yes, therapy helps!
The greater the use of the Internet, the less religiosity

The greater the use of the Internet, the less religiosity

July 14, 2024

Religion has been present in the day to day of the human being from several thousand years before the birth of civilizations. The different forms of religiosity are based on rituals and symbols, and these elements are already present in the epoch of the caverns, and even in the Neandertals.

However, despite the fact that for millennia we have lived in a more or less similar way, in the last decades our species has been shaken by a series of technological and cultural revolutions that have transformed the whole society. And, as the great material changes also generate changes in ideas, religiosity has been transformed. In fact, a recent study indicates that something as usual as the use of Internet is related to a lower belief in religion .


  • Related article: "Types of religion (and their differences of beliefs and ideas)"

More fondness for the Internet, less religious feeling

Religiosity is very complex, and throughout the different human societies there are great differences not only with regard to the majority religions, but also in the degree of religiosity. While decades ago atheism and agnosticism were marginal, nowadays they are becoming more common in Western societies, especially in those countries considered "first world" where there is a strong welfare state and extreme poverty is relatively small

However, beyond the place where one lives and the social class to which one belongs, there are other factors related to believing more or less in a religion, and it seems that the use of the Internet is one of them. Paul K. McLure, the author of the study, based the research on the data obtained in a national survey of the United States of America, the Baylor Religion Survey, which gathered information from some 1,700 adults living in that country. Among the items in this questionnaire, There were questions about the level of religiosity and faith, and the habitual (or not) use of the Internet .


Although the use of this virtual tool was associated with less contact with religion, this link had nuances. For example, it did not have to do with the frequency with which one participates in specific religious activities, such as weddings or baptisms, but with the intensity of religious beliefs (or absence of them).

In addition, those who spent more hours connected to the network of networks were less likely to argue that a single religion was true and the rest were not. In other words, they tended to treat all religions more equitably, as if they were the same. Curiously, It was not the same with the time spent watching television .

What is this about?

Keep in mind that this research has found correlations, and not a relationship that necessarily has to be cause and effect . It may be that browsing more on the Internet reduces the intensity of religiosity, but it may also be that less religious people navigate more (despite the fact that the study isolated the influence of social class, race, educational level, political ideology and other important elements). However, McLure believes that there are reasons to think that the Internet has had an impact on our way of positioning ourselves before the religious.


Insulation tendency

Frequent use of the Internet can lead to a certain isolation and adopt a lifestyle away from others at times when you do not work. Bearing in mind that religion is almost always based on shared rituals, this can affect beliefs: not habitually exposed to those customs in family or in community It weakens the importance that religiosity has for a person.

However, as we have seen, these people are no longer absent from important religious events; in any case, they would not go to those of less importance: family prayers and other frequent rituals.

Bias towards rational thinking

Another feature of the Internet is that it contains a virtually infinite amount of information. Although today we do not give much importance, it is something exceptional that without the help of anyone we are able to access to all types of content that allow us to learn about all subjects in a relatively autonomous way.

This makes those questions that before apparently had no answer, giving free rein to speculations based on mysticism and magical thinking, today can be answered in a matter of a few minutes thanks to search engines like Google. Think, for example, of the possibility of understanding how the evolution of species works, going beyond the caricature of "come from the monkey".If there is no mystery, the feeling that "there is something else" decreases.

The religions remain firm

Although the use of the Internet is increasingly widespread, and although the proportion of the non-believer population is increasing, there is no doubt that religions continue to enjoy very good health. It is unlikely that our technology-related habits will make them disappear without further ado.


Religion: Crash Course Sociology #39 (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Plus on utilise Internet, moins il y a de religiosité

Plus on utilise Internet, moins il y a de religiosité

Mai 11, 2021

La religion a été présente au jour le jour de l'être humain de plusieurs milliers d'années avant la naissance des civilisations. Les différentes formes de religiosité sont basées sur des rituels et des symboles, et ces éléments sont déjà présents à l'époque des cavernes et même dans les Néandertaliens.

Cependant, malgré le fait que nous vivions de façon plus ou moins similaire depuis des millénaires, notre espèce a été secouée au cours des dernières décennies par une série de révolutions technologiques et culturelles qui ont transformé toute la société. Et, comme les grands changements matériels génèrent aussi des changements d’idées, la religiosité a été transformée. En fait, une étude récente indique que quelque chose d'aussi habituel que l'utilisation de Internet est lié à une croyance inférieure en religion .


  • Article connexe: "Types de religion (et leurs différences de croyances et d'idées)"

Plus d'affection pour Internet, moins de sentiment religieux

La religiosité est très complexe et, à travers les différentes sociétés humaines, il existe de grandes différences non seulement en ce qui concerne les religions majoritaires, mais également en ce qui concerne le degré de religiosité. Alors que l'athéisme et l'agnosticisme étaient marginaux il y a plusieurs décennies, ils sont de plus en plus répandus dans les sociétés occidentales, en particulier dans les pays considérés comme «premiers pays» où existe un puissant État providence et une extrême pauvreté. relativement petit

Cependant, au-delà de l'endroit où l'on vit et de la classe sociale à laquelle on appartient, il existe d'autres facteurs liés au fait de croire plus ou moins en une religion, et il semble que l'utilisation d'Internet en soit un. Paul K. McLure, l'auteur de l'étude, a basé ses recherches sur les données obtenues lors d'une enquête nationale menée aux États-Unis d'Amérique, la Baylor Religion Survey, qui avait rassemblé des informations auprès de 1 700 adultes vivant dans ce pays. Parmi les éléments de ce questionnaire, Il y avait des questions sur le niveau de religiosité et de foi, et l'utilisation habituelle (ou non) de l'Internet .


Bien que l’utilisation de cet outil virtuel ait été associée à moins de contacts avec la religion, ce lien avait des nuances. Par exemple, cela n'avait pas à voir avec la fréquence à laquelle on participe à des activités religieuses spécifiques, telles que les mariages ou les baptêmes, mais avec l'intensité des croyances religieuses (ou de leur absence).

En outre, ceux qui passaient plus d'heures connectées au réseau de réseaux étaient moins susceptibles de prétendre qu'une seule religion était vraie et que les autres ne l'étaient pas. En d'autres termes, ils avaient tendance à traiter toutes les religions plus équitablement, comme si elles étaient identiques. Intéressant, Ce n'était pas la même chose avec le temps passé à regarder la télévision .

Pourquoi est-ce

Gardez à l’esprit que cette recherche a mis en évidence des corrélations et pas une relation qui doit nécessairement être cause et effet . Il se peut que naviguer davantage sur Internet réduise l’intensité de la religiosité, mais il se peut aussi que des personnes moins religieuses naviguent davantage (bien que l’étude ait isolé l’influence de la idéologie politique et autres éléments importants). Cependant, McLure pense qu'il y a des raisons de penser qu'Internet a eu un impact sur notre façon de nous positionner devant les religieux.


Tendance d'isolation

L'utilisation fréquente d'Internet peut conduire à un certain isolement et à l'adoption d'un mode de vie différent des autres lorsque vous ne travaillez pas. Sachant que la religion est presque toujours basée sur des rituels partagés, cela peut affecter les croyances: pas habituellement exposés à ces coutumes dans la famille ou dans la communauté Cela affaiblit l’importance de la religiosité pour une personne.

Cependant, comme nous l'avons vu, ces personnes ne sont plus absentes des grands événements religieux; en tout cas, ils n'iraient pas vers ceux de moindre importance: prières de famille et autres rituels fréquents.

Biais envers la pensée rationnelle

Une autre caractéristique d'Internet est qu'il contient une quantité d'informations pratiquement infinie. Bien que nous ne donnions pas beaucoup d’importance aujourd’hui, c’est quelque chose d’exceptionnel que nous ne pouvons l'accès à tous les types de contenu qui nous permettent d'apprendre sur tous les sujets de manière relativement autonome.

Cela fait que ces questions qui auparavant n'avaient apparemment aucune réponse, laissant ainsi libre cours à des spéculations basées sur le mysticisme et la pensée magique, peuvent aujourd'hui être répondues en quelques minutes grâce aux moteurs de recherche comme Google. Pensez, par exemple, à la possibilité de comprendre comment fonctionne l’évolution des espèces, au-delà de la caricature de «viens du singe».S'il n'y a pas de mystère, le sentiment qu'il y a "autre chose" diminue.

Les religions restent fermes

Bien que l'utilisation d'Internet soit de plus en plus répandue et que, bien que la proportion de la population non croyante augmente, il ne fait aucun doute que les religions continuent de jouir d'une très bonne santé. Il est peu probable que nos habitudes liées à la technologie les fassent disparaître sans plus tarder.


PROTESTAS PROPUESTAS PROCESOS : Solidaridad y resistencia contracultural, Lima-Perú (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes