yes, therapy helps!
The famous and macabre case of necrophilia by Carl Tanzler

The famous and macabre case of necrophilia by Carl Tanzler

September 27, 2022

Few cases of necrophilia are as famous as that of Carl Tanzler. The real story of a man who, surprisingly, carried his obsession for a woman beyond death.

Carl Tanzler (later known as Carl von Cosel) was able to exhume the corpse he considered the woman of his life, to continue having sex with her.

What is necrophilia?

The necrophilia or necrosexuality is a type of paraphilia that is characterized by a high level of excitement through contemplation, contact, mutilation or the mental evocation of a corpse .

Having sex with corpses is not only considered as socially unacceptable, but is punishable by jail, it is understood that the dead person had not consented to that act while alive.


Carl Tanzler: a famous case of necrophilia

The United States was considered the land of opportunities. For decades, many immigrants settled in the United States of America in search of a better future. This is what Carl Tanzler, a radiologist of German nationality, did.

Tanzler emigrated to Zephyrillis, a city in Pasco County, Florida. He arrived with his wife and two daughters, but a little later left his family to move to the Island of Key West, near Miami. There he rented an x-ray machine at the US Navy Hospital, and changed his name to Carl von Cosel.

One day in 1930, Tanzler's life changed forever. He was fifty-something at the time and had an affair with his patient Maria Elena Milagro de Hoyos. She had tuberculosis and her mother took her to the hospital to seek treatment for her pathology. .


Tanzler had visions during his childhood of the woman of his life

As a child in Germany, Tanzler reported that he had visions of an exotic girl, the supposed woman of his life . When he met María Elena, he thought she was the woman of his visions. That is to say, that this 21-year-old Cuban woman was her true love.

Thanks to his crush and despite the fact that Tanzler did not have enough training to deal with this pathology, and in addition to the patient's limited healing possibilities, he himself performed Elena's treatment from his parents' house.

But María Elena Miracle de Hoyos worsened due to her illness, and October 25, 1931 died. Then, the good Tanzler he paid for the funeral and built a mausoleum for María Elena in the cemetery of the Island of Key West, all this with the consent of his family. He visited his grave every night for a year and a half after his death.


His obsession with María Elena and the exhumation of the corpse

But soon the obsession with Maria Elena turned macabre. Tazler later told that the spirit of Maria Elena sang for him in Spanish as he sat near the grave, and begged her to take it with him. In April 1933, Tanzler exhumed the corpse of the Cuban girl and took him home with a toy cart.

When the body was at home, he dedicated himself to preserve it in unimaginable ways . Since he was in a considerable state of putrefaction, he stuck his bones with hangers and cables, put crystal eyes in the eye sockets, and replaced the rotten flesh with silk cloth treated with wax and white plaster. Tanzler introduced rags into the abdominal cavities and chest to maintain the illusion of the human form and put a wig that Maria Elena used to wear. To hide the rotten smell, the radiologist used liters and liters of perfume.

Tanzler had sex with the corpse of Maria Elena Milagro de Hoyos

I spend days and nights with the body, I even danced with him. In addition, Tanzler had sexual relations with the corpse.

After a while, the rumors reached Maria Elena's family. His sister Florinda went to Tanzler's house, and to his great surprise, discovered the body of his sister. Without thinking, he called the police and Tanzler was arrested.

The case became very famous and had a lot of media coverage . After her arrest, María Elena's body was buried in the cemetery so she could rest in peace. When Tanzler was released from prison, he wrote an autobiography that was published in Fantastic Adventures.


Iconic Corpse: Elena de Hoyos & Carl Tanzler (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le cas célèbre et macabre de nécrophilie de Carl Tanzler

Le cas célèbre et macabre de nécrophilie de Carl Tanzler

Septembre 23, 2022

Quelques cas de nécrophilie sont aussi célèbres que ceux de Carl Tanzler. La véritable histoire d'un homme qui, étonnamment, a porté son obsession pour une femme au-delà de la mort.

Carl Tanzler (plus tard connu sous le nom de Carl von Cosel) a pu exhumer le cadavre qu'il considérait comme la femme de sa vie pour continuer à avoir des relations sexuelles avec elle.

Qu'est-ce que la nécrophilie?

Le nécrophilie o nécrosexualité est un type de paraphilie qui se caractérise par une grande excitation par la contemplation, le contact, la mutilation ou l'évocation mentale d'un cadavre .

Avoir des relations sexuelles avec des cadavres est non seulement considéré comme socialement inacceptable, mais est punissable de prison, il est entendu que la personne décédée n'avait pas consenti à cet acte de son vivant.


Carl Tanzler: un cas célèbre de nécrophilie

Les États-Unis étaient considérés comme une terre d'opportunités. Pendant des décennies, de nombreux immigrants se sont installés aux États-Unis d'Amérique à la recherche d'un avenir meilleur. C'est ce qu'a fait Carl Tanzler, radiologue de nationalité allemande.

Tanzler a émigré à Zephyrillis, une ville du comté de Pasco en Floride. Il est arrivé avec sa femme et ses deux filles, mais a un peu plus tard quitté sa famille pour s'installer sur l'île de Key West, près de Miami. Là, il a loué un appareil de radiographie à l'hôpital de la US Navy et a changé son nom pour Carl von Cosel.

Un jour en 1930, la vie de Tanzler changea pour toujours: il avait environ cinquante ans et eut une liaison avec sa patiente Maria Elena Milagro de Hoyos. Elle souffrait de tuberculose et sa mère l'a emmenée à l'hôpital pour qu'elle se soigne pour sa pathologie. .


Tanzler a eu des visions pendant son enfance de la femme de sa vie

En tant qu'enfant en Allemagne, Tanzler a rapporté qu'il avait des visions d'une fille exotique, la femme supposée de sa vie . Lorsqu'il a rencontré María Elena, il a pensé qu'elle était la femme de ses visions. C’est-à-dire que cette Cubaine de 21 ans était son véritable amour.

Grâce à son béguin et malgré le fait que Tanzler ne disposait pas de suffisamment de formation pour faire face à cette pathologie, et en plus des possibilités de guérison limitées du patient, il effectuait lui-même le traitement d'Elena depuis la maison de ses parents.

Mais María Elena Miracle de Hoyos a empiré à cause de sa maladie et le 25 octobre 1931 est décédée. Ensuite, le bon Tanzler il a payé pour les funérailles et a construit un mausolée pour María Elena dans le cimetière de l'île de Key West, tout cela avec le consentement de sa famille. Il a visité sa tombe tous les soirs pendant un an et demi après sa mort.


Son obsession pour María Elena et l'exhumation du cadavre

Mais bientôt, l'obsession de Maria Elena est devenue macabre. Tazler a raconté plus tard que l'esprit de Maria Elena l'avait chanté en espagnol alors qu'il était assis près de la tombe et l'avait suppliée de l'emporter avec lui. En avril 1933, Tanzler exhuma le cadavre de la jeune Cubaine et le ramena chez lui avec un chariot à jouets.

Quand le corps était à la maison, il s'est consacré à le préserver de manière inimaginable . Comme il était dans un état de putréfaction considérable, il collait ses os avec des cintres et des câbles, mettait des yeux de cristal dans les orbites et remplaçait la chair pourrie par un tissu en soie traité à la cire et en plâtre blanc. Tanzler a introduit des chiffons dans les cavités abdominales et la poitrine pour maintenir l'illusion de la forme humaine et a mis une perruque que Maria Elena portait auparavant. Pour masquer l'odeur de pourriture, le radiologue a utilisé des litres et des litres de parfum.

Tanzler a eu des relations sexuelles avec le cadavre de Maria Elena Milagro de Hoyos

Je passe des jours et des nuits avec le corps, j'ai même dansé avec lui. En outre, Tanzler avait des relations sexuelles avec le cadavre.

Après un moment, les rumeurs ont atteint la famille de Maria Elena. Sa sœur Florinda s'est rendue chez Tanzler et, à sa grande surprise, a découvert le corps de sa sœur. Sans réfléchir, il a appelé la police et Tanzler a été arrêté.

L'affaire est devenue très célèbre et a eu beaucoup de couverture médiatique . Après son arrestation, le corps de María Elena a été enterré dans le cimetière afin de pouvoir reposer en paix. Lorsque Tanzler a été libéré de prison, il a écrit une autobiographie qui a été publiée dans Aventures fantastiques.


Iconic Corpse: Elena de Hoyos & Carl Tanzler (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes