yes, therapy helps!
The Empty Chair: a therapeutic technique of Gestalt

The Empty Chair: a therapeutic technique of Gestalt

May 6, 2021

The Empty Chair technique is one of the tools of Gestalt therapy that are more striking and, in a way, spectacular: people who sit before an empty chair and address it as if there were sitting a being relevant to them ; a being that, in some way, has been involved in a fact that changed their lives.

Of course, in reality there is no one sitting there (for something called the technique of Empty chair) are the imagination and the suggestion the elements that are intertwined in this therapeutic approach, not esotericism. But… What does it really consist of?

Sitting in the empty chair

"Ania lost her father at nine years of age because of a car accident. That night her father left work at high speed because the girl was sick when a drunk driver ran over the vehicle. Now, sixteen years old, Ania still remembers the night of the accident as if it were yesterday. He feels a certain guilt because if it had not been for his condition his father would not have run so long to get home, and he also notes an intense sense of anger against the man who caused the accident. "

Stories like this happen relatively often in real life . Many of those who suffer a loss of this type suffer great situations of emotional block or extreme affective lability, sudden aggressive reactions or feelings of guilt that drag during long years unless they seek treatment. It is even possible the appearance of pathologies such as Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD).


The Empty Chair technique is one of the possible techniques that are often used to help overcome this type of experience based on past experiences.

What is the Empty Chair technique?

The Empty Chair technique is one of the best known techniques of Gestalt Therapy. It was created by the psychologist Fritz Perls with the purpose of elaborating a method that would allow to reintegrate in the life of the patients phenomena or unresolved questions. The technique in question try to reproduce an encounter with a situation or person in order to dialogue with her and emotionally contact the event, being able to accept the situation and give a conclusion.


The name of the Empty Chair technique comes from the use of a real chair, in which the patient will "imagine" the person, situation or facet that causes the emotional blockage to later establish the aforementioned dialogue.

The use of the Empty Chair

Its use is very frequent in cases similar to the one shown in the example, as a way of coping with traumatic losses, or in the process of elaboration of grief. However, its application is not limited only to this area, but rather It is also used as an element to allow the acceptance of facets of one's personality or of thought that are not considered acceptable by the patient, as well as to work on the perception of limitations and disabilities (loss of faculties, amputations, etc.).

Likewise, it is a valid technique for dealing with traumatic situations, which may or may not involve PTSD and / or dissociative disorders, such as rape, divorce or survivor syndrome. The characteristics of this technique also allow it to be applied also in the world of education or even at the level of organizations, in phenomena such as burnout or harassment.


In all cases, we act under the belief that "the patient only needs an experience, not an explanation" to finish closing the unfinished process and accept their situation.

At the level of therapy, as well as as an element for the client to explore their own vision and contact their emotions, is an element that provides much information to the individual himself as to the professional on the way in which the patient processes the situation and how it has affected his quality of life, favoring the application of other actions that improve the treatment of the problems analyzed.

Operation of the technique

Let's see below how the use of the Empty Chair works . First, in a preparatory phase, the physical confrontation of the patient with the empty chair is carried out. That is, the empty chair is positioned in front of the individual (although it is sometimes placed diagonally so that no opposition to the person or situation imagined is seen).

The patient is then instructed to project the person, situation or feeling or part of the personality with which the dialogue is to take place in the chair.

In a third phase, the patient is invited to describe the projection made, in order to strengthen the imagined image that has been represented. Both positive and negative must be mentioned, both of the person and the situation or its effects.

In the case of a death or separation, It is useful to remember the relationship that existed before the event and what happened before , whereas in feelings, traumas or unacceptable facets of the self it is useful to look for the moment in which it appeared or when it became a problem. It is likely that in this context the revelation of what was left pending or the sensations that the situations in question arise, making conscious blocked elements.

Starting the dialogue

Subsequently, in the phase of verbal expression, the patient starts the dialogue aloud with the projection, trying to be honest and letting see those details that the patient does not dare or has not been able to show in their daily life or before the person in question, how the patient has lived the situation and why it has been like that. The therapist must monitor the dialogue and redirect it so that there are no deviations that worsen the situation, without restricting the flow of thought of the individual.

Although in some variants of the technique it is not applied, it is useful to have the patient exchange his chair with that of the projection, putting himself in the place of the other in order to facilitate emotional expression. This exchange will occur as many times as deemed necessary as long as the transition is necessary and consistent with the problem to be addressed.

By last, it is indicated and it helps to reflect to the patient the sensations that it is showing , so that the subject is able to identify and realize their emotional reactions, how the event has affected him, and how that affects his life.

To finalize the technique, the therapist instructs the patient to close their eyes and imagine the projection entering again into it, to later eliminate all the created images while paying attention only to the real context in the consultation.

Difficulties in the use of the Empty Chair

Although this technique has shown its usefulness for emotional unblocking, self-acceptance and resolution of grieving processes, its application may be hindered by a series of resistances .

To begin with, this type of technique requires the ability to imagine and project the image of a person, whether a being is not present or a part of the person. That is, someone who does not have the ability to accurately imagine the person or facet of personality in question will not be able to draw the level of intended profit of the technique. The patient can be guided in the technique through questions to facilitate the projection.

A second difficulty is that the patient refuses to use it because he considers it ridiculous, or because of the fear or difficulty of expressing his thoughts aloud.

A third and final problem may come from the ability to detect the blocked element, so that the patient is not able to find another perspective of the situation experienced, which must be worked on. Sometimes, the element that produces discomfort is difficult to identify.

Final considerations

It's important to put attention on this technique should be used only under the supervision of a therapist who can direct the situation .

Also, although it has many possible uses, the Empty Chair is used intermittently, only when it is relevant to facilitate emotional contact with a part of the self of the patient or to explore the problem situation.

Bibliographic references:

  • Castanedo, C. (1981) The Gestalt Therapy applied to adolescent dreams. Rev. Cost. Science. Méd .; 2 (1), pp. 25-28.
  • Fromm - Reichmann, F. (1960). Principles of Intensive Psychotherapy. Chicago: The University of Chicago Press.
  • PerIs, F. (1976) Gestalt Approach and Eye Witness to Therapy. Bantam Books, New York.
  • PerIs, F, Hefferline R., Goodman, P. (1951). Gestalt Therapy. Doll Publishing Inc., New York.
  • Martin. A. (2013). Practical Manual of Gestalt Psychotherapy. 11th edition. Desclée de Brouwner, pp. 159 - 161.
  • Greenberg, L.S. and others (1996). Facilitating emotional change. The therapeutic process point by point. Barcelona: Paidós.

Gestalt Therapy Role-Play - Empty Chair Technique with Strained Relationship (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La chaise vide: une technique thérapeutique de Gestalt

La chaise vide: une technique thérapeutique de Gestalt

Novembre 22, 2022

La technique de la chaise vide est l’un des outils de la Gestalt-thérapie les plus frappants et, en quelque sorte, spectaculaires: les gens qui s'assoient devant une chaise vide et y répondent comme s'il y avait un être qui les concerne ; un être qui, d'une certaine manière, a été impliqué dans un fait qui a changé leur vie.

Bien sûr, en réalité, il n’ya personne qui soit assis là (car on appelle la technique de la Chaise vide) sont l’imagination et la suggestion, les éléments qui s’entremêlent dans cette approche thérapeutique, pas l’ésotérisme. Mais ... En quoi consiste-t-il vraiment?

Assis sur la chaise vide

"Ania a perdu son père à l'âge de neuf ans à la suite d'un accident de voiture. Cette nuit-là, son père a quitté le travail à grande vitesse parce que la jeune fille était malade lorsqu'un conducteur ivre a écrasé le véhicule. Aujourd'hui âgée de seize ans, Ania se souvient encore de la nuit de l'accident comme si c'était hier. Il ressent une certaine culpabilité parce que sans son état, son père n'aurait pas mis autant de temps à rentrer chez lui et il a également noté un intense sentiment de colère contre l'homme qui avait causé l'accident. "

Des histoires comme celle-ci se produisent assez souvent dans la vie réelle . Beaucoup de ceux qui subissent une perte de ce type souffrent de grandes situations de blocage émotionnel ou de grande labilité affective, de réactions agressives soudaines ou de sentiments de culpabilité qui traînent pendant de longues années à moins de chercher un traitement. Il est même possible l'apparition de pathologies telles que le syndrome de stress post-traumatique (SSPT).


La technique de la chaise vide est l'une des techniques possibles qui sont souvent utilisées pour aider à surmonter ce type d'expérience basé sur des expériences passées.

Quelle est la technique de la chaise vide?

La technique de la chaise vide est l'une des techniques les plus connues de la Gestalt Therapy. Il a été créé par le psychologue Fritz Perls dans le but d'élaborer une méthode permettant de réintégrer dans la vie des patients des phénomènes ou des questions non résolues. La technique en question essayer de reproduire une rencontre avec une situation ou une personne afin de dialoguer avec elle et contacter émotionnellement l'événement, être capable d'accepter la situation et de donner une conclusion.


Le nom de la technique de la chaise vide vient de l'utilisation d'une vraie chaise, dans laquelle le patient "imaginera" la personne, la situation ou la facette à l'origine du blocage émotionnel afin d'établir plus tard le dialogue susmentionné.

L'utilisation de la chaise vide

Son utilisation est très fréquente dans des cas similaires à celui présenté dans l'exemple, comme moyen de faire face à des pertes traumatiques ou dans le processus d'élaboration d'un deuil. Cependant, son application ne se limite pas à ce domaine, mais plutôt à Il est également utilisé comme un élément permettant l'acceptation des facettes de la personnalité. ou de pensées qui ne sont pas considérées comme acceptables par le patient, ainsi que pour travailler sur la perception des limitations et des incapacités (perte de facultés, amputations, etc.).

De même, il s'agit d'une technique valable pour traiter des situations traumatiques, pouvant impliquer ou non un trouble de stress post-traumatique et / ou des troubles dissociatifs, tels que le viol, le divorce ou le syndrome de la survivante. Les caractéristiques de cette technique permettent également de l'appliquer également dans le monde de l'éducation ou même au niveau des organisations, dans des phénomènes tels que l'épuisement professionnel ou le harcèlement.


Dans tous les cas, nous agissons avec la conviction que "le patient n'a besoin que d'une expérience, pas d'une explication" pour mettre fin au processus inachevé et accepter sa situation.

Au niveau de la thérapie, ainsi que comme élément permettant au client d’explorer sa propre vision et de contacter ses émotions, est un élément qui fournit beaucoup d'informations à l'individu lui-même quant au professionnel sur la manière dont le patient traite la situation et son impact sur sa qualité de vie, favorisant la mise en œuvre d’autres actions améliorant le traitement des problèmes analysés.

Opération de la technique

Voyons ci-dessous comment fonctionne l'utilisation de la chaise vide . Premièrement, dans une phase préparatoire, la confrontation physique du patient avec la chaise vide est réalisée. C'est-à-dire que la chaise vide est placée devant l'individu (bien qu'elle soit parfois placée en diagonale de sorte qu'aucune opposition à la personne ou à la situation imaginée ne soit vue).

Il est ensuite demandé au patient de projeter la personne, la situation, le sentiment ou une partie de la personnalité avec laquelle le dialogue doit avoir lieu dans le fauteuil.

Dans une troisième phase, le patient est invité à décrire la projection réalisée afin de renforcer l’image imaginée représentée. Il faut mentionner les aspects positifs et négatifs, tant de la personne que de la situation ou de ses effets.

En cas de décès ou de séparation, Il est utile de rappeler la relation qui existait avant l'événement et ce qui s'est passé avant , alors que dans les sentiments, les traumatismes ou les facettes inacceptables du moi, il est utile de rechercher le moment où il est apparu ou quand cela est devenu un problème. Il est probable que dans ce contexte, la révélation de ce qui restait en suspens ou les sensations que les situations en question surviennent, rendant conscients des éléments bloqués.

Commencer le dialogue

Par la suite, dans la phase d’expression verbale, le patient commence le dialogue à voix haute avec la projection, en essayant d'être honnête et laisser voir les détails que le patient n'ose pas ou n'a pas été capable de montrer dans sa vie quotidienne ou devant la personne en question, comment le patient a vécu la situation et pourquoi cela a été ainsi. Le thérapeute doit surveiller le dialogue et le rediriger de manière à ce qu’aucune déviation ne vienne aggraver la situation sans restreindre le flux de pensée de l’individu.

Bien que, dans certaines variantes de la technique, elle ne soit pas appliquée, il est utile de demander au patient d’échanger sa chaise avec celle de la projection, en se mettant à la place de l’autre afin de faciliter l’expression émotionnelle. Cet échange aura lieu autant de fois que nécessaire, à condition que la transition soit nécessaire et cohérente avec le problème à résoudre.

Finalement, il est indiqué et il aide à refléter au patient les sensations qu’il montre , afin que le sujet puisse identifier et réaliser ses réactions émotionnelles, la manière dont l’événement l’a affecté et comment cela affecte sa vie.

Pour finaliser la technique, le thérapeute demande au patient de fermer les yeux et d’imaginer que la projection entre de nouveau dans celle-ci, puis d’éliminer toutes les images créées tout en ne prêtant l’attention qu’aux circonstances.

Difficultés dans l'utilisation de la chaise vide

Bien que cette technique ait démontré son utilité pour le déblocage émotionnel, l’acceptation de soi et la résolution des processus de deuil, son application peut être entravée par une série de résistances .

Pour commencer, ce type de technique nécessite la capacité d'imaginer et de projeter l'image d'une personne, qu'un être soit absent ou fasse partie de la personne. En d’autres termes, une personne qui n’a pas la capacité d’imaginer avec précision la personne ou l’aspect de la personnalité en question ne sera pas en mesure de tirer le niveau de profit voulu de la technique. Le patient peut être guidé dans la technique à travers des questions pour faciliter la projection.

Une deuxième difficulté est que le patient refuse de l'utiliser parce qu'il la trouve ridicule, ou à cause de la peur ou de la difficulté d'exprimer ses pensées à haute voix.

Un troisième et dernier problème peut provenir de la capacité à détecter l'élément bloqué, de sorte que le patient ne soit pas en mesure de trouver une autre perspective de la situation vécue, sur laquelle il faut travailler. Parfois, l'élément qui produit un inconfort est difficile à identifier.

Considérations finales

Il est important de garder à l'esprit que cette technique ne devrait être utilisée que sous la supervision d'un thérapeute capable de diriger la situation .

De plus, bien qu’il ait de nombreuses utilisations possibles, le fauteuil vide est utilisé de manière intermittente, mais uniquement lorsqu'il est pertinent de faciliter le contact émotionnel avec une partie de la pièce. soi du patient ou pour explorer la situation problématique.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Castanedo, C. (1981) The Gestalt Therapy appliqué aux rêves d'adolescent. Rev. Cost. Cienc. Méd.; 2 (1), pp. 25-28.
  • Fromm - Reichmann, F. (1960). Principes de la psychothérapie intensive. Chicago: Presse de l'Université de Chicago.
  • PerIs, F. (1976) Approche gestaltiste et témoin oculaire à la thérapie. Livres Bantam, New York.
  • PerIs, F, R. Hefferline, P. Goodman (1951). Thérapie Gestalt. Doll Publishing Inc., New York.
  • Martín A. (2013). Manuel pratique de psychothérapie de Gestalt. 11ème édition. Desclée de Brouwner, pp. 159 - 161.
  • Greenberg, L.S. et autres (1996). Faciliter le changement émotionnel. Le processus thérapeutique point par point. Barcelone: ​​Paidós.

La chaise vide - Gestalt Thérapie (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes