yes, therapy helps!
The general scheme theory of Rumelhart and Norman

The general scheme theory of Rumelhart and Norman

January 11, 2023

Rumelhart and Norman made key contributions to the general theory of schemes , a framework for the analysis of cognitive processing and the acquisition of knowledge that belongs to the field of neurosciences.

In this article we will describe the main aspects of schema theory and the most important contributions of these two authors.

  • Related article: "The 10 main psychological theories"

What are cognitive schemes?

In the field of cognitive psychology, psycholinguistics and other related sciences, the term "schema" is used to refer to cognitive patterns of information, including the relationships between different elements of knowledge. They have been studied fundamentally for their influence on the perception and acquisition of new information .


In his book Schemata: the building blocks of cognition (1980), who had a transcendental influence on the development of schema theory, David Rumelhart said that the concept of schema refers to the knowledge we possess. In particular, these would correspond to Generic information sets , relatively unspecific.

In these schemes human experience is represented at all levels, from the most basic sensory perceptions to abstract aspects such as ideology, through the muscular movements, sounds, structure and meanings that make up language.

According to Rumelhart and Norman (1975) the schemes are composed of different variables that can acquire multiple values. The information we obtain is processed at a cognitive level and compared with the schemes and with their possible configurations, which we store in long-term memory and increase the efficiency of our cognition.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Cognitive psychology: definition, theories and main authors"

The general scheme theory of Rumelhart and Norman

Rumelhart and Norman argue that learning, and therefore the formation of schemes, is not a unitary process, but that we obtain knowledge through three modes of acquisition: accumulation, adjustment and restructuring. The basic process is the spontaneous accumulation of information that we carry out through the senses and cognition.

However, the accumulation is only possible when the new information is compatible with the schemes that we already have. When there is a discrepancy it is necessary to modify the cognitive structure ; if this is of slight intensity, an adjustment process takes place, which maintains the basic relational network of the scheme, changing only a few variables.


On the other hand, when the discrepancy between memories and novel information is very strong, the adjustment is not enough, but we resort to restructuring. This process is defined as the creation of a new scheme based on the combination of existing schemes or the detection of common patterns among some of them.

  • Maybe you are interested: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

How are the schema variables modified?

As we have said, Rumelhart and Norman talked about "variables" to refer to The factors that define the schemes and their possible manifestations . Frequently the acquisition of knowledge implies the modification of these variables in order to update the cognitive structure, especially in the cases of learning by adjustment.

According to these authors, the change in the variables can take place in four different ways. The first consists in increasing the specificity of the schemes by modifying the meaning associated with a specific range of values. Another way is to increase this range so that the applicability of the variable also does.

Of course, the opposite can also happen: the reduction of the range of applicability or even the replacement of the variable by a constant. The fourth and last mode consists of set some basic values ​​for a given variable ; this serves to make inferences when the information about the variable is insufficient in a specific situation.

The Interactive Model of Reading Comprehension

Rumelhart also developed a theory he called "Interactive Model" to explain reading comprehension from a cognitive point of view. In the Interactive Model Rumelhart describes the acquisition of linguistic-visual knowledge as a process in which the mind works with multiple sources of information simultaneously .

Thus, when we read our brain, we analyze factors such as the relationships between sounds and letters (which have an arbitrary character), the meanings of words and phrases made or syntactic links between the different components of discourse.

If at least one of the physiological-cognitive systems relevant to reading comprehension is altered, the deficit in the processing of information that is derived from it is compensated by another type of information. Thus, for example, when we do not understand the meaning of a word or we do not hear it well, we can try to deduce it from the discursive context.

On the other hand Rumelhart considered that the stories share nuclear grammatical aspects . When hearing or reading stories that we did not know before, the perception of this common grammar helps us to understand the events and to structure them mentally with greater ease, as well as to predict the development of events.

Bibliographic references:

  • Rumelhart, D. E. (1980). Schemata: the building blocks of cognition. In R.J. Spiro et al. (Eds.), "Theoretical Issues in Reading Comprehension." Hillsdale, New Jersey: Lawrence Erlbaum.
  • Norman, D. A. & Rumelhart, D. E. (1975). Explorations in cognition. San Francisco: Freeman.

Don Norman and Mick McManus on "Design in the Age of AI: A design debate" (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie du schéma général de Rumelhart et Norman

La théorie du schéma général de Rumelhart et Norman

Septembre 18, 2019

Rumelhart et Norman ont apporté des contributions clés à la théorie générale des schémas , un cadre pour l’analyse du traitement cognitif et l’acquisition de connaissances appartenant au domaine des neurosciences.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire les principaux aspects de la théorie des schémas et les contributions les plus importantes de ces deux auteurs.

  • Article connexe: "Les 10 principales théories psychologiques"

Quels sont les schémas cognitifs?

Dans le domaine de la psychologie cognitive, de la psycholinguistique et d’autres sciences connexes, le terme "schéma" est utilisé pour désigner les modèles cognitifs d’information, y compris les relations entre différents éléments de la connaissance. Ils ont été étudiés fondamentalement pour leur influence sur la perception et l'acquisition de nouvelles informations .


Dans son livre Schemata: les blocs de construction de la cognition (1980), qui ont eu une influence transcendantale sur le développement de la théorie des schémas, David Rumelhart a déclaré que le concept de schéma faisait référence aux connaissances que nous possédons. En particulier, ceux-ci correspondraient à Ensembles d'informations génériques relativement peu spécifique.

Dans ces schémas, l'expérience humaine est représentée à tous les niveaux, des perceptions sensorielles les plus fondamentales aux aspects abstraits tels que l'idéologie, en passant par les mouvements musculaires, les sons, la structure et les significations qui composent le langage.

Selon Rumelhart et Norman (1975), les schémas sont composés de différentes variables pouvant acquérir plusieurs valeurs. Les informations que nous obtenons sont traitées au niveau cognitif et comparées à les schémas et leurs configurations possibles, que nous stockons dans la mémoire à long terme et augmenter l'efficacité de notre cognition.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Psychologie cognitive: définition, théories et principaux auteurs"

La théorie du schéma général de Rumelhart et Norman

Rumelhart et Norman soutiennent que l'apprentissage, et donc la formation de systèmes, n'est pas un processus unitaire, mais que nous acquérons la connaissance par le biais de trois modes d'acquisition: l'accumulation, l'ajustement et la restructuration. Le processus de base est l'accumulation spontanée d'informations que nous réalisons à travers les sens et la cognition.

Cependant, l’accumulation n’est possible que lorsque les nouvelles informations sont compatibles avec les schémas que nous avons déjà. En cas de divergence, il est nécessaire de modifier la structure cognitive ; si cela est d'intensité légère, un processus d'ajustement a lieu, qui maintient le réseau relationnel de base du schéma, ne changeant que quelques variables.


Par contre, lorsque le décalage entre les mémoires et les nouvelles informations est très fort, l’ajustement ne suffit pas, mais nous recourons à la restructuration. Ce processus est défini comme la création d'un nouveau schéma basé sur la combinaison de schémas existants ou la détection de modèles communs entre certains d'entre eux.

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Comment les variables de schéma sont-elles modifiées?

Comme nous l’avons dit, Rumelhart et Norman ont parlé de "variables" pour désigner Les facteurs qui définissent les régimes et leurs manifestations possibles . Fréquemment, l'acquisition de connaissances implique la modification de ces variables afin d'actualiser la structure cognitive, en particulier dans les cas d'apprentissage par ajustement.

Selon ces auteurs, la modification des variables peut avoir lieu de quatre manières différentes. La première consiste à augmenter la spécificité des schémas en modifiant la signification associée à une plage de valeurs spécifique. Une autre méthode consiste à augmenter cette plage afin que l'applicabilité de la variable soit également valable.

Bien entendu, l’inverse peut également se produire: la réduction de la plage d’applicabilité ou même le remplacement de la variable par une constante. Le quatrième et dernier mode consiste à définir des valeurs de base pour une variable donnée ; Cela sert à tirer des conclusions lorsque les informations sur la variable sont insuffisantes dans une situation donnée.

Le modèle interactif de compréhension de la lecture

Rumelhart a également développé une théorie qu'il a appelée "modèle interactif" pour expliquer la compréhension en lecture d'un point de vue cognitif. Dans le modèle interactif, Rumelhart décrit l’acquisition de connaissances linguistiques et visuelles comme un processus dans lequel l'esprit travaille avec plusieurs sources d'information simultanément .

Ainsi, lorsque nous lisons notre cerveau, nous analysons des facteurs tels que les relations entre les sons et les lettres (qui ont un caractère arbitraire), la signification des mots et des expressions ainsi que les liens syntaxiques entre les différentes composantes du discours.

Si au moins un des systèmes physiologiques-cognitifs intéressant la compréhension en lecture est modifié, le déficit de traitement des informations qui en dérivent est compensé par un autre type d'informations. Ainsi, par exemple, lorsque nous ne comprenons pas le sens d'un mot ou que nous ne l'entendons pas bien, nous pouvons essayer de le déduire du contexte discursif.

D'autre part Rumelhart considérait que les histoires partageaient des aspects grammaticaux nucléaires . Lorsque nous entendons ou lisons des histoires que nous ne connaissions pas auparavant, la perception de cette grammaire commune nous aide à comprendre les événements et à les structurer mentalement avec une plus grande facilité, ainsi qu’à en prédire le développement.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Rumelhart, D. E. (1980). Schemata: les blocs de construction de la cognition. Dans R.J. Spiro et al. (Eds.), "Problèmes théoriques en compréhension à la lecture". Hillsdale, New Jersey: Lawrence Erlbaum.
  • Norman, D.A. & Rumelhart, D.E. (1975). Explorations dans la cognition. San Francisco: Freeman.

communication: définition, schéma de jakobson, les éléments de la communication (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes