yes, therapy helps!
The epidemic of loneliness, and what we can do to combat it

The epidemic of loneliness, and what we can do to combat it

November 27, 2021

Human beings have a predisposition to feel alone from time to time, whatever our life may be, whether we are introverted or extroverted. This is so because we are social animals, and it is very easy that at a given moment we suffer from discomfort because we can not connect with anyone as much as we would like. It is normal.

However, the feeling of loneliness can be accentuated by social phenomena, and that is precisely what is happening in recent decades. In fact, since the 1980s, the number of Americans who say they have no close friends has tripled, and The most common answer to the question "How many true friendships do you have?" it's "zero" .


This trend has also been found in many other countries in the West that, despite having popularized the use of social networks, seems to pose serious problems to its inhabitants when it comes to finding faithful friendships. It is an authentic epidemic of loneliness .

  • Related article: "The 10 benefits of having friends, according to science"

The scarcity of friendships and their psychological effects

The bad of paying so much attention to the number of friends added on Facebook is that it is very easy to stop paying attention to the quality of these relationships . In that sense it is not surprising that despite the fact that last year the average number of friends that each user has on their Facebook profile is around 330, most Americans report having only one confidant at most.


Why has this epidemic of loneliness appeared? Keep in mind that the criticisms that are often made about smartphones and social networks as guilty of this are not too well founded. They may contribute to make up this problem of lack of contact between people , but they are not at their root. in fact, possibly what happened has to do with the development of a way of thinking, and not so much with a habit of technological consumption.

This way of thinking that isolates us more from the rest and makes us more frequent the warm waters of loneliness is individualism and, fundamentally, the idea that we must stand out from the others. The reason for this is that it makes us enter a logic according to which personal relationships are an instrument .

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 12 types of friends: how are yours?"

The epidemic of loneliness and individualism

Imagine that you are a person whose main goal is gain power to be able to stand out from the crowd .


Advertising ads sell you ideals of beauty that you can use to distinguish yourself from the rest. The leisure services tempt you constantly with the concept of exclusivity, whose meaning is basically that few people can access it, as if that spoke about the value of your product (and by extension of your value as a consumer of this). The business training plans talk about the importance as a team, but ultimately what they sell is the need to be your own boss and go on perfecting yourself overcoming obstacles (whatever they may be) to make a good future for you. And the dominant discourse on the Internet aimed at young people, of course, is that the important thing is to be visible, to be someone relevant.

Now ask yourself if with that mental framework you would not mix a good part of your personal and informal relationships with that project of accumulation of power. A project that, on the other hand, does not have the objective of creating good living conditions, but having the ability to control one's own life to prevent damage from the outside. In individualism, even the objective we set is part of the individualist mentality.

All these aspects of individualism lead us to the same conclusion: life can be an exciting place in the future, but in the present what you have to experience is a prudential solitude . No one watches over anyone or there are bonds of solidarity because everyone tries to squeeze their life from the resources to which they have access. Faced with this constant emergency situation, the construction of genuine friendships is something that does not make sense.

  • You may be interested: "Loneliness can increase the risk of death"

What to do to connect better with others?

Of course, not everyone is extremely individualistic, but that does not stop us from getting infected with this philosophy when it comes to developing lifestyle habits. The simple fact of living in a world in which this way of thinking is publicized makes us imitate its precepts, even though we only create them to a certain extent. Simply, everyone does it.

Curiously, this simple fact already gives us a clue about what we can do to combat the epidemic of loneliness: lift that veil of appearances and reject the imposition of individualism in a collective and solidary way.How to do it? Although it may sound unglamorous, a good option is to show our own vulnerabilities to others .

Proving that we really believe in a philosophy of life based on bonds of friendship and solidarity, authentic shatters the idea that "life is a jungle." It may cost at the beginning (all small personal and collective revolutions do), but the fruits of this can be very sweet as we see how, little by little, others begin to look beyond the illusion of distrust.


Loneliness epidemic: Panel discusses how to combat feeling alone (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'épidémie de solitude et ce que nous pouvons faire pour la combattre

L'épidémie de solitude et ce que nous pouvons faire pour la combattre

Décembre 9, 2021

Les êtres humains ont tendance à se sentir seuls de temps en temps, quelle que soit notre vie, que nous soyons introvertis ou extravertis. En effet, nous sommes des animaux sociaux et il est très facile de souffrir de malaise à un moment donné, car nous ne pouvons pas communiquer avec qui que ce soit autant que nous le voudrions. C'est normal.

Cependant, le sentiment de solitude peut être accentué par des phénomènes sociaux, et c’est précisément ce qui s’est passé au cours des dernières décennies. En fait, depuis les années 1980, le nombre d’Américains qui affirment ne pas avoir d’amis proches a triplé et La réponse la plus commune à la question "Combien de vraies amitiés avez-vous?" c'est "zéro" .


Cette tendance a également été constatée dans de nombreux autres pays occidentaux qui, bien qu’ils aient popularisé l’utilisation des réseaux sociaux, semblent poser de graves problèmes à ses habitants pour ce qui est de nouer des amitiés fidèles. C'est une véritable épidémie de solitude .

  • Article connexe: "Les 10 avantages d'avoir des amis, selon la science"

La rareté des amitiés et leurs effets psychologiques

Le mal de payer autant d'attention au nombre d'amis ajoutés sur Facebook est-il très facile d'arrêter de prêter attention à la qualité de ces relations . Dans ce sens, il n’est pas surprenant que, bien que l’année dernière, le nombre moyen d’amis de chaque utilisateur sur leur profil Facebook soit d’environ 330, la plupart des Américains affirment ne disposer que d’un seul confident.


Pourquoi cette épidémie de solitude est-elle apparue? N'oubliez pas que les critiques souvent formulées à propos des smartphones et des réseaux sociaux en tant que coupables ne sont pas fondées. Ils peuvent contribuer à résoudre ce problème de manque de contact entre les personnes , mais ils ne sont pas à la racine. En fait, ce qui s’est passé est peut-être lié au développement d’une façon de penser et non pas à une habitude de consommation technologique.

Cette façon de penser qui nous isole davantage des autres et nous rend plus fréquents les eaux chaudes de la solitude est l’individualisme et, fondamentalement, l’idée que nous devons nous démarquer des autres. La raison en est que cela nous fait entrer une logique selon laquelle les relations personnelles sont un instrument .

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 12 types d’amis: comment sont les vôtres?"

L'épidémie de solitude et d'individualisme

Imaginez que vous soyez une personne dont le but principal est acquérir le pouvoir de se distinguer de la foule .


Les annonces publicitaires vous vendent des idéaux de beauté que vous pouvez utiliser pour vous distinguer des autres. Les services de loisirs vous tentent constamment avec le concept d'exclusivité, ce qui signifie essentiellement que peu de personnes peuvent y accéder, comme si cela parlait de la valeur de votre produit (et par extension de votre valeur en tant que consommateur de celle-ci). Les plans de formation en entreprise parlent d’importance en tant qu’équipe, mais au final, ils revendiquent le besoin d’être votre propre patron et de vous perfectionner pour surmonter les obstacles (quels qu’ils soient) afin de vous préparer un avenir prometteur. Et le discours dominant sur Internet destiné aux jeunes est bien entendu que l’important est d’être visible, d’être pertinent.

Maintenant, demandez-vous si, avec ce cadre mental, vous ne mêlez pas une bonne partie de vos relations personnelles et informelles à ce projet d’accumulation de pouvoir. Un projet qui, par contre, n’a pas pour objectif de créer de bonnes conditions de vie, mais qui permet de contrôler sa propre vie pour éviter les dommages de l’extérieur. Dans l'individualisme, même l'objectif que nous nous fixons fait partie de la mentalité individualiste.

Tous ces aspects de l'individualisme nous mènent à la même conclusion: la vie peut être un lieu passionnant dans le futur, mais dans le présent, ce que vous devez expérimenter est une solitude prudentielle . Personne ne surveille qui que ce soit ou il existe des liens de solidarité, car chacun essaie de tirer le meilleur parti de sa vie des ressources auxquelles il a accès. Face à cette situation d’urgence constante, la construction de véritables amitiés n’a pas de sens.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "La solitude peut augmenter le risque de mort"

Que faire pour mieux se connecter avec les autres?

Bien sûr, tout le monde n’est pas extrêmement individualiste, mais cela ne nous empêche pas de nous infecter à cette philosophie lorsqu’il s’agit de développer des habitudes de vie. Le simple fait de vivre dans un monde dans lequel cette façon de penser est rendue publique nous fait imiter ses préceptes, même si nous ne les créons que dans une certaine mesure. Tout le monde le fait simplement.

Curieusement, ce simple fait nous donne déjà un indice sur ce que nous pouvons faire pour lutter contre l’épidémie de solitude: lever le voile des apparences et rejeter l’imposition de l’individualisme de manière collective et solidaire.Comment le faire? Bien que cela puisse paraître peu glorieux, une bonne option est de montrer nos propres vulnérabilités aux autres .

Prouvant que nous croyons vraiment en une philosophie de la vie basée sur des liens d’amitié et de solidarité, l’authentique brise l’idée que "la vie est une jungle". Cela peut coûter cher au début (toutes les petites révolutions personnelles et collectives le font), mais les fruits de ceci peuvent être très doux alors que nous voyons comment, petit à petit, d'autres commencent à regarder au-delà de l'illusion de méfiance.


Le Livre Noir de l'Industrie Rose (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes