yes, therapy helps!
The gender theory of Margaret Mead

The gender theory of Margaret Mead

February 4, 2023

Gender: the masculine and the feminine, the woman and the man . Traditionally, both sexes have been differentiated and it has been considered that they have different characteristics and roles. The passive, obedient and affectionate woman who raises and cares for children and their home. The hard, dominant and aggressive man, whose job is to work and provide the family with sustenance.

These roles have been throughout history held by certain and natural, and have been the criticism and repulsion towards those people who deviated from it. Even today it is not uncommon to hear as criticism that someone is a little masculine / feminine. But gender roles are not natural but a social construction, which in different cultures may not be shared. To the knowledge of this fact, which has allowed gender equality over time, has contributed greatly to Margaret Mead's gender theory .


  • Maybe you are interested: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

Who was Margaret Mead?

Born in 1901, at a time in history when it was considered that the differences between men and women were due to their biological differences Innate being the productive man and the expressive woman, Margaret Mead was an American psychologist and anthropologist whose field of interest focused on the investigation of culture and ways of raising infants in different cultures, and how these have an effect on the development of the human being.

Mead made numerous trips throughout his life analyzing different cultures and the differences between them and with respect to Western culture, observing among other aspects that the consideration of the role of each sex could vary greatly according to the beliefs of the population.


In this context, would be one of the pioneers in describing the concept of gender , unlocking the gender roles of biological sex.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Gender dysphoria: born in the wrong body"

Analysis of cultural groups in Nueva Guinea

One of Mead's most emblematic works with respect to gender appears in the book Sex and temperament in three primitive societies, based on his analysis of different ethnic groups of New Guinea in which the roles attributed to both sexes differed to a large extent from the traditional roles considered by the Western world.

Specifically, Margaret Mead analyzed the Arapesh, Tchambuli and Mundugumor tribes . In the Arapesh society he observed that regardless of the biological sex, all the individuals were raised in a way that assumed a calm, peaceful and affable behavior close to what in the West would be considered feminine.


Your observations on the tchambuli would reflect that in that society the woman is dedicated to the search for sustenance in activities such as fishing and runs the community , while the male performs the tasks of the home, assuming behaviors attributed to the other gender in other societies and showing them greater sensitivity in aspects such as art and the search for beauty. In other words, the gender roles of that society could have been considered the reverse of the Westerners.

Finally, the behavior of the mundugumor is practically the reverse of the Arapesh, both sexes being educated in ways that are aggressive, violent and competitive in a way similar to what would be considered typically male at that time.

The gender theory of Margaret Mead

The observations in these and other societies reflected that in different cultures the roles attributed to men and women were different. From this it follows that, contrary to what was thought at the time, the biological differences between both sexes do not determine social functioning that must have men and women but it is the upbringing and cultural transmission that incites the existence of most social differences.

In this way, the behavior, roles and traits attributed to each sex are not linked to sex itself. The reason that in some places the role is one or the other can be found in that each culture, in its beginnings, establishes a desirable character or pattern of action for its components. A pattern that ends up being internalized and replicated through the generations.

Based on her, the author considered that the rigidity of gender roles had to be reduced and the differences that these involve, so that both sexes could fully develop.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of feminism and its different currents of thought"

Consequences of Mead's theory

Mead's gender theory, which reflects this as a social construction, has had repercussions in various ways. The search for equality of the sexes and the progressive blurring of gender roles and stereotypes have been facilitated by these investigations.

Likewise, although the author did not place great emphasis on this in her research, she has also contributed and encouraged other researchers to contribute to demolish myths and beliefs regarding sexual orientation and identity.

Bibliographic references:

  • Mead, M. (1973). Sex and temperament in primitive societies. Barcelona: Laia.
  • Molina, Y. (2010). Gender theory Contributions to the Social Sciences. Malaga University.

Margaret Mead: Exploring the Influence of Culture (February 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie de genre de Margaret Mead

La théorie de genre de Margaret Mead

Mai 20, 2022

Genre: le masculin et le féminin, la femme et l'homme . Traditionnellement, les deux sexes ont été différenciés et on a considéré qu'ils avaient des caractéristiques et des rôles différents. La femme passive, obéissante et affectueuse qui élève et prend soin des enfants et de leur foyer. L'homme dur, dominant et agressif, dont le travail est de travailler et de subvenir aux besoins de la famille.

Ces rôles ont été au cours de l'histoire tenus par certains et naturels, et ont été la critique et la répulsion envers ceux qui s'en sont écartés. Même aujourd'hui, il n'est pas rare d'entendre comme critique que quelqu'un est un peu masculin / féminin. Mais les rôles de genre ne sont pas naturels mais une construction sociale qui, dans différentes cultures, peut ne pas être partagée. À la connaissance de ce fait, qui a permis l’égalité des sexes au fil du temps, a grandement contribué à la théorie du genre de Margaret Mead .


  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Qui était Margaret Mead?

Né en 1901, à une époque historique où il a été considéré que les différences entre les hommes et les femmes étaient dues à leurs différences biologiques Margaret Mead était une anthropologue et une anthropologue américaine dont les domaines d’intérêt étaient l’investigation de la culture et des moyens d’élever les enfants de différentes cultures et de la manière dont celles-ci avaient développement de l'être humain.

Mead a fait de nombreux voyages tout au long de sa vie analysant les différentes cultures et leurs différences respectives et par rapport à la culture occidentale, en observant, entre autres aspects, que la prise en compte du rôle de chaque sexe pouvait varier considérablement en fonction des convictions de la population.


Dans ce contexte, serait l'un des pionniers dans la description du concept de genre , déverrouillant les rôles de genre du sexe biologique.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Dysphorie de genre: né dans le mauvais corps"

Analyse de groupes culturels à Nueva Guinea

Une des œuvres les plus emblématiques de Mead en matière de genre figure dans le livre Sexe et tempérament dans trois sociétés primitives, sur la base de son analyse des différents groupes ethniques de la Nouvelle-Guinée dans lequel les rôles attribués aux deux sexes différaient dans une large mesure des rôles traditionnels considérés par le monde occidental.

Plus précisément, Margaret Mead analysé les tribus Arapesh, Tchambuli et Mundugumor . Dans la société Arapesh, il a observé que quel que soit le sexe biologique, tous les individus étaient élevés de manière à adopter un comportement calme, paisible et aimable, proche de ce que l’Occident considérerait comme féminin.


Vos observations sur le tchambuli indiqueraient que dans cette société la femme est dédiée à la recherche de subsistance dans des activités telles que la pêche et dirige la communauté , tandis que l’homme accomplit les tâches domestiques, assumant les comportements attribués à l’autre sexe dans d’autres sociétés et leur montrant une plus grande sensibilité dans des domaines tels que l’art et la recherche de la beauté. En d'autres termes, les rôles de genre de cette société auraient pu être considérés comme l'inverse des Occidentaux.

Enfin, le comportement du mundugumor est pratiquement l'inverse de l'Arapesh, les deux sexes sont éduqués de manière agressive, violente et compétitive d'une manière similaire à ce qui serait considéré typiquement masculin à cette époque.

La théorie de genre de Margaret Mead

Les observations dans ces sociétés et d’autres ont montré que, dans différentes cultures, les rôles attribués aux hommes et aux femmes étaient différents. Il en résulte que, contrairement à ce que l'on pensait à l'époque, les différences biologiques entre les deux sexes ne déterminent pas le fonctionnement social cela doit avoir des hommes et des femmes mais c'est l'éducation et la transmission culturelle qui incitent à l'existence de la plupart des différences sociales.

De cette manière, le comportement, les rôles et les traits attribués à chaque sexe ne sont pas liés au sexe lui-même. La raison pour laquelle, à certains endroits, le rôle est l’un ou l’autre, c’est que chaque culture, à ses débuts, établit un caractère ou un modèle d’action souhaitable pour ses composantes. Un modèle qui finit par être internalisé et répliqué au fil des générations.

Basé sur elle, l'auteur a estimé qu'il fallait réduire la rigidité des rôles de genre et les différences que cela implique, de sorte que les deux sexes puissent se développer pleinement.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Les types de féminisme et ses différents courants de pensée"

Conséquences de la théorie de Mead

La théorie de genre de Mead, qui en fait une construction sociale, a eu des répercussions de diverses manières. La recherche de l'égalité des sexes et ces enquêtes ont permis de brouiller progressivement les rôles de genre et les stéréotypes.

De même, bien que l'auteur n'ait pas beaucoup insisté sur ce point dans ses recherches, elle a également contribué et encouragé d'autres chercheurs à contribuer à démolir les mythes et les croyances concernant l'orientation et l'identité sexuelles.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Mead, M. (1973). Sexe et tempérament dans les sociétés primitives. Barcelone: ​​Laia.
  • Molina, Y. (2010). Théorie du genre Contributions aux sciences sociales. Université de Malaga.

Margaret Mead: sexe, féminisme et indépendance (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes