yes, therapy helps!
The five intelligences of the human being

The five intelligences of the human being

May 10, 2021

If someone releases a phrase similar to "you are an animal!", We should not be offended. D We should feel comforted that he has perceived our energy and vital capacity and that they have realized that we do not belong to the vegetable kingdom or the mineral, the other two alternatives that Mother Nature offers us.

Another thing would be to qualify us as "bad animal" or "vermin", but belonging to the animal kingdom in the warm-blooded sub-kingdom is clearly a reason for satisfaction, a luck to celebrate.

If, on the other hand, they qualify us as "gorilla" or "orangutan", they are telling us that we have insufficient mental development; but if they call us "primate" they are positioning us correctly in the subspecies to which we belong.


A relative rationality

In my adolescence, the professors told us that man was the only rational and gifted animal soul , made in the likeness of God. Science has questioned this belief of clear religious origin, since there are many animals that show a similar level of rationality.

On the other hand, the rational capacity of humans does not guarantee, nor by far, that our behavior is always rational . And the explanation is very simple: we are not only rational. Our brain has been shaped by evolution in five stages of operation, inherited from our ancestors. Neurosciences and Evolutionary Psychology have shown that we possess instinctive abilities (such as primitive reptiles), emotional memory capacities (like the first mammals in evolution), intuitive rapid response capabilities (such as great primates), rational abilities ( inherited from the hominids that preceded us) and capacities for vision of future and planning, the true differential characteristic of homo sapiens.


The brain is built by evolutionary phases

Each stage of Darwinian evolution has left its anatomical constancy in a new brain growth zone . In addition, the human brain is the part of the human body that has grown most dramatically with evolution. As paleontologist Phillip V. Tobias wrote in 1995: "Man, in just a period of time of 2 to 3 million years, has increased brain weight from 500 grams to 1,400 grams. An increase of almost a kilo of brain ".

To the purely instinctive brain of the reptiles, the primitive mammals added the limbic system that allows them to keep memory of the emotions of pleasure or pain associated with their previous behaviors and, consequently, gives them the ability to rectify or ratify the instinctive reaction , that is: the control of the instincts, the ability to learn based on rewards and punishments. The primates acquired an added cerebral cortex that provides them with the ability to relate their past experiences to the current experience in thousandths of a second and to intuit whether it is convenient for them to reject or accept the food, the object or the company that is being offered to them.


According to paleontologists, the disappeared hominids developed the polarization of the left hemisphere of the cerebral cortex that allowed them to apply logic and deductive reasoning to the problems of their existence, with a response time tremendously inferior to the previous intuition, but with a wonderful and amazing ability to build tools and progress in the way of life. Language, art, culture and science are born thanks to this evolution of the neocortex.

The last stage of evolution has been the growth of the neocortex of homo sapiens to exceed the cranial capacity and spread through the forehead over the eyes and nose, the so-called prefrontal lobes. There lies our new and evolved superior capacity: the vision of the future, the ability to imagine before making a decision what the consequences can be derived from it, the ability to think long term and follow principles and norms, etc.

The executive brain

Neuroscientist Elkhonon Goldberg, disciple of the great neurologist Alexander Luria, calls executive brain to the prefrontal lobes because they have the function and ability to monitor and control the rest of the brain areas in evolution. It is like an orchestra conductor who with his baton is directing the different musicians who play together. But if we accept the metaphor of the orchestra, we will have to recognize that, too often, the music comes out of tune or broken.

The explanation is simple: every musician is a vedette impatient that he has a tendency to anticipate the director's baton . In more scientific words: the order of arrival of the external or internal stimuli to the different brain areas follows the same order of their appearance on the evolutionary scale and, consequently, each brain function receives the information when the previous zones have already begun to reply. It can only stop the reaction initiated or accelerate it, but for a few tenths of a second the own notes have already sounded, whether they agree to global harmony or not.

Five intelligences to adapt to the environment

If we call "intelligence" the ability to adapt to the stimuli of the existing environment to react in the way that offers the maximum benefit or minimize the damage (depending on the situation), we can affirm that the human brain is endowed with five intelligences , of increasing complexity and scope, following the evolutionary progression.

Instinctive intelligence is given to us by chromosomal inheritance. It allows us individual survival in the face of the dangers already internalized genetically and the collective survival at the level of the species. If a bee wants to drive its sting, our instinct makes us dodge it and try to eliminate it with a swipe. Reaction very beneficial on the street, but that can cause death by accident if we are driving a vehicle launched at high speed by a road.

Emotional intelligence: a new paradigm

The so-called emotional intelligence incorporates rationality and the foresight of the future to the control of emotions that, without this filter, can cause us to fall into highly damaging visceral reactions. The insult or the aggression that escapes us, not to mention the unfortunate crime of passion.

Intuitive intelligence allows us to make immediate decisions when there is no time to think rationally . It is based on the accumulation of previous experiences, it is the result of acquired experience. An automatic and fast contrast with the lived experiences gives us a clear reaction of acceptance or repulsion of the situation, object or person that is offered to us. It is not infallible because our statistics of lived events are never infinite, but it should be a very serious warning to be taken into account. Often, the evaluation carried out later by the rational intelligence makes us act wrongly against the intuitive warning. It is up to each person to better calibrate their intuition and decide when it is convenient to pay attention to them and when not.

Rational intelligence (also called analytical, logical, deductive or equivalent adjectives), with operation totally opposed to intuition, requires time and calm . It has been the one that has allowed us to create everything we call civilization and human progress, which has saved the pitfalls of nature, which has given us tools to overcome our biological inferiority evident in front of other animals. Also the one that has sometimes been put at the service of human evil, boosting to chilling extremes the ability to exploit and even take lives from other people, animals, wildlife, the climate, the entire planet. Which can cause real disasters when you lack the foresight of the future. So much has the human species admired this type of intelligence that for more than a century it was wanted to believe, wrongly, that it was the only intelligence that we possessed, the only one that was worth having. The famous IQ (IQ) in English was based on this idea.

The planning intelligence, the domain of the executive brain, is the current great slope of Psychology and, of course, of the teachings at all levels. Knowing how to coordinate all the musicians in the same symphony so that there are no discordant notes is the clear mission of the conductors.

In conclusion

Individually applying any of the five intelligences is not good or bad by itself. A musician can play a fantastic "solo" or detune to break our ears. But the clear objective of any orchestra is to interpret magnificent orchestral pieces in harmony and perfect coordination. You have to learn to play by following the conductor's baton.

Maybe we should say that evolution has given us an intelligence composed of five dimensions to harmonize . In any case, it is about reaching an effective intelligence that combines in the most appropriate way to our individual and social well-being the instincts, the emotions, the intuition, the reasoning and the planning capacity.

Bibliographic references:

  • Goldberg, E. (2002). The executive brain: frontal lobes and civilized mind. Review.
  • Guilera, L. (2006). Beyond emotional intelligence: the five dimensions of the mind. Thomson Auditorium.
  • Ledoux, J. (1999). The emotional brain Planet.

8 Intelligences - Theory of Multiple Intelligences Explained - Dr. Howard Gardner (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les cinq intelligences de l'être humain

Les cinq intelligences de l'être humain

Mai 22, 2019

Si quelqu'un libère une phrase similaire à "tu es un animal!", Nous ne devrions pas être offensés. D Nous devrions nous sentir réconfortés d'avoir perçu notre énergie et notre capacité vitale et qu'ils se sont rendus compte que nous n'appartenions ni au règne végétal ni au minéral, aux deux autres alternatives que nous offre Mère Nature.

Une autre chose serait de nous qualifier de "mauvais animal" ou de "vermine", mais appartenir au règne animal du sous-règne à sang chaud est clairement un motif de satisfaction, une chance à célébrer.

Si, au contraire, ils nous qualifient de "gorilles" ou d '"orangs-outans", ils nous disent que notre développement mental est insuffisant; mais s'ils nous appellent "primates", ils nous positionnent correctement dans la sous-espèce à laquelle nous appartenons.


Une relative rationalité

Dans mon adolescence, les professeurs nous ont dit que l'homme était le seul animal rationnel et doué âme , faite à la ressemblance de Dieu. La science a mis en doute cette croyance d'origine religieuse claire, car de nombreux animaux montrent un niveau de rationalité similaire.

D'autre part, la capacité rationnelle de l'homme ne garantit pas, ni de loin, que notre comportement est toujours rationnel . Et l'explication est très simple: nous ne sommes pas seulement rationnels. Notre cerveau a été façonné par l'évolution à cinq stades de fonctionnement hérités de nos ancêtres. Les neurosciences et la psychologie de l'évolution ont montré que nous possédions des capacités instinctives (telles que les reptiles primitifs), des capacités de mémoire émotionnelle (comme les premiers mammifères en évolution), des capacités de réponse intuitive (telles que les grands primates), des capacités rationnelles ( hérités des hominidés qui nous ont précédés) et capacités de vision de l'avenir et de planification, véritable caractéristique différentielle de l'homo sapiens.


Le cerveau est construit par phases évolutives

Chaque étape de l'évolution darwinienne a laissé sa constance anatomique dans une nouvelle zone de croissance du cerveau . De plus, le cerveau humain est la partie du corps humain qui a connu la plus forte croissance avec l'évolution. Comme l'écrivait le paléontologue Phillip V. Tobias en 1995: "En l'espace de 2 à 3 millions d'années, l'homme a augmenté le poids du cerveau de 500 à 1 400 grammes. Une augmentation de presque un kilo de cerveau ".

Au cerveau purement instinctif des reptiles, les mammifères primitifs ont ajouté le système limbique qui leur permet de garder en mémoire les émotions de plaisir ou de douleur associées à leurs comportements antérieurs et, par conséquent, leur donne la capacité de rectifier ou de ratifier la réaction instinctive , c’est-à-dire: le contrôle des instincts, la capacité d’apprendre en fonction des récompenses et des punitions. Les primates ont acquis un cortex cérébral ajouté qui leur permet de relier leurs expériences passées à l'expérience actuelle en millièmes de seconde et de deviner s'il est commode pour eux de rejeter ou d'accepter la nourriture, l'objet ou l'entreprise qui leur est offert.


Selon les paléontologues, les hominidés disparus ont développé la polarisation de l'hémisphère gauche du cortex cérébral qui leur a permis d'appliquer une logique et un raisonnement déductif aux problèmes de leur existence, avec un temps de réponse extrêmement inférieur à l'intuition précédente, mais avec une grande efficacité. et une capacité incroyable à construire des outils et à progresser dans le mode de vie. La langue, l'art, la culture et la science sont nés de cette évolution du néocortex.

Le dernier stade de l'évolution a été la croissance du néocortex de l'homo sapiens afin de dépasser la capacité crânienne et de se propager à travers le front au-dessus des yeux et du nez, appelés lobes préfrontaux. Là réside notre capacité supérieure nouvelle et développée: la vision du futur, la capacité d’imaginer avant de prendre une décision quelles en seront les conséquences, la capacité de penser à long terme et de suivre des principes et des normes, etc.

Le cerveau exécutif

Elkhonon Goldberg, neuroscientifique, disciple du grand neurologue Alexander Luria, appelle cerveau exécutif aux lobes préfrontaux car ils ont la fonction et la capacité de surveiller et de contrôler le reste des zones cérébrales en évolution. C'est comme un chef d'orchestre qui dirige avec son bâton les différents musiciens qui jouent ensemble. Mais si nous acceptons la métaphore de l'orchestre, nous devrons reconnaître que, trop souvent, la musique est désaccordée ou cassée.

L'explication est simple: chaque musicien est un vedette impatient qu'il ait tendance à anticiper le bâton du directeur . En termes plus scientifiques: l'ordre d'arrivée des stimuli externes ou internes aux différentes zones du cerveau suit le même ordre d'apparition sur l'échelle évolutive et, par conséquent, chaque fonction cérébrale reçoit l'information lorsque les zones précédentes ont déjà commencé à se former. répondre. Cela ne peut que stopper la réaction initiée ou l'accélérer, mais depuis quelques dixièmes de seconde, les propres notes ont déjà retenti, qu'elles soient ou non d'accord avec l'harmonie globale.

Cinq intelligences pour s'adapter à l'environnement

Si nous appelons «intelligence» la capacité de s’adapter aux stimuli de l’environnement existant pour réagir de manière à offrir le maximum d’avantages ou à minimiser les dommages (en fonction de la situation), on peut affirmer que le cerveau humain est doté de cinq intelligences , de complexité et de portée croissantes, suivant la progression de l’évolution.

L'intelligence instinctive nous est donnée par l'héritage chromosomique. Cela nous permet la survie individuelle face aux dangers déjà intériorisés génétiquement et la survie collective au niveau de l'espèce. Si une abeille veut maîtriser son aiguillon, notre instinct nous pousse à l'éviter et à essayer de l'éliminer d'un coup. Réaction très bénéfique dans la rue, mais qui peut entraîner la mort par accident si nous conduisons un véhicule lancé à grande vitesse par une route.

Intelligence émotionnelle: un nouveau paradigme

La soi-disant intelligence émotionnelle intègre la rationalité et la clairvoyance de l'avenir au contrôle des émotions qui, sans ce filtre, peuvent nous amener à des réactions viscérales extrêmement dommageables. L'insulte ou l'agression qui nous échappe, sans parler du malheureux crime passionnel.

L'intelligence intuitive nous permet de prendre des décisions immédiates quand il n'y a pas le temps de penser rationnellement . Il est basé sur l'accumulation d'expériences antérieures, il est le résultat d'une expérience acquise. Un contraste automatique et rapide avec les expériences vécues nous donne une réaction claire d'acceptation ou de répulsion de la situation, de l'objet ou de la personne qui nous est offerte. Ce n'est pas infaillible car nos statistiques d'événements vécus ne sont jamais infinies, mais il devrait s'agir d'un avertissement très grave à prendre en compte. Souvent, l'évaluation effectuée plus tard par l'intelligence rationnelle nous fait mal agir contre l'avertissement intuitif. Il appartient à chaque personne de mieux calibrer son intuition et de décider quand il convient de faire attention à elle ou non.

L'intelligence rationnelle (aussi appelée adjectif analytique, logique, déductif ou équivalent), dont le fonctionnement est totalement opposé à l'intuition, nécessite du temps et du calme . C’est ce qui nous a permis de créer tout ce que nous appelons la civilisation et le progrès humain, ce qui a permis d’éviter les pièges de la nature et de disposer des outils nécessaires pour surmonter notre infériorité biologique qui se manifeste devant d’autres animaux. C'est aussi celui qui a parfois été mis au service du mal humain, poussant à l'extrême la capacité d'exploiter et même de prendre des vies d'autres personnes, d'animaux, de la faune, du climat, de la planète entière. Ce qui peut provoquer de véritables catastrophes quand vous manquez de prévoyance pour l'avenir. L’espèce humaine a tellement admiré ce type d’intelligence qu’elle a voulu, pendant plus d’un siècle, croire, à tort, que c’était la seule intelligence que nous possédions, la seule qui vaille la peine d’avoir. Le fameux QI (QI) en anglais était basé sur cette idée.

L'intelligence de planification, le domaine du cerveau exécutif, constitue la grande pente actuelle de la psychologie. et, bien sûr, des enseignements à tous les niveaux. Savoir comment coordonner tous les musiciens dans la même symphonie pour qu’il n’y ait pas de notes discordantes, telle est la mission claire des chefs d’orchestre.

En conclusion

Appliquer individuellement l'une des cinq intelligences n'est ni bon ni mauvais en soi. Un musicien peut jouer un "solo" fantastique ou se désaccorder pour nous casser l'oreille. Mais l'objectif évident de tout orchestre est d'interpréter de magnifiques pièces orchestrales en harmonie et en parfaite coordination. Vous devez apprendre à jouer en suivant le bâton du chef d'orchestre.

Peut-être devrions-nous dire cela l'évolution nous a donné une intelligence composée de cinq dimensions pour harmoniser . Dans tous les cas, il s’agit d’atteindre une intelligence efficace qui associe de la manière la plus appropriée à notre bien-être individuel et social les instincts, les émotions, l’intuition, le raisonnement et la capacité de planification.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Goldberg, E. (2002). Le cerveau exécutif: lobes frontaux et esprit civilisé. Critiquer
  • Guilera, L. (2006). Au-delà de l'intelligence émotionnelle: les cinq dimensions de l'esprit. Thomson Auditorium.
  • Ledoux, J. (1999). Le cerveau émotionnel Planète

L'homme le plus intelligent au monde. (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes