yes, therapy helps!
The effects of advertising on our fragile minds

The effects of advertising on our fragile minds

May 10, 2021

Advertising is a discipline that draws on the knowledge of social psychology applied to marketing and tries to direct every purchase decision we make. Very linked to studies of influence and persuasion, it manages to modify our habits, becoming a phenomenon that transcends the mere act of buying and selling.

The language he uses and the reality he shows us seek to respond to the wishes, needs and motivations of an audience, which is not usually recognized as such.

Advertising is ubiquitous

Guérin is forceful when affirming that "the air that we breathe is composed of oxygen, nitrogen and publicity". Advertising is ubiquitous


It invades all spaces, it is installed in our homes, it sneaks into our electronic devices, it fills social networks and mass media. He manages to conduct our conversations and our thoughts, we reproduce his slogans and we hummed his melodies. It is a protagonist of our external reality and our inner world.

Advertising as a social modeling agent

From the sociology it is affirmed that the publicity is agent of social modeling because, besides influencing the habits of purchase, accelerates the transmission of attitudes and values ​​and can even transform them . It transmits a hegemonic discourse, it makes us a certain reality, a perception that will end up modeling our symbolic thought and also our desires (Romero, 2011).


But nevertheless, the vast majority of us will hardly admit to being influenced by advertising . "There are so few people who admit the influence of advertising on their shopping habits, like madmen who admit their madness" (Pérez and San Martín, 1995). Psychology repeatedly shows us that we are wrong if we believe we are free from its influence.

The advertising illusionism

In the game of seduction, the publicist part with advantage . He knows the frustrations, prejudices and intimate desires of his goal and turns them into the perfect packaging of a product that, supposedly, will solve any weakness of his client. In this way, advertising not only informs about the qualities that the product possesses, but it gives it additional values ​​that are not even part of it. It is a kind of illusionist art, capable of covering the product with a black light that hides or lets see what the publicist wants to show, not what really exists.


Advertising plays a substitute role when you exchange symbol and product, getting the consumer to want the symbol with more impetus than the product he thinks he needs . It is a fetishistic behavior associated with the need for distinction, status and recognition that all humans have. The cosmetic manufacturer, Charles Revlon, defined this substitution effect perfectly when he stated: "in our factory we make lipsticks, in our advertisements we sell hope" (Ibídem).

Advertising is class

Advertising appeals to class consciousness with its strategies. Each ad is aimed at a target audience or a specific sector of society . Each object is endowed with a symbolic value that serves to create in the consumer an illusion of social ascent if he possesses it. At the same time, advertising tries to avoid in its stories scenes that show division of classes or social conflicts, while force a fictitious social equality creating products for any purchasing power (Romero, 2011), categorizes types of consumers and satisfies them with products adapted to each target

Advertising also has a problem-eliminating function, or "happy world" effect. Always try to present a beautiful, playful and fascinating world, in which consumption is related to leisure, beauty and well-being, that is, it presents us with a "beautiful side of life", ignoring any other less desirable reality, de-dramatizing our daily life.

Know it to prevent its effects

In addition to its economic value, we observe how advertising has a remarkable social value . It is positive to learn to recognize their different values ​​to avoid possible harmful effects. For example, learn to detect when it may be being used as a means of ideological pressure, or to recognize its class capacity when it categorizes us according to different types of consumption. Many researchers argue that advertising is alienating because it alienates us by creating new needs, or when it digests a certain vision of the world.

Advertising stereotypes and uniforms us by proposing models and fashions that we will follow massively, matching our criteria , ideals and tastes.It is the depersonalizing effect of advertising, which homogenizes a society that claims to be plural but, paradoxically, will take advantage of this unification to try, again, to locate products that seek to endow the buyer with distinction and uniqueness, because we all like to be special (Carnegie, 1936). In this way it makes us enter into a spiral of depersonalization-a distinction that is difficult to come out of in the consumer market in which we live.

"Announce is to poke at open wounds (...). You mention the defects and we act on each one of them. We play with all the emotions and with all the problems, from not being able to stay ahead, to the desire to be one more among the crowd. Each one has a special desire "(Della Femina, cited in Pérez and San Martín, 1995).

Bibliographic references:

  • Carnegie, D. (1936). How to win friends and influence people. USA: Simon & Schuster
  • Pérez, J.M., San Martín, J. (1995). Sell ​​something more than jeans. Advertising and education in values. Communicate (5) 21-28.
  • Romero, M.V. (2011). The advertising language. The permanent seduction. Spain: Ariel.

Make Men Masculine Again (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les effets de la publicité sur nos esprits fragiles

Les effets de la publicité sur nos esprits fragiles

Mai 24, 2022

La publicité est une discipline qui s’appuie sur la connaissance de la psychologie sociale appliquée au marketing et qui tente de diriger chaque décision d’achat prise. Très lié aux études d'influence et de persuasion, il parvient à modifier nos habitudes, devenant un phénomène qui transcende le simple acte d'achat et de vente.

Le langage qu’il utilise et la réalité qu’il nous montre cherchent à répondre aux souhaits, aux besoins et aux motivations d’un auditoire, ce qui n’est généralement pas reconnu en tant que tel.

La publicité est omniprésente

Guérin affirme avec force que "l'air que nous respirons est composé d'oxygène, d'azote et de publicité". La publicité est omniprésente


Il envahit tous les espaces, il est installé dans nos maisons, il se faufile dans nos appareils électroniques, il remplit les réseaux sociaux et les médias de masse. Il parvient à mener nos conversations et nos pensées, nous reproduisons son des slogans et nous avons fredonné ses mélodies. C'est un protagoniste de notre réalité extérieure et de notre monde intérieur.

Publicité en tant qu'agent de modélisation sociale

De la sociologie, il est affirmé que la publicité est un agent de modélisation sociale car, en plus d’influencer les habitudes d’achat, accélère la transmission des attitudes et des valeurs et peut même les transformer . Il transmet un discours hégémonique, il nous fait une certaine réalité, une perception qui finira par modéliser notre pensée symbolique et aussi nos désirs (Romero, 2011).


Cependant, la grande majorité d'entre nous admettra à peine être influencée par la publicité . "Il y a si peu de gens qui admettent l'influence de la publicité sur leurs habitudes d'achat, comme des fous qui admettent leur folie" (Pérez et San Martín, 1995). La psychologie nous montre à plusieurs reprises que nous avons tort si nous croyons être libérés de son influence.

L'illusionnisme publicitaire

Dans le jeu de la séduction, le publiciste joue à l'avantage . Il connaît les frustrations, les préjugés et les désirs intimes de son objectif et les transforme en un emballage parfait pour un produit censé résoudre les faiblesses de son client. De cette manière, la publicité informe non seulement sur les qualités que possède le produit, mais elle lui donne des valeurs supplémentaires qui n'en font même pas partie. C'est une sorte d'art illusionniste, capable de recouvrir le produit d'une lumière noire qui cache ou laisse voir ce que le publiciste veut montrer, pas ce qui existe réellement.


La publicité joue un rôle de substitution lorsque vous échangez un symbole et un produit, incitant le consommateur à vouloir le symbole avec plus d’élan que le produit dont il pense avoir besoin . C'est un comportement fétichiste associé au besoin de distinction, de statut et de reconnaissance que tous les humains ont. Le fabricant de cosmétiques, Charles Revlon, a parfaitement défini cet effet de substitution lorsqu'il a déclaré: "Dans notre usine, nous fabriquons des rouges à lèvres, dans nos publicités, nous vendons de l'espoir" (Ibídem).

La publicité est classe

La publicité fait appel à la conscience de classe avec ses stratégies. Chaque annonce est destinée à un public cible ou à un secteur spécifique de la société . Chaque objet est doté d'une valeur symbolique qui sert à créer chez le consommateur une illusion d'ascension sociale s'il le possède. Dans le même temps, la publicité tente d'éviter dans ses reportages des scènes montrant la division des classes ou des conflits sociaux, tout en imposant une égalité sociale fictive créant des produits pour tout pouvoir d'achat (Romero, 2011), catégorisant les types de consommateurs et les satisfaisant avec des produits adaptés à leurs besoins. chaque cible

La publicité a également une fonction qui élimine les problèmes, ou l’effet de «monde heureux». Essayez toujours de présenter un monde magnifique, ludique et fascinant, dans laquelle la consommation est liée aux loisirs, à la beauté et au bien-être, c’est-à-dire qu’elle nous présente un "beau côté de la vie", ignorant toute autre réalité moins souhaitable, dédramatisant notre quotidien.

Sachez le pour prévenir ses effets

En plus de sa valeur économique, nous observons à quel point la publicité a une valeur sociale remarquable . Il est positif d'apprendre à reconnaître leurs différentes valeurs afin d'éviter d'éventuels effets néfastes. Par exemple, apprenez à détecter quand il peut être utilisé comme moyen de pression idéologique ou à reconnaître sa capacité de classe lorsqu'il nous classe en fonction de différents types de consommation. De nombreux chercheurs soutiennent que la publicité est aliénante parce qu'elle nous aliène en créant de nouveaux besoins ou en digérant une certaine vision du monde.

La publicité des stéréotypes et des uniformes en proposant des modèles et des modes que nous suivrons massivement, correspondant à nos critères , idéaux et goûts.C’est l’effet dépersonnalisant de la publicité, qui homogénéise une société qui se prétend plurielle mais qui, paradoxalement, profitera de cette unification pour tenter, à nouveau, de localiser des produits cherchant à doter l’acheteur de distinction et d’unicité, car nous aimons tous être particuliers (Carnegie, 1936). De cette manière, nous entrons dans une spirale de dépersonnalisation - une distinction difficile à établir sur le marché de consommation dans lequel nous vivons.

"Annonce, c’est piquer les plaies ouvertes (...). Vous mentionnez les défauts et nous agissons sur chacun d'entre eux. Nous jouons avec toutes les émotions et tous les problèmes, du fait de ne pas pouvoir rester devant, au désir d’être de plus parmi la foule. Chacun a un désir particulier "(Della Femina, cité dans Pérez et San Martín, 1995).

Références bibliographiques:

  • Carnegie, D. (1936). Comment gagner des amis et influencer les gens. Etats-Unis: Simon & Schuster
  • Pérez, J. M., San Martín, J. (1995). Vendre quelque chose de plus que des jeans. Publicité et éducation aux valeurs. Communiquer (5) 21-28.
  • Romero, M.V. (2011). Le langage publicitaire. La séduction permanente. Espagne: Ariel.

Horizon - ".... Il aura la femme !" Mythologie publicitaire de la voiture (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes