yes, therapy helps!
The great enigma of emotions and physical pain

The great enigma of emotions and physical pain

April 29, 2024

Headaches, stomach problems ... happen to be very common in doctors' offices. At this time, psychology joins medicine and build a whole that manages to explain the cause of some of these pains that affect a large part of the population without apparent physical cause.

Mental and physical health are indivisible , they coordinate and if there is an imbalance in one of the two, the other is affected.

  • Related article: "The 8 types of emotions (classification and description)"

What influence does the mind have on pain?

Many kinds of pains are diagnosed as tension myositis syndrome, and the cause is in the mind. Doctors usually encounter this situation and observe first-hand how an intense headache is related to family problems, at work ... and they consider how to treat it since there is no evidence of physical cause.


John E. Sarno has been interested in this topic and has delved into issues relevant to the mind's use of pain. Faced with a complicated situation, the human being prefers physical pain to face this emotion.

Everything starts with the brain . This generates pains that have no organic cause for people to pay attention to their body, thus diverting attention from the repressed subconscious. Dr. Sarno's theory proposes that when the repressed subconscious is recognized, the symptoms diminish. In this way, we would be "telling" our brain that we already know the cause of this pain and that it no longer has to cover it up.

How does Doctor Sarno carry out this treatment?

This kind of alterations are treated through an education and learning task, in which the patient is an active subject and aware of what is happening to him and sets in motion conscious strategies in order to heal and make the pain disappear.


First, the patient is asked what he believes is the source of that emotion. Letting it be expressed is essential for this awareness. The person will share how they feel and the therapist accompanies them in this process. However, the recognition of emotions is not as simple as it seems.

How to recognize our emotions?

These are several guidelines to reconcile with what we feel.

1. Recognize the feeling

Be able to detect the physiological impact that this emotion causes . As for example: tension in the neck

2. The response that emotion generates

As we all know, emotions they have an adaptive function . Identifying what awakens this emotion in us is basic.

  • Related article: "What is the use of crying for?"

3. Identify the primary emotion

All moods start from the basis of a primary emotion such as anger, sadness etc


4. Identify emotions combined with the primary emotion

This requires a deeper process of introspection. We can get scared into this reflection that is essential in the improvement process.

Let's reflect

We must pay more attention to our body , know each other more and express our feelings in a habitual way. Society should not be ashamed to suffer emotional pain. The stigma that exists with respect to mental health will not disappear talking about solutions, but carrying them out. Let's stop being afraid, act and promote human welfare.

Author: Andrea Martínez Pellicer.

Bibliographic references:

  • Bisquerra, J. and Pérez, N. (2007). Emotional skills Education XXI, 10, 61-82.
  • Lambie, J. A. and Marcel, A. J. (2002). Consciousness and the varieties of emotional experience: A framework framework. Psychological Review, 109, 219-259.
  • Sarno, J. (2006). Cure the body, eliminate pain: a definitive treatment for psychosomatic illnesses. Editorial Sirio: Madrid.

You aren't at the mercy of your emotions -- your brain creates them | Lisa Feldman Barrett (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La grande énigme des émotions et de la douleur physique

La grande énigme des émotions et de la douleur physique

Avril 15, 2021

Les maux de tête, les problèmes d'estomac… sont très fréquents dans les cabinets de médecins. A cette époque, la psychologie rejoint la médecine et forme un tout qui parvient à expliquer la cause de certaines de ces douleurs qui touchent une grande partie de la population sans cause physique apparente.

La santé mentale et physique sont indivisibles , ils se coordonnent et s’il existe un déséquilibre dans l’un des deux, l’autre est affecté.

  • Article connexe: "Les 8 types d'émotions (classification et description)"

Quelle influence l'esprit a-t-il sur la douleur?

Plusieurs types de douleurs sont diagnostiqués comme un syndrome de myosite par tension, et la cause en est une dans l’esprit. Les médecins rencontrent généralement cette situation et observent de première main comment un mal de tête intense est lié à des problèmes familiaux, au travail ... et ils examinent comment le traiter puisqu'il n'y a aucune preuve de cause physique.


John E. Sarno s'est intéressé à ce sujet et a approfondi des questions relatives à l'utilisation de la douleur par l'esprit. Face à une situation compliquée, l'être humain préfère la douleur physique pour faire face à cette émotion.

Tout commence par le cerveau . Cela génère des douleurs qui n'ont aucune cause organique pour que les personnes fassent attention à leur corps, détournant ainsi l'attention du subconscient refoulé. La théorie du Dr Sarno propose que, lorsque le subconscient refoulé est reconnu, les symptômes diminuent. De cette façon, nous «dirions» à notre cerveau que nous connaissons déjà la cause de cette douleur et qu’il n’a plus à la dissimuler.

Comment le docteur Sarno effectue-t-il ce traitement?

Ce type de modification fait l’objet d’une tâche d’éducation et d’apprentissage dans laquelle le patient est un sujet actif et conscient de ce qui lui arrive et met en mouvement des stratégies conscientes afin de guérir et de faire disparaître la douleur.


Tout d'abord, on demande au patient quelle est, à son avis, la source de cette émotion. Le laisser s'exprimer est essentiel pour cette prise de conscience. La personne partagera ce qu’elle ressent et le thérapeute l’accompagnera dans ce processus. Cependant, la reconnaissance des émotions n'est pas aussi simple qu'il y paraît.

Comment reconnaître nos émotions?

Ce sont plusieurs lignes directrices à concilier avec ce que nous ressentons.

1. Reconnaître le sentiment

Être capable de détecter l'impact physiologique que cette émotion provoque . Comme par exemple: tension dans le cou

2. La réponse que génère l'émotion

Comme nous le savons tous, les émotions ils ont une fonction adaptative . Identifier ce qui réveille cette émotion en nous est fondamental.

  • Article connexe: "A quoi sert de pleurer?"

3. Identifier l'émotion primaire

Toutes les humeurs partent de la base d'une émotion primaire telle que la colère, la tristesse, etc.


4. Identifier les émotions associées à l'émotion principale

Cela nécessite un processus d’introspection plus approfondi. Nous pouvons avoir peur de cette réflexion essentielle dans le processus d'amélioration.

Réfléchissons

Nous devons faire plus attention à notre corps , se connaissent davantage et expriment nos sentiments de manière habituelle. La société ne devrait pas avoir honte de souffrir de douleur émotionnelle. La stigmatisation qui existe en matière de santé mentale ne disparaîtra pas lorsque l’on parlera de solutions, mais de les appliquer. Cessons d'avoir peur, agissons et promouvons le bien-être humain.

Auteur: Andrea Martínez Pellicer.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bisquerra, J. et Pérez, N. (2007). Compétences émotionnelles Education XXI, 10, 61-82.
  • Lambie, J. A. et Marcel, A. J. (2002). La conscience et la variété de l'expérience émotionnelle: un cadre. Psychological Review, 109, 219-259.
  • Sarno, J. (2006). Guérir le corps, éliminer la douleur: un traitement définitif pour les maladies psychosomatiques. Editorial Sirio: Madrid.

5 informations non verbales que révèle votre visage (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes