yes, therapy helps!
The happiness industry and Positive Psychology

The happiness industry and Positive Psychology

June 21, 2024

To my surprise, in recent times I have been finding in numerous media, television, radio and print media channels, many allusions to a supposed "industry" based on the irrational and unconditional search for happiness .

Like any argument or current that is reduced to absurdity, it loses its foundation when we forget the true essence or reason of being of Positive Psychology, to establish derogatory analogies, such as, for example, the fact of making certain publications on the social networks of the type Mr Wonderful or mocking the "need" to have to go to a "motivational coach" to solve some kind of trivial issue.


After the numerous episodes of this kind of "attack" on a sector of psychotherapy or mental attention (let's not forget that the etymological origin of the word therapy, is related to the concept of attention), even from sectors "colleagues", who did not finish learning from the old paradigmatic battles between behaviourists and cognitivists or among nativists against environmentalists, among others (paradoxically, both confrontations to the emergence of integrating paradigms).

  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

Unfair criticisms against Positive Psychology

I can understand that from ignorance or ignorance, can be made endless disqualifications and criticisms, more or less destructive . But what I can not understand is that there are professionals of psychology, who cling to their old paradigms and methodological currents, as shipwrecked to the wreck, to defend their model or way of practicing the profession, as if this were the only possible.


On the other hand, they do not have as much reluctance when it comes to embrace concepts such as "Learned Helplessness", developed by Professor Martin E.P. Seligman, to justify the development of depressions or other psychological imbalances, this being one of the banners of positive psychology.

I understand that the medical model of psychodiagnosis continues to exert a remarkable influence in the way of understanding psychology for some. But, dear colleagues and curious of diverse nature, the psychopathological clinical model does not explain the complete diversity of human behavior, and that is why without intervening in the prevention or rehabilitation of psychiatric pathologies, there is a field of psychological action that does not obey her rules.

A person who feels bad or is dissatisfied with the life he leads obviously, she is not sick. In fact, there are many people cataloged as sick or deranged that raise many doubts about the reliability of the diagnostic system. If they knew the damage that can cause a person to feel labeled for life, forming part of a "bag" or group of pejorative connotations for their own health and consequent social adaptation, they would be more careful when performing according to what type of classifications.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Humanist Psychology: history, theory and basic principles"

The problem of overdiagnosis

Recently, I have had the opportunity to know in greater detail the opinion of Dr. Javier Álvarez. This head of psychiatry at the Hospital de León is a champion of a movement called "New Psychiatry", which postulates the inconsistencies and suspicions of a medical model probably influenced by another type of industry, but in this case a real industry. The pharmaceutical. It's curious the vertiginous growth experienced by the main instrument of psychiatric classification and diagnosis (better known as DSM).

Since its inception to date, the number of mental disorders has increased exponentially and its treatment has been prioritized as a priority. employment and administration of psychotropic drugs . Psychopharmaceuticals whose mission is mainly to act on the brain neurotransmitters "involved" in the development of the shift disorder. The problem lies in the conviction and confidence that they give on the very little knowledge that exists about the functioning of the aforementioned neurotransmitters as a sufficient guarantee to experiment with these chemical drugs.

I do not want bad interpretations on my part, I am not an anti psychopharmaceutical, nor any other kind of treatments, but I do consider that we have developed a remarkable confidence in something that is still in its infancy and we have neglected and even ridiculed other ways of understanding the world of psychology and psychiatry, without finding so many everyday examples of criticism with this. The smoke of the "charlatans" in front of the "magic little pills" . And it's not about this, but neither about the other.

Each person is a world and in each world one type of intervention or another is required.

My problem is not bigger or smaller than yours.

Maybe it's not even a problem.

But it's mine and I decide how I want or need to address it.


William Davies on the Happiness Agenda (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'industrie du bonheur et la psychologie positive

L'industrie du bonheur et la psychologie positive

Septembre 28, 2022

À ma grande surprise, ces derniers temps, j'ai trouvé dans de nombreux canaux de médias, de télévision, de radio et de presse écrite de nombreuses allusions à une supposée "industrie" basée sur la recherche irrationnelle et inconditionnelle du bonheur .

Comme n'importe quel argument ou courant qui est réduit à l'absurde, il perd son fondement lorsque nous oublions l'essence ou la raison d'être de la psychologie positive, pour établir des analogies dérogatoires, telles que, par exemple, le fait de faire certaines publications sur les réseaux sociaux du type Mr Merveilleux ou se moquant du "besoin" de devoir s'adresser à un "coach en motivation" pour résoudre un problème trivial.


Après les nombreux épisodes de ce genre "d'attaque" sur un secteur de la psychothérapie ou de l'attention mentale (n'oublions pas que l'origine étymologique du mot thérapie est liée au concept d'attention), même dans les secteurs "collègues", qui n'ont pas fini d'apprendre des vieilles batailles paradigmatiques entre les comportementalistes et les cognitivistes ou entre les nativistes contre les écologistes, entre autres (paradoxalement, les deux confrontations à l’émergence de paradigmes intégrateurs).

  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Critiques injustes contre la psychologie positive

Je peux comprendre que par ignorance ou par ignorance, on peut faire disqualifications et critiques sans fin, plus ou moins destructives . Mais ce que je ne peux pas comprendre, c’est qu’il existe des professionnels de la psychologie, qui s’accrochent à leurs vieux paradigmes et courants méthodologiques, naufragés au naufrage, pour défendre leur modèle ou leur façon de pratiquer la profession, comme si c’était le seul possible


Par ailleurs, ils n’ont pas autant de réticence à adopter des concepts tels que "Le sentiment d’impuissance", mis au point par le professeur Martin E.P. Seligman, pour justifier le développement de dépressions ou d'autres déséquilibres psychologiques, ce qui est l'une des bannières de la psychologie positive.

J'entends que le modèle médical du psychodiagnostic continue d'exercer une influence remarquable pour comprendre la psychologie chez certains. Mais, chers collègues et curieux de nature diverse, le modèle clinique psychopathologique n'explique pas la diversité complète du comportement humain. C'est pourquoi, sans intervenir dans la prévention ou la réhabilitation de pathologies psychiatriques, il existe un champ d'action psychologique qui n'obéit pas. vos règles.

Une personne qui se sent mal ou est insatisfaite de la vie qu'il mène évidemment, elle n'est pas malade. En fait, de nombreuses personnes cataloguées comme malades ou dérangées soulèvent de nombreux doutes quant à la fiabilité du système de diagnostic. S'ils connaissaient les dommages pouvant amener une personne à se sentir étiquetée pour la vie, faisant partie d'un "sac" ou d'un groupe de connotations péjoratives pour sa propre santé et son adaptation sociale conséquente, ils seraient plus prudents lorsqu'ils performeraient en fonction de quel type de comportement. classifications.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Psychologie humaniste: histoire, théorie et principes de base"

Le problème du surdiagnostic

Récemment, j'ai eu l'occasion de connaître plus en détail l'opinion du Dr Javier Álvarez. Ce chef de psychiatrie de l'Hôpital de León est le champion d'un mouvement appelé "Nouvelle psychiatrie", qui postule les incohérences et les suspicions d'un modèle médical probablement influencé par un autre type d'industrie, mais dans ce cas une véritable industrie. Le pharmaceutique. C'est curieux la croissance vertigineuse de l'instrument principal de classification et de diagnostic psychiatrique (mieux connu sous le nom de DSM).

Depuis sa création à ce jour, le nombre de troubles mentaux a augmenté de manière exponentielle et son traitement a été traité en priorité. emploi et administration de médicaments psychotropes . Psychopharmaceutiques dont la mission est principalement d’agir sur les neurotransmetteurs cérébraux "impliqués" dans le développement du trouble du décalage. Le problème réside dans la conviction et la confiance qu’ils accordent au très peu de connaissances existantes sur le fonctionnement des neurotransmetteurs susmentionnés, en tant que garantie suffisante pour expérimenter ces médicaments chimiques.

Je ne veux pas de mauvaises interprétations de ma part, je ne suis pas un psychopharmaceutique, ni aucun autre type de traitement, mais je considère que nous avons développé une confiance remarquable en quelque chose qui est encore à ses balbutiements et que nous avons négligé et même ridiculisé d'autres manières de comprendre le monde. de la psychologie et de la psychiatrie, sans trouver autant d'exemples quotidiens de critiques avec cela. La fumée de les "charlatans" devant les "petites pilules magiques" . Et ce n'est pas à propos de ça, mais non plus de l'autre.

Chaque personne est un monde et dans chaque monde, un type d’intervention ou un autre est requis.

Mon problème n'est ni plus grand ni plus petit que le vôtre.

Peut-être que ce n'est même pas un problème.

Mais c’est à moi et je décide de la façon dont je veux ou dois y répondre.


Critique de l'industrie du bonheur (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes