yes, therapy helps!
The evolution of the concept of Intellectual Disability

The evolution of the concept of Intellectual Disability

November 13, 2022

After the discovery and establishment of the psychometric and factorial methodology in the study of intelligence at the beginning of the last century by Alfred Binet and Simon (1905) and later, Terman (1916) and Weschler in the decade of the 30s, the Intellectual Coefficient passed to be the central factor in the evaluation of intellectual capacity.

But nevertheless, the most recent proposal of the American Association on Mental Retardation (AAMR) of 1992 seems to save some of the disadvantages that the first formula had associated.

  • Related article: "Types of intelligence tests"

Intellectual Disability as a Neurodevelopmental Disorder

As a Neurodevelopmental Disorder (or Neurological Development Disorders, according to the DSM-V) is understood any disease related to an alteration during the process of maturation of the nervous system that affects inappropriate functioning at the level of behavior, thinking, movement, learning, perceptive-sensitive capacity and other complex mental functions.


The set of manifestations that can occur as a consequence are of a very considerable variety, since both the location of the dysfunction, influential environmental factors and the moment of development in which said alteration occurs must be addressed.

Neuroscience is the discipline that is responsible for the study and investigation of ODD, as well as other neurodegenerative disorders, static injury disorders and psychiatric disorders. In certain cases, The same pathology can be considered within more than one of these categories , which differ from each other in two dimensions: time (development-decline) and the phenomenological (cognitive-emotional).


Her CARACTERISTICS

Among the characteristics attributed to TND, is the difficulty of distinguishing whether the origin of the external manifestation of the underlying symptomatology is derived from a TND or a type of normative functioning, such as the case of distractibility ( which may be due to an affectation of the structures that regulate attention capacity or it may be a marked personality trait, simply).

A) Yes, no biological markers are known (associated neuroimaging or analysis tests) from which an ODD can be unequivocally diagnosed. The subjectivity of the evaluator therefore plays a significant role in the diagnosis made of the case.

Secondly, TNDs have a very high comorbidity with other pathologies , fact that in certain occasions can make difficult an exact diagnosis of the case in that all the present labels must be detected. On the other hand, the delimitation between the symptomatology attributable to one disorder and another is also complex, since many of them share common criteria (for example, the difficulty in social relationships in a case of autism and language disorder).


  • Related article: "Intellectual and Development Disability"

Types of Neurodevelopment Disorders

In a generic way, TND can be classified into three main categories according to the criteria:

Whether a specific cause is identified or not

In this case the genetic influence is a significant causative factor . The most widely used classification manuals (DSM and CIE) include communication, learning, hyperactivity, and autism spectrum disorders. In the case of behavioral disorders, schizophrenic disorders and Tourette's disorder, the difference in age of onset must be taken into account for each of them, so depending on the case they may also be included in this first category.

Genetic alterations linked to a structural alteration

Of simpler delimitation, since the phenotypic deviations are clearly identifiable (deletion, duplication, translocation, disomías or chromosomal trisomías, etc), as in the case of Williams Syndrome .

TND linked to a known environmental cause

Its influence on interaction with genetic factors is usually considered, for example, fetal intoxication for the maternal consumption of alcohol or pathologies derived from the action of valproic acid.

The traditional conceptualization of Intellectual Disability

As indicated at the beginning of these lines, the last century was marked by the rise of psychometric scales on the assessment and quantification of the level of intelligence in the human being.

Thus, the only decisive reference was the distinction between the classification levels of Intellectual Disability according to the Intellectual Coefficient (CI) of the individual. Let's see a more detailed description of each of these categories:

Mild Mental Retardation

Understand an IC located between 55 and 70 and it presents a proportion of 85% of the total of cases. Being the least significant level in severity is difficult to distinguish in the first years of life. In this case, the social and communication skills or the capacity of atonomy are rather well preserved, although they require some type of supervision and follow-up. There are no great difficulties to achieve the development of a satisfactory life.

Moderate Mental Retardation

A second level of greater severity with a prevalence of 10% is Moderate Mental Retardation, to which an IQ is attributed between 40 and 55. In this case the level of social and communicative development is lower and they must be supervised during working and adult life, although they can adapt to community life in most cases.

Severe Mental Retardation

Severe Mental Retardation is associated with an IC between 25 and 40 and occurs in 3-4% of total cases. His linguistic capacity is very limited but are able to acquire elementary self-care habits . They need a considerable level of support and help for their adaptation to community life.

Deep Mental Retardation

Deep Mental Retardation is characterized by an IQ of less than 25 and they present it between 1 and 2% of the population with MRI. At this level they are observed clear and serious motor, sensory and cognitive difficulties . They require constant and permanent supervision and a high structuring of the environment in which they interact.

  • Related article: "Types of intellectual disability (and characteristics)"

The descriptive dimensions of intellectual functioning

The most recent proposal of the American Association on Mental Retardation (AAMR) implies a drastic change in the conception of intellectual disability and puts the emphasis on endowing the definition of Mental Retardation a more positive and optimistic connotation in terms of assessing mainly the capabilities and potential of the individual with intellectual dysfunction, as well as the support you need to achieve those goals.

Thus, the proposed definition of the AAMR on Mental Retardation explains it as a series of substantial limitations in intellectual functioning, which is significantly lower than the average and which manifests before the age of 18.

Dimensions of evaluation of Mental Retardation

In particular, the large dimensions proposed by the AAMR on which to assess functionally the skills available to the child and to which it can arrive with a global multidisciplinary intervention :

  • Intellectual skills.
  • Adaptive behavior at a conceptual, social and practical level.
  • Participation, interactions and social roles.
  • Physical, mental health, etiology of possible alterations.
  • Social context, relating to the environment, culture and opportunities for access to this type of stimulation.

Unlike the previous ones, there is an emphasis in this proposal on the social context and on determining what resources are required to guarantee the greatest number of learning, autonomy and well-being of the child on a day-to-day basis, instead of taking as a central factor the deficits and difficulties that the child presents.

This has several advantages both in terms of the decrease in negative labeling that is usually associated with individuals with this type of deficit, since the definition gives a major role to the potentialities and abilities to be developed by the child. In addition, this new definition s It is more oriented to determine the type of intervention that will be necessary for the specific case to obtain the highest possible level of development (environmental, social, personal and intellectual adaptations).

In this new conception the following postulates are presupposed: the consideration of cultural and linguistic diversity, communicative and behavioral; the need for the existence of individualized support at the community level; the co-existence of potentialities in other adaptive areas or personal capacities; the assumption of the improvement of the functioning of the person by providing the appropriate supports for a continuous period of time.

In short, it seems that the most recent definition of Mental Retardation aims to provide a more practical, positive and adaptive perspective that will facilitate a greater integration of the individual, both personally and socially, allowing a greater development emphasizing its qualities rather than its difficulties.

Bibliographic references:

  • Artigas-Pallarés, J. and Narbona, J. (2011): Neurodevelopmental Disorders. Barcelona: Viguera Editores.
  • American Psychiatric Association (APA, 2013). DSM-V. (American Psychiatric Association, Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders, Washington, DC).
  • Verdugo A. (1994) The paradigm shift in the conception of Mental Retardation: The new definition of the AAMR. Century Zero.
Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'évolution du concept de déficience intellectuelle

L'évolution du concept de déficience intellectuelle

Janvier 22, 2022

Après la découverte et la mise en place de la méthodologie psychométrique et factorielle dans l'étude de l'intelligence au début du siècle dernier par Alfred Binet et Simon (1905) et plus tard, Terman (1916) et Weschler dans les années 30, le coefficient intellectuel passé être le facteur central dans l'évaluation de la capacité intellectuelle.

Cependant, la plus récente proposition de l'Association américaine sur le retard mental (AAMR) de 1992 semble épargner certains des inconvénients que la première formule avait associés.

  • Article connexe: "Types de tests d'intelligence"

Déficience intellectuelle en tant que trouble neurodéveloppemental

En tant que trouble neurodéveloppemental (ou troubles du développement neurologique, selon le DSM-V), on entend toute maladie liée à une altération au cours du processus de maturation du système nerveux qui affecte le fonctionnement inapproprié au niveau du comportement, de la pensée, du mouvement, de l'apprentissage, de la capacité de perception et des autres fonctions mentales complexes.


L'ensemble des manifestations qui peuvent en résulter est très varié, car il convient de prendre en compte à la fois l'emplacement du dysfonctionnement, les facteurs environnementaux influents et le moment du développement au cours duquel cette altération se produit.

Les neurosciences sont la discipline responsable de l’étude et de la recherche sur les TOD, ainsi que sur d’autres troubles neurodégénératifs, les troubles liés aux blessures statiques et les troubles psychiatriques. Dans certains cas, La même pathologie peut être envisagée dans plus d'une de ces catégories , qui se différencient par deux dimensions: le temps (développement-déclin) et le phénoménologique (cognitivo-émotionnel).


Ses caractéristiques

Parmi les caractéristiques attribuées au TND, il est difficile de distinguer si l'origine de la manifestation externe de la symptomatologie sous-jacente est dérivée d'un TND ou d'un type de fonctionnement normatif, tel que le cas de distractibilité ( ce qui peut être dû à une affectation des structures qui régulent la capacité d'attention ou à un trait de personnalité marqué, tout simplement).

Ainsi, aucun marqueur biologique n'est connu (tests de neuro-imagerie ou d’analyse associés) à partir desquels un ODD peut être diagnostiqué sans équivoque. La subjectivité de l'évaluateur joue donc un rôle important dans le diagnostic du cas.

En second lieu, Les TND ont une comorbidité très élevée avec d'autres pathologies , fait que dans certaines occasions, il peut être difficile de poser un diagnostic exact du cas car toutes les étiquettes présentes doivent être détectées. D'autre part, la délimitation entre la symptomatologie attribuable à un trouble et à un autre est également complexe, car bon nombre d'entre elles partagent des critères communs (par exemple, la difficulté des relations sociales dans les cas d'autisme et de trouble du langage).


  • Article connexe: "Déficience intellectuelle et développement"

Types de troubles du neurodéveloppement

De manière générique, le TND peut être classé en trois catégories principales selon les critères:

Si une cause spécifique est identifiée ou non

Dans ce cas, l’influence génétique est un facteur causatif important . Les manuels de classification les plus largement utilisés (DSM et CIE) incluent la communication, l'apprentissage, l'hyperactivité et les troubles du spectre autistique. Dans le cas des troubles du comportement, des troubles schizophréniques et du trouble de Tourette, la différence d'âge d'apparition doit être prise en compte pour chacun d'eux. Par conséquent, selon le cas, ils peuvent également être inclus dans cette première catégorie.

Altérations génétiques liées à une altération structurelle

De délimitation plus simple, puisque les déviations phénotypiques sont clairement identifiables (suppression, duplication, translocation, disomías ou trisomías chromosomiques, etc.), comme dans le cas du syndrome de Williams .

TND lié à une cause environnementale connue

Son influence sur les interactions avec les facteurs génétiques est généralement prise en compte, par exemple, l'intoxication fœtale pour la consommation maternelle d'alcool ou de pathologies dérivées de l'action de l'acide valproïque.

La conceptualisation traditionnelle de la déficience intellectuelle

Comme indiqué au début de ces lignes, le siècle dernier a été marqué par la montée en puissance des échelles psychométriques d'évaluation et de quantification du niveau d'intelligence chez l'homme.

Ainsi, la seule référence décisive était la distinction entre les niveaux de classification de la déficience intellectuelle selon le coefficient intellectuel (CI) de l'individu. Voyons une description plus détaillée de chacune de ces catégories:

Retard mental léger

Comprendre un circuit intégré situé entre 55 et 70 et il représente une proportion de 85% du total des cas. Le niveau de gravité le moins significatif est difficile à distinguer au cours des premières années de la vie. Dans ce cas, les compétences sociales et de communication ou la capacité d'atonomie sont plutôt bien préservées, bien qu'elles nécessitent un certain type de supervision et de suivi. Il n’ya pas de grandes difficultés pour parvenir au développement d’une vie satisfaisante.

Retard mental modéré

Un second niveau de gravité supérieure avec une prévalence de 10% est le retard mental modéré, auquel un QI est attribué entre 40 et 55. Dans ce cas le niveau de développement social et communicatif est inférieur et ils doivent être surveillés pendant la vie active et la vie adulte, bien qu'ils puissent s'adapter à la vie en communauté dans la plupart des cas.

Retard mental sévère

Un retard mental sévère est associé à un CI entre 25 et 40 et se produit dans 3-4% des cas. Sa capacité linguistique est très limitée mais sont capables d'acquérir des habitudes élémentaires de soins personnels . Ils ont besoin d'un soutien et d'une aide considérables pour leur adaptation à la vie en communauté.

Retard mental profond

Le retard mental profond est caractérisé par un QI inférieur à 25 et ils le présentent entre 1 et 2% de la population en IRM. A ce niveau ils sont observés troubles moteurs, sensoriels et cognitifs clairs et sérieux . Ils nécessitent une surveillance constante et permanente et une grande structuration de l'environnement dans lequel ils interagissent.

  • Article connexe: "Types de déficience intellectuelle (et caractéristiques)"

Les dimensions descriptives du fonctionnement intellectuel

La proposition la plus récente de l’American Association on Mental Retardation (AAMR) implique un changement radical de la conception de la déficience intellectuelle et met l’accent sur la définition du retard mental. une connotation plus positive et optimiste en termes d’évaluation, principalement des capacités et du potentiel de la personne atteinte de dysfonctionnement intellectuel, ainsi que du soutien dont vous avez besoin pour atteindre ces objectifs.

Ainsi, la définition proposée de l'AAMR sur le retard mental constitue une série de limitations importantes du fonctionnement intellectuel, nettement inférieure à la moyenne et qui se manifeste avant l'âge de 18 ans.

Dimensions de l'évaluation du retard mental

En particulier, les grandes dimensions proposées par l’AAMR pour évaluer fonctionnellement les compétences disponibles pour l’enfant et auquel il peut arriver avec une intervention globale multidisciplinaire :

  • Compétences intellectuelles
  • Comportement adaptatif aux niveaux conceptuel, social et pratique.
  • Participation, interactions et rôles sociaux.
  • Santé physique, mentale, étiologie des altérations possibles.
  • Contexte social, lié à l'environnement, à la culture et aux possibilités d'accès à ce type de stimulation.

Contrairement aux précédentes, cette proposition met l'accent sur le contexte social et sur la détermination des ressources nécessaires pour garantir au plus grand nombre l'apprentissage, l'autonomie et le bien-être de l'enfant au quotidien, au lieu de prendre pour facteur central déficits et difficultés que l'enfant présente.

Cela présente plusieurs avantages, à la fois en ce qui concerne la diminution de l'étiquetage négatif généralement associé aux personnes présentant ce type de déficit, car la définition attribue un rôle majeur aux potentialités et aux capacités à développer par l'enfant. En outre, cette nouvelle définition s Il est plus orienté de déterminer le type d'intervention cela sera nécessaire au cas particulier pour obtenir le niveau de développement le plus élevé possible (adaptations environnementales, sociales, personnelles et intellectuelles).

Dans cette nouvelle conception, les postulats suivants sont présupposés: la prise en compte de la diversité culturelle et linguistique, de la communication et du comportement; la nécessité de l'existence d'un soutien individualisé au niveau communautaire; la coexistence de potentialités dans d'autres domaines d'adaptation ou capacités personnelles; l'hypothèse d'amélioration du fonctionnement de la personne en fournissant les soutiens appropriés pendant une période continue.

En bref, il semble que la définition la plus récente de retard mental vise à fournir une perspective plus pratique, positive et adaptative cela facilitera une plus grande intégration de l'individu, à la fois personnellement et socialement, permettant un plus grand développement mettant l'accent sur ses qualités plutôt que sur ses difficultés.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Artigas-Pallarés, J. et Narbona, J. (2011): Troubles du développement neurologique. Barcelone: ​​Viguera Editores.
  • Association américaine de psychiatrie (APA, 2013). DSM-V. (American Psychiatric Association, Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux, Washington, DC).
  • Verdugo A. (1994) Le changement de paradigme dans la conception du retard mental: la nouvelle définition de l'AAMR. Century Zero.

Les handicaps - Daniel Mellier (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes