yes, therapy helps!
The factorial-biological theory of the personality of Jeffrey Gray

The factorial-biological theory of the personality of Jeffrey Gray

December 1, 2022

The personality theory of Gray is framed in the biological and factorial paradigms ; This means that it explains the differences between individuals based on variables related to the nervous system and that it is based on the grouping of different personality traits in higher dimensions through statistical analysis techniques.

In this article we will analyze the main aspects of Gray's model. Specifically, we will focus on the two basic personality factors and the two associated physiological mechanisms that this author described: Anxiety and the mechanism of behavioral inhibition and impulsivity and the behavioral approach.


  • Related article: "The main theories of personality"

The personality theory of Jeffrey Gray

The British psychologist Jeffrey Alan Gray (1934-2004) presented in 1970 his factorial-biological theory about the structure and bases of interindividual differences in personality; according to the model, these are due to biological mechanisms that relate to reactions to reinforcement, to punishment or to stimuli and novel situations.

In this sense Gray described two main biological mechanisms that determine behavior trends. He named one of them "behavioral approach mechanism" and the other "mechanism of behavioral inhibition"; These would be equivalent to the basic factors of personality, which would have a physiological basis.


The personality theory of Gray is based largely on the Pys model of Eysenck , which defines three major biologically determined personality factors: neuroticism, extraversion and psychoticism. However, there are significant differences between the two theories that are worth commenting on; we will stop at them later.

So, Gray proposes Two basic dimensions of personality: anxiety and impulsivity . The first combines the introversion and neuroticism of the Eysenck model; on the other hand, a high level of impulsivity would also imply a high neuroticism, but in this case it would be associated with extraversion. Each dimension corresponds to a behavioral mechanism.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The Eysenck Personality Theory: the PEN model"

Anxiety and the mechanism of behavioral inhibition

According to Gray's description, anxiety is a combination of neuroticism (or emotional instability) and introversion. In the Eysenck model, extraversion is characterized by personality traits such as activity, dominance, assertiveness, sociability and the search for sensations, and introversion would be its opposite.


The mechanism of behavioral inhibition, which is associated with this primary dimension of personality, is mainly involved in the avoidance of unpleasant situations and stimuli , that is, the punishment. Since it is determined by variables of biological type, the mechanism would be activated to a different degree in each person.

Among the main functions of the mechanism of behavioral inhibition, and therefore of anxiety, we can highlight the response to punishments, the inhibition of obtaining reinforcers in certain circumstances (for example in the delay of reinforcement) and the avoidance of new stimuli. and potentially aversive.

Having a high level of anxiety predisposes the person to experiment frequently frustration, fear, sadness and other unpleasant feelings . Therefore, this feature is associated with the behavioral avoidance of stimuli that are perceived as anxious by the individual.

Impulsivity and the behavioral approach mechanism

The Impulsiveness factor of the Gray model combines high levels in the dimensions Neuroticism and Extraversion of Eysenck. In this case, the relevant biological system would be the mechanism of behavioral approximation, which, when activated, would cause us to behave in a manner opposite to the mechanism of inhibition.

So, in this case premium the obtaining of rewards over the avoidance of punishments . This behavioral system favors the approach to stimuli and novel situations and is activated mainly by the possibility of obtaining a reinforcement, unlike the mechanism of behavioral inhibition, which depends on the punishment.

According to Gray, people with a high level of activity of the mechanism of behavioral approach (or impulsive, if you want to say it in this way) tend to show more positive emotions such as joy. It could be related to the action of the neurotransmitter dopamine , involved in the brain reinforcement system and motivation.

Similarities and differences with Eysenck's theory

The theories of the personality of Eysenck and Gray have obvious similarities; after all, the second author based himself mainly on the work of the first when developing his own model. Both are categorized into two major paradigms of the study of personality: factorial and biological theories.

A key difference between Gray's personality theory and Eysenck's is that the former gives greater importance to physiological responses to different types of stimuli, whereas the PEN model is based mainly on classical conditioning , in the levels of cerebral activation and in the functioning of neurotransmitters.

In any case, these are two complementary theories: since Gray started with the Eysenck model, his factors can be added to those that were described by this author. Each of them explains different aspects of personality, and the features they describe could be explained by different but interrelated biological variables .

Bibliographic references:

  • Gray, J. A. (1970). The psychophysiological basis of introversion-extraversion. Behavior Research and Therapy, 8 (3): 249-266.
  • Gray, J. A. (1981). A critique of Eysenck's theory of personality. In H. J. Eysenck (Ed.), "A model for personality": 246-276.

Trait Theory (December 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie factorielle-biologique de la personnalité de Jeffrey Gray

La théorie factorielle-biologique de la personnalité de Jeffrey Gray

Octobre 1, 2022

La théorie de la personnalité de Gray est encadrée dans les paradigmes biologiques et factoriels ; Cela signifie qu'il explique les différences entre les individus en fonction de variables liées au système nerveux et qu'il repose sur le regroupement de différents traits de personnalité dans des dimensions supérieures au moyen de techniques d'analyse statistique.

Dans cet article, nous analyserons les principaux aspects du modèle de Gray. Plus précisément, nous allons nous concentrer sur les deux facteurs de personnalité de base et les deux mécanismes physiologiques associés décrits par cet auteur: Anxiété et mécanisme d'inhibition comportementale et d'impulsivité et l'approche comportementale.


  • Article connexe: "Les principales théories de la personnalité"

La théorie de la personnalité de Jeffrey Gray

Le psychologue britannique Jeffrey Alan Gray (1934-2004) a présenté en 1970 sa théorie factorielle-biologique sur la structure et les bases des différences interindividuelles dans la personnalité; selon le modèle, celles-ci sont dues à des mécanismes biologiques qui se rapporter à des réactions au renforcement, à la punition ou à des stimuli et des situations nouvelles.

Dans ce sens, Gray a décrit deux mécanismes biologiques principaux qui déterminent les tendances de comportement. Il a nommé l’un d’eux «mécanisme d’approche comportementale» et l’autre «mécanisme d’inhibition comportementale»; Celles-ci seraient équivalentes aux facteurs de base de la personnalité, qui auraient une base physiologique.


La théorie de la personnalité de Gray repose en grande partie sur le modèle Pys d’Eysenck , qui définit trois facteurs de personnalité biologiquement déterminés: le névrotisme, l’extraversion et le psychoticisme. Cependant, il existe des différences significatives entre les deux théories qu'il convient de commenter. nous nous arrêterons plus tard.

Donc, Gray propose Deux dimensions fondamentales de la personnalité: anxiété et impulsivité . Le premier combine l'introversion et le névrotisme du modèle d'Eysenck; d'autre part, un niveau élevé d'impulsivité impliquerait également un névrotisme élevé, mais dans ce cas, il serait associé à une extraversion. Chaque dimension correspond à un mécanisme comportemental.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "La théorie de la personnalité d'Eysenck: le modèle PEN"

Anxiété et mécanisme d'inhibition comportementale

Selon la description de Gray, l'anxiété est une combinaison de névrotisme (ou instabilité émotionnelle) et d'introversion. Dans le modèle d'Eysenck, l'extraversion est caractérisée par des traits de personnalité tels que l'activité, la domination, l'affirmation de soi, la sociabilité, la recherche de sensations et l'introversion en serait le contraire.


Le mécanisme d’inhibition comportementale, associé à cette dimension première de la personnalité, est principalement impliqué dans la éviter les situations et les stimuli désagréables c'est-à-dire la punition. Comme il est déterminé par des variables de type biologique, le mécanisme serait activé à un degré différent chez chaque personne.

Parmi les fonctions principales du mécanisme d’inhibition comportementale, et donc d’anxiété, on peut souligner la réponse aux punitions, l’inhibition de l’obtention de renforçateurs dans certaines circonstances (par exemple dans le délai de renforcement) et l’évitement de nouveaux stimuli. et potentiellement aversif.

Avoir un niveau d'anxiété élevé prédispose la personne à expérimenter fréquemment frustration, peur, tristesse et autres sentiments désagréables . Par conséquent, cette caractéristique est associée à l’évitement comportemental des stimuli perçus comme anxieux par l’individu.

L'impulsivité et le mécanisme d'approche comportementale

Le facteur d'impulsivité du modèle Gray combine des niveaux élevés dans les dimensions Neuroticism et Extraversion d'Eysenck. Dans ce cas, le système biologique pertinent serait le mécanisme d'approximation comportementale, qui, une fois activé, nous ferait se comporter de manière opposée au mécanisme d'inhibition.

Donc, dans ce cas prime à l'obtention de récompenses pour éviter les punitions . Ce système comportemental favorise l'approche des stimuli et des situations nouvelles et est activé principalement par la possibilité d'obtenir un renforcement, contrairement au mécanisme d'inhibition comportementale, qui dépend de la punition.

Selon Gray, les personnes ayant un niveau élevé d'activité du mécanisme d'approche comportementale (ou impulsif, si vous voulez le dire de cette façon) ont tendance à manifester des émotions plus positives telles que la joie. Cela pourrait être lié à l'action du neurotransmetteur dopamine , impliqué dans le système de renforcement du cerveau et la motivation.

Similitudes et différences avec la théorie d'Eysenck

Les théories de la personnalité d'Eysenck et de Gray présentent des similitudes évidentes. après tout, le second auteur s’est principalement basé sur le travail du premier pour développer son propre modèle. Les deux sont classés en deux grands paradigmes de l'étude de la personnalité: les théories factorielle et biologique.

Une différence essentielle entre la théorie de la personnalité de Gray et celle d'Eysenck est que la première donne plus d'importance aux réponses physiologiques à différents types de stimuli, alors que le modèle PEN repose principalement sur le conditionnement classique , dans les niveaux d’activation cérébrale et dans le fonctionnement des neurotransmetteurs.

En tout cas, ce sont deux théories complémentaires: depuis que Gray a commencé avec le modèle d’Eysenck, ses facteurs peuvent s’ajouter à ceux décrits par cet auteur. Chacun d’eux explique différents aspects de la personnalité et les caractéristiques qu’ils décrivent pourraient être expliquées de la manière suivante: variables biologiques différentes mais liées entre elles .

Références bibliographiques:

  • Gray, J.A. (1970). La base psychophysiologique de l'introversion-extraversion. Comportement Research and Therapy, 8 (3): 249-266.
  • Gray, J.A. (1981). Une critique de la théorie de la personnalité d'Eysenck. Dans H. J. Eysenck (Ed.), "Un modèle de personnalité": 246-276.

Résoudre rapidement un exercice de génétique - SVT Terminale S - Les Bons Profs (Octobre 2022).


Articles Connexes