yes, therapy helps!
The Hare Psychopathy Rating Scale

The Hare Psychopathy Rating Scale

June 11, 2022

When thinking about the concept of "psychopath", the image of a murderer comes to most people , someone who kills for pleasure and whose performance obeys only his own interests, without a trace of empathy and despising the needs, feelings and desires of those around him (which he also uses as objects to achieve his ends). This image seems very clear ... but detecting these characteristics is not so easy in real life.

Until relatively recent times tools have not been developed that can measure this alteration with precision, distinguishing it from mental and medical pathologies. In this sense, one of the main contributions in the detection and evaluation of psychopathic characteristics is that carried out by Hare, which created the Hare Psychopathy Rating Scale or PCL (Psychopathy Checklist).


  • Related article: "Psychopathy: what happens in the mind of the psychopath?"

Psychopathy: what are we talking about?

To understand the scale of evaluation of Hare's psychopathy, it will be necessary first to establish a definition of what we understand by psychopathy.

The concept psychopathy refers to a personality alteration in which there is a more or less complete absence of empathy and concern for the other and a deep focus on oneself and ones own needs. It is not considered a clinical entity, that is, it is not a mental disorder . And is that the definition that is made of this construct can vary greatly depending on the authors who express it and the type of psychopathy that we are talking about (in fact, you could find very different types of psychopaths reaching some authors to propose up to nine ).


Although the image that most people have of them is the one mentioned in the introduction, the truth is that not all are criminals or commit crimes : there are psychopaths integrated into society and in many cases they become political leaders (some of whom have come to commit great abuses) or big businessmen.

But nevertheless, There are a series of characteristics common to most psychopaths : the most defining and determining is the inability to develop affective relationships, lack of empathy and indifference to the feelings of others. Besides this, the use of others to achieve their ends, the absence of guilt and sense of responsibility over their own actions, the low intensity of most of their emotions, arrogance and self-centeredness, the ability to seduction and superficial relationships and in which the other is not valued and manipulation are usually some of the most common characteristics.


There are also ** problems to plan or assess the future or the consequences of one's actions **, the need to look for sensations, impulsivity, discordance between language and behavior and the need for immediate gratification.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Being a psychopath can have advantages, according to a study"

What are your causes?

It is important to note that, technically, psychopathy is not considered a mental disorder. It is a condition of unknown cause but in which strong genetic components have been detected (for example, it is common in the study of twins to see that both have psychopathic features), although at least half of the variance at the time of suffering or not this alteration is links with environmental factors.

Some differences have been observed at a biological and temperamental level that complicate the processes of socialization during growth, not integrating the primary experiences of socialization in an adaptive way. These are people who are fully aware of their actions , not presenting alterations in volitional capacity and in which there is no impairment of basic cognitive functions (beyond the emotional sphere).

PCL: The Hare Psychopathy Evaluation Scale

The Psychopathy Checklist , PCL or Hare psychopathy assessment scale is one of the most used assessment instruments to assess the existence of psychopathy.

Originated and based on the grouping of the factors and criteria already proposed previously by Cleckley, it is a scale created by Hare that evaluates through 20 items (although originally they were 22), the main personality traits and characteristics of the subjects with psychopathy.

It is a scale that must be filled in based on the information obtained during the semi-structured interview with the subject, the observation and analysis of his behavior, interviews with his environment and knowledge obtained from his file. The interview itself can be spent in about two hours, although it depends on each case.Each item is scored with a 0, a 1 or a 2 according to whether the item in question can not be applied to the subject (0), it can be applied in a certain sense (1) or it can be applied to the subject as something consistent in its behavior (2) . The maximum score is 40 and the existence of psychopathy is considered to be those cases that exceed 30 points (although it must be contrasted with interviews with their environment and checking other possible interviews and records referring to the subject. Scores greater than 25 are considered predictors of antisocial and violent behavior .

It is important to bear in mind that it is an instrument created based on the prison population, in clinical and forensic practice. It has proven useful in predicting the likelihood of recidivism, evaluating possible breaches of sentences and predicting the performance of antisocial behaviors.

What is valued? Items of the scale

As we have seen, within the PCL (in its revised version) or the scale of evaluation of psychopathy created by Hare we find a total of 20 items that try to assess the existence of different characteristics of psychopathy. Specifically, the following items or elements are evaluated.

1. Surface charm / loquacity

One of the most common characteristics of psychopaths is their ease of treatment and superficial appeal, being often very seductive . They are considered fun and entertaining, and seem to dominate many subjects and topics of conversation.

2. Egocentrism and feelings of grandiosity

The psychopath tends to have an overestimated view of himself, with great self-confidence and with a self-centered attitude . In addition, he tends to see only his own vision of things and focus on his own needs. You can feel admired and envied.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Megalomania and delusions of grandeur: playing at being God"

3. Sensation search

Another common feature of people with psychopathy is the tendency to get bored easily and look for activities that stimulate them , looking for action, competition and opportunities.

4. Pathological lying

Lying and cheating are frequent elements in the behavior of the psychopath. He can produce easily credible stories and usually does not worry about being discovered. It does not cost him to break his promises .

5. Handling

Psychopaths tend to be manipulative, using their abilities and seduction skills to make others easier to obtain and achieve their goals, often without worrying about the effects on the manipulated person .

6. Absence of guilt

Aspect linked to the lack of empathy, the psychopath tends not to feel guilty for what happens around him, as well as for the consequences of his actions.

7. Emotional surface

Many psychopaths are known to show a flat emotional spectrum, without manifesting great reactions and resulting in his emotional expression often shallow and even acted . Yes they can experience emotions, but they are generally considered to be of low intensity and superficial.

8. Lack of empathy

One of the most fundamental characteristics of psychopaths is their lack of empathy. The psychopathic subject is usually unable to put himself in the place of the others , or not assessing what others may be feeling or wanting. Together with the high handling capacity they usually have, they often use others only to achieve their ends.

9. Parasitic lifestyle

This criterion assumes that many psychopaths use their relatives and environment in a utilitarian way to survive without having to make efforts, unless this work involves a motivation that allows them to stand out and be number one.

10. Absence of self-control

People with psychopathic personality may not have deep emotionality, but your immediate behavioral reactions can be extreme . The use of violence can be one of them, briefly and in general without causing a subsequent reaction.

11. Promiscuity

The high level of loquacity and superficial attractiveness of many psychopaths makes it easy to have sporadic sexual relations. Also, the absence of empathy and responsibility along with the search for sensations make it difficult to maintain more stable relationships .

12. Previous behavior problems

It is not strange that the psychopathic subject has manifested behavioral problems already in childhood. In this sense it is usually related to the dissocial disorder , being able for example to exercise sadistic behavior and torture animals.

13. Long-term planning problems

Another common element in psychopathy is the fact that they tend to focus on the short term and obtaining immediate gratification. They do not usually consider the future (something that also affects the lack of consideration for the consequences of their actions), or may have some kind of goal that they have not considered how to carry out.

14. Impulsivity

It refers to unintended behavior, acting immediately according to the opportunity and the own desire without considering alternatives or possible consequences.

fifteen.Irresponsibility

This item refers to the lack of commitment to others. You may have a certain level of loyalty to your family and close social circle, but usually you do not pay much attention to obligations and duties to others.

16. Non-acceptance of responsibilities for conduct

Linked with irresponsibility, the subject with psychopathy usually does not take responsibility for their own acts. Although he does not feel guilty for them, usually justify them and use different excuses .

17. Short couple relationships

The relationships of a partner with a psychopathy are usually not stable. Although they can have a partner, as we have said before, there is usually no commitment that lasts. They may have a marriage or even children, but they are usually unattended and often incur infidelities and other activities.

18. Juvenile delinquency

We have mentioned before that since childhood the subject with psychopathy manifests a large number of features of this condition. It is not uncommon that in adolescence there are crimes of greater or lesser severity that can have different repercussions for oneself or for others, and may lead to serious crimes and even blood.

19. Revocation of probation

It is an item reserved only for those subjects who have been incarcerated and may have opted for probation.

20. Criminal versatility

This last item tells us about the existence of various types of crime committed by the subject , which can range from robberies, drug trafficking, murder, aggression, sexual offense, kidnapping or reckless driving, among others.

General aspects to consider

In the PCL or scale of evaluation of Hare psychopathy, as we have seen, the personality and behavior of the people analyzed through it are evaluated in search of psychopathological traits. The items in question can be grouped into different facets for analysis. In particular, the existence of two main factors is proposed, with four factors to be considered within them.

Factor 1: Interpersonal / Affective

This first factor refers mainly to the most internal aspects of the subject, such as his personality, the way of approaching interpersonal relationships, affectivity and cognition. It is related to narcissistic features . Within it we can find two basic dimensions, the interpersonal and the affective.

Interpersonal dimension

This dimension evaluates the type of relationship that the subject maintains with their environment and how he links with others. It mainly includes the items of superficial charm, feelings of greatness, lying, manipulation, lack of feelings of guilt, superficial emotionality, lack of empathy and non-recognition of one's own responsibility.

Affective dimension

This second dimension refers to the management and the experience of emotions by the subject . In it would enter the search for sensations, lack of self-control and empathy, superficial emotion, lack of sensitivity and empathy.

Factor 2: Social deviation

This second factor refers mainly to elements that inform us of how the subject relates to the world around him and how his behavior is in it. It is more linked to factors related to the commission of antisocial behaviors. Within this we can find the lifestyle and the anti-social aspect of his personality.

Lifestyle

It refers to the type of life that the subject usually takes in their day to day. It includes items such as promiscuity, short couple relationships, lack of commitment or criminal versatility. They may also include the need for stimulation or the absence of long-term goals , the search for sensations and egocentrism.

Antisocial

This section includes the behaviors that the subject has had throughout his life, such as the presence of crimes during youth, if he has been imprisoned and if parole has been revoked or lack of responsibility for their own acts

Bibliographic references

  • Folino, J.O. and Castillo, J.L. (2006). The facets of psychopathy according to the Hare Psychopathy Checklist-revised and its reliability. Argentine Journal of Psychiatry, Vol. XVII: 325-330.
  • Lykken, D. (1994) Antisocial personalities. Barcelona: Herder.

Assessing Psychopathy using the Hare Scales PCL-R & PCL:SV (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'échelle d'évaluation de la psychopathie de lièvre

L'échelle d'évaluation de la psychopathie de lièvre

Mai 27, 2022

Quand on pense au concept de "psychopathe", l'image d'un meurtrier vient à la plupart des gens , quelqu'un qui tue pour le plaisir et dont la performance n'obéit qu'à ses propres intérêts, sans aucune trace d'empathie et ne méprisant pas les besoins, les sentiments et les désirs de son entourage (qu'il utilise également comme objet pour atteindre ses objectifs). Cette image semble très claire ... mais détecter ces caractéristiques n’est pas si facile dans la vie réelle.

Jusqu'à une époque relativement récente, aucun outil permettant de mesurer cette altération avec précision, la distinguant des pathologies mentales et médicales, n'avait encore été mis au point. En ce sens, l’un des principaux apports dans la détection et l’évaluation des caractéristiques psychopathiques est celui réalisé par Hare, qui a créé l'échelle d'évaluation de la psychopathie de lièvre ou PCL (Liste de contrôle de la psychopathie).


  • Article connexe: "Psychopathie: que se passe-t-il dans l'esprit du psychopathe?"

Psychopathie: de quoi parle-t-on?

Pour comprendre l'échelle d'évaluation de la psychopathie de Hare, il faudra d'abord établir une définition de ce que nous entendons par psychopathie.

Le concept de psychopathie fait référence à une altération de la personnalité caractérisée par une absence plus ou moins d'empathie et d'inquiétude pour l'autre et par une focalisation profonde sur soi et sur ses propres besoins. Il n’est pas considéré comme une entité clinique, c’est-à-dire ce n'est pas un trouble mental . Et c’est que la définition qui est faite de cette construction peut varier considérablement en fonction des auteurs qui l’expriment et du type de psychopathie dont nous parlons (en fait, vous pourriez trouver des types de psychopathes très différents, certains pouvant proposer à neuf auteurs ).


Bien que l’image que la plupart des gens en aient est celle mentionnée dans l’introduction, la vérité est que tous ne sont pas des criminels ou commettent des crimes : il y a des psychopathes intégrés dans la société et, dans de nombreux cas, ils deviennent des dirigeants politiques (dont certains sont venus pour commettre de grands abus) ou de grands hommes d'affaires.

Cependant, Il existe une série de caractéristiques communes à la plupart des psychopathes : le plus déterminant et déterminant est l’incapacité à développer des relations affectives, le manque d’empathie et l’indifférence à l’égard des sentiments des autres. En outre, l’utilisation des autres pour atteindre leurs objectifs, l’absence de culpabilité et de responsabilité vis-à-vis de leurs propres actions, la faible intensité de la plupart de leurs émotions, leur arrogance et leur égoïsme, leur capacité à la séduction et les relations superficielles et dans lequel l'autre n'est pas valorisé et la manipulation sont généralement parmi les caractéristiques les plus courantes.


Il existe également ** des problèmes pour planifier ou évaluer l'avenir ou les conséquences de ses actions **, le besoin de rechercher des sensations, l'impulsivité, la discordance entre langage et comportement et le besoin de gratification immédiate.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Être psychopathe peut avoir des avantages, selon une étude"

Quelles sont ses causes?

Il est important de noter que techniquement, la psychopathie n'est pas considérée comme un trouble mental. C'est une condition de cause inconnue mais dans lesquels de fortes composantes génétiques ont été détectées (par exemple, il est fréquent dans l'étude des jumeaux de voir que les deux présentent des caractéristiques psychopathiques), bien qu'au moins la moitié de la variance au moment de la souffrance ou non cette modification soit liens avec des facteurs environnementaux.

Certaines différences ont été observées au niveau biologique et tempéramental qui compliquent les processus de socialisation pendant la croissance, sans intégrer les expériences primaires de socialisation de manière adaptative. Ce sont des gens qui sont pleinement conscients de leurs actions , ne présentant pas d'altérations de la capacité volitive et dans lesquelles il n'y a pas d'altération des fonctions cognitives de base (au-delà de la sphère émotionnelle).

PCL: l'échelle d'évaluation de la psychopathie de lièvre

La liste de contrôle de la psychopathie L’échelle d’évaluation de la psychopathie PCL ou Hare est l’un des instruments d’évaluation les plus utilisés pour évaluer l’existence d’une psychopathie.

Originaire et basé sur le regroupement des facteurs et critères déjà proposés précédemment par Cleckley, il s’agit d’une échelle créée par Hare qui: évalue à travers 20 articles (bien qu’ils aient au départ 22 ans), principaux traits de personnalité et caractéristiques des sujets atteints de psychopathie.

C'est une échelle qui doit être remplie en fonction des informations obtenues lors de l'entretien semi-structuré avec le sujet, de l'observation et de l'analyse de son comportement, des entretiens avec son environnement et des connaissances tirées de son dossier. L'entretien lui-même peut durer environ deux heures, bien que cela dépende de chaque cas.Chaque élément est marqué avec un 0, un 1 ou un 2 selon que l'élément en question ne peut pas être appliqué au sujet (0), qu'il peut être appliqué dans un certain sens (1) ou qu'il peut être appliqué au sujet de manière cohérente dans son comportement (2) . Le score maximum est de 40 et l’existence d’une psychopathie est considérée comme un cas dépassant 30 points (bien qu’il faille la mettre en contraste avec les entretiens avec leur environnement et en vérifiant d’autres entretiens et enregistrements éventuels se rapportant au sujet. Les scores supérieurs à 25 sont considérés comme des prédicteurs de comportement antisocial et violent .

Il est important de garder à l’esprit que c’est un instrument créé sur la base de la population carcérale, en pratique clinique et médico-légale, qui s’est révélé utile pour prédire la probabilité de récidive, évaluer les manquements aux peines et prévoir les comportements antisociaux.

Qu'est-ce qui est valorisé? Articles de la balance

Comme nous l'avons vu, dans le PCL (dans sa version révisée) ou l'échelle d'évaluation de la psychopathie créée par Hare, nous trouvons un total de 20 éléments qui tentent d'évaluer l'existence de différentes caractéristiques de la psychopathie. Plus précisément, les éléments ou éléments suivants sont évalués.

1. Surface charme / loquacité

Une des caractéristiques les plus communes des psychopathes est leur facilité de traitement et leur attrait superficiel, être souvent très séduisant . Ils sont considérés comme amusants et divertissants et semblent dominer de nombreux sujets et sujets de conversation.

2. L'égocentrisme et les sentiments de grandiosité

Le psychopathe a tendance à avoir une vision surestimée de lui-même, avec une grande confiance en soi et avec une attitude égocentrique . De plus, il a tendance à ne voir que sa propre vision des choses et à se concentrer sur ses propres besoins. Vous pouvez vous sentir admiré et envié.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Mégalomanie et délires de grandeur: jouer à être Dieu"

3. Recherche de sensations

Une autre caractéristique commune des personnes atteintes de psychopathie est la tendance à s’ennuyer facilement et rechercher des activités qui les stimulent , en quête d’action, de compétition et d’opportunités.

4. mensonge pathologique

Mentir et tricher sont des éléments fréquents dans le comportement du psychopathe. Il peut produire des histoires facilement crédibles et ne craint généralement pas d'être découvert. Cela ne lui coûte pas de rompre ses promesses .

5. manutention

Les psychopathes ont tendance à être manipulateurs, utilisant leurs capacités et leurs habiletés de séduction pour rendre les autres plus faciles à atteindre et à atteindre leurs objectifs, souvent sans se soucier des effets sur la personne manipulée .

6. Absence de culpabilité

Aspect lié au manque d'empathie, le psychopathe a tendance à ne pas se sentir coupable de ce qui se passe autour de lui, ainsi que des conséquences de ses actes.

7. surface émotionnelle

De nombreux psychopathes sont connus pour montrer un spectre émotionnel plat, sans manifester de grandes réactions et résultant dans son expression émotionnelle souvent superficielle et même agi . Oui, ils peuvent éprouver des émotions, mais elles sont généralement considérées comme peu intenses et superficielles.

8. Manque d'empathie

L'une des caractéristiques les plus fondamentales des psychopathes est leur manque d'empathie. Le sujet psychopathe est généralement incapable de se mettre à la place des autres , ou ne pas évaluer ce que les autres peuvent ressentir ou vouloir. En plus de leur grande capacité de traitement, ils n’utilisent souvent les autres que pour atteindre leurs objectifs.

9. Mode de vie parasite

Ce critère suppose que de nombreux psychopathes utilisent leurs proches et leur environnement de manière utilitaire pour survivre sans avoir à faire d’efforts, à moins que ce travail ne comporte une motivation qui leur permette de se démarquer et d’être le numéro un.

10. Absence de maîtrise de soi

Les personnes ayant une personnalité psychopathique peuvent ne pas avoir une émotion profonde, mais vos réactions comportementales immédiates peuvent être extrêmes . Le recours à la violence peut être l’un d’eux, bref et général, sans provoquer de réaction ultérieure.

11. Promiscuité

Le haut niveau de loquacité et d'attractivité superficielle de nombreux psychopathes facilite les relations sexuelles sporadiques. En outre, l'absence d'empathie et de responsabilité avec la recherche de sensations rendre difficile le maintien de relations plus stables .

12. Problèmes de comportement antérieurs

Il n’est pas étonnant que le sujet psychopathe ait déjà manifesté des problèmes de comportement dans son enfance. Dans ce sens il est généralement lié au désordre dissocial , pouvant par exemple exercer un comportement sadique et torturer des animaux.

13. Problèmes de planification à long terme

Un autre élément commun à la psychopathie est le fait qu’ils ont tendance à se concentrer sur le court terme et à obtenir une satisfaction immédiate. Ils ne considèrent généralement pas l’avenir (ce qui affecte également le manque de prise en compte des conséquences de leurs actes), ou peut avoir un objectif quelconque qu’ils n’ont pas envisagé.

14. impulsivité

Il fait référence à un comportement involontaire, agir immédiatement en fonction de l'opportunité et du désir sans considérer les alternatives ou les conséquences possibles.

15L'irresponsabilité

Cet élément fait référence au manque d'engagement envers les autres. Vous pouvez avoir un certain niveau de loyauté envers votre famille et votre entourage, mais vous ne prêtez généralement pas beaucoup d’attention aux obligations et aux devoirs qui incombent aux autres.

16. Non-acceptation des responsabilités pour la conduite

Lié à l'irresponsabilité, le sujet atteint de psychopathie n'assume généralement pas la responsabilité de ses propres actes. Bien qu'il ne se sente pas coupable pour eux, généralement les justifier et utiliser des excuses différentes .

17. courtes relations de couple

Les relations d'un partenaire avec une psychopathie ne sont généralement pas stables. Comme ils peuvent avoir un partenaire, comme nous l’avons déjà dit, il n’ya généralement aucun engagement qui dure. Ils peuvent avoir un mariage ou même des enfants, mais ils sont généralement sans surveillance et encourent souvent des infidélités et d’autres activités.

18. Délinquance juvénile

Nous avons déjà mentionné que, depuis son enfance, le sujet atteint de psychopathie manifeste un grand nombre de caractéristiques de cette maladie. Il n’est pas rare qu’à l’adolescence des crimes plus ou moins graves soient commis cela peut avoir des répercussions différentes pour soi ou pour autrui, et peut entraîner des crimes graves, voire du sang.

19. Révocation de la probation

C'est un élément réservé uniquement aux sujets incarcérés qui ont peut-être opté pour la probation.

20. polyvalence criminelle

Ce dernier élément nous parle de l'existence de divers types de crimes commis par le sujet , qui peuvent aller des vols, trafic de drogue, meurtre, agression, délit sexuel, enlèvement ou conduite imprudente, entre autres.

Aspects généraux à considérer

Comme nous l'avons vu, dans la PCL ou l'échelle d'évaluation de la psychopathie de Hare, la personnalité et le comportement des personnes analysées sont évalués à la recherche de traits psychopathologiques. Les éléments en question peuvent être regroupés en différentes facettes à analyser. En particulier, deux facteurs principaux sont proposés, avec quatre facteurs à prendre en compte.

Facteur 1: interpersonnel / affectif

Ce premier facteur concerne principalement les aspects les plus internes du sujet, tels que sa personnalité, la manière d'aborder les relations interpersonnelles, l'affectivité et la cognition. Il est lié aux caractéristiques narcissiques . Nous pouvons y trouver deux dimensions fondamentales: l'interpersonnel et l'affectif.

Dimension interpersonnelle

Cette dimension évalue le type de relation que le sujet entretient avec son environnement et comment il lie avec les autres. Cela inclut principalement les éléments de charme superficiel, les sentiments de grandeur, le mensonge, les manipulations, le manque de sentiments de culpabilité, l'émotivité superficielle, le manque d'empathie et la non-reconnaissance de sa propre responsabilité.

Dimension affective

Cette deuxième dimension concerne la gestion et l'expérience des émotions par le sujet . La recherche de sensations, de manque de maîtrise de soi et d’empathie, d’émotions superficielles, de manque de sensibilité et d’empathie entrait dans cette recherche.

Facteur 2: Déviation sociale

Ce deuxième facteur fait principalement référence à des éléments qui nous renseignent sur les relations entre le sujet et le monde qui l’entoure et sur la façon dont son comportement s’y situe. Il est plus lié aux facteurs liés à la commission de comportements antisociaux. On peut y trouver le style de vie et l'aspect antisocial de sa personnalité.

Style de vie

Il fait référence au type de vie que le sujet vit habituellement au quotidien. Cela inclut des éléments tels que la promiscuité, les relations de couple courtes, le manque d'engagement ou la polyvalence pénale. Ils peuvent également inclure le besoin de stimulation ou l'absence d'objectifs à long terme , la recherche de sensations et d’égocentrisme.

Antisocial

Cette section inclut les comportements que le sujet a eu tout au long de sa vie, tels que la présence de crimes au cours de sa jeunesse, s’il a été emprisonné et si la libération conditionnelle a été révoquée ou si sa propre responsabilité des actes

Références bibliographiques

  • Folino, J.O. et Castillo, J.L. (2006). Les facettes de la psychopathie selon la liste de contrôle de Hare Psychopathy révisée et sa fiabilité. Journal argentin de psychiatrie, vol XVII: 325-330.
  • Lykken, D. (1994) Personnalités antisociales. Barcelone: ​​Herder.

Génétique du comportement et de la personnalité - Jacques van Helden. 5. Agression (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes