob Levy Moreno's psychodrama: what is it?"

In Goffman's dramaturgical approach

The approach or dramaturgical model of Erving Goffman is a way to interpret social interaction in which the idea that all interaction is a performance or role represented towards the other or the possible observers is proposed. Social interactions and our social structure are nothing more than the representation of the roles we have internalized in such a way that they end up being part of our own identity.

In any social situation that people carry out, some kind of role is being interpreted, which will change depending on the interactive contexts. The person shows a specific type of information of himself according to the situation and the intention, which will provoke different answers according to how he is interpreted by his similar. As in the theater, in all interaction there are pre-established behavioral limits , a script to interpret before others.


The basic idea of ​​this model is that the human being tries to control the impression he generates in others from the interaction in order to bring this impression closer to your ideal self. In each contact a scheme of acts is represented, from which you can express your point of view regarding reality and interaction while trying to modify the evaluation of others.

The dramaturgical model of Erving Goffman part of a conception of symbolic interactionism , in which the mental and the situational influence the realization of behavior and the construction of the psyche from the construction and transmission of shared meanings referring to the symbols used in the interactive context.

  • Related article: "The 4 styles of relationships, according to the Johari Window"

Stage

Social interaction takes place in a context or in a specific framework, what the author calls establishment. In other words, it is the scenario in which the interaction takes place, in which impressions will be exchanged. It consists of the personal facade or internalized role and the public facade or image that we show the public when representing.


In this stage the physical location and the actors and roles converge of each one to configure the scene in which the actors are going to express themselves and be interpreted.

The actors and their interaction

For social interaction to exist, one of the key components is the existence of someone who carries them out. These people, who interact, are the so-called actors.

In an interaction the different actors are in a situation of copresence, that is to say of mutual interaction, in which these people represent concrete roles and exchange impressions which will be used to understand the performance and act accordingly. Both subjects are emitters and receivers at the same time , they are both actor and audience.

In addition, during the interaction, impressions are transmitted both voluntarily and consciously and involuntarily through contextual elements that are beyond the control and intentionality of the actor. The two types of elements are going to be captured and interpreted by the other, acting accordingly. The knowledge of this fact allows that contextual elements are used strategically to give different interpretations of what they would have at another time or situation.

The actor must try to handle the impressions he provokes in the audience so that it is interpreted as he intends, without falling into contradiction.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Paul Watzlawick's theory of human communication"

The role or role

Roles play a fundamental role in the interaction between people, indicating the type of behaviors that are expected to be carried out in a certain situation. They mainly indicate what position each one should take, as well as their status or the meaning endowed by the culture to the role in question.

These roles involve a process by which an influence is established from one person to another , generating a performance by the other. Roles are a fundamental part of our relationship with our peers and can vary according to the scenario or contextual framework. In addition, they are also linked to the identity or the concept of the Self.

  • Related article: "The 28 types of communication and their characteristics"

Identity according to the dramaturgical model

The concept of the Self or itself it is an element that for Goffman's model supposes the product of the manipulation of the impressions of the others so that they elaborate an image of the determined and flattering individual. Identity is a construction that the human being makes of himself for others from the roles he carries out.

Thus, people create a general public facade for their performance. This main role that we play throughout our lives, the integration of most of the roles, is what we consider self . This assumes that people are actually offering an appearance of themselves to others, that they try to approach an ideal Self.

Identity, the Self, it's just the set of masks that we put on , what we express and project to others. We are what others interpret about us from our interactions.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The id, the self and the superego, according to Sigmund Freud"

Interpreting social situations: the frames of meaning

Another concept of Goffman's dramaturgical model is that of frame or frame, which is understood as the scheme or perspective from which the social phenomena is understood and allows the subject to organize their knowledge and experiences.

These frames or frames they are given largely by the culture to which we belong from which we acquire ways of interpreting our social world and the symbolisms that are part of it, as well as the situations that we live in., so we can adjust our interaction with the environment.

Knowing what happens in a given situation requires these frameworks, which will be used as elements both to understand the reality of the interaction and to contribute to its realization by the individual. These frames can be primary, which are used to understand natural or social events , but in some cases they require secondary frames to give an act a purpose different from the original or to consciously manipulate the perception of the other regarding a concrete action (respectively, modifications or fabrications).

Bibliographic references:

  • Chihu, A. and López, A. (2000). The dramaturgical approach in Erving Goffman. UNAM, Mexico.
  • Goffman, E. (1959). The presentation of self in everyday life. Doubleday Anchor. New York
  • Rivas, M. & López, M. (2012). Social psychology and organizations. CEDE Manual of Preparation PIR, 11. CEDE. Madrid.

Erving Goffman's Dramaturgy (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le modèle dramaturgique d'Erving Goffman

Le modèle dramaturgique d'Erving Goffman

Septembre 7, 2022

Dans une représentation théâtrale, les personnages interagissent dans un scénario spécifique avec certains rôles afin de représenter un script. Mais la représentation des rôles ce n'est pas quelque chose qui se limite au théâtre ou au cinéma .

Dans notre vie quotidienne, nous interprétons souvent différents rôles en fonction des circonstances, des personnes avec lesquelles nous interagissons et des attentes que nous avons vis-à-vis de notre performance. De cette façon, certaines perspectives théoriques considèrent que l’être humain agit dans son contact avec les autres comme s’il jouait une pièce de théâtre. Plus précisément, c'est ce qu'il propose le modèle dramaturgique d'Erving Goffman , centré sur le contact social face à face.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Le psychodrame de Jacob Levy Moreno: qu'est-ce que c'est?"

Dans l'approche dramaturgique de Goffman

L’approche ou le modèle dramaturgique d’Erving Goffman est un moyen d'interpréter l'interaction sociale dans lequel est proposée l'idée que toute interaction est une performance ou un rôle représenté vis-à-vis de l'autre ou des observateurs éventuels. Les interactions sociales et notre structure sociale ne sont rien de plus que la représentation des rôles que nous avons intériorisés de telle sorte qu'ils finissent par faire partie de notre propre identité.

Quelle que soit la situation sociale dans laquelle les gens évoluent, une sorte de rôle est interprété, ce qui changera en fonction des contextes interactifs. La personne montre un type spécifique d’information sur elle-même en fonction de la situation et de l’intention, ce qui provoquera des réponses différentes en fonction de la manière dont elle est interprétée par ses semblables. Comme au théâtre, dans toutes les interactions, il existe des limites de comportement préétablies , un script à interpréter avant les autres.


L'idée de base de ce modèle est que l'être humain essaie de contrôler l'impression qu'il génère chez les autres de l'interaction afin de rapprocher cette impression de votre moi idéal. Dans chaque contact, un ensemble d'actes est représenté, à partir duquel vous pouvez exprimer votre point de vue sur la réalité et les interactions tout en essayant de modifier l'évaluation des autres.

Le modèle dramaturgique d'Erving Goffman partie d'une conception de l'interactionisme symbolique , dans lequel le mental et la situation influencent la réalisation du comportement et la construction de la psyché à partir de la construction et de la transmission de significations partagées faisant référence aux symboles utilisés dans le contexte interactif.

  • Article connexe: "Les 4 styles de relations, selon la fenêtre de Johari"

Le scénario

L'interaction sociale a lieu dans un contexte ou dans un cadre spécifique, ce que l'auteur appelle l'établissement. En d’autres termes, c’est le scénario dans lequel se déroule l’interaction, dans lequel les impressions seront échangées. Il s'agit de la façade personnelle ou du rôle intériorisé et de la façade publique ou de l'image que nous montrons au public lors de la représentation.


Dans ce scénario l'emplacement physique et les acteurs et les rôles convergent de chacun pour configurer la scène dans laquelle les acteurs vont s’exprimer et être interprétés.

Les acteurs et leurs interactions

Pour que l'interaction sociale existe, l'une des composantes clés est l'existence de quelqu'un qui la réalise. Ces personnes, qui interagissent, sont les soi-disant acteurs.

Dans une interaction, les différents acteurs sont dans une situation de coprésence, c'est-à-dire d'interaction mutuelle, dans laquelle ces personnes représentent des rôles concrets et échangent des impressions qui seront utilisées pour comprendre la performance et agir en conséquence. Les deux sujets sont à la fois émetteurs et récepteurs , ils sont à la fois acteur et public.

De plus, lors de l'interaction, les impressions sont transmises à la fois volontairement, consciemment et involontairement, à travers des éléments contextuels qui échappent au contrôle et à l'intentionnalité de l'acteur. Les deux types d'éléments vont être capturés et interprétés par l'autre, agissant en conséquence. La connaissance de ce fait permet que les éléments contextuels sont utilisés de manière stratégique donner des interprétations différentes de ce qu’ils auraient à un autre moment ou dans une autre situation.

L'acteur doit essayer de gérer les impressions qu'il provoque dans l'auditoire afin que cela soit interprété comme il l'entend, sans tomber dans la contradiction.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par "La théorie de la communication humaine de Paul Watzlawick"

Le rôle ou rôle

Les rôles jouent un rôle fondamental dans l'interaction entre les personnes, indiquant le type de comportements attendus dans une certaine situation. Ils indiquent principalement quelle position chacun devrait occuper, ainsi que leur statut ou le sens que la culture attribue au rôle en question.

Ces rôles impliquent un processus par lequel une influence est établie d'une personne à l'autre , générant une performance de l'autre. Les rôles constituent un élément fondamental de nos relations avec nos pairs et peuvent varier en fonction du scénario ou du cadre contextuel. En outre, ils sont également liés à l'identité ou au concept du Soi.

  • Article connexe: "Les 28 types de communication et leurs caractéristiques"

Identité selon le modèle dramaturgique

Le concept du soi ou de soi c'est un élément qui, pour le modèle de Goffman, suppose le produit de la manipulation des impressions des autres afin qu'ils élaborent une image de l'individu déterminé et flatteur. L’identité est une construction que l’être humain fait de lui-même pour les autres à partir des rôles qu’il assume.

Ainsi, les gens créent une façade grand public pour leur performance. Ce rôle principal que nous jouons tout au long de notre vie, l’intégration de la plupart des rôles, est ce que nous considérons comme . Cela suppose que les gens s'offrent réellement aux autres, qu'ils essaient de s'approcher d'un Moi idéal.

Identité, le Soi, c'est juste l'ensemble des masques que nous avons mis , ce que nous exprimons et projetons aux autres. Nous sommes ce que les autres interprètent à propos de nous à partir de nos interactions.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Le ça, le moi et le surmoi, selon Sigmund Freud"

Interprétation de situations sociales: les cadres de sens

Un autre concept du modèle dramaturgique de Goffman est celui de cadre ou cadre, qui est compris comme schéma ou perspective à partir duquel les phénomènes sociaux sont compris et permet au sujet d’organiser ses connaissances et ses expériences.

Ces cadres ou cadres ils sont donnés en grande partie par la culture à laquelle nous appartenons et à partir duquel nous acquérons des façons d'interpréter notre monde social et les symbolismes qui en font partie, ainsi que les situations dans lesquelles nous vivons. Nous pouvons ainsi ajuster notre interaction avec l'environnement.

Savoir ce qui se passe dans une situation donnée nécessite ces cadres, qui serviront à la fois d’éléments permettant de comprendre la réalité de l’interaction et de contribuer à sa réalisation par l’individu. Ces cadres peuvent être primaires, ce qui sont habitués à comprendre des événements naturels ou sociaux , mais dans certains cas, ils ont besoin de cadres secondaires pour donner à un acte une finalité différente de l’original ou pour manipuler consciemment la perception de l’autre concernant une action concrète (respectivement des modifications ou des fabrications).

Références bibliographiques:

  • Chihu, A. et López, A. (2000). L'approche dramaturgique chez Erving Goffman. UNAM, Mexique.
  • Goffman, E. (1959). La présentation de soi dans la vie quotidienne. Doubleday Anchor. New York
  • Rivas, M. et López, M. (2012). Psychologie sociale et organisations. CEDE Manuel de préparation PIR, 11. CEDE. Madrid

Dramaturgy (Dramaturgical Analysis) (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes