yes, therapy helps!
The duel: facing the loss of a loved one

The duel: facing the loss of a loved one

December 3, 2022

The duel it is a process that takes place after a loss, whether it be a loved one, a job, a relationship, an object, etc. Grief affects psychologically though it also affects the behavior and physique of the person who suffers it . It is a necessary, universal and painful process. The important thing is to integrate it into life and reestablish a relationship with it.

Human beings establish relationships by nature. We are constantly interacting with those around us: we build links throughout our existence to meet our security and protection needs as children, to develop our identity as teenagers and to give and receive love as adults . This urge to connect with the outside arises from the moment the baby is born and begins to relate to his mother.


Characteristics of mourning

It is a process, evolves through time and space , it is normal (everyone can be a victim of a significant loss), it is dynamic, it depends on social recognition, it is intimate (each person carries it in a different way) but it is also social since it involves cultural rituals and, finally, it is active, the person will make their own decisions and give them meaning. Its function is to elaborate the impact of the loss and adapt to the new situation.

The normal duel

The process of mourning is a mechanism to adapt to a loss, it is normalized since its characteristics are present in most duels. At normal duel There are about six behaviors that occur normally: somatic or physical discomfort, concern for the image of the deceased, guilt related to the deceased or the circumstances of death, hostile reactions, inability to act normally and, finally, many patients developed some features of the deceased in his own behavior.


How long is the normal grieving process?

The duration of the duel is between two and three years (if it is a significant person), it starts from the moment in which the person begins to show the separation and ends when he accepts it definitively.

It is also normal that some people affected by a traumatic event may, as a result of their coping, experience positive changes in their lives. There are personality factors that can predict this post-traumatic growth which includes changes in oneself, in interpersonal relationships and in the philosophy or meaning of life. Posttraumatic growth can coexist with suffering. In fact, difficult emotions may be necessary for these changes to occur.

Phases of mourning

The normal duel is usually structured in stages that occur successively:


1. Emotional denial

It is a way to emotionally distance oneself from the fact, it is the absence of reactions that end when it occurs, it must last between 2 weeks and 3 months.

2. Protest

It is done with the closest people although the real anger is with the lost person, it is very necessary to express this stage.

3. Sadness

It is where there is more danger of stagnation, there is isolation from the world, it is necessary to have 3 to 5 relationships with whom to be able to talk about the loss.

4. Intellectual and global acceptance

The fact begins to be accepted, it begins costing to speak about it and it finishes with small commentaries on the loss.

5. Search for the global meaning

It consists of talking about everything that this relationship has implied in the person's life.

6. Elaboration and new attachments

Be able to link to other relationships without it being a replacement for the lost person.

Abnormal types of duels

Apart from the normal duel, there are other types of more complicated or pathological duels:

  • Chronic grief → of excessive duration, the person can not turn the page.
  • Delayed grief → the emotional reaction was not enough and manifests itself later, triggered for example, through memories.
  • Exaggerated grief or → symptoms of excessive and disabling intensity.
  • Masked duel → the person is not aware of the effects of the loss.
  • Unauthorized mourning → the mourner is not socially recognized and his pain can not be publicly expressed.

In the latter case, the absence of supportive contact at the time of the traumatic event and in the subsequent time is, in itself, another cumulative loss or trauma.

Coping with mourning

There are two types of coping mechanisms in the grieving process: the ones oriented to the loss and those oriented to the restoration .

For mourning to be adjusted, these two mechanisms must occur in an oscillatory way, although as the process progresses over time, mechanisms oriented towards restoration predominate.

The emotional needs of people who have suffered a loss

Grieving people have certain needs that must be satisfied to successfully overcome the loss.

  • They need to be heard and believed in all its history of loss.
  • They need to be protected and have permission to express emotions.
  • They need to be validated in the way of facing the duel (knowing that this happens to them is natural, it is well done and it is not bad to feel this way).
  • They need to be in a supportive relationship from reciprocity (that the other person understands thanks to a similar experience or that the other person "knows" what the affected person is talking about).
  • They need to be defined in the individual way and unique to live the duel (that the rest of people support their way of coping).
  • They need to feel that their grief experience has an impact on other people (let your pain or your explanation of what you are suffering mark others).
  • They need to be in a relationship where the other takes the initiative since they are not able to, for example, start talking about the subject.
  • And finally, they need to be able to express love and vulnerability in front of other people.

Development of special types of losses

There are certain ways of dying and certain circumstances that require special treatments that go beyond the usual processes. We review them below.

Suicide

The affected not only are they left with the feeling of loss, but also with a legacy of shame, fear, rejection, anger and guilt . It is possible that a suicide duel may be more intense and last longer than the duel due to another type of loss.

The most remarkable feeling is the shame, which affects individually as well as the nucleus or family unit and guilt, the relatives assume responsibility for the action of the deceased and have the feeling that they could have done something to avoid that death or, for the On the contrary, guilt manifests itself by blaming other people for that death.

Sudden death

They occur without warning. In this type of deaths, the loss is perceived as if it were not real, the mind does not assimilate such a sudden change so a specific treatment is needed to help accept it.

Perinatal death

In this case it is necessary to give importance to the mourning of the deceased baby since, if it is underestimated, it can incite the parents to produce another pregnancy that would only serve as a substitute for the previous one and later problems could arise.

Abortion

Usually a masked duel that manifests itself through other events or events , without the patient knowing that they are due to the previous induced abortion, since it is a provoked loss, it is not usually talked about and it is quickly forgotten, however, a woman who does not elaborate well this loss can see intensified later losses.

Anticipatory grief

In the anticipated duel, death is known in advance so the process or emotional responses are started before the loss is made . Prolonged grief can lead to resentment and, in turn, leads to guilt. The anticipated grief does not have to shorten or reduce the intensity of the process of mourning after death

AIDS

Due to the stigma of AIDS, it is really complicated to find social support for this duel since there is fear of rejection or to be judged if the cause of death is discovered. Because of these fears it is likely that isolation will occur towards the patient. An affective way of coping with this type of grief is support in social groups that are in the same situation.

Conclusions

In summary, mourning is a process with which everyone can be affected or involved at some point in life . It is a difficult but resolute process in which the support of others is very necessary to overcome it. In the duel is not necessary the presence of a psychologist to help us cope with it but sometimes it is very helpful the service that this can offer us.

There are many types of duels and many ways to cope with it but all have common bases or principles that will help us identify it.

Grief is a serious process that can cause many problems if it is not treated properly so that It is vital to know about him and be prepared to offer help to victims both from a professional vision and from a closer vision such as helping a family member or friend to cope with it.

Bibliographic references:

  • AMELA, Víctor-M. "Qui suicida no veu cap altra sortida, no tea elecció", La Vanguardia, 25-26 December 2012, p. 56 (back cover)
  • CONANGLA, Maria Mercè. Lexicon and affects, Abandonment. CONANGLA, Maria Mercè. Emotional crisis Barcelona: RBA pocket, 2007, p. 189-190.
  • NEIMEYER, Robert A. Learning from loss. Barcelona: pocket paidós, 2007. ISBN 8449311799.
  • NOMEN MARTÍN, Leila. The duel and the death. The treatment of the loss. Madrid: Pyramid, 2007. ISBN 9788436821420.
  • PAYÁS PUIGARNAU, Alba. The tasks of mourning. Bereavement psychotherapy from an integrative-relational model. Madrid: Paidós, 2010.ISBN 9788449324239.
  • WORDEN, William J. The treatment of grief: psychological counseling and therapy. Barcelona: Paidós, 2004.ISBN 9788449316562.

The Death Crawl scene from Facing the Giants (December 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le duel: face à la perte d'un être cher

Le duel: face à la perte d'un être cher

Février 1, 2024

Le duel c'est un processus qui a lieu après une perte, qu'il s'agisse d'un être cher, d'un travail, d'une relation, d'un objet, etc. Le chagrin affecte psychologiquement bien il affecte également le comportement et le physique de la personne qui le subit . C'est un processus nécessaire, universel et douloureux. L'important est de l'intégrer à la vie et de rétablir une relation avec elle.

Les êtres humains établissent des relations par nature. Nous interagissons constamment avec ceux qui nous entourent: nous établissons des liens tout au long de notre existence pour répondre à nos besoins de sécurité et de protection en tant qu'enfants, développer notre identité d'adolescents et donner et recevoir l'amour à l'âge adulte . Ce besoin de connexion avec l'extérieur découle du moment où le bébé est né et commence à avoir un rapport avec sa mère.


Caractéristiques du deuil

C'est un processus, évolue dans le temps et l'espace , c’est normal (tout le monde peut être victime d’une perte importante), c’est dynamique, cela dépend de la reconnaissance sociale, c’est intime (chaque personne le porte de manière différente) mais c’est aussi social puisqu'il implique des rituels culturels et, finalement, c active, la personne prendra ses propres décisions et leur donnera un sens. Sa fonction est d’élaborer l’impact de la perte et de s’adapter à la nouvelle situation.

Le duel normal

Le processus de deuil est un mécanisme d'adaptation à une perte, il est normalisé puisque ses caractéristiques sont présentes dans la plupart des duels. Dans le duel normal Environ six comportements se produisent normalement: inconfort somatique ou physique, souci de l’image du défunt, culpabilité liée au défunt ou circonstances du décès, réactions hostiles, incapacité à agir normalement et, finalement, de nombreux patients ont développé certaines caractéristiques du défunt dans son propre comportement.


Combien de temps dure le processus de deuil normal?

La durée du duel est de entre deux et trois ans (s’il s’agit d’une personne significative), elle commence au moment où la personne commence à manifester la séparation et s’achève lorsqu’elle l’accepte définitivement.

Il est également normal que certaines personnes touchées par un événement traumatique puissent, du fait de leur adaptation, vivre des changements positifs dans leur vie. Il y a des facteurs de personnalité qui peuvent prédire cela croissance post-traumatique qui inclut des changements en soi, dans les relations interpersonnelles et dans la philosophie ou le sens de la vie. La croissance post-traumatique peut coexister avec la souffrance. En fait, des émotions difficiles peuvent être nécessaires pour que ces changements se produisent.

Phases de deuil

Le duel normal est généralement structuré en étapes successives:


1. déni émotionnel

C'est un moyen de se distancer émotionnellement du fait, c'est l'absence de réactions qui se terminent quand cela se produit, cela doit durer entre 2 semaines et 3 mois.

2. protester

C'est fait avec les personnes les plus proches bien que la vraie colère soit avec la personne perdue, il est très nécessaire d'exprimer cette étape.

3. tristesse

C'est là où il y a le plus de danger de stagnation, d'isolement par rapport au monde, il est nécessaire d'avoir 3 à 5 relations avec lesquelles parler pour pouvoir parler de la perte.

4. Acceptation intellectuelle et globale

Le fait commence à être accepté, cela commence à coûter d'en parler et cela se termine par de petits commentaires sur la perte.

5. Recherche du sens global

Il consiste à parler de tout ce que cette relation a impliqué dans la vie de la personne.

6. Elaboration et nouvelles pièces jointes

Pouvoir se lier à d'autres relations sans que cela remplace la personne perdue.

Types de duels anormaux

Outre le duel normal, il existe d'autres types de duels plus compliqués ou pathologiques:

  • Chagrin chronique → de durée excessive, la personne ne peut pas tourner la page.
  • Chagrin retardé → la réaction émotionnelle n'était pas suffisante et se manifeste plus tard, déclenchée par exemple par les souvenirs.
  • Chagrin exagéré o → symptômes d'intensité excessive et invalidante.
  • Duel masqué → la personne n'est pas consciente des effets de la perte.
  • Deuil non autorisé → le deuil n'est pas socialement reconnu et sa douleur ne peut être exprimée publiquement.

Dans ce dernier cas, l’absence de contact favorable au moment de l’événement traumatique et à un autre moment est en soi une autre perte ou un autre traumatisme cumulatif.

Faire face au deuil

Il existe deux types de mécanismes d'adaptation dans le processus de deuil: ceux orientés vers la perte et ceux orientés vers la restauration .

Pour que le deuil soit ajusté, ces deux mécanismes doivent se dérouler de manière oscillatoire, même si, au fil du temps, les mécanismes orientés vers la restauration prédominent.

Les besoins émotionnels des personnes ayant subi une perte

Les personnes en deuil ont certains besoins qui doivent être satisfaits pour surmonter avec succès la perte.

  • Ils ont besoin d'être entendus et croyait en toute son histoire de perte.
  • Ils ont besoin d'être protégés et avoir la permission d'exprimer des émotions.
  • Ils doivent être validés dans la manière de faire face au duel (savoir que cela leur arrive est naturel, c’est bien fait et c’est pas mal de se sentir comme ça).
  • Ils doivent être dans une relation de soutien de la réciprocité (que l’autre personne comprend grâce à une expérience similaire ou que l’autre "sait" de quoi la personne affectée parle).
  • Ils doivent être définis de manière individuelle et unique à vivre le duel (que le reste des gens soutiennent leur façon de faire face).
  • Ils ont besoin de sentir que leur chagrin a un impact sur les autres (laissez votre douleur ou votre explication de ce que vous souffrez marquer les autres).
  • Ils doivent être dans une relation où l'autre prend l'initiative puisqu'ils ne peuvent pas, par exemple, commencer à parler du sujet.
  • Et enfin, ils doivent pouvoir exprimer leur amour et leur vulnérabilité devant d'autres personnes.

Développement de types spéciaux de pertes

Certaines manières de mourir et certaines circonstances nécessitent des traitements spéciaux allant au-delà des processus habituels. Nous les passons en revue ci-dessous.

Suicide

Les personnes touchées non seulement ils sont laissés avec le sentiment de perte, mais aussi avec un héritage de honte, de peur, de rejet, de colère et de culpabilité . Il est possible qu'un duel suicide soit plus intense et dure plus longtemps que le duel en raison d'un autre type de perte.

Le sentiment le plus remarquable est la honte, qui affecte individuellement et le noyau ou la cellule familiale et la culpabilité, les proches assument la responsabilité de l’action du défunt et ont le sentiment qu’ils auraient pu faire quelque chose pour l’éviter ou pour le Au contraire, la culpabilité se manifeste en accusant les autres de cette mort.

Mort subite

Ils se produisent sans avertissement. Dans ce type de décès, la perte est perçue comme si elle n'était pas réelle, l'esprit n'assimile pas un changement aussi soudain il faut donc un traitement spécifique pour l'accepter.

Mort périnatale

Dans ce cas il faut donner de l'importance au deuil du bébé décédé dans la mesure où, s'il est sous-estimé, il peut inciter les parents à avoir une autre grossesse qui ne servirait qu'à remplacer la précédente et à poser des problèmes ultérieurs.

Avortement provoquant

Il est généralement un duel masqué qui se manifeste à travers d'autres événements ou événements , sans que la patiente sache qu’elles sont dues à l’avortement provoqué antérieur, puisqu’il s’agit d’une perte provoquée, on n’en parle pas habituellement et on oublie vite, cependant, une femme qui n’explique pas bien cette perte peut voir des pertes plus importantes ultérieurement.

Chagrin anticipatoire

Dans le duel anticipé, la mort est connue d'avance, le processus ou les réactions émotionnelles sont donc déclenchés avant que la perte ne survienne . Un chagrin prolongé peut engendrer du ressentiment et, à son tour, conduire à la culpabilité. Le chagrin anticipé ne doit pas raccourcir ou réduire l'intensité du processus de deuil après le décès

SIDA

En raison de la stigmatisation du sida, il est très compliqué de trouver un soutien social pour ce duel car il y a une peur du rejet ou d'être jugé si la cause du décès est découverte. En raison de ces craintes, il est probable que le patient sera isolé. Une façon affective de gérer ce type de deuil est de fournir un soutien aux groupes sociaux qui se trouvent dans la même situation.

Conclusions

En résumé, le deuil est un processus avec lequel tout le monde peut être affecté ou impliqué à un moment de la vie . C’est un processus difficile mais résolu dans lequel le soutien des autres est indispensable pour le surmonter. Dans le duel, la présence d'un psychologue n'est pas nécessaire pour nous aider à y faire face, mais il est parfois très utile le service que cela peut nous offrir.

Il existe de nombreux types de duels et de nombreuses façons de le gérer, mais tous ont des bases ou des principes communs qui nous aideront à l'identifier.

Le deuil est un processus sérieux qui peut poser de nombreux problèmes s’il n’est pas traité correctement et Il est essentiel de connaître son identité et d’être prêt à aider les victimes. à la fois d'une vision professionnelle et d'une vision plus proche, comme aider un membre de la famille ou un ami à y faire face.

Références bibliographiques:

  • AMELA, Víctor-M. «Qui suicida pas veu cap altra sortida, pas de thé élecció», La Vanguardia, 25-26 décembre 2012, p. 56 (couverture arrière)
  • CONANGLA, Maria Mercè. Lexique et affecte, l'abandon. CONANGLA, Maria Mercè. Crise émotionnelle Barcelone: ​​RBA pocket, 2007, p. 189-190.
  • NEIMEYER, Robert A. Apprendre de la perte. Barcelone: ​​poche payée, 2007. ISBN 8449311799.
  • NOMEN MARTÍN, Leila. Le duel et la mort Le traitement de la perte. Madrid: Pyramid, 2007. ISBN 9788436821420.
  • PAYÁS PUIGARNAU, Alba. Les tâches de deuil. Psychothérapie de deuil à partir d'un modèle intégratif-relationnel. Madrid: Paidós, 2010.ISBN 9788449324239.
  • WORDEN, William J. Le traitement du deuil: conseil psychologique et thérapie. Barcelone: ​​Paidós, 2004.ISBN 9788449316562.

Comment j'ai surmonté le décès de mon frère #MENTAL D'ACIER (J-13) (Février 2024).


Articles Connexes