yes, therapy helps!
The genetic and biological bases of psychopathy

The genetic and biological bases of psychopathy

March 1, 2021

We often talk about the acts, the behavioral style and the way of interacting with people who have people who could be described as psychopaths. In spite of that, there is an issue that is even more disturbing than all these issues: how are psychopaths inside doors? What are the peculiarities of your own body that make you predisposed to psychopathy?

Trying to answer these questions is, deep down, address research about the biological basis of psychopathy .

Let's start, then, talking about what we know about its genetic characteristics.

Genetic findings about psychopathy

The greatest evidence in favor of genetics usually comes from studies of twins and adoptions. According to these studies, heritability in children or adolescents in antisocial behavior it is estimated at 30-44% .


In criminal adult subjects, there is a concordance of 69% for monozygotic twins (the same ovule, therefore almost identical genetic load) and 0.33% for dizygotic twins (two ovules), which gives conclusive evidence that there is a weight of genetics in criminal behavior above the environment. Numerous studies support these results.

It has also been shown that the Y chromosome he would be implicated in aggressiveness, attributing himself to a greater aggressiveness in men than in women, in general.

The MAO-A gene

The MAO-A gene it's up to date, the only clear example of how a particular mutation

It can alter the behavior. This altered gene was found in people suffering from a psychopathic disorder and, in addition, in abused children as children.


In other words, the alteration of this gene predisposes to violent behavior. Conversely, People who since birth have high concentrations of this gene are less likely to develop antisocial problems .

The interesting thing about this finding is that it could help explain why not all victims of abuse when they grow up do the same to other people, for example.

Neuroanatomical findings

At the end of the 90s, a study was carried out in which the brain activity of 41 normal subjects and 41 murderers was compared. It was found that criminals had less activity in the prefrontal region (the human region par excellence), which would translate into:

  • Neurologically : loss of inhibition of regions such as the amygdala, responsible (among others) for the regulation of aggressive feelings.
  • Conductually : risky behavior, irresponsible, transgressors of the rules, violent, impulsive ...
  • Socially : lack of empathy for other people.


Neurochemical findings

Numerous experiments have shown the crucial role of serotonin as a modulator of aggressive behavior, the relationship being the following: unless serotonin, more reinforced will be the aggressive behavior . Therefore it would be easy to conclude that people suffering from this disorder could have altered serotonergic pathways.

In the same way, noradrenaline, dopamine, GABA and nitric oxide would be involved in impulsive and violent behavior, although with less relevance.

Neuroendocrine findings

In the hormonal field, of which we have more conclusive evidence is insulin and testosterone. Some studies show that if we have a low level of glucose, and therefore insulin in the blood, we have more predisposition to violent and impulsive behaviors.

In the case of testosterone, we have multiple studies comparing criminals and healthy people, where they show that the amount of free testosterone in blood is increased in the first . In addition, several studies indicate that women with higher testosterone are more sexually active, competitive, male and alcohol users compared to women with low levels of it.

Psychophysiological findings

Cleckley (1976) proposed that psychopaths may have the ability to understand the literal (denotative) meaning of language, but not its emotional (connotative) meaning. They would, therefore, have an emotional deficit .

The psychopaths, in addition, would have the altered emotional reactivity since, in comparison to normal people, in situations that should feel anxiety and fear, they do not feel it.

Likewise, they also present an absence in the startle reaction to the exposure of visually unpleasant content, and very shrill and shrill beeps.

Based on all this data, it was proposed that psychopaths have a weak brain inhibitory system , and a strong activation system.This would explain his impulsiveness and his lack of ability to think about future consequences.

In conclusion...

The antisocial personality disorder is characterized by its lack of empathy and remorse to the violation of rights of others and social norms, high impulsiveness and aggressiveness ... They are subjects who will do whatever is necessary, regardless of the consequences, to achieve their purposes and personal benefits

But is the psychopath made or born? The answer is... a combination of both options . A marginal environment, where the person is born unattended, with violence, abuse, abandonment ... influences crucially. However, it has been shown by numerous studies, that there is more genetic weight.

A clear proof of this would be obtained through the question ... why are there people who, in the face of mistreatment, turn into abusers, while others do not? This answer would be given by the amount of gen mao-A that person has base. It could also respond to many other situations in which there are people who succumb to the situation and commit violent acts, while others refuse to do so.

We conclude then, a clear and evident biological role of the brain in antisocial personality disorder and a genetic-environment interaction (with more genetic relevance).

Bibliographic references:

  • Caspi, A., McClay, J .; Moffitt, T., Mill, J. and Martin, J. (2002). Role of genotype in the cycle of violence in maltreated children. American Association for the Advancement of Science. 297 (5582): 851-854.
  • Garrido, V. (2003). Psychopaths and other violent criminals. Valencia: Tirant lo Blanch.
  • Ros, S., Peris, M.D. and Gracia, R. (2003) Impulsivity. Barcelona: Ars Medica.
  • American Psychiatric Association, APA (2002). DSM-IV-TR. Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Revised text Barcelona: Masson.
  • Francisco, J. (2000). Biological bases of psychopathologies. Madrid: Pyramid Psychology.
  • World Health Organization (1998). ICD-10. Mental and behavioral disorders Multiaxial version for adults. Geneva: WHO.
  • Pelegr√≠n, C. and Tirapu, J. (2003). Neurobiological bases of aggression. Intersalud. Excerpted from: //hdl.handle.net/10401/2411

Neuroscience and the Psychopath Inside with James Fallon (March 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les bases génétiques et biologiques de la psychopathie

Les bases génétiques et biologiques de la psychopathie

Janvier 31, 2023

Nous parlons souvent des actes, du style de comportement et de la manière d’interagir avec des gens qui ont des gens qui pourraient être décrits comme des psychopathes. Malgré cela, il y a un problème qui est encore plus troublant que tous ces problèmes: comment les psychopathes sont-ils à l'intérieur des portes? Quelles sont les particularités de votre corps qui vous prédisposent à la psychopathie?

Essayer de répondre à ces questions est, au fond, aborder la recherche sur la base biologique de la psychopathie .

Commençons par parler de ce que nous savons de ses caractéristiques génétiques.

Découvertes génétiques sur la psychopathie

Les principales preuves en faveur de la génétique proviennent généralement d'études sur les jumeaux et les adoptions. Selon ces études, l'héritabilité chez les enfants ou les adolescents ayant un comportement antisocial il est estimé à 30-44% .


Chez les sujets adultes criminels, il existe une concordance de 69% pour les jumeaux monozygotes (le même ovule, donc une charge génétique presque identique) et de 0,33% pour les jumeaux dizygotes (deux ovules), ce qui fournit une preuve concluante de la pesanteur pondérale. la génétique dans le comportement criminel au-dessus de l'environnement. De nombreuses études corroborent ces résultats.

Il a également été démontré que le Chromosome Y il serait impliqué dans l'agressivité, s'attribuant à une plus grande agressivité chez les hommes que chez les femmes en général.

Le gène MAO-A

Le Gène MAO-A c'est à jour, le seul exemple clair de la façon dont une mutation particulière

Cela peut modifier le comportement. Ce gène modifié a été trouvé chez des personnes souffrant d'un trouble psychopathique et, en outre, chez des enfants maltraités dans leur enfance.


En d'autres termes, l'altération de ce gène prédispose au comportement violent. Au contraire, Les personnes qui, depuis leur naissance, ont des concentrations élevées de ce gène sont moins susceptibles de développer des problèmes antisociaux .

La chose intéressante à propos de cette constatation est qu’elle pourrait aider à expliquer pourquoi toutes les victimes de maltraitance ne grandissent pas de la même manière, par exemple.

Résultats neuroanatomiques

À la fin des années 90, une étude comparant l'activité cérébrale de 41 sujets normaux et de 41 meurtriers a été réalisée. Il a été constaté que les criminels étaient moins actifs dans la région préfrontale (la région humaine par excellence), ce qui se traduirait par:

  • Neurologiquement : perte d'inhibition de régions telles que l'amygdale, responsables (entre autres) de la régulation des sentiments agressifs.
  • Par la conduite : comportement risqué, irresponsable, transgresseur des règles, violent, impulsif ...
  • Socialement : manque d'empathie pour les autres.


Résultats neurochimiques

De nombreuses expériences ont montré le rôle crucial de la sérotonine en tant que modulateur du comportement agressif, la relation étant la suivante: à moins que la sérotonine ne soit renforcée, le comportement agressif . Par conséquent, il serait facile de conclure que les personnes souffrant de ce trouble pourraient avoir modifié les voies sérotoninergiques.

De la même manière, la noradrénaline, la dopamine, le GABA et l'oxyde nitrique seraient impliqués dans des comportements impulsifs et violents, bien que moins pertinents.

Résultats neuroendocriniens

L'insuline et la testostérone constituent des preuves plus concluantes dans le domaine hormonal. Certaines études montrent que si nous avons un faible taux de glucose, et donc d’insuline dans le sang, nous sommes plus prédisposés aux comportements violents et impulsifs.

Dans le cas de la testostérone, nous avons plusieurs études comparant les criminels et les personnes en bonne santé, où ils montrent que la quantité de testostérone libre dans le sang augmente lors de la première . En outre, plusieurs études indiquent que les femmes ayant un taux de testostérone élevé sont plus sexuellement actives, sont plus compétitives, consomment plus d’hommes et consomment de l’alcool que les femmes qui en consomment peu.

Résultats psychophysiologiques

Cleckley (1976) a proposé que les psychopathes puissent avoir la capacité de comprendre le sens littéral (dénotatif) du langage, mais pas son sens émotionnel (connotatif). Ils auraient donc un déficit émotionnel .

De plus, les psychopathes auraient une réactivité émotionnelle modifiée puisque, par rapport aux gens normaux, dans des situations qui devraient ressentir de l’anxiété et de la peur, ils ne le ressentaient pas.

De même, ils présentent également une absence dans la réaction de surprise à l'exposition de contenus visuellement désagréables et de bips très stridents et stridents.

Sur la base de toutes ces données, il a été proposé que les psychopathes aient un système inhibiteur du cerveau faible et un système d’activation puissant.Cela expliquerait son impulsivité et son incapacité à penser aux conséquences à venir.

En guise de conclusion ...

Le trouble de la personnalité antisociale se caractérise par son manque d'empathie et de remords vis-à-vis de la violation des droits d'autrui et des normes sociales, d'une impulsivité et d'une agressivité extrêmes ... Ce sont des sujets qui feront tout ce qui est nécessaire, quelles que soient les conséquences, pour atteindre leurs objectifs avantages personnels

Mais le psychopathe est-il fait ou né? La réponse est... une combinaison des deux options . Un environnement marginal, où la personne naît sans surveillance, avec violence, abus, abandon ... influence de manière cruciale. Cependant, de nombreuses études ont montré qu'il y avait plus de poids génétique.

La question est claire: pourquoi y a-t-il des gens qui, face aux mauvais traitements, se transforment en agresseurs, alors que d'autres non? Cette réponse serait donnée par le montant de gen mao-a cette personne a la base. Cela pourrait également répondre à de nombreuses autres situations dans lesquelles des personnes cèdent à la situation et commettent des actes de violence, tandis que d'autres refusent de le faire.

Nous concluons alors, un rôle biologique clair et évident du cerveau dans les troubles de la personnalité antisociale et une interaction génétique-environnement (avec plus de pertinence génétique).

Références bibliographiques:

  • Caspi, A., McClay, J; Moffitt, T., Mill, J. et Martin, J. (2002). Rôle du génotype dans le cycle de violence chez les enfants maltraités. Association américaine pour le progrès de la science. 297 (5582): 851-854.
  • Garrido, V. (2003). Psychopathes et autres criminels violents. Valence: Tirant lo Blanch.
  • Ros, S., Peris, M.D. et Gracia, R. (2003) Impulsivity. Barcelone: ​​Ars Medica.
  • Association américaine de psychiatrie, APA (2002). DSM-IV-TR. Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Texte révisé Barcelone: ​​Masson.
  • Francisco, J. (2000). Bases biologiques des psychopathologies. Madrid: Psychologie des pyramides.
  • Organisation mondiale de la santé (1998). CIM-10. Troubles mentaux et du comportement Version multiaxiale pour adultes. Genève: OMS.
  • Pelegrín, C. et Tirapu, J. (2003). Bases neurobiologiques de l'agression. Intersalud. Extrait de: //hdl.handle.net/10401/2411

Génétique du comportement et de la personnalité - Jacques van Helden. 5. Agression (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes