yes, therapy helps!
The existentialist theory of Albert Camus

The existentialist theory of Albert Camus

July 26, 2022

Existentialism is one of the philosophical currents that have most influenced contemporary thinking and the history of Psychology. Because of its influence, for example, appeared the Humanist Psychology of Abraham Maslow and Carl Rogers, among others, authors who emphasized the importance of the subjective aspects of consciousness.

Now, to understand what is existentialism is not enough to know the footprint left in a part of Psychology. It is preferable to know its foundations, among which is the existentialist theory of Albert Camus . Next we will see the main aspects of the philosophy of this author.


  • Related article: "How are Psychology and Philosophy alike?"

Who was Albert Camus? Short biography

Camus was born in French Algeria in 1913 . Because of the death of his father in World War II, he grew up with his mother in an environment of great poverty and precariousness.

When arriving at the young adult he studied philosophy in the University of Algiers, and later, with 25 years, moved to Paris, place in which it was involved in political movements and began to military in the French Communist Party. Shortly after it was expelled from the same because of its discrepancies on the objectives pursued in the political action. During world war II actively participated in the underground press and wrote part of the works that made him famous.


Some time after the armed conflict disappeared, in 1957, he received the Nobel Prize for Literature. He died in a car accident at 46 years old.

  • Related article: "The best 90 phrases of Albert Camus"

The existentialist theory of Camus

The philosophical interests of Camus were a reflection of the convulsive period in which he lived. On the one hand, the serious armed conflicts questioned the idea of ​​progress caused by technological advances, and on the other the great ideological movements seemed to show that had lost a common frame of reference . The human being had lost a vector, a direction to move to reach goals pursued by all and unequivocally positive.

Existentialism explores this feeling of disorientation, as we will see in the main characteristics of Albert Camus's theory.


1. The subjective sense of meaning

Albert Camus begins by recognizing that human beings, spontaneously, develop a very strong sense of purpose, linked to their own identity. In other words, we internalize the idea that life makes sense , without anyone having to educate us in that direction. In turn, as we will see, this gets us into trouble without hardly knowing why, without noticing that from the beginning we have fallen into a trap.

2. The absence of the meaning of life

In turn, another of the main components of the existentialist theory of Albert Camus is the principle that life, in reality, has no meaning. It is a conclusion to which the philosopher comes simply by examining the arguments in favor of a meaning of life, and without finding a single reason why it should exist.

In turn, all recent scientific findings began to explain more and more knowledge plots veiled until then, which did not need the figure of a god who could give meaning to humanity. Camus thought that we are entirely human, and as such we are alone .

3. The contradiction of life

The two previous elements hint at a contradiction within our existence. We believe that our lives make sense, but this is false, and when reality gives us signs of this, we are frustrated, we perceive it as an attack on our identity and an existential crisis appears that generates a lot of discomfort .

So, for Camus, to get to live in a desirable way implies overcoming this contradiction, looking beyond it and accepting that tension that causes the emptiness of meaning.

4. Assuming non-sense

How to get to live well? The solution lies in assuming the absence of a sense built from the outside and constructing oneself. This is the revolutionary idea inherited by many thinkers interested in self-realization. If the absence of a meaning of life can be suffocating, at least it is an indicator that we have the freedom to assign a totally original meaning and proper to everything we do.

In this way, from the existentialism of Albert Camus each person has the responsibility to trace his own history. Independently of the objective facts that happen to him, he is one who interprets his vital trajectory according to the narration he has built about it.

  • Related article: "Existential crisis: when we do not find meaning in our life"

PHILOSOPHY - Albert Camus (July 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie existentialiste d'Albert Camus

La théorie existentialiste d'Albert Camus

Janvier 22, 2022

L'existentialisme est l'un des courants philosophiques qui ont le plus influencé la pensée contemporaine et l'histoire de la psychologie. En raison de son influence, par exemple, sont apparus la psychologie humaniste d’Abraham Maslow et de Carl Rogers, entre autres auteurs, qui ont souligné l’importance des aspects subjectifs de la conscience.

Maintenant, comprendre ce qu'est l'existentialisme ne suffit pas de connaître l'empreinte laissée par une partie de la psychologie. Il est préférable de connaître ses fondements, parmi lesquels la théorie existentialiste d'Albert Camus . Nous verrons ensuite les principaux aspects de la philosophie de cet auteur.


  • Article connexe: "En quoi la psychologie et la philosophie sont-elles semblables?"

Qui était Albert Camus? Brève biographie

Camus est né en Algérie française en 1913 . En raison de la mort de son père pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, il a grandi avec sa mère dans un environnement de grande pauvreté et de précarité.

Arrivé chez le jeune adulte, il étudia la philosophie à l'université d'Alger et, plus tard, 25 ans après, il s'installa à Paris, lieu où il s'engagea dans des mouvements politiques et se lança dans l'armée du parti communiste français. Peu de temps après, il a été exclu du même processus en raison de ses divergences par rapport aux objectifs poursuivis dans l'action politique. Pendant la seconde guerre mondiale participé activement à la presse underground et a écrit une partie des travaux qui l'ont rendu célèbre.


Quelque temps après la disparition du conflit armé, en 1957, il reçut le prix Nobel de littérature. Il est mort dans un accident de voiture à 46 ans.

  • Article connexe: "Les 90 meilleures phrases d'Albert Camus"

La théorie existentialiste de Camus

Les intérêts philosophiques de Camus étaient le reflet de la période convulsive dans laquelle il vivait. D'une part, les graves conflits armés remettaient en cause l'idée de progrès engendrés par les progrès technologiques, et d'autre part, les grands mouvements idéologiques semblaient montrer que avait perdu un cadre de référence commun . L’être humain a perdu un vecteur, une direction à prendre pour atteindre des objectifs poursuivis par tous et sans équivoque positifs.

L'existentialisme explore ce sentiment de désorientation, comme nous le verrons dans les principales caractéristiques de la théorie d'Albert Camus.


1. Le sens subjectif du sens

Albert Camus commence par reconnaître que les êtres humains développent spontanément un sens très fort du but, lié à leur propre identité. En d'autres termes, nous intériorisons l'idée que la vie a un sens , sans que personne ait à nous éduquer dans cette direction. À notre tour, comme nous le verrons, cela nous cause des problèmes sans trop savoir pourquoi, sans nous rendre compte que nous sommes tombés dans le piège depuis le début.

2. L'absence du sens de la vie

À son tour, un autre des composants principaux de la théorie existentialiste d’Albert Camus est le principe selon lequel la vie, en réalité, n’a aucun sens. C'est une conclusion à laquelle parvient le philosophe en examinant simplement les arguments en faveur d'un sens de la vie, sans trouver la moindre raison pour laquelle il devrait exister.

À leur tour, toutes les découvertes scientifiques récentes ont commencé à expliquer de plus en plus de parcelles de connaissances jusqu'alors voilées, qui n’avaient pas besoin de la figure d’un dieu capable de donner un sens à l’humanité. Camus pensait que nous étions entièrement humains et qu'en tant que tels, nous sommes seuls .

3. La contradiction de la vie

Les deux éléments précédents suggèrent une contradiction dans notre existence. Nous croyons que nos vies ont un sens, mais c'est faux, et lorsque la réalité nous en donne les signes, nous sommes frustrés, nous le percevons comme une attaque contre notre identité et une crise existentielle apparaît qui génère beaucoup d'inconfort .

Ainsi, pour Camus, vivre de manière souhaitable implique de surmonter cette contradiction, de regarder au-delà et d'accepter cette tension qui provoque la vacuité du sens.

4. Assumer le non-sens

Comment bien vivre? La solution consiste à assumer l’absence de sens construit de l’extérieur et à se construire. C'est l'idée révolutionnaire héritée de nombreux penseurs intéressés par la réalisation de soi. Si l’absence de sens de la vie peut suffoquer, au moins c'est un indicateur que nous avons la liberté d'attribuer un sens totalement original et propre à tout ce que nous faisons.

Ainsi, depuis l’existentialisme d’Albert Camus, il incombe à chacun de retracer sa propre histoire. Indépendamment des faits objectifs qui lui arrivent, il interprète sa trajectoire vitale en fonction de la narration qu'il a construite à ce sujet.

  • Article connexe: "Crise existentielle: quand on ne trouve pas de sens dans notre vie"

Camus et l'absurde en 4mn (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes