yes, therapy helps!
The empiricist theory of David Hume

The empiricist theory of David Hume

July 18, 2022

Before Psychology appeared as a science, it was the task of philosophers to investigate the way in which the human being perceives reality. From the Renaissance, two great philosophical currents fought each other to answer that question; On the one hand there were the rationalists, who believed in the existence of certain universal truths with which we are already born and that allow us to interpret our surroundings, and on the other were the empiricists, who denied the existence of innate knowledge and they believed that we only learn through experience.

David Hume was not only one of the great representatives of the empiricist current, but he was also one of the most radical in that sense. His powerful ideas are still important today and, in fact, other philosophers of the twentieth century were inspired by them. Let's see what exactly was the empiricist theory of David Hume .


  • Related article: "How are Psychology and Philosophy like?

Who was David Hume?

This English philosopher was born in the year 1711 in Edinburgh, Scotland. When he was only twelve years old he entered the University of Edinburgh, and years later, after suffering a nervous crisis, he moved to France, where he began to develop his philosophical concerns through the writing of the Treaty of Human Nature, finished in 1739. This work contains the germ of his empiricist theory.

Much later, around 1763, Hume became friends with Jean-Jacques Rousseau and he began to make himself known more as a thinker and philosopher. He died in Edinburgh in the year 1776.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Voltaire's epistemological theory"

The empiricist theory of Hume

The main ideas of David Hume's philosophy they are summarized in the following basic principles.

1. Innate knowledge does not exist

Human beings come to life without previous knowledge or thought patterns that define how we should conceive reality. Everything we will come to know will be thanks to the exposure to experiences .

In this way, David Hume denied the rationalist dogma that there are truths that exist for themselves and to which we could have access in any possible context, only by reason.

2. There are two types of mental contents

Hume distinguishes between impressions, which are those thoughts that are based on things that we have experienced through the senses, and ideas, which are copies of the previous ones and their nature is more ambiguous and abstract because they do not have the limits or the details of something that corresponds to a sensation originated by eyes, ears, etc.


The bad thing about ideas is that, although they correspond exactly with the truth, they tell us very little or nothing about what reality is like, and in practice what matters is knowing the environment in which we live: nature.

3. There are two types of statements

When it comes to explaining reality, Hume distinguishes between demonstrative and probable statements. Demonstratives, as their name indicates, are those whose validity can be demonstrated by evaluating their logical structure. For example, to say that the sum of two units equals number two is a demonstrative statement. That implies that its truth or falsehood is self-evident , without needing to investigate about other things that are not contained in the statement or that are not part of the semantic framework in which that statement is framed.

The probable ones, on the other hand, refer to what happens in a certain time and space, and therefore it can not be known with total certainty if they are true at the moment in which they are enunciated. For example: "tomorrow will rain".

4. We need the probable statements

Although we can not fully trust its validity, we need to back us up with probable statements to live, that is, trust more in some beliefs and less in others. Otherwise, we would be doubting everything and we would not do anything.

So, what are our habits and our way of living based on solid beliefs? For Hume, the principles by which we are guided are valuable because they are likely to reflect something true, not because they correspond exactly to reality.

5. The limitations of inductive thinking

For Hume, our lives are characterized by being settled on the belief that we know certain invariable characteristics about nature and everything that does not surround. These beliefs are born from exposure to several similar experiences.

For example, we have learned that two things can happen when you turn on the tap: either liquid falls or does not fall. However, it can not happen that liquid comes out but, instead of falling, the jet projects upwards, towards the sky. The latter seems obvious, but, taking into account the previous premises ...What justifies that it will continue to happen always in the same way? For Hume, there is nothing to justify it. From the occurrence of many similar experiences in the past, it does not follow logically that this will always happen .

So, although there are many things about how the world works that seem obvious, for Hume these "truths" are not really true, and we only act as if they were for convenience or, more specifically, because they are part of our routine. First we expose ourselves to a repetition of experiences and then assume a truth that is not really there.


PHILOSOPHY - David Hume (July 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie empiriste de David Hume

La théorie empiriste de David Hume

Septembre 19, 2019

Avant que la psychologie apparaisse comme une science, il incombait aux philosophes d'étudier la façon dont l'être humain perçoit la réalité. Dès la Renaissance, deux grands courants philosophiques se sont affrontés pour répondre à cette question. Il y avait d'un côté les rationalistes, qui croyaient en l'existence de certaines vérités universelles avec lesquelles nous sommes nés et qui nous permettent d'interpréter notre environnement, et de l'autre les empiristes, nié l'existence de connaissances innées et ils croyaient que nous n’apprenons que par expérience.

David Hume n'était pas seulement l'un des plus grands représentants du courant empiriste, mais il était également l'un des plus radicaux dans ce sens. Ses idées puissantes sont toujours importantes aujourd'hui et, en fait, elles ont inspiré d'autres philosophes du XXe siècle. Voyons voir quelle était exactement la théorie empiriste de David Hume .


  • Article connexe: "Comment se présente la psychologie et la philosophie?"

Qui était David Hume?

Ce philosophe anglais est né en 1711 à Édimbourg, en Écosse. À l'âge de douze ans, il entra à l'Université d'Édimbourg. Quelques années plus tard, après une crise nerveuse, il s'installa en France, où il commença à développer ses préoccupations philosophiques à travers la rédaction du Traité de la nature humaine. terminé en 1739. Cet ouvrage contient le germe de sa théorie empiriste.

Beaucoup plus tard, vers 1763, Hume est devenu ami avec Jean-Jacques Rousseau et il commença à se faire davantage connaître en tant que penseur et philosophe. Il mourut à Edimbourg en 1776.


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "La théorie épistémologique de Voltaire"

La théorie empiriste de Hume

Les idées principales de la philosophie de David Hume ils sont résumés dans les principes de base suivants.

1. La connaissance innée n'existe pas

Les êtres humains s'animent sans connaissances préalables ni schémas de pensée qui définissent la manière dont nous devrions concevoir la réalité. Tout ce que nous saurons le faire sera grâce à l’exposition aux expériences .

De cette manière, David Hume a nié le dogme rationaliste selon lequel il existe des vérités qui existent pour elles-mêmes et auxquelles nous pourrions avoir accès dans n'importe quel contexte possible, uniquement par la raison.

2. Il existe deux types de contenu mental

Hume distingue les impressions, qui sont des pensées basées sur des choses que nous avons expérimentées par les sens, et les idées, qui sont des copies des précédentes et dont la nature est plus ambiguë et plus abstraite car elles n’ont pas de limites ni de détails. de quelque chose qui correspond à une sensation créée par les yeux, les oreilles, etc.


La mauvaise chose à propos des idées est que, bien qu’elles correspondent exactement à la vérité, elles ne nous disent pas grand-chose ou rien de la réalité, et dans la pratique, ce qui compte, c’est de connaître l’environnement dans lequel nous vivons: la nature.

3. Il existe deux types de déclarations

Lorsqu'il s'agit d'expliquer la réalité, Hume fait la distinction entre déclarations démonstratives et déclarations probables. Les démonstratifs, comme leur nom l’indique, sont ceux dont la validité peut être démontrée en évaluant leur structure logique. Par exemple, dire que la somme de deux unités est égale au nombre deux est une affirmation démonstrative. Cela implique que sa vérité ou sa fausseté va de soi , sans avoir besoin d’enquêter sur d’autres éléments qui ne figurent pas dans la déclaration ou qui ne font pas partie du cadre sémantique dans lequel cette déclaration est encadrée.

Les probables, en revanche, font référence à ce qui se passe dans un certain espace et dans un certain temps. Par conséquent, on ne peut pas savoir avec une certitude totale si elles sont vraies au moment où elles sont énoncées. Par exemple: "demain il pleuvra".

4. Nous avons besoin des déclarations probables

Bien que nous ne puissions avoir pleinement confiance en sa validité, nous devons nous appuyer sur des déclarations probables à vivre, c’est-à-dire faire davantage confiance à certaines croyances et moins à d’autres. Sinon, nous douterions de tout et nous ne ferions rien.

Alors, quelles sont nos habitudes et notre mode de vie basés sur des croyances solides? Pour Hume, les principes qui nous guident sont précieux car ils sont susceptibles de refléter quelque chose de vrai, et non pas parce qu'ils correspondent exactement à la réalité.

5. Les limites de la pensée inductive

Pour Hume, nos vies se caractérisent par l’installation la conviction que nous connaissons certaines caractéristiques invariables de la nature et tout ce qui n’entoure pas. Ces croyances naissent de l'exposition à plusieurs expériences similaires.

Par exemple, nous avons appris que lorsque vous ouvrez le robinet, deux choses peuvent se produire: le liquide tombe ou ne tombe pas. Cependant, il ne peut pas arriver que du liquide sorte, mais au lieu de tomber, le jet se projette vers le haut, vers le ciel. Ce dernier semble évident, mais compte tenu des prémisses précédentes ...Qu'est-ce qui justifie que cela continue à se produire toujours de la même manière? Pour Hume, rien ne le justifie. De la survenue de nombreuses expériences similaires dans le passé, il ne s'ensuit pas logiquement que cela se produira toujours .

Ainsi, bien que le fonctionnement de ce monde présente de nombreux aspects qui semblent évidents, pour Hume, ces "vérités" ne sont pas vraiment vraies, et nous agissons comme si elles étaient commodes ou plus précisément la routine Nous nous exposons d’abord à une répétition d’expériences, puis assumons une vérité qui n’existe pas vraiment.


David Hume : Empirisme et critique de la causalité (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes