yes, therapy helps!
The existentialist theory of Martin Heidegger

The existentialist theory of Martin Heidegger

January 13, 2023

The existentialist theory of Martin Heidegger is considered one of the main exponents of this philosophical movement, associated mostly with authors of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. In turn, existentialism has been a movement that has greatly influenced the current of Humanistic Psychology, whose main representatives were Abraham Maslow and Carl Rogers and that during the last decades has been transformed into Positive Psychology.

In this article we will analyze the main expositions of the controversial German philosopher Martin Heidegger in his contributions to existentialist philosophy, including his own understanding of his work as part of existentialism. Let's start by seeing what exactly this philosophical current is.


  • Related article: "Humanist Psychology: history, theory and basic principles"

What is existentialism?

Existentialism is a philosophical current in which such disparate thinkers have been categorized as Søren Kierkegaard, Friedrich Nietzsche, Martin Heidegger, Jean-Paul Sartre, Simone de Beauvoir, Albert Camus, Miguel de Unamuno, Gabriel Marcel, psychologist Karl Jaspers, the writer Fiódor Dostoievski or the film director Ingmar Bergman.

All these authors have in common their focus on the nature of human existence . In particular, they focused on the search for meaning as the engine of an authentic life, for which they emphasized the importance of individual freedom. They were also united by their criticisms of abstraction and the conception of thought as a central aspect.


Martin Heidegger, the philosopher who occupies us, denied its link with existentialist philosophy ; In fact, two periods have been distinguished in his work, and the second of them can not be classified within this current of thought. However, the proposals and objects of study of its first stage have an evident existentialist character.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The existentialist theory of Albert Camus"

Biography of Martin Heidegger

Martin Heidegger was born in 1889 in Messkirch, a town in Germany. His parents were devout Roman Catholics; This led Heidegger to study theology at the University of Freiburg, although he eventually decided to devote himself to philosophy. In 1914 he received his doctorate with a thesis on psychologism, a current that highlights the role of mental processes.

In the 1920s he worked as Professor of Philosophy at the University of Marburg and later at the University of Freiburg , in which he would exercise for the rest of his career. During this time he began to give talks centered on his ideas about human existence and the meaning of it, which he would develop in his book "Being and Time," published in 1927.


In 1933 Heidegger was appointed rector of the University of Freiburg, a position he left 12 years later. Its affiliation and its active participation in the German National Socialist Workers Party - better known as the "Nazi Party" - ; in fact, Heidegger tried unsuccessfully to become the reference philosopher of this movement.

Heidegger died in 1976 in the city of Freiburg im Breisgau; At that time I was 86 years old. In spite of the criticisms he has received for his collaboration with the Nazis, for the contradictions between his works and for his ignorance of other authors of his same era, at present this philosopher is considered one of the most important of the 20th century.

  • You may be interested: "The existentialist theory of Søren Kierkegaard"

The existentialist theory of Heidegger

The main work of Heidegger is "Being and time". In it the author try to answer a key question: what exactly does "being" mean? What does existence consist of, and what is its fundamental characteristic, if there is one? In this way he recovered a question that, in his opinion, had been left aside by philosophy since the classical period.

In this book Heidegger states that this question must be reformulated in search of the sense of being, rather than of it in itself. Around this he affirms that it is not possible to separate the sense of being from a spatial and temporal context (with death as a structuring element) determined; Well, talk about human existence as "Dasein" or "being-in-the-world".

Unlike what Descartes and other previous authors proposed, Heidegger considered that people are not thinking beings isolated from the world around us, but that the interaction with the environment is a nuclear aspect of being. This is why it is not possible to dominate the being and trying to do so leads to a life devoid of authenticity.

In consecuense, the human capacity to think has a secondary character and it should not be understood as that which defines our being. We discover the world through being-in-the-world, that is, from existence in itself; for Heidegger, cognition is only a reflection of it, and therefore reflection and other similar processes are also.

Existence does not depend on the will, but rather we are "thrown" into the world and we know that it is inevitable that our life ends . The acceptance of these facts, as well as the understanding that we are one more part of the world, allows us to make sense of life, which Heidegger conceptualizes as the project of being-in-the-world.

Subsequently Heidegger's interests moved to other topics. He highlighted the relevance of language as a fundamental tool to understand the world, explored the relationship between art and the search for "the truth" and criticized the contemptuous and irresponsible attitude of Western countries with respect to nature.


PHILOSOPHY - Heidegger (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie existentialiste de Martin Heidegger

La théorie existentialiste de Martin Heidegger

Avril 15, 2021

La théorie existentialiste de Martin Heidegger est considéré comme l’un des principaux représentants de ce mouvement philosophique, associé principalement à des auteurs de la fin du XIXe et du début du XXe siècle. À son tour, l'existentialisme est un mouvement qui a grandement influencé le courant de la psychologie humaniste, dont les principaux représentants étaient Abraham Maslow et Carl Rogers et qui s'est transformé au cours des dernières décennies en psychologie positive.

Dans cet article, nous analyserons les principales expositions du controversé philosophe allemand Martin Heidegger dans ses contributions à la philosophie existentialiste, y compris sa propre compréhension de son travail dans le cadre de l'existentialisme. Commençons par voir ce qu'est exactement ce courant philosophique.


  • Article connexe: "Psychologie humaniste: histoire, théorie et principes de base"

Qu'est-ce que l'existentialisme?

L'existentialisme est un courant philosophique dans lequel des penseurs aussi disparates ont été classés comme suit: Søren Kierkegaard, Friedrich Nietzsche, Martin Heidegger, Jean-Paul Sartre, Simone de Beauvoir, Albert Camus, Miguel de Unamuno, Gabriel Marcel, psychologue Karl Jaspers, l'écrivain Fiódor Dostoievski ou le réalisateur Ingmar Bergman.

Tous ces auteurs ont en commun leur se concentrer sur la nature de l'existence humaine . Ils ont notamment mis l’accent sur la recherche du sens en tant que moteur d’une vie authentique, pour laquelle ils ont souligné l’importance de la liberté individuelle. Ils étaient également unis par leurs critiques de l'abstraction et par la conception de la pensée en tant qu'aspect central.


Martin Heidegger, le philosophe qui nous occupe, nié son lien avec la philosophie existentialiste ; En fait, deux périodes ont été distinguées dans son travail et la seconde ne peut être classée dans ce courant de pensée. Cependant, les propositions et les objets d'étude de sa première étape ont un caractère existentialiste évident.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "La théorie existentialiste d'Albert Camus"

Biographie de Martin Heidegger

Martin Heidegger est né en 1889 à Messkirch, une ville allemande. Ses parents étaient de fervents catholiques; Cela a conduit Heidegger à étudier la théologie à l'université de Fribourg, bien qu'il ait finalement décidé de se consacrer à la philosophie. En 1914, il obtient son doctorat avec une thèse sur le psychologisme, un courant qui met en évidence le rôle des processus mentaux.

Dans les années 1920, il travailla comme Professeur de philosophie à l'université de Marbourg et plus tard à l'université de Fribourg , dans lequel il exercerait pour le reste de sa carrière. Pendant ce temps, il commença à donner des conférences centrées sur ses idées sur l'existence humaine et sur la signification de celle-ci, qu'il développerait dans son livre "Being and Time", publié en 1927.


En 1933, Heidegger fut nommé recteur de l'Université de Fribourg, poste qu'il quitta douze ans plus tard. Son affiliation et ses participation active au parti ouvrier national-socialiste allemand - plus connu sous le nom de "parti nazi" - ; En fait, Heidegger a tenté en vain de devenir le philosophe de référence de ce mouvement.

Heidegger est décédé en 1976 à Fribourg-en-Brisgau; A cette époque j'avais 86 ans. En dépit des critiques qu'il a reçues pour sa collaboration avec les nazis, pour les contradictions entre ses œuvres et pour son ignorance des autres auteurs de la même époque, ce philosophe est actuellement considéré comme l'un des plus importants du XXe siècle.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "La théorie existentialiste de Søren Kierkegaard"

La théorie existentialiste de Heidegger

Le travail principal de Heidegger est "Être et le temps". Dans l'auteur essayez de répondre à une question clé: que veut dire exactement "être"? En quoi consiste l’existence et quelle est sa caractéristique fondamentale s’il en existe une? Il a ainsi récupéré une question qui, à son avis, avait été laissée de côté par la philosophie depuis la période classique.

Heidegger affirme dans ce livre que cette question doit être reformulée à la recherche du sens de l'être plutôt que de lui-même. Autour de cela, il affirme qu'il n'est pas possible de séparer le sens de l'être d'un contexte spatial et temporel (avec la mort en tant qu'élément structurant) déterminé; Eh bien, parlez de existence humaine en tant que "Dasein" ou "être-dans-le-monde".

Contrairement à ce que Descartes et d’autres auteurs précédents ont proposé, Heidegger considérait que les gens ne sont pas des êtres pensants isolés du monde qui nous entoure mais que l’interaction avec l’environnement est un aspect nucléaire de l’être. C'est pourquoi il n'est pas possible de dominer l'être et essayer de le faire mène à une vie dépourvue d'authenticité.

En conséquence, la capacité humaine à penser a un caractère secondaire et cela ne doit pas être compris comme ce qui définit notre être. Nous découvrons le monde à travers l'être-dans-le-monde, c'est-à-dire de l'existence en soi; pour Heidegger, la connaissance n'en est que le reflet, de même que la réflexion et d'autres processus similaires.

L'existence ne dépend pas de la volonté, mais plutôt nous sommes "jetés" dans le monde et nous savons qu'il est inévitable que notre vie se termine . L'acceptation de ces faits, ainsi que la compréhension que nous sommes une partie du monde en plus, nous permet de donner un sens à la vie, ce que Heidegger conçoit comme le projet d'être-dans-le-monde.

Par la suite, les intérêts de Heidegger sont passés à d’autres sujets. Il a souligné la pertinence du langage en tant qu'outil fondamental pour comprendre le monde, a exploré la relation entre l'art et la recherche de "la vérité" et a critiqué l'attitude méprisante et irresponsable des pays occidentaux à l'égard de la nature.


PHILOSOPHY - Heidegger (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes